Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Marrooned

why is that fazylucker is dead on we don’t get a fair hearing at all very frustrating going to matches and being killed by referees and include James Ownes in that even kills us doing the line and falsified the refs report on the all Ireland semi final last year. When honesty and impartiality was needed most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

Ah have a listen to yourself. Step away from the keyboard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭hogans heroes

The 65 decision against offaly has put us out,Yes we have many problems but a referee over turning his umpire and his original decision cost us.If that had been in the all ireland final their woukd have been murder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Village87

We are probably lucky; if we came across Cork or Limerick it could very ugly very quickly, very little between ourselves and Offaly going off results and performance to date. I would fear for Offaly in the QF. We would get a similar beating

Post edited by Village87 on

not by our county board Hogan.. did you know Owens altered his report for the scoreboard debacle. There is a litany of things could be wrote about James Owens alone let alone anyone else. Desk jockey is very dismissive of me in the last post but didn’t reply after that anyway we have a worse situation looming. What do you think of the Current situation and could you see a solution. Seen as we are the only two up and about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭jonniegoogle

Altered his report in what way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭Rebelside

it means that even an average team can turn in a performance in an AI QF and have a big win….even if they’re not provincial runners up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭Rebelside

• reply to Realt Dearg Secs post re minor team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Sir Chaz

I was listening to the KCLR podcast, Ronny and Taggy were watching the warm ups for the Minor match as they were discussing the disastrous hurling year. They noted how flat our warm up was, how lacking in intensity the drills were and how static our players were receiving the ball. That was in contrast to Corks dynamic and speedy warm up which had huge movement and contact. They were worried about the game before it started and they were right.

We are most likely heading into a new Senior management team for 2027. It's absolutely crucial that we get it right. Despite how the year ended up for the 20's, I believe the calibre of the people there is top notch and they'll learn from this year and hopefully be better for it next year.
    I believe we got the minor management badly wrong and I was uncomfortable with it from the start. After the criticism Niall Bergin and his team got, we needed to make a statement there and leave no stone unturned. We eventually ended up having to settle for people that came through squads and Celtic challenge, when we needed people of far more substance and track record. Fair play to all of them they give their time for free and I fully respect that, but to take on one of our 3 elite teams we have to be expecting far better.
    Thats why we cannot afford to mess the senior appointment up. I know Derek Lyng hasn't signalled his intent, and he deserves the right to consider his options, but if ever there was a case of an interview that betrayed someone's unstated intentions, the RTE chat with Damien Lawlor after the match was it. I'd be extremely surprised if he stayed on.

We're most likely not going to go outside the county. There isn't that many names sticking out, and Eddie Brennan is the obvious choice. I think that would be a mistake. All due respect to Eddie and everything he has achieved but I don't think his and Niall Corcorans addition to the coaching team and our serious regression this year, was a coincidence. I may not be 100% right about that but I do believe the whole thing needs complete refreshing and overhaul. If it means interviewing players and getting their thoughts then so be it. We cannot get this wrong.

Brian Dowling is the other obvious choice. He has been successful with every team he has coached and seems to get serious buy in from players. He seems to be a progressive individual and is very passionate and energetic. He knows the vast majority of young players in the county as well having coached Kieran's and coached against the other top school teams like CBS, Good Counsel and Johnstown, so he has his finger on the pulse. I think he is the best candidate we have in the county at the moment.
    I haven't mentioned Henry and Brian Hogan as I would leave them both with the 20's and finish that 3 year plan. Upending that ticket just causes another problem elsewhere.

Would we go outside? I'd have absolutely nothing against that if we did. We want the best candidate to get us back on track, and if he happens to come from Timbuktu it wouldn't cost me a thought.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭KK36

Tom Mullally is my first choice. Successful almost everywhere he has gone. Demands very high standards from everyone

The last two minor managers were constantly on about development between the two of them they must have served 10 years. No titles because it’s all about development. The only trouble is there doesn’t seem to be development either so we are actually left with a big fat zero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Charlie69

I wasn’t at the minor match against Cork but I couldn’t believe how relaxed the warm up was in one of the earlier games . Kilkenny players were rising the ball by flicking it up with the hurl off the boot … which looks lovely and skilful and everything but you’re absolutely never going to attempt that during the game so why the f**k do it in the warm up?…. drove me mad to be honest.

