How often do you go to the pub?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,043 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

I was in the shops friday night after work and the bars & restaurants around grafton st were jammers.

Everywhere was overcrowded but great atmosphere in the sun alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

This for me as well .

Usually only go if meeting up with someone before a match or a concert or specific night out with friends or family

Would say step inside a pub now average maybe 6 times a year .

We do most of our drinking at concerts these days .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭Hooked

Late 40's male. Living 15mins outside limerick city the last few years and have started stopping in to the 'local' 2 or 3 times a month. 2 or 3 pints max. Even stopped in on my own recently - and got chatting to 2 locals. Something kinda refreshing about shooting the breeze with people that aren't close family or friends. The conversation is light… current events, sports, shared interests… Stop for an hour or 2… Amazing to see so many men on their own - whomping pints - followed by a few small ones - then into the car, pie-eyed. Rural Ireland is rife with drink-driving.

Unlike when "the lads" get together - then it's a 12 pint session (in town) and dodging the ones that want to tell you all their marital/financial/other woes. CHRIST - I'm out for a drink and the craic. Leave the doom and gloom at home FFS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

All the younger people were at Forbidden Fruit and / or away the bank holiday weekend .

My lads ,all in their 20s early 30s , still go to pubs with their friends especially at the weekends in town , like we used to do .

When you have your own children it becomes difficult to mix drink with looking after smallies and getting up for early junior matches on Sunday not to mention getting a childminder , so you fall out of the habit .

Never really fell back into it after that .

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 13,939 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

By whom? I honestly think the staff welcome my company. And I get to know regulars too, so I usually have a bit of random conversation, which I like. Or do you mean people in my life like my parents, partner, friends?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭thegetawaycar

Pubs in general are struggling, gas, pills and powder are taking over for the younger crowd and those of us that used to frequent our local are with kids etc…

Used to get deals on the quiet nights, 3 pints for a tenner but now we'd be getting 1.5 pints for that price whether Monday or Saturday.
    MUP was brought in to try force people to the pubs but all it did was move people onto the above mentioned gas, pills and powder.

If my local went back to a few cheaper nights the lads like myself would head up a lot more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭taxAHcruel

I love going into pubs. Just not "going down the pub". It has become something I do when traveling or getting out and about.

If I go anywhere - be it Germany to meet old friends who live there - or down to sligo and cork where the gfs are from - or on the road for any reason I love going into a pub. Especially a pub with food - my sister lives in the countryside in the UK And going into pubs over there is GREAT. There is a pub in essex that does the best Lamb Shank I have ever had. And playing "dice" with old guys in UK pubs is great.

But here at home that love of "Going down the pub" has totally gone. The ritual and the local and the tradition of that has totally soured for me. There's a hundred things I'd prefer to do with my mates than drop near or over 2 figures on a pint of schlop the barmen don't even know how to pull any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭FazyLucker

Used to love the pub in 20s/30s, 2-3 nights at the weekend in my 20's was the norm and I'd hate to have grown up in an Ireland where people drank solely at house parties, prinks, etc.

Now, in my 40's, go about once a month for 2-3 pints max. I can't handle hangovers and the recovery takes me days. I'm into my running and exercise and even a few pints impacts it.

I also hate my children seeing me hungover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭littlefeet

Very rural Wicklow: every back-of-beyond pub is packed on Sunday afternoons and bank holiday afternoons- those kinds of pubs. Drinking and driving is rampant.

Sunday afternoon pub drinking always seems to be the epitome of depression, especially on a sunny day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭JamBur

In my late 40s now and only go for pub pints a handful of times a year, and its usually forced. I used be a very regular pub goer in my 20s and 30s. My 40s saw it dwindle, but the pandemic broke habits and removed the want. I'm not counting once a month stopping off in some pub for grub randomly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭Quitelife

Many young and Middle Aged people are spending most of their money on cocaine so very little left for alcohol .
    Cocaine dealers have no rates or insurance or sky tv etc etc so publicans haven’t a hope of competing with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,184 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Once or twice a week depending. Rarely more than 4 or 5 pints normally. Pubs are moving away from drink now it's food and wine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭French Toast

Hardly once a month, maybe 10 times in the year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,982 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

I just don't bother with drinking these days! I'm not fully teetotal but I'd say 3 times a year max. Just doesn't float my boat anymore.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,224 ✭✭✭✭The Continental Op

Local shebeen about 3 times a month. Bring your own beer and drink it with the same mates you'd see down the pub - if we still had a local pub.

