Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Ok lads we get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭Willie Power

Fair play to him. It allows things to move on.

It must have been a really hard few months for him and especially since championship began.

"He might be an eejit, but he's our eejit"
    Willie Power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭me89

Yes glad it didnt drag out, only worry is we now have to trust the county board to get the right man in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,114 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Can't see Brian Dowling staying in Kildare after doing such a brilliant job the last few years

Henry might want another few years with you're 20s

Heard Davy is available

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Marrooned

it’s a good thing Derek Lyng didn’t draw it out this needs to be sorted and get candidates in place asap and see what we have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 covcat

Undoubtedly Derek Lyng has given great service to Kilkenny hurling as player/selector/manager and a big thank you for all your efforts, but his time was up and I am just glad it did not drag out.Good luck for future.Lets hope Co board start process of appointing successor and whoever it maybe starts the long road back to where we need to be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 TryMyBest

I don't know if it was a case of Offaly declining, was probably more a case of them returning to where they traditionally had always been. Offaly haven't won a Leinster Senior title outside of the 1980-2000 period and the only other times they even reached the Leinster Final outside of then were 1901, 1924, 1926, 1928, 1969, and 2004, have never reached a League final either outside of their golden period. It's not as if they've had massive underage success either outside of their Leinster Minor win in 2022 and their Leinster U20 wins in 2023 and 2024 (And the AI in 2024), those two Leinster U20 titles are their only two titles at that grade outside of their golden era teams (Counting their Leinster U21 win in 1978 as golden era). Not a big county either and is genuinely split 50/50 split between hurling and football so it's a minor miracle they even managed to win 4 AIs

And I say this as a Wexfordman but Wexford are not a football county and that cannot be used as a reason to explain why we are where we are, all the others are football counties tbf outside of Offaly who as I said above are more like 50/50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,584 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

We would need a new sponsor to afford Davy. Actually we'd need a gold mine.

Huge credit to Derek Lyng, he is kilkenny through and through. Did his time as a selector under Cody and had a great run as u20 manager, then took on the hardest job in hurling, succeeding the best of all time at a moment of decline, and did it without ever complaining or making an excuse or looking for attention or even money. He's pretty much the exact opposite of Davy fitz, personality wise. We can debate WHY it didn't work out, but I suppose we can all agree that it didn't work out, and Derek stepped down early, once again doing what's right for kk hurling, not dragging it out and giving the county a chance to put the right man in before the clubs are back at it. It can't have been easy for him to step down, it never is. I think he still has a huge amount to offer the county but he owes nobody anything. A great kilkenny man.

That's true Offaly hadn't a strong tradition. They contested the 1988 League Final v Tipp.

Willie Power

So true the contrast with Fitzgerald. He never moaned, no hysterics. Any interview he did was dignified and honest. He never blamed anyone.

And tonight he's doing what he's doing for the good of Kilkenny hurling. I hope he succeeds in whatever he undertakes next.

He's a throw back in an era producing managers who crave personal attention.

Willie Power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 TryMyBest

Yeah, sorry for the confusion, I meant they’ve never contested a Division 1 Final outside of their 1980-2000 golden era

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Nedflanders02

with Derek stepping aside I think he should be commended for almost 30 years of unbroken service to his county as a player, selector and manager. Stepping into Cody’s shoes was never going to be an easy task and, though things haven’t gone the way any of us would have wanted, there’s no doubt that it wasn’t a lack of effort or determination on Derek’s behalf. I think stepping aside now is an admirable move on Derek’s part and gives his successor the best chance to have things in place before the club championship starts. Who that will be is another question, do we have faith in the CB to pick the right person is an even bigger question. But thanks to Derek for the service he’s given Kilkenny Gaa through out the years, a Kilkenny man through and through and a great one at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 kilkenny123456

Well done to Derek. Nothing but commitment to kilkenny GAA over the years. As many others have said, it was never going to be easy but he did it all without complaining and while we didn’t have a great few years, he gave it his all. Very proud to be a club mate of his where he represented our small corner of north kilkenny so well throughout the last 30 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭jimmythesulk

Non stop talk about managers at the different levels on this page, you would swear they were the reason for our defeats this year. Our players are just not good enough. Very few top class players in the county anymore. Doesn't matter who the manager is, if the players aren't good enough it doesn't matter a jot. We are gone like the England soccer team overhyping our players and then blaming the manager when things go to pot. I often read about players on this page and you would swear they were the next jj, tommy or henry, only to be extremely disappointed when I see them in the flesh. Wasn't long ago this page was full of posters giving out about lyng not adapting to the modern game, this year they tried that but the players just not good enough to be able to adapt to it. Thank you to all our managers giving it their best, they certainly don't deserve the criticism they receive on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Village87

I agree with that comment, this year I do believe we did not have the players at senior, U20 or minor to get out of Leinster. Other years especially minor and u20 management did not cover themselves in glory with much better teams.

