Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Village87

Eddie Brennan has an awful record with Kilkenny. Lost against Westmeath u21 and a forwards coach to probably our worst ever display in the forwards, resulting in us finishing 3rd in a poor Leinster with Wexford completely misfiring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,584 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Village87

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭tbiggertycome

Thanks to Derek for amazing service through all he has done for Kilkenny as a player, selector and manager. Thanks to his family who have allowed Derek to give so much of himself to Kilkenny which undoubtedly would have been at their expense to large extent.

Derek is a very genuine and very dedicated to Kilkenny hurling and I believe he did everything in his power to get Kilkenny over the line. It worked out for the U20 Leinster and AI and for 3 Leinster finals, reaching an AI and two semi finals.

Unfortunately sport is cruel and unforgiving and it's usually in the final few percentage points that is the difference between failure and success. The ultimate goal he and all of us wanted wasn't to be for him and while I've been critical of our setup, I would never doubt that Derek did everything he could to find the best path forward to achieving AI success every year. I would just have felt a different path might have been better but he was than man who had to make those hard calls. It's easy to be the hurler on the ditch.

It was always likely to be a thankless task following Cody and it has turned out to be.

Thanks for all the time and dedication put into Kilkenny over 25+ years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭tbiggertycome

Let's be fair then, the following year he got the U20's to the AI against the current great Limerick team who had huge resources pumped into their setup since the 2014 minor final. They were beat on the day and beaten well but so have lots of other teams been beaten by this Limerick team. He had success with Laois and a fall out with the CB finished that.

I'm not advocating for Eddie but at least be fair about it. Look at the span of his management and not just one day which was pretty shocking but the players also have to take a fair share of the blame too.

I think Eddie has done a bit of coaching in Dublin and Tipo since not sure on how that went.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Charlie69

I know things didn’t work out for Billy but he was highly regarded as a savage prospect for us at minor and under 20 level. He scored five points from play in an All Ireland final against a highly fancied Limerick team and was man of the match on the day…and as far as I can remember he was our top scorer against Galway that year ( did he score 16 or 17 points?)

I don’t know what happened with Billy but he seemed to lose confidence and his work rate just wasn’t up to scratch. You could say management would have to take some of the blame for their failure to motivate him and he always looked like a lad that wasn’t enjoying his hurling once he joined the senior setup. He has to go down as another good Kilkenny player that went by the wayside because of poor player development.

We often hear how Cathal O Neill couldn’t line out for Limerick making it an easier task for Kilkenny but that Limerick under 20 team that started had Adam English, Colm Coughlan , Aidan O Connor and Shane O Brien to name a few. Why haven’t we got nearly as many seniors from the winning side. Not even our star player on the day.

Post edited by Charlie69 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Marrooned

ye Butterbeansbut you know what the CB is like with lazy options isn’t that the attitude that has us in this position to begin with.

just see Tommy Shefflin name popping up as a coach, I’d go for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,370 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Why is there animosity towards tom mullaly? I agree his track record is brilliant. He must be a good manager to get so much out of the teams hes been with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Nedflanders02

I genuinely don’t know, I remember there being a bit of a snide comment about him one night in there and in the company of the then top table his name was brought up and let’s just say they didn’t hide their dislike of him.

did he not turn them down before for some roll?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭Willie Power

Seems to be a lot of talk about Henry in the media, including RTE news. He wouldn't be my choice. I'd favour Dowling or Mullally. Eddie Brennan did well with Laois, but they were at a very low ebb when he arrived in 2018 and could only improve. Managing Kilkenny is a different story.

My thoughts on Lawlor, Carey and Ryan. If they're all, or any of them, available great. If not move on and don't mention them again. Every county meets that. How sickening it must be for Mayo to be losing a generational talent to Aussie Rules, imo a very unskilled game.

In Laois we lost a chap who had played senior football at 19, to Aussie Rules in 2006, Colm Begley, for his peak years. We lost a great talent, Zach Tuohy, to Australia who won every honour there. That's the equivalent of losing a Tommy Walsh and Henry Shefflin. They were gone, and that was it.

Westmeath dealt with the injury to their best player, Luke Loughlin, really well. Others stepped up and Mark McHugh saw there was a retired player who still had a lot to offer. He maximised what resources he still had.

"He might be an eejit, but he's our eejit"
    Willie Power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭KK36

I got that much alright but couldn’t understand what you were saying

she’s a problem in the CB inner circle

I just read on Kilkenny GAA that KK1 beat Tipp gold by 6-13 to 1-12 last Saturday in semple stadium in the Arrabawn cup (league). Can anybody elaborate on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭newhouse87

Yeah that's true, the gold is tipps second string alright at that age group. Presume KK1 is the first team? Think Laois Blue hammered the Tipp gold team too.

thanks for the info Newhouse. No green shoots then ? Celtic challenge on Saturday against the same opposition. I hope Tipp play it fair and not play some of their minors as they did before. I know it said league but whats the full format for that competition. As always they complicated everything recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭newhouse87

Presume its just a league similar to Celtic challenge. Hard to keep track of all the different competitions. I would imagine the fact the minors still involved in championship all them lads will be staying with the panel for the Cork game.

thanks again Newhouse you are probably right that they won’t be using there minor panel while still in competition. I certainly find it difficult to grasp the Tony Forrestal and Arrabawn tournaments later in the year with the changes that were made and it always seemed to me that the changes never suited KK. ( conspiracy theories or what?)

No matter who is installed as manager we will have to be patient because he will basically have to start from scratch and his first aim is to retain div.1 status, some people don’t think this is vital but it really is we cannot fall any further and start losing both support and revenue. After two years we would want to be showing grass roots and go from there, but patients is required. But this is only a quarter of the issues we are facing. The CB will have to realise that they are a failed entity and some should resign to prevent a blooody coup which nobody wants there needs to be an EGM called from within the county board to at least discuss where we stand. Anyone who doesn’t think we are in a crisis shouldn’t be in the county board. Anyway Hi Ho Hi Ho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Skeheenlad

There is no longer a Tony Forristal national competition anymore, its just Leinster and Munster under 14 competitions now, Munster is still called Tony Forristal, 2 Kilkenny teams met in the final of the first leinster one last year! Kilkenny won the last Tony Forristal as a national competition 2 years ago with the majority of the same management that are over this years Celtic Challenge team! Arrabawn is still a national competition!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭hogans heroes

What Time is the game in abbotstown on Saturday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

jaysus that’s right I was in Nowlan park for that last year my memory is coming back. You see what I mean confining us to Leinster.

maybe it should be like the Celtic challenge at U14,U16 and U17a level playing pitch for everyone. By the way where does Galway come into the Tony Forristal ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Skeheenlad

Galway play in the Leinster competition under 14

thanks again you seem to know your stuff at this level. Feed us any info on the future competitions I’d appreciate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 TryMyBest

Do ye guys think that the reason why the KK CB don’t seem to like Mullally is because he managed us in Wexford at U21 level and was a coach for Wexford at Senior level (An awful long time ago) or is it something more personal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Nedflanders02

I think the fact that he took that Wexford U21 team is definitely something that is held against him, that is when I first sensed the animosity towards him at CB level.

Post edited by Nedflanders02 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭Grats

David Herity should be considered for senior manager/coach role.