As they say… you have to train for what you’re facing… whether thats a full training session or especially the warm up where you’re going through the last preparations for battle. It’s so important and can be the difference between hitting the ground running or taking an age to settle.

Henry for me was a leader on the field and before going to galway was the natural successor to cody.Ballyhale played a lovely style under him and I would like to see him given the chance .would never go outside and the niall Corcoran scenario has been a disaster. Not to pushed about warm ups its how you perform when the whistle blows that counts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Firstsub

Brian Dowling would be my choice but would be happy with Tom Mullally either. Maybe get David Herity involved as well.

Imo Kilkenny Senior team are now ranked 9th in the country team with the U20's and minor teams ranked 7th or 8th. All teams exited the championship before the end of May. A long, long way to the top of the ladder. Dark days for Kilkenny hurling

well Charlie. I thought both the minors and the U20’s looked poorly set up before there respective matches although Gordon Byrne said he found it hard to rise them after the Galway match which I thought they did very well despite coughing up that lead.

Fair enough, I suppose we forget that minors these days are only chaps really. Anyone who thinks (not you Marrooned) a warm up isn’t important is living in the dark ages though.

new management has to have a good backroom team with at least one old head required to cut out some of the bullshit practices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,584 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

What did you see from the u20 management that you would want to persist with as opposed to the minors that you don't? I saw very little positive from the u20 this year tbh, people even calling for Henry to take over the senior is mind boggling to me after the year he just had.

I thought Henry was very good on the line all the way up to the Leinster final which he then stood there with his arms folded I thought he tried out a lot of players in the prelim rounds. Just a point made earlier someone mentioned Henry and a three year plan how can that be with at least two different teams? Again I’m not trying to be clever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 haveabitofcopon

This is my first time to post although I do read the comments on this forum fro time to time.

I have two points to make

I think that Henry Shefflin was one of the greatest hurlers of all time.

However he failed to get very much out of the u20s this year. Our performance in the Leinster final was as a poor as I’ve seen from any Kilkenny team in a long time - poor first touch, no game plan, players playing as individuals going for their own scores.

This much vaunted management team have to take a lot of the responsibility for this.

I have no allegiance to the Boro but Mark Dowling was castigated on this forum over the last two years but Henry gets away pretty much scot free even though it could be argued this years performance was as bad if not worse.

We made no headway against a Galway defence that was opened up at will yesterday by Clare.

Now some lads are saying that Henry should be the next senior manager - I fail to see it based on his recent record.

My other point is that I think that Jim Fennelly is odds on to be next chairman as the old boy’s club will just swap jobs as usual at the next convention and despite what people are saying about change being needed (which I totally agree with) unfortunately I don’t see it happening. If he does get the job there will be no change and we will continue to stagnate both on and off the pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭kentu

I can tell you from hurling myself if you only do a half pushed warm up and coming up against a team who's done a very sharp warm up you're goosed from the start of a game and will take a good while to get going.

I would go with Henry because I think we need a leader ..Alternative would we go for a martin o neill style Cody back for a year with young coaches with him.Dowling etc

welcome aboard. I just think we posters will just have to keep on and on about the CB and I would be confident enough that people somewhere are having a conversation about our set up and what needs to change. We are vital to help spread the message.

Its called a warm up to get you ready to.play and thats what the trainers/coaches job is.warm up under cody was fairly basic but obviously worked. Waterford in 2008 I was knackered just watching the warm up and their players were obviously knackered before a ball was thrown in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Sir Chaz

From the matches? Not much is the answer. I think they were impressive for 30 minutes against an admittedly terrible Offaly team, and did a lot right against the Dubs as well. Ironically those easy matches probably contributed to their poor performance against Galway as they brought a completely different intensity. I think they got a lot wrong with team selection as well, surprised some lads started, surprised some lads made the 24, and surprised some lads didn't.

I do know though that Henry was the greatest leader I've ever seen in hurling, and knows what it takes. He's backed up by another Kilkenny great and both have experience playing with teams at the highest level and both have had success as coaches/managers. It was a 3 year plan and given how poor the equivalent minor team were 3 years ago, it was a bit of a free hit this year even if nobody involved would say that out loud. They won't have that luxury next year and we'd expect a hell of a lot better.

Comparing the U20 set up and the Minor set up is chalk and cheese.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

well Chaz, a month ago I would have been behind Henry, I’m not too sure now but wouldn’t object too strongly if he got it. The huge advantage would be as you alluded to is he would be a charismatic leader, that alone is what we need.