Dublin GAA Discussion Thread: Mod Note - No 'Dublin Dominance' chat allowed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,304 ✭✭✭✭JRant

First year, results and performances have been consistently pretty poor, add in getting banned for the championship and it's hard to make a case for him returning next season. Harsh, maybe, but nobody to blame but himself.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

Most people agree had Donegal lost McGuinness their champo chances would be gone. I think it’s been huge for Dublin , yes he was stupid but I think we definitely do better with our chosen coach training and managing during a game.

I think he was wrong choice because of the job Dublin have with so many moving parts. Prob need half a new team and the incident that git him banned had a Pillar Caffrey versus mayo feel to it. I’d of preferred Ger to be the manager after the manager after Dessie if you get me.

But I don’t know what replacing him will do, he’s only had a few months and I think there was a sense things were always gonna get worse before they got better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,442 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Radical idea popped into my head . What if Rock named himself in goal? He can find a man. Calm under pressure . Intelligent footballer. And can kick two pointers?

I know it would be a kick in balls for the two keepers . But there comes a time to say try something different.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭rolling boh

Well Deano will not be in goal next day .while Hugh was poor for two goals the defence in front of him was all at sea but we should have been well in front if the other players played anyway better and not have given Louth the real boost of a nine or ten point turnaround in under ten mins of the second half .I feel sorry for Dean he is no way ready for the job he is trying to do .

Yeah the defenders have no bite or leadership in them. Need a few Dogs badly.
    Even a more seasoned manager would struggle with the amount of issues that seem to be getting worse not better.

Ger will be back soon, but it occurred to me he might have one of the shortest tenures on the championship sideline the way things are going.

Maybe Ger’s ban might save him. In that he didn’t get a proper full year yet.

We will have to get in more expierence in the management for next year .this year is gone,I hold the county board responsible for that.It could get worse as surely some of the remaining lads with medals will go as this year looks a total failure .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,248 ✭✭✭MFPM

There's certainly an argument that given the league campaign was so bad that once Brennan's ban was confirmed they should have considered bringing in a more seasoned manager to take the reins...putting Dean Rock in charge of the 2020 team is one thing but putting him in charge here is not fair on him or the players.

The other thing is the players, it's bizarre Dublin don't have players coming through...there's a touch of Man United after Ferguson about Dublin...rolled with the good times but seem to have taken their eye off the ball in terms of player development..

There isn't a single team that will fear Dublin in the draw. I hope we don't get Kerry as they, even depleted will destroy Dublin.

Hard to understand that with all the clubs and some of them are big that they would not have at least one above average player that would be up to inter county standard every year or so .

That's fair but by jaysus he hasn't helped himself this year. Definitely needs a few more wise heads in and around the management camp, maybe that's the change that's needed.

Dublin clubs are doing well in spite of the intercounty teams success over the past rather than because of it. Look at how little club football young lads actually play now from minor, and younger, up if they make a Dublin development squad.

There's nothing like regular games to hone those match day smarts and toughness and I believe the development path for promising young players completely takes that away from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭GHendrix

Attendance is a real shame also. 16K is not enough. Tickets were only 25 quid

There will be more at the hurling next weekend. I was thinking the last time Dublin had poor crowds was between 63 and 74. In those 70’s documentaries . Dublin players said they would be embarrassed to say they played for the Dubs until Heffo changed it.

I don’t know how bad the pre Heffo management days were not much footage. But this current Dublin panel is the weakest in my lifetime, by miles. And I remember the 80’s so that’s the worst Dublin team in over 40 years.

Amazing to go from the best Dublin team ever, and the best team in the history of the game ,to this.

If someone said after Dessie left it would go this far downhill, you would have said, they are mad. Talk about.a dream Turning into a nightmare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭diceyreilly

i honestly think its great.
    Might be one step closer to going back to Playing our home games in Parnell Park.
    Parked on Jones’ Road yesterday. Unheard of for a Championship game. Usually wouldn’t get near it for a championship game.

Won one game in Croke Park in 2026. Madness. Would still be in Division 1 if we played in Parnell Park and would most likely be in the other side of tomorrow’s draw too.

It seems like a different world when league football matches were played in Parnell.
    It must have been demoralising for the Dublin players to see such a poor crowd yesterday, before a ball is thrown in.
    Dublins average over the last 20 years league and championship was about 32k. Basically around 15,000 fans have had enough on average per game now.

Only a hardcore left. And I was at it . but was in no real humour of going, to be honest. Think was one of the rare times I was late for a throw in . 8th minute on clock.

Will be a real clear out of players at the end of this season. I am starting to worry would Dublin survive in div 2? You know things are very bad when even Paul Flynn is negatively critical of the Dublin team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Alonzo Mosley

Like some here, going to matches since early 80s and things are bad atm. Went to Parnell for hurling (not too much of a hurling supporter) but the atmosphere was electric. What I noticed was how tight the pitch is.

Maybe a change to Parnell is needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Its a bad workman that blames his tools. If you think the pitch is the issue you are not looking at it correctly. By the time Dublin get to a championship QF they will have to play in CP, samecwith a Leinster Final. Previously when the team was going well it was a significant advantage.

I would presume like Kerry and Cork they can nominate two or more pitches for championship or league. By all means play games in PP but its not going to solve the teams issues.

Post edited by Bass Reeves on

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,839 ✭✭✭MfMan

It's not at all unheard of though. Look at Kilkenny hurling now too.

In my mind a “poor” Dublin side is last 8 at best 10th at worst . This team is probably 14th and looking like falling further. Thank God for the hurlers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭dunnerc

We need more money lol…..

