Arsenal Team PL Champions Talk/Gossip/Rumours 25/26!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,106 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Left wing top priority. After that, some lads that can stay fit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,272 ✭✭✭patrickc

I'm just devastated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,096 ✭✭✭✭lertsnim

A few decent signings and go again next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,347 ✭✭✭✭DvB

Absolutely gutted.

Am convinced I'll never see us win this competition, we're jinxed in it.

Also think we're the first team to lose a Uefa cup, cup winners cup and European cup final on penalties...

To get so close is very hard to take, will be avoiding social media and all the haters after that for a few days.

"I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year" Charles Dickens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭mossie

Pretty much where I am. Dowman will get more minutes and continue to develop but we need experience to help him. Trossard needs to be replaced, much as I love him, and I don't think Martinelli is the ideal solution so a LW is vital. Not sure if Vik is the answer up front but don't see a massive improvement out there. The world cup may throw up someone.

Kroupi at Bournemouth might be a good signing but if Iraola gets the Liverpool job he might be heading there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭KaiserGunner

Proud of the lads tonight losing on penalties. Dont know why Gabriel stood up for the 5th penalty though? Said to my missus before it, please at least hit the target. Centre halves shouldn't take that much of a pressure penalty.

Watched the PSG trophy lift, did get riled up seeing the owner (also on the UEFA board) be the 4th person to lift the trophy. Sportswashing at its finest.

If one petro state funded club doesn't get you another one will...

"I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year" Charles Dickens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,272 ✭✭✭patrickc

Should of had that peno in Extra time.. game sealed then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,181 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

It would have been harsh to give. The Arsenal player who gave away the peno cost the game. PSG didn't look like scoring with the way arsenal set up.

Hard luck lads, great season in the end and plenty to look forward to.

I'm on the verge of a site ban. Please don't rage bait me, I'm easily triggered especially late at night!

A big difference from when we lost the final.in 2006 is that then it was the last hurrah of a great team, this time we're set up far better to regroup and challenge for more honours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭unichick

Yes a young team who will go on to challenge for more honours. No disgrace to lose in a lottery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Underground

Gut wrenching loss but if we take a step back we have to say what a brilliant season. We won the league for gods sake. Amazing, first time in 22 years.

A CL final on top of that, against a much feared PSG who’ve dispatched Bayern, Chelsea, Liverpool and more and we’ve made them look bad. Yes, they won on the night and if we’re being honest, deservedly so, but no matter.

What a season, what a group of players and what a coach. The remit is clear now, win the CL. That has to be the target. I can’t wait for next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,999 ✭✭✭emmetlego

That’s it in a nutshell for me.

Yes, of course we’re disappointed, very! But what a season?! I just feckin love this club, this team, our club family and of course, this thread and all you Gooner Boardies! Much love to you all this evening! We have so so so much to be thankful for.

We will be back next season even stronger. Young Max more promising and new talent recruiting and the already (lest we forget) defending premier league champions! Yes, we’re a bit down but there’s so much to be up about people! Now I’m off to get drunk with my hubby! I think if you are lucky enough to have a special someone who loves Arsenal as much as you do, you should do the same too.

COYG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,760 ✭✭✭G1032

I'm not sure I'd go along with the 'deservedly so' comment. PSG could still be there now and they wouldn't have scored from open play I think. It wasn't last ditch defending Arsenal were doing. If we'd had a little bit more quality in the outlet it would have made a huge difference. But Saka was awful from an attacking point of view. Odegaard was just awful full stop. Not sure Trossard is at the level needed. I think though, overall we would have been every bit as deserving a winner as PSG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭FixitFelix

Yeah to be honest I feel a bit meh about the result, the league was the one I wanted and the CL would have been a bonus, Saka, Trossard, Ødegaard were non existent. Our defensive performance was incredible bare one lapse from Mosquera. PSG didn't have a lot of answers for our setup and were a far cry from the performance and beating a lot of the so called experts were expecting. Always tough to go out on pens but these boys will be back, need to push again and make this squad even better. Don't have time for sentiment and some of the favourites will prob need to be moved on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭CuriousCucumber

It's too soon, but I think Arteta should be replaced. He won the league and got us to the Champions League final with a wonderful squad, playing horrible football.

A better caosch could achieve more with the same players. Imagine what Wenger could have done with these resources 20years ago

Millimetres from greatness but let’s give somebody else a go. If he can add another big one to the cabinet next season then I couldn’t give a continental fcuk if it excites the neutrals or not. Arsenal played great football for years with no return. Trophies are key

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭GeorgeBailey

First season back in CL: Quarter Final.
    Second season: Semi Final
    Third Season: Final
    Fourth Season: Let the trend continue!

Worst comment I've read all night, and I've been over on Reddit

Millimeters from greatness doesn't mean we're playing to our capacity.

What did we have? 30% possession?. With the team we have, we have the ability to dominate PSG.

It's fantastic that we won the league, but could we have won tonight comfortably? Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,760 ✭✭✭G1032

I've seen some hair brained posts in my 20 years or so on Boards. Probably posted one or two myself. But this beats Banagher.

Some absolute gobshites in this site tbh. Literally cant have a successful season unless ya win all competitions. Posters thriving on other teams failures. We win the league, make 2 finals. Yet we'll probably be the laughing stock on this site. Its boring st this stage. Premier league champs. We'll be back next season.

Love you Arsenal and my fellow Arsenal fans on here. **** the rest of the bitters here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Underground

the general thread is something else. Holy moly. Better off staying in our echo chambers 😊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

Cheering on a French sportswashing enterprise was the only thing most of them had to cheer all season to be fair

Do you honestly we played to our potential this year?.

I was over the moon that we won the league, and I still am, but with the quality of players we have, we made it way tougher on ourselves than we should.

What I want is for us to play to our potential. If we had, we should have won 4 trophies rather than 1

We have opportunities to be better, and I hope we take them

Losing tonight, even the way we did won't dilute the satisfaction and joy this team gave me when we won the league last week, it was up there with 1989 for me and that will stay with me til the day I die.

There'll be bad days, but weeks like last week are highs that most football fans rarely feel. When trophies are bought or won too regularly fans lose the feeling of it being special, last week reminded me of how special it can be.

COYG

Yeah seen a few of the replies to your posts, to be honest I expect nothing less from Liverpool and United fans, but their players were sitting at home watching Arsenal in the final and then back tomorrow to massive parade, enjoy it lads first time in 22 years, before it all resets again in August

Have a gander at the cesspit that is Reddit if you wanna see some off the wall stuff 😁