Beef price tracker 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,007 ✭✭✭kk.man

I don't mean to talk the trade down but we are in a very serious place. There will be no price rise, how can it rise? According to the cartel they have a reduced appetite for beef in the UK and the chills are full.

On the other hand you couldn't make it up, world shortage of beef, all our markets are paying more than we are paid, record high prices across the globe. We have a European market on our doorstep paying almost 8e a kg and the barons failed to crack it despite an open door policy since 1973. We have an incompetent Bord Bia who also seems unable to market our beef. If all our markets were returning a poor price to their farmers i would say its a market issue and its hard luck on the beef farmers worldwide. Irish processors are the biggest players in Europe why don't they dump cheaper Irish beef on the markets in France and Italy et al?

They were always swings in the game and that was good for the industry but when the pendulent swing is so dramatic absolutely no-one can take it. Procurement managers opening proclaiming 5.50 is their aim. Folks we are been taken for right mugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭grass10

Countryfile every Sunday has been showing grass and crops growing better this year than the last couple of years and I was in the central UK recently and thought it was greener than it had been for many years, eastern UK has been in drought since I was a child so probably no change there, Google is not my god

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

Harry’s farm has also got plenty rain for their crops compared to last year.

The kernel question is why is Irish beef so depressed when everywhere else is not....

Irish beef had always been the stick to keep control over the Brits and EU price, quite simply we have Volume. Irish price takes off like a run away train so how to row it back. Irish processors bought in southern hemisphere beef in huge volumes to the UK but they made a mistake, they brought in too much so now the old stick is broken with a huge mess in Ireland and the new stick has taken over and the bosses are at a loss what to do with the old stick. If every there was a case for the competition authority and the pure dominant Irish cartel ts mathematly screaming at them.

Moral of the story, you can't play with two sticks or someone will get hurt.

I a strip loin steak in Lidl for 6.29 yesterday, there's nothing expensive about that, so they can tell some other concoction of lies about the price sensitive consumer. They made a massive bo ba while messing in the market all through greed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭grass10

31k cattle per week 500 euro per head less paid last week compared to same week last year to irish farmers in 1 weeks kill equals 15 Million euro these are approx figures based on avg carcase weight obviously some of the kill is made up of mart purchased cattle and factory owned cattle but the stores are back ballpark 500 euro so it's still circa 15 million less paid for 1 weeks kill by the factory owners so where is this money, the housewives are paying record high prices for beef if demand were poor and sales were poor the obvious thing would be for retailers to drop the price to improve sales that's not happening which means the retailers must be very happy with their margin so where does that leave the factories margin my educated guess would be they are making record profits right now

The irish factories are using the soft border situation to import beef into either UK or Ireland and sell into either market when they largely control the UK and irish market and the authorities are doing damm all checking on what beef is moving to and from UK and Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,875 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

I hear talk of some meat factories rent chills to put beef into. I am guessing the barons are expecting to see a rise in the price of beef and will use this stored beef to keep the price paid to the farmer down.

I am wondering is the origin of the beef going in to storage from outside the EU and they are hoping to be ahead of the game if its banded in September.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 5,108 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Farmers can forget about global or UK supply-demand conditions.

We supply a cartel. IFA depend on that cartel for their income. They won’t do anything more than issue whinging statements to the media.

The Govt won’t change policy as MII run rings around them. FF, FG, or SF if they ever get in, are all “pro business”. Factories are businesses. Farmers are not.

The Serenity Prayer comes to mind again - change what you can, accept what you can’t, and figure out the difference between the two as quick as you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Coltsfoot99

In Sligo for the weekend, you can see the changes on the ground, the amount of cattle you'd see is next to nothing and high grass in lots of fields.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭green daries

Farming in Sligo is slowly being abandoned. Ive a friend down there himself and the father were milking 50 cows he was working and doing a good half the work . They're out this year and have kept a lock of weanlings he says there's lads reducing and retiring wholesale round them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,875 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

Yes there are no field of beef cattle in the country that I see driving around. Big dairy farms but not beef or sucklers. I would travel a good bit from Meath to Cork & Limerick weekly and would go from Meath to Galway & Donegal every 6 weeks or so.

