Football Championship 2026 (Mod Note in OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,122 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

The first thing the NFL does in the event of a tie in the rankings is the H2H record. "Common opponents" is quite down the list of criteria.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,390 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Again, Dublin joint bottom of the pile when it comes to 2 pointers normal time . Serious argument to to made that Dublin are the worst team under the new football rules. Given the quality of some of the players available.

Embarrassing to see it in black and white like that, as a Dub supporter. Isn’t not as if the match wasn’t open yesterday.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,768 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

It was the 4 goals for Louth that beat them. As mentioned before on the thread, Croke Park could be a bit of a desert for 2 pointers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭Willie Power

I think some of it may be ingrained habits from the Jim Gavin and Dessie Farrell era. They were the best team at working scores and taking them around the D. Ensuring brilliant accuracy rates with point scoring under the old system.

I wonder if it's a coincidence or not that they are now the least proficient 2 point scorers of the stronger teams. Obviously combined with the fact they now have less talent than 10 years ago.

"He might be an eejit, but he's our eejit"
    Willie Power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,702 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,965 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

I`m old enough to remember when winning a league final was a big deal. Nowadays once a county is safe in Div 1 they often seem to make a bigger effort to avoid getting into one to not show their hand before the championship. I can see the provincials going the same way as with the present set up the only thing winning your provincial will gain you is if you are in Div 3, Div 4 or the bottom team in Div 2 where winning gets a guarantees of a place in the championship 16.

I would see it a shame if counties now looking at the set up decided there is nothing for them to gain by even reaching a provincial final and a lot to lose through picking up injuries so close to the start of the championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 goffer91

Mod Edit

Warning issued.

Post edited by ShamoBuc on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭dunnerc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

I know it's probably been said on here but that catch by that ex Aussie Rules player yesterday was out of this world, one of the best I've seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

If there was an open draw in round 2, what would the point be in having a round 1?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

It’s been on downward trajectory for over a decade. It’s nothing to do with Dublins declining team, it’s just not enjoyable watching them play in empty CP. I know non dubs can’t wrap their heads about it but I haven’t enjoyed going to most Dublin games since before they had that successful period and there were less games and better attendances at games.

Moving Leinster games outside of CP was a good decision, I’d be putting most league games back to Parnell park until or unless interest rises. Start giving free tickets to schools like the Dublin hurlers are doing.

It’s funny how some of yee smugly slag Dublin fans with zero idea what it’s like to be a dub regularly attending these atmosphere less games. I have fonder memories of 90s/00s then the 2010s and I know a lot of my age group feel the same.

Your issue should be with G.A.A. who have done nothing to try and address it even though it’s been declining for years.

I’ve a dub fan friend who like me moved down to meath 20 years ago. His children played for meath so he started going to the meath games. He said it’s actually more enjoyable watching games at navan even when it’s not full.

I think there’s a great opportunity now for GAA to try to fix it. Lack of competition in Leinster killed interest in Dublin, it didn’t actually encourage more dubs to goto games. Now that it’s more competitive, there can be more interesting games, especially with potential meath rivalry back in the cards.

If Dublin had a 20-25k stadium for league games it would prob be sellout Mostly as you’d know there’s gonna be a good atmosphere and people would look forward to a spicy league game.

I remember when league games started with flood lights in cold Feb and there was some decent attendences at times. I remember Dublin v Donegal sellout league finals in 90s. You need a rivalry and big crowds to create interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,112 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Disagree RE: Roscommon not wanting to face Dublin. If I was a Rossie I'd be craving to face Dublin in Croke Park in this 2B - give Roscommon a chance to get over their Croker hoodoo as Dublin seems like they're desperate to play away from Croke Park

Westmeath and Louth have shown the blue print to beat the Dubs- run hard at them and this is Roscommons trademark

1993 and it went to a replay which Dublin won. I was at both and as far as I remember there was a large crowd for the first game. Not too sure about the replay but I have a feeling it may have been less.

County`s then seemed to be more eager to get to a league final than nowadays and I would put a lot of that down to how the championship is now structured.

That said, there was an extra attraction for both sets of fans for that 93 final after Donegal beating a heavily favoured Dublin in the 92 championship final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,768 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Trying to avoid being one of the four not in the top two or the bottom two is not easy. Half of the teams will fail. Fascinating competition to observe on its own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭eastie17

most of them are Man United first, de Dubs second

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,176 ✭✭✭robbiezero

I mean Kerry would want to avoid Roscommon and Dublin.

While I think either of Kerry or Roscommon would beat Dublin in Croker, but as the first of 3 games in 3 weeks, it is probably more of a physical and emotional investment that they would like as opposed to getting a Kildare or Cavan.

That`s true, but it`s not what would normally be expected from a league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,079 ✭✭✭✭threeball

Game should have been played in Parnell. Place would have been hopping. My biggest bugbear with GAA is the unrealistic sized stadia. Building grounds in every county that bear no relation to the average expected crowd. We lose so many games that could come alive in the right stadium to empty oversized white elephants.

The only time I was in Parnell Park it was a full house. Miserable experience trying to get a decent view of the action. Far better to look after spectators by giving them of a good choice of seats/terrace instead of cramming them in.

Makes no difference to the quality of the game or the level of performance produced by the players. They are well used to playing with small numbers watching. There were 5 games football and hurling in Croke Park at the weekend. Real fans would have enjoyed the action in great surroundings.

https://crokepark.ie/matchday/2026-season-fixtures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

If you cater to the average then you are simply turning away people for bigger games. The ability to actually go to a game is an important competitive advantage vs the premiership. There are white elephants, but Parnell Park is undersized for a county the size of Dublin, Armagh fill a stadium twice the size with one tenth of the population.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,662 ✭✭✭munster87

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,615 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

I think Kerry would hope to avoid away games to Roscommon, Monoghan Meath and Derry in that order. I think they would be happy enough to face Dublin in CP as would the other four. Dublin would be dangerous but the logistics of playing away to Derry and Monoghan is kinda hard.

A game against Cavan or Kildare has little benefit. If you wand an easy draw in anything is on group A v B match the following weekend

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,354 ✭✭✭HBC08

"It’s funny how some of yee smugly slag Dublin fans with zero idea what it’s like to be a dub regularly attending these atmosphere less games"

It really must be tough.

Dublin should be winning 7 out of every 10 All Irelands with money/home advantage for big games.

The performances and comical drop off in support is an embarrassment.

Every team will want Kildare or Cavan. Ideal start to a tough 3 week campaign. There are no easy draws after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,232 ✭✭✭✭siblers

The hooter system is a load of shite. Monaghan kicked a 2 pointer at 69:38.

By the time it restarted it was 69:52.

Wasn't a huge fan of it last year but at least you could play on after the buzzer, it really kills it on multiple levels by having it go dead at the buzzer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,354 ✭✭✭HBC08

100%,they had it perfect last year.

Really cant understand why it was changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭Westernview

The Kerry situation is very interesting. 2 bad beatings from Donegal and injury problems very slow to resolve. They appear vulnerable with Clifford dealt with reasonably well the last day.

They have often regrouped in the past and came roaring back into the championship but they are running out of time to get the likes of Gavin White, SeanieOShea and Paudi fully fit. A tough away draw will definitely test their resources.

Such an anti climactic end to the game when 1 score in it and you know the team just doesnt have the time to work a score.

It was nail biting to see play go on after a hooter and a team trying to work that equalizer or winner.

I hope they switch it back next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭Gael85

Kerry won't be beat again when get a few lads back. Have backed them to win All Ireland at 11/4. Also backed them to win AI morning of Armagh game last year at 6/1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭Westernview