National Broadband Ireland : implementation and progress

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,672 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Looks like a VPN or WiFi issue and nothing to do with your fiber line tbh

May I ask why you'd use wifi for gaming ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭worlds goodest teecher

It's up to 80 now, no VPN on. I paying for 500mb package. I turn VPN cause I was so pure.

I'm not gaming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,149 ✭✭✭✭L1011

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,672 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Guaranteed not.

This is a busy or poorly configured wifi setup. Theres changes you can make to improve it . Google some things. But Ethernet for gaming and tv would be advised directly to the router .

The evasion about the previous mention of wifi makes me quite certain it is both wifi and either badly configured, 2.4ghz, or both. Or an ancient -g or -n card in an ancient laptop.

This is a "500mbit" NBI connection on wifi; but set up properly with a high quality router. I'm on an island, we're not allowed order >500mbit.

image.png

I should complain, I'm meant to get 50mbit upload :p

1000024693.jpg

See this is more like it, but no always

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭BeerFarts

I bet you this is a WiFi/device issue. Connect via ethernet and your problems will go away. The only way to test the line is by cable.

Again, is this ethernet?

Wifi speeds are entirely down to your kit, not the ISP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,123 ✭✭✭pureza

That’s on WiFi

I could go to the far end of my house and have no WiFi at all,should I call my provider and complain the internet is down ?

No because I’m not that silly

You aren’t aware that 2.4G WiFi is not half as fast as 5G WiFi and that neither are making the most of your connection in the way an Ethernet cable connection directly to the modem

Now you know

It's just weird that it fluctuates so much. The router is about 5m from the TV. I am on NBI. Virginia are frequently texting saying that have located a problem. Yesterday speed was 32mb, in the evening it was 300mb

It's got nothing to do with the distance from tv. It's to too work frequency congestion , environment and capacities.

You should be using Ethernet cable at that distance.

You can also Google some changes that you should make to improve the wifi experience. Modifications will get you more stability from your frequency and channels

I'm using the Vodafone modem, should I b changing as well?

Why would virgin be texting you about your Vodafone router....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Guy1ncognito

I have FTTC, Id like to get fibre. One day open eir fitted a hardline into the meter room where the various utilities enter the complex and connect to my house via underground ducts. It make sense that this fibre would be easily brought to my door, or so I was told. Despite spending one week on these civil works open eir say that the only method for me to get fibre would be to run a cable across the face of 6 businesses and an ESB sub station from a distribution point incompetently placed 40 ft on a building 200 meters away. This cannot be done according to all the technicians that have been out . SIRO have also recently connected apartments closer to me but say for technical reasons they can’t connect me.

I’ve contacted comreg and the say we can’t help you because you need to be connected, so brick wall on all fronts. Has anyone experienced similar and what did you do.

I live in the middle of a town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭NotShero

looking at the list of suppliers now that the line is up,the ont’s are on and NBI are saying I’m ready for pre order,how come Eir and crucially gomo (with there €29 for life offer) are saying fibre not available whilst Sky digiweb and others say yes?

Virgin won’t allow pre order either

They’re saying not here until the end of June

If I want fibre soonest,I’d need to go with someone offering pre order now wouldn’t I but that means not getting the supplier I want or better bundle for at least a year ?

Why aren’t suppliers keeping up ?

Yeah GoMo is only being offered through open eir FTTP, it's not available through NBI, SIRO, Virgin FTTP etc.

You should be able to get Sky 500Mb and Pure Telecom 500Mb with OBS at €30pm for 12m.

https://onebigswitch.ie/campaigns/obsie_2605_broadband_pure

Different providers have different systems and update those systems at different rates. No one can enforce a policy around this , in fairness it's in their own interests to solve this from a financially beneficial stand point. But they don't.

Means they lose business to a competitor that's on top of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,585 ✭✭✭✭The Cush

The ONT will be mounted inside your house, DP on the pole outside.

In our case the time between pre-order and DP going live for service was 6-7 weeks, connected less than a week of going live.

Some retail providers, like eir, can be slower to update their address databases. All retailers receive the information at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭Tommy Lagahan

Lads were down the road yesterday clearing out the last bit of duct between me and the end of the old Eir rollout, said they had an 800m run to do. 200m of overhead work still to do to bring it from the end of that run to my house, they reckoned the other lads that do the fiber runs should be out today to send it up the bit they cleared out. There's some new poles up but none from the end of the run to my house yet, obviously no DPs in sight yet.

Yer man was sound and showed me the map of it on his phone, shows 2 different routes coming to my house from the end of the run for some reason, one that follows the old copper lines and another one that would be new. They reckoned it could be Christmas before its done, feckin figures I'd be right at the end of the rollout.

End is in sight. Which will be great.

We too were scheduled end of the rollout but some reason we got bumped up regionally to earlier this year.

The dp’s are up on my poles but very few of the linked providers are allowing online pre order

Some of them are priced ridiculously

Sky are doing 500 mb for €27.99 now but will that be like sub 400 in the real world?

That's not a ridiculous price tbh. It's reasonable value and it should be close or on 500 wired.

It's still €30pm through NBI afaik. It should be 500Mb most of the time on a wired connection.

Pure Telecom 500Mb through One Big Switch is €30pm for 12m.

Virgin Media 500Mb is €35pm for 12m with €105 bill credit on Switcher.ie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,224 ✭✭✭✭The Continental Op

For the last few months my average Vodafone bill is coming in at €65 for 1Gbps and home phone. Previously I was paying the eircom crooks around €50 a month just for the landline.

I need a home landline number because I have no mobile coverage at home so I look at my home broadband as costing me about €15 a month ;-)

Wake me up when it's all over.

You'd have a few options instead -

Virgin Media 1Gb + Home Phone with free calls to landlines & mobiles at €43pm for 12m.

Digiweb 1Gb + Home Phone with free calls to landlines & mobiles at €44.95pm for 12m. €54.95pm out of contract price.

Move the home phone number to a standalone VoIP service, they could provide an ATA to connect to the router.

Use WiFi Calling on your mobile instead on Three, eir, Vodafone, GoMo, Clear Mobile or Sky Mobile. WiFi SMS should work on eir, GoMo and Sky Mobile.

oh I think the €27.99 is a good price

I was meaning the other suppliers were pricing badly for the same speed at 45 or 50 euros when Sky will bundle in tv and phone for that kind of money

@NotShero if you call Sky you will get the €27.99 price on NBI

You’ll also get a Sky Q box for €30 extra if you want one

Sky cold called me today and offered me just the €30 500mb product

The rep hadn’t heard of the €27.99 offer 🫪

He also wanted to sell me standard TV for €25 pm

My brother got it for €18 last week

I said I’d think about it but wasn’t impressed so I rang virgin

They’ve a bundle offer,so I ordered 2gb fibre,loaded tv,Sky cinema,Netflix,multi room and 2 repeater modems for €70 for 12 months,which I think is a very good deal?

I was able to order over the phone but not on the web,how long now @The Cush do you think it might be before NBI will be out?

Virgin are sending their gear out via DPS straight away,will the crew acting for NBI connect the Virgin modem,will it be WiFi 7 ?

It will be the ethernet WAN version of the WiFi 6 Hub 5x. The router will be connected to the ONT on the wall with an ethernet cable, the engineer would most likely do it for you on the day. You'll be able to connect your own router/mesh to the ONT if you'd prefer.

Vodafone and Sky provide WiFi 7 routers with the 6GHz band on their 1Gb/2Gb/5Gb plans, eir provide one on their 2Gb/5Gb plans. The 6GHz band, if your device supports it, would get you closer to 2Gb over WiFi but range will be more limited compared to 5GHz.

Post edited by NotShero on