Gig Reviews - 2026

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,173 ✭✭✭Stillill42

Unless Iarnród Eireann are a new post punk outfit, we could probably let that discussion fizzle out lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭fourmations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,543 ✭✭✭facehugger99

I’ve gathered my thoughts and my ears have stopped ringing.

Pixies are a band I’ve loved since the first time I heard them as a very impressionable 16 year old.

I’d seen them live once before, supporting the RHCPs in the Phoenix Park, early 00s, probably one of the worst concert experiences I’ve been to. They look really uninterested and the sound was awful.

So, my expectations were suitably lowered for last night.
    I needn’t have worried.

From the first song you could see the were engaged and fully locked in. 28 songs in 90 minutes, all killer, no filler. Sound was amazing, crowd were really into it and the weather stayed mostly dry. Left absolutely exhilarated.

Shout out to Gans who really got the crowd going. Great commitment from a support act, I hope they do well.

Pixies in the Olympia.

Well. They certainly took a while to get going. I had myself hyped up on the setlists from the last 2 nights and 6 or 7 songs in, I had the fear altogether. Winterlong a nice opener but Here Comes your Man notwithstanding, we went on a pretty mediocre run after that. I'm unapologetically indifferent to everything produced since the split and if we're being honest with each other, primarily here for the Come on Pilgrim/ Surfer Rosa/ Doolittle material and that first stretch had me having flashbacks of the Electric Aena in 2022 when they rattled off 6 or 7 'new' tracks in a row in the middle of a festival set.

I needn't have worried. That run from Hey! to the end was majestic. Too many highlights but Vamos, Isla de Encanta, Number 13, Roswell, Wave of Mutilation all magic. Frank practically playful, Joey as good as I've ever heard him, rhythm section bang on, they're like nothing else out there, before or since. If someone could just ban them from producing new music....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,046 ✭✭✭RayCon

Stewart Lee - Bord Gais. Brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,940 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

43449.jpg

Rilo Kiley in the Roundhouse.

I had the chance to catch them on their reunion tour last year, but a fairly terrible venue layout meant I spent most of it watching on a screen.

Fixed that this year by going to the Roundhouse, one of my favorite venues, which sold out almost instantly.

100 minutes of early 00s indie goodness followed. Opening with execution of all things, a fantastic 1 2 sweet and salty of Jenny Lewis hitting the country notes on I never straight into the disco twinged breakin' up, and the triple threat of silver lining, better son/daughter and portion for foxes closing out the main set, before opening the encore with a very loud sing-along for with arms outstretched.

Fantastic night and if I had a ticket and didn't make it I'd be kicking myself. It also required a plane which means I'm better than all you apparently.

Ah sounds great. Jenny's always value for money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,940 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Yeah, saw the postal service twice and now Rilo twice, next step is her solo stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 547 ✭✭✭Sean Seoighe

My wife went to Rilo Kiley last night and thought it was brilliant too and was well impressed with Roundhouse too.

Unfortunately due to families being families we'd no one to mind the kids so I had to give it a miss but hoping they extend the tour and make it over here in near future!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,223 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

Didn't know you could fly to other countries for gigs, why has no-one ever mentioned this?!

Still can't believe they skipped Ireland though 😋

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭Megager

pixies last night were just great. I quite like the way they built up with newer stuff. I feel there are a couple of songs missing from setlist? Did they play Umass?

No alas. Few mistakes on that setlist all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭KawaKris

IMG_8546.JPEG

Went to the Pixies last night in the Olympia. Great gig. Really enjoyed it despite missing a few of my favorite songs. Looking forward to seeing them again in a few weeks. Still sound great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,223 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

+1 fur the Stewart Lee reviews, absolutely brilliant again!

First time ever to the TLT in Drogheda, nice theatre in the middle of an industrial park!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

Yep, very funny. My first time seeing him. I'd no idea the TLT was that big.

…^……<…./?::;;:::@"! ((((((*))))))#=)))))~

Yeah, 913 seats apparently. I'd actually have guessed more while in there. Looked like most seats had a good view too. I was sat on the first row of the raked seats looking down the central aisle at the stage, great spot with a perfect view. Only slight downside was that it was the main corridor in the interval, but that wasn't too bad really. Was a 45min drive home for me, quicker than getting home from Dublin (though did mean no beer), I'll definitely consider it again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭Decuc500

Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit were predictably great in the Olympia last night. No support, onstage at 8:15 and played for over two hours.

The Olympia wasn’t jammed either so there was room to get around and great sightlines.

The band had a no phones, ‘live in the moment’ policy so very little phone distractions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,744 ✭✭✭Wooderson

Isbell's personal "reminder" was directed at the smelly little nitwit in the beard/tophat/cane who as per doesnt give a shite about anything at the plethora of Dublin shows he attends other than himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭fillup

Hey - leave Gig Man alone!!!

Marcus is a great addition to the Dublin gig going scene

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,859 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

He’s a bit of a character all right. Who is he?

Ooh. Careful there Woody. This is how I imagine the youngsters are talking about the likes of me and many of us on here as we bounce around to Getdown Services or whatever. Us eccentric, smelly old people have a right to go to gigs too!

#theOAPsarealright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Granite Head

"A meat warehouse in the middle of an industrial park".

Fabulous modern theatre with plenty of surrounding parking (Tesco), the only slight issue with it is only one entrance/exit.

2026 Gigs and Events: Bren Berry, Grant Lee Philips, Jarlath Regan, Craig Finn, Westside Cowboy, Magdalena Bay, Neil Delamare, The Streets,The Paper Kites, TJ Baham, Borderline Festival (Fri + Sat), Whitney, Stereolab (Whelans), Antlers, David Byrne, Buck Meek, Bar Italia, Gene, Gorillaz, Thundercat, Belle & Sebastion x2, Jason Byrne, President, Jacob Alon, Robert Finley, Big Thief, The Big Star Quintet, Superfurry Animals, These Charming Men, Kraftwerk, Ray LaMontagne, Sugar, Mack Fleetwood, Pixies, Stewart Lee, Aldous Harding, The Cure, Florence & the Machine, Beta Band, Forest Fest, ATN, Moby, GOAT, Jack White, Sigar Ros, Michael Shannon & Jason Narducy, Bonny Prince Billy, Death Cab for Cutie, Olafur Arnalds, Reytones, Arab Strap, Arlo Parks, Strokes, Cat Power, Widows Peak, Jeff Tweedy, Ocean Colour Scene, Fat Dog, Interpol & Bloc Party, Madra Salach

The lad stinks chief. Honestly.

We've not met but you strike me as someone who values personal hygiene.

A smelly waste of time. 'Orrible fella. His behaviour last night was poxy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭Decuc500

That's mad. I wasn't aware of him. I do recognise a lot of 'older' guys who are always near the front at gigs in Dublin. Hell I'm old myself...

He had his camera in Isbells face for close to ten mins. Hes a stain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,360 ✭✭✭Everlong1

Yeah I've seen this asshole at a few Olympia gigs - he was at the Pixies on Tuesday, barging his way down the front and generally being a knob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Choochtown

And I thought JI handled the situation very well, explaining just why the no phones policy was in place without getting aggressive towards the lad. This despite us being informed of the policy on the way in AND the announcement just before the band came on.

Not a fan of the extended guitar show-boating but otherwise loved the gig especially the 3-in-a-row Drive by Truckers section.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,700 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

He was acting the absolute c<nt at Supergrass last year too. And Iggy.

And there I thought he was just a harmless oul' lad who.loved his music. I saw a career path there for myself. Shame.