Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 12.02.26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,521 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Fook, in my head it was off she went…. DAMN IT.

Praises Nelly the Elephant for their life decisions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,873 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Thing is with Martinez he's not injury prone just unlucky with getting breaks and tears from his aggressive style, same with De Ligt, he hurt his back flying into a tackle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭Anything4883

Where are you seeing that on De ligt hurting his back flying into a tackle? He didnt come off injured in his last game that he played.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭waywill1966

The more money people have, the more they want. Rich people are never content.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,000 ✭✭✭✭blackwhite

I'm not sure I'd put Martial in the same bracket as Sancho - he'd a very good first season, and had one other good season in 2019-20. He was ultimately a failure, and an expensive one at that, but there were some flashes of light from time to time.

Sancho, on the other hand, was a sh*tshow from pretty much straight away and never showed anything to suggest he might come good.

I expect we'll see the same performative BS from Sancho that we saw from Lingard last summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,735 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

i dont think we even made an approach for him.

if we did, the pitch would be something like: if you are good enough, and you will get plenty of chances to prove that, you will be a regular starter for the next few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭scottser

I think that's a trait more common in people who are born into wealth. Rashford grew up poor and I don't think of him as greedy - the exact opposite in fact, he's someone keen to give back to society and help others less fortunate than himself. As an athlete though, it should be hard-wired into him to win titles at the expense of everything else. He has an opportunity at the WC to show his worth and I think he'll have a choice of moves by the end of the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,746 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Far better to have a shitshow straight away than to have a failure sitting there for 9 years.

Everybody disliked the weak culture that developed within the club over the past decade, well it didn't come from the lads who came and went, but from the characters sitting there year after year poisoning the place. United wasted a decade on lads like him, hoping they would come good when it was never going to happen.

Don't forget that Martial was one of those that Mourinho wanted to bin and so which led to his clash with the board and his departure. Imagine where we'd be if the board had backed Jose and allowed him to deal with the original "bomb squad".

Sancho is a joke of a professional, but the likes of Martial did far more damage than Sancho ever did.

Seen it a few weeks ago, tried finding it again but can't, he gets up in pain but plays on. He most likely played more games with injections until it got too bad kinda like how Rashford did under Olé.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,000 ✭✭✭✭blackwhite

I don't disagree with much of the assessment of Martial - but I think Sancho (5 years on the books at this stage) and his ilk do far more damage to the dressing room than a Martial.

Sancho had a terrible attitude from the start, and was a disruptor to boot. Actively tried to undermine managers and to sow dissent.

Martial just disappeared off to the treatment room and seemed to lose any desire or drive over time.

Neither contributed positively to the culture and neither someone you want at the club, but a Sancho does an awful lot more to drag others down with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,590 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

Martinez is unlucky to be injury prone. DeLigt is unlucky that he's banjaxed his back, but it's going to be difficult to come back from that - back surgery is never trivial.

They're both still on the payroll though, I don't see us buying more CBs when we have Yoro, Heaven, Maguire, Maz and Shaw all capable of playing there and presumably at least one youth product we can give minutes to.

Put your money where yer mouth is... Subscribe and Save Boards!

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

With modern surgery I'd like to hope De Ligt can come back as normal, Tyler Adams had a lengthy spell out after back surgery but he's been quite good the last 2 seasons for Bournemouth.

Muppetiers guy mentioning in his latest vid that a few journos saying the Baleba is no longer a target.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,735 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

bruno got utd's player of the month for may

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,281 ✭✭✭✭Sand

Footballers have relatively short careers with most peaking in the early to mid twenties and entering decline by their early thirties. There is astronomical amounts of money in football and footballers would be extremely poorly advised to not extract as much as they can to change the lives of their parents, their children and their grandchildren. That should be the priority of any person. And if they don't get the money, it just goes to the owners of the clubs. I really don't blame footballers for getting as much as they can. If they suffer a career ending injury in their early twenties, nobody is going to look out for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,746 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Conservative estimates place Rashfords career earnings to be north of £100 million so far.

He is already long past the point of worrying about generational wealth, the Rashford kids will be just fine right up to the point where global warming renders the planet uninhabitable.

He absolutely can make decisions for football reasons now if he wants to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,944 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

Well I think moving to Barcelona was a footballing decision, and certainly not for the money. But it did help he was still on a big contract at United so he was protected.

He probably could have signed for some Saudi club last year and made a lot more if he wanted to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭kyleman

We paid Rashford to be our main man and the face of the club but that was badly misjudged by the powers that be at United as he hasn’t the mentality to be that player.

Barcelona really suits him because he is only a number there and it’s a huge club which suits his ego.

Hopefully they will go ahead and sign him and we can pay his wages to a player who deserves it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

The last few games I attended where Rashford played the fans were booing him.

It's a lot more noticeable when you are watching it live and he was half jogging around the pitch.

I could only imagine the treatment he would get now.

The club has got a good culture for the first time in a long time and it would be a massive mistake to welcome him back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,553 ✭✭✭NITRO95

Fully agreed. I was at two or three games towards the end of his time at the club and the groans and outright boos at him was noticeable and not likely to change if he was brought back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭johnnyryan89

They'll come in on the last day to try and get a deal done imo.

iraola off the table anyway. on his way to liverpool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,454 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Gutted that Slot is gone. Will be even more gutted if they get Iraola, he could be excellent. Then again of course he could be Thomas Frank mk 2, but I doubt it.

Also if Iraola goes there, there's a chance he'll take Alex Scott along.

Lovely Iraola off to Liverpool 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,419 ✭✭✭✭FourFourRED

It’s a shame. I liked and admired Iraola. Goes in the firm dislike category now.

Annoys me more because I wanted him since Amorim got the boot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Charlie69

Me too… I’ve said so plenty of times on here. Has it been confirmed?

No just Ornstein has said he's the favourite.

Hoeneß and Sage are the other options.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭johnnyryan89

I hope he doesn't go there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,419 ✭✭✭✭FourFourRED

Orstein is saying he’s the clear favourite. It’s hard to see them going with someone else now.

I would have liked to see him as our manager, but Carrick did make that become unlikely.

If Carrick ends up being a success, we won’t care one bit. If he doesn’t… and Iraola goes on to do great things at Liverpool, it’s going to sting.