Wake me up when it's all over.

I wouldn't say teetotal but can get along fine on very little now . Like a glass or two of wine with a special meal , but mostly on water !

I tend to drink a bit more out with friends or at a concert , the social aspect I suppose .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,303 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

Seldom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,982 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

25 year old me would be very disappointed in me now 😆

To thine own self be true

Yeah . I don't count going to a gastropub or carvery as going to the pub . I remember we used to go to the local in UK everytime we wanted a good homecooked meal , but againwe were childless and a lot younger.. 20s .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭techman1

Thats true to an extent but its still a capital city surely there should be plenty of others that didn't go forbidden fruit or down the country. In London you would never say Oh the pubs are empty because all the 20 somethings are at Glastonbury, that wouldn't make sense, Dublin is a big enough city itself now . Wasn't there the mini marathon in Dublin this weekend surely the pubs afterwards should be busy as people are celebrating finishing it or making a weekend out of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

In my late 30s and would head to the local most weekends, usually a Saturday or Sunday evening. Five pubs in the village and all doing well - granted this is largely a weekend trade. But if you can make enough Thur - Sun, it sure can offset Mon - Wed.

Love the pub and, contrary to some of the naysayers in this thread, see it becoming ever more important in this era of supposed hyper-connectivity. For actual human interaction, conversation, craic, it's hard to beat the pub. Some may dismiss this as a whimsical romantic view, but I view it as a sanctuary from all the bullshit perpetrated online.

And on that point, despite all the challenges thrown at the pub sector (e.g. drink driving, smoking ban, rise of the internet, fancy houses, etc.) they continue to survive, and in many cases, thrive. I think that's a testament to their enduring legacy and their continued place in the Irish psyche. Which should be celebrated, and not berated as some chase this utopian "cultured" European model.

So long live the pub. And with the advent of AI, and all that it will bring, we might be very grateful to have the pub and the meaningful connections that come with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Sorry but I call bullshit on this. Name the bars? Few of my friends were out and, based on their feedback, the places they were in were rammed. They mentioned Kehoes and Ryans.

My own experience of Dublin bars is they are flying it any time I visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,043 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

Friday night was very busy.

Like you say, the mini marathon would have brought the crowds out sunday as well.

We should have more outdoor space for bars in the city though.

The sheer amount of people out having to stand on the pavement shows the demand is there and footpaths are often blocked with the crowds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,717 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

100% correct. Bank holiday city centre pubs packed full of Irish & tourists of all ages no matter what the weather is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,396 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Yeah the younger crowd are definitely big into vitamin pills and protein powder alright. And açai bowls. Mad for the fecking açai bowls they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,859 ✭✭✭SteM

Forgot the CL final was on in Saturday, arranged to meet a friend in Bradys in Terenure. Hadn't been in a pub since February, thought it would be busy but we arrived in at half time in the match and there were loads of seats available and it emptied pretty quickly after the match. Couldn't believe how quiet it was tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭bog master

Going to buck the trend here. Pensioner in rural area. Visit the local probably near every other day.

Go to town on the Monday to do the food shop-pop in for a pint or two or sometimes a coffee to chat about weekend matches.

Wed/Thurs will call in at 5ish to have a pint or two and chat.

Friday-collect the pension and could be a midday pint or a 5ish. Or maybe no drink-catch up on local news.

Weekend-probably go out ever other weekend with herself for drinks and meal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,354 ✭✭✭HBC08

Late 40s and live in large provincial town.

There were 52 pubs here in 1996.Theres 18 now (although 2 new pubs have opened in the last year)

My local isnt your typical pub.Theres comedy nights,salsa dancing,board game nights,trad sessions,seperate function rooms,loads of interesting local beers on tap,Pizza truck,lots of other good stuff.

The Clientele is 30s to 50s so it basically the same faces id see on a night out 30 years ago.Some people might see that as a negative but i think its great.Everybody is on the same buzz,there no young lads doing sneachta in the jacks.I kinda feel old in other pubs watching and listening to that sh1te.

Big selection of NA beers so i still go there when im off the sauce,working early etc.

I probably go twice a week,i had my 40th there,day two of my wedding,its more like a community centre.I love it and its a big part of my life.

I would say certain suburban pubs aren't doing as well as they used to, I notice in one local pub if, say, a rugby match is on, a lot of people bail out as soon as the match is over. COVID lost them many of the older regulars, and if it's too close to town, the younger age group won't hang around there for the night.