I'd say "slowly being abandoned" might have moved up in gear this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,409 ✭✭✭limo_100

especially continental cattle are not visible in the country anymore. Very scarse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,156 ✭✭✭morphy87

I know a man that has bulls and he can’t shift them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭green daries

Quite possibly. It sill speed up more now with the pull in beef price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Thesmallfarmer

If they start going overage ,there a big burn .i would not panic otherwise as you could never have them good enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭epfff

I know guys with every sort of cattle from overage bulls to prime aax that can't shift. They not even getting promises of few weeks.

I panicked about 3 weeks ago and let cattle off to anywhere that would take.

I advised a neighbor that was feeding shed of bulls to do same. He had it from good source they would be €8 in June no cattle out there. This was in the presence of another lad that had refused 670flat for plain over 36 months hfrs and blks few weeks earlier. They both agreed he was lucky not to be listening to me or he would be robbed.

If its that bad now whats its going to be in the autumn. The Barrons have fucked us rightly. They were afraid of jps but too much so, jps are going to ride the shite out of them in the uk market. KARMA. NO SLAUGHTER PREMIUM, NO EU TAX PAYERS MONEY BAIL OUT. LET THEM SIT THIS ONE OUT. WE MADE THEM THEN THEY **** ON US. In a world of beef shortage eu and government have to seriously rethink competition legislation. They seriously got their sums wrong what an absolute shower.

I told ye weeks ago protest don't wait for a wet autumn. Mill were so nice in the Dail last week I smelt a fish, this is an absolute crisis.

Btw they were never very vocal against Mercosur ….should have sided with the farm organisations for once in their lives.

Have you some to sell at the moment or did you shift a lot 3 weeks ago that will finish you selling for a while?

I was talking to two agents, both reckon it will level out at €6, they said there is too much beef around, I said it’s definitely not around Ireland, the beef herd is at it’s lowest I think in 70 years in USA and Europe is well back too, they didn’t know what to say.

If it’s true that they are struggling to get orders into the UK they should come straight out and say it, there was a package there if brexit caused trade problems so if that’s the case that needs to be activated now. Bord Bia also need to be held to account they should also come clean if there’s issues about getting the product into the Uk, there job is to get markets,

No Irish farmer should be in this situation, a world shortage of beef and we can't get cattle killed, this must must be an example for the EU to inact legislation to prevent conglomerates to control industries because this is clearly a failed example of current rules.

There's no abandonment in this country theres a lot of shed cattle in there, why do we have 31k weekly kill? ..there's dairy calf to beef promoted by the barons, theres dairy farmers finishing cattle (more than you think) and then theres finishers.

Whats autumn bringing.... 40k cattle omg whats an absolute travesty and the barons and bord bia call themselves salespeople... they couldn't sell shite.

There is stocking at such a low rate that it is fair to call it abandonment, been regular to Sligo for 20 years and by God you notice it this year, there might still be numbers in the country but the change is stark in many places now and people need to pull together because everyone is up next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,409 ✭✭✭limo_100

fair play to you for putting it to the agents. everyone should be calling them out with there cold rooms full of south American beef

Come down to the se there's absolutely no shortage of beef. Take our marts this year record numbers. The tillage is gone here, dairy numbers through the roof and beef numbers backing those.

i dont disagree with you but different land and climate and in many places where land and weather dont play ball its hitting hard now

We can hold much more per acre, no disrespect. The finest tillage land in wexford, kilkenny, carlow, Tipperary and waterford are now serious dairy, calf to beef or finisher farms. The amount of cattle still indoors being fed is off the chats.

Take for example o Neil's dairy farm in wicklow, in my childhood that was a sheep farmer.

There's is absolutely no shortage of beef in this country but we are soft sellers.

We need a live shipping outlet and fast. There's an opening there.

Agents know nothing more than yourself.

They are just nice people that the factory use to humor farmers while robbing them. The agents days are also numbered as farmers become bigger and more educated. Why people still go through them has me baffled. If they knew anything they would be in different job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Thesmallfarmer

What option does any small farmer have its either use an agenr or mart.

How big is big enough so you dont go trough an agent.I know farmers killing 300 per annum and he goes trough agent .

You can deal direct with manager in local Abp and he is the biggest wa"ker in Ireland.

There is alot trash talked here by the ecperts.

He is the same wanker the agent deals with. Except the agent gets paid by the him/processor to take the time to make it palatable for farmers.

The guy killing 300 is putting 2500 of cost for no added value on his enterprise unless this agent is acting like a sales group dealing with a number of processors.

The majority of agents I would know have loyalty to one processor or at least loyalty for certain types to one processor.