Thanks to Derek, thanks for years of service but the players let him down this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,584 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Thank you to all our players giving in their best, they certainly don't deserve the criticism they receive on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,007 ✭✭✭kk.man

Thanks Derek for your service both as a player and mentor. So honest, so unassuming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Sir Chaz

Yes fair play to him he didn't hang around. He's an honourable man and deserves our gratitude for such unbroken and selfless service to the county. It's a pity he had to go out on a low but that's sport.

Hopefully the plan for the new appointment will be well thought out. We definitely need to get it right. I think if Kilkenny seniors come calling for any ambitious Kilkenny man, whether they're in a job currently or not, they won't turn it down.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Whoever was going to be Cody's successor was always going to be on a hiding to nothing. Fair dues to Derek Lyng for putting his hand up and giving it a go regardless.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭jimmythesulk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 NJoyKkGAA

Over the past number of weeks and months, Lyng has received so much criticism and disregard from posters on this forum. It’s easy to do that from positions of anonymity. The one thing that no one can take from the man is his honesty and integrity, including his decision to step down today, putting the team and county above all else. Integrity is often appreciated most after it’s gone. He led with principle especially when it wasn’t an easy path. I wish him every success in his future endeavours and thank him for his unbroken service and loyalty to his county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Grassy Knoll

agree, he comes across as a dignified man, the type of individual you want doing a serious job. Now he is gone, is it Henry’s to lose? Some of the others mentioned would be light by comparison in terms of senior inter co experience?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Firstsub

So the runners and riders are, in no particular order

• Brian Dowling
    • Tom Mullally
    • Henry Shefflin
    • Brian Hogan
    • Eddie Brennan
    • Andy Comerford
    • Taggy
    • Richie Power
    • Richie Hogan
    • Arne Slot
    • ???? ?????

Since the advent of the internet sports fora have been about opinions and criticism. And yes it is easy as an anonymous poster, criticising somebody who's doing a very difficult job in the public eye.

But people will always have opinions on tactics, selection and all the various aspects of a sport. It's when that criticism becomes overly personal, or myopic in the sense of not seeing the bigger picture it becomes dangerous.

As posters mention, Derek Lyng is an honourable man. He has a quiet, dignified, measured demeanour, showing many of the best traits of Kilkenny hurling through the years.

Sometimes things just aren't to be. A whole plethora of circumstances conspired against Kilkenny winning an All Ireland, who he succeeded, lack of stellar talent.. maybe even a bit of luck.

Willie Power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭davidx40

It's not exactly an overly attractive job for anyone at the moment , if you were Brian Dowling would you be saying no I'll wait a few years there's no chance of any success in the next 4/5 years anyway .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭Nickindublin

Thank you Derek. You have given KK massive service that no one can take awy from you. Fabulous player and person. Yes the anonymous posters here have given you criticism here myself included but thats par to th course. I dont think it was personal from anyone here and i have not seen anything personal. Best of luck to you in where the road of life takes you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Marrooned

as regards the Boro complaining I think it was about a certain referee. We were told to **** off that we had no say as we didn’t provide any referees to the county scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Charlie69

I’d echo all of that Willie, well said. Derek was the same on the field , no nonsense, tough as nails and a real swashbuckling type of warrior in our midfield. Best of luck to him in his future endeavours and thanks for everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,833 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Was always going to be very hard especially when the signs were clearly there that the county was in decline long before Cody left. It's not like Kilkenny dropped off a cliff with Lyng as Cody couldn't win an All Ireland in his last 6 seasons. This was coming no matter who was in charge.

Under better circumstances Lyng could re-emerge as a sucessful manager if he takes up other jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

If they do give it to Davy, he'll try to implement a game plan (sweeper, handpassing though the lines) that's alien to the current Kilkenny team.

They need to give him a 3 to 4 year contract to bed his ideas in.