Best thing I did was start following the hurlers properly from 2005. Leinster minor win. Knew something was bubbling, you could sense a vibrancy, a confidence, so kept a close watch.

KK were in the Senior Leinster (as usual that year) . I still remember a comment from a KK woman behind me. As the young Dubs paraded around with the cup she said “You would swear they won an all Ireland” . She had no feeling for what it meant for Dublin hurling.

Then fast forward to 2011 that league win for the hurlers was (for me) up there with the footballers winning Sam in terms of achievement. I know the Leinster title was won 2013. And a few AI Semi-Finals. But to me the two turning points were that minor Leinster win in 2005 and that league 2011.

The Dublin core hurling crowd are a different set compared to the football crowd. More realistic, less fair weather. And seem to aware how many of the so called “traditional counties” are dismissive of Dublin. Because there are so few hurling fans you always see the same faces, in or around the same spots.

The difference is at least the KK hurlers have some fight and workrate in them. The basic of any side.

The Dublin footballers seem so mentally fragile. it is scary. I think this era will go down as the “Fragile Rock” era.

This song going through my head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

Im not sure why so much is being made out of Dublins attendances like it’s massively changed. Even during the success of the last 15 years I don’t recall our matches in Leinster having greatly larger attendances. It’s been on a downward trajectory regardless of Dublin success.

I remember when league games were in Parnell park , sellout every game was much more enjoyable experience. I think somebody said Dublin probably playing at croke park at this stage for the corporate ticket holders cause it’s not for us fans.

The nonsense being spouted about Dublin fans in mains is typical. I’d love to see how much other county fans would enjoy regularly watching their teams play with barely a fifth of croke park full. It’s not enjoyable and has no atmosphere or champo feel.

Bit unfair to hold Deano to account for the state of things ,its the DCB and Ger who have been the main cause of our situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,493 ✭✭✭FullBack Jam

In fairness, the reason that it's barely a fifth full is because it's the Dublin fans choice not to attend. It's not some external force keeping them away. If I was at a championship match in McHale Park in Mayo, and there was only approx 5,000 people there out of max capacity of 25,000, I would be angry with the Mayo people for not getting off their arses to go to the match.

25000 is barely a third of croke park, those numbers would plummet if mayo were getting that or less in CP. a 25k stadium would be perfect for Dublin , would reinvigorate games, grow fanbase and make CP games more unique and prob get better crowds for Dublin games.

Not sure where people have this weird idea that cause it’s the capital they should have massive proportionate amount of support. I’ve never seen Dublin seldom in my lifetime have more fans then opposition. Never seen croke park fully Dublin for any or many games.

I remember 1992 against Donegal in AI final it was 1/4 Dublin and rest Donegal. Many big battles with meath had 50/50 crowds. Cant remember Dublin fans filling out croke park in big games when tickets were available.

So you are talking nonsense. You expect a county that’s NEVER had a fanbase capable of filling out corke park themselves for anything but maybe an AI final , to have bigger crowds for lower interest games when they stadium is regularly empty.

It’s just showing your ignorance presuming that Dublin should have 40k + in attendance because it’s just something you think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,493 ✭✭✭FullBack Jam

Someone has hit a sore nerve 🤗

You're obviously a fairweather supporter, and you weren't at the matches from 2011 to 2019, especially Dublin's big matches against Kerry and Mayo during those years. Semi-finals were packed, and mostly Dubs fans. I was there for them There was a massive wall of sound when the Dublin team got their scores.

So, that is rubbish to say that Dublin never had a fanbase. During those years, Dublin had the GAA buzz, and had a large following. Like yourself, many must have been fairweather, and haven't the committment any more to support the team. That's everyone's prerogative. But it's really silly to come out blaming the atmosphere in the stadium for the demise of the Dublin mens intercounty team.

It's nothing to do with Dublin being the capital that there should be more supporters than other teams. It's to do with population. Population of Dublin is approx. 1.5m. Even if half of those are dismissed straight-away as being blow-ins, foreign nationals etc. That still leaves around 750,000. Population of Westmeath is less than 100,000. Yet they outnumbered Dublin supporters last week.

One thing about the 92 final was there were people wearing Donegal colours that would have struggled to point out Donegal on a map .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭GHendrix

To be fair to Dublin supporters all the same, support and attendance has always been a bit give and take.

Over the last few years, it has all been negative around Dublin. Our best players retiring. Quite a few at surprisingly young ages. Results going downhill and poor performances.

You get the feeling that something positive needs to happen to get the fans back into it. Either one or two new stars or maybe a style of play that actually brings some decent results.

But when you’re getting relegated and beat by the likes of Westmeath and Louth and even struggling against Wicklow, people find it harder to get behind them.

And I know some people will say that that’s not support and you’d be largely quite right. I just mean that people need something to work with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,217 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

Hugh definitely poor for a couple of the goals but still would prefer him in nets instead of Comerford. There seems to be no system for the kickouts and not sure who is to blame for that, possibly Cluxton as the current gk coach I daresay. Just look at Louth yesterday, they ran the same kick out tactic repeatedly and Dublin forwards fell for it every time, it was a simple one where full back moves toward midfield then sprints back toward goal ahead of whoever his marker is and keeper has a simple short kickout.

Having said all that there is a lot of agonising and analysis going on when the simple fact is most of the current players in the squad aren't at the level needed. I think it'll be several lean years ahead while we wait for new talent to come through and some players mature a bit

I would have thought that if Stevo has being talking to the keepers after several months and quite a few matches that some sort of plan or improvement would be on display but looks like nothing has been really done .