How often do you go to the pub?

• 02-06-2026 11:23AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭

I was working at the weekend, and people were complaining that the pubs have gotten significantly quieter in recent times (since COVID) but in the last year there is less and less footfall coming through the doors. I was wondering how often do you visit the pub? I know where I work there is some locals or regulars who would be there everyday, and even now I'm still fascinated of how they can afford it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭TerrieBootson

Maybe once a year, if someone dies….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭purplefields

I haven't been inside a pub in years.

Pubs = Ireland past. Parish priests giving you a clatter. The late late show and RTE. Reading newspapers etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭WoopWooWoo

Maybe once every few months, can get 10 cans of Heinken for 21 euro while in the pub that would be 70 euro, 25 euro taxi home, 15 euro takeaway.

Generally now me and friends just go to each others houses for a few. The pub scene used to be good, its gone to absolutely shite now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭Benedict XVI

A couple of times a month, usually on the Friday.

I used to love going to the pub but once the kids were born etc it had to take a back seat.

Now that they are older I am going back a bit more.

I enjoy catching up with others from around that I don't usually see during the week.

The place I live in used to have seven pubs, now it's two, and because of that there is a decent crowd in both of them most weekend nights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Lofidelity

Two or three times a month, more when i was in my twenties and thirties. Pubs in Dublin, Cork, Galway city centres are packed at weekends. Same in the tourist destinations around the country all through summer. Suburbs and rural towns are quieter.

Yes its expensive but so is everything theses days. Its about the conversation and entertainment, not getting drunk. I have four or five pints. If i didnt go to the pub i would never get to talk to friends. Nothing better at this time of year, sitting in the evening sun with a cold one in the hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭Quitelife

Used go 2 or 3 times a week up to about ten years ago , local pub in co limerick is now taken over by traveller drug dealers selling cocaine which the owner is afraid to tackle , old school drinkers drinking 8 pints a night now replaced by people on cocaine who drink 2 pints a night . Gone from a place for community to meet to a place older people are afraid to go to as dealers rule the roost with an iron fist ( and knives )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,922 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Once a week. 3-4 pints max. The rural local just about survived Covid and the owner said he would probably close but after Covid it became more popular than ever. He is flying it now.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭XopherIE

I think that is a common problem across all of Ireland and not just in your local. Whilst some owners try to tackle it head on, others say if they don't do it in their pub, they will do it somewhere else. I personally think cocaine is ruining pubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,286 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

I love a pub. So probably drop in for a pint 3 times a week. I would not be on the batter like - probably an average of 2 pints per visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,396 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Haven't been in years. There used to be a couple of pubs near me. One is a gym now and the other is a coffee shop.

Not worth going into the nearest town for a few drinks either as its too expensive.

Actually they were talking about extending the opening hours in late bars on newstalk this morning. Is there any point at this stage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,915 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Pubs around me are all jammed this time of the year Thursday-Sunday. Particularly if the sun is out, be hard getting a seat.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Probably a couple of times a month, but its mostly just for some food and then home.
    The cost of 2 adult means and chips/sausages and a couple of pints for the wife (i am forced to drive 😪) and a couple of soft drinks is near 100 euro.

Its been a while since i've been in the pub on the lash - too many kids weekend activities tbh.

I'd be the same, just to catch up with some of the lads if they are around. Been a while since I've had a proper night out. I also don't drink coffee or anything so it's basically my only expense in terms of hospitality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,982 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Never anymore. In my 20s, early 30s, it was a weekendly ritual, then it dwindled to bank holidays only. Now in my 40s, my social life is concerts, theatre, lunch, coffee.

Just outgrew it.

To thine own self be true

I think this is the case for most people, when you start having children and the hangovers start to get worse it's not really worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,922 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Would go to the local maybe twice a month. We eat out far more often and would usually go for a drink before and after too. It is expensive, but I've a good job and no kids, so fukkit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭techman1

I usually just go on a saturday night but i have definitely noticed that they have gotten much quieter over the last year especially and i cant figure out why?

I generally go to places that are lively commuter town in kildare like maynooth, however even with live music etc they are struggling to get a good crowd. Its not a post covid thing either because its only the last year where it has become so noticeable and its not a small rural town thing either.

Is it that young people are so into health and the body beautiful thing that they have suddenly decided en masse to abandon pubs and even clubs. Is it a weight jab thing, ive heard they remove the enjoyment people get from doing lots of other things aswell like socialising "ozempic brain" they call it.

It could be some fad aswell which will disappear again in a few years as people suddenly realise what they are missing, there is a limit to the social life at a house party , you get bored seeing the same people all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,396 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Maybe Lidl pubs are the future?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Passenger

Went out Sat night in Dublin city center. Bar hopped a few places I haven't been in a couple years or so. Everywhere was tumbleweed. A handful of people in each pub. It was shocking to see on a Saturday night in the city center. Camden Street, Wexford Street, Fade Street, Georges Street, etc. It was a bank holiday weekend but only a few years go these places would've been 3 deep at the bar just to get a pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭antimatterx

Once or twice monthly. I love the pub, especially when I get the train out of Dublin and go to some rural pub and hide for a few hours.

The price is gone crazy though. I do notice the effect heavier sessions have on my budget. 4 years ago I was doing 3 times a week on top of food out. Every Wednesday, Friday and Sunday. I don’t know where I got the money from, but it was great fun.

Cans at home are not as fun. I do enjoy some solo beers watching the match or a movie, but it’s hard to beat the pub. Although paying €8.30 for a Moretti last month was hard. I buy 4 bottles of Rossini in Aldi for €7.96.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭lumphammer2

Hardly ever …… pubs have been on the slide downhill for years now ….. they no longer are on the radar of a lot of people …… they are seen by many as dirty dens often empty of people and full of overpriced beer ……

There was a time people went there to hear music or join in a music session …… a lot of these do not even happen in many places ….. other people went for a game of pool …… now people have their own pool table at home and invite friends to play at their house …… likewise same goes for cards …….

Covid shut down some pubs …… many closed on March 14th/15th 2020 never to reopen …… but things were going badly a long time before ….. drink driving ….. lack of taxis in some places ….. smoking ban …… but overpriced beer is the biggest cause of all …… you can get 20 cans of beer for 20 Euro whereas 20 Euro would get you at most 4 pints in a pub …… if you are lucky ….. but often would not get you even 3 ……

In some pubs the staff/owners can be rude/indifferent …… not very welcoming ….. some of these places have a very strange attitude towards customers …… in others the clientele do not welcome those not in their 'clique' and are clannish ……. for others if you are not interested in sport esp soccer and GAA you have no business being even there !!! …..

All in all there are people who now consider other forms of entertainment/leisure better than the pub …… for me the statement the Vintners made during Covid about wanting to ban others from selling alcohol lost me my sympathy for them …… the pubs had it too good for years, took their customers for granted/treated them poorly and sold overpriced beer …… their dominance of the alcohol trade is no more and in many ways they brought it on themselves ……

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 13,939 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Most days. Might have one or two drinks. Usually on my own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭antimatterx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭Steady1

I only end up in pubs that serve food (2/3 times a month). Can't remember the last time I went to a pub for drinks only.

I personally prefer to go to the pub on my own too. Do you feel like you are judged for how many times you go to the pub on a weekly basis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Lofidelity

A lot of the twenties crowd were at Forbidden Fruit festival last weekend.

Bank holidays have always seen Dublin empty out, especially when its sunny. All the tourist spots along the west and south coast would be jammed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Hippodrome Song Owl

Around once a year at most, and only for food.

Personally, I also prefer when the pubs are quieter so I can actually sit down and enjoy my pint instead of barging my way through to try and get served and spilling half the pint in the mean time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭littlefeet

Fado fado, I use to like going to a pub reading a book or newspaper Saturday a pints or two at most, by myself.

Now it's every now and then and more often than not it for food as well.

I like certain pubs.

I wouldn't be made about Irish pub culture in some ways, for example in the UK you don't get the same male group culture in pubs of slagging which is a form of low level bullying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭Apiarist

Twice a month on average, 2-4 pints, only to meet friends, almost never by my own.