Silage 2026

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭limo_100

12.50 where I am for nrf and but your bale wrap after. Also pay mowing and raking by the acre separate. Also was to mow this evening no sign after great day the sugars would be high if he comes in the morning I think il tell them to come back after dinner. What’s the drop off when the sugars are low in the morning? I’m pissed you off now only had it arranged early with him Monday morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭Jb1989

You'll be doing well to tell him to adjust his time tomorrow with the panic of rain coming, but maybe he will oblige. Not disputing he had already agreed a time, but that's different

it’s cut now thankfully finished at around 10 so should be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,675 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Started training the little man in a handy field first time out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭grass10

All contractors I know take on jobs all in mostly which is mowing, raking, baling,drawing and stacking and supply plastic to most customers I have never heard of anyone only baling and wrapping and the charge seems steep enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Pinsnbushings

Charging for baling and wrapping only would be very common around here. Raking, mowing, tedding all charged separately and by the acre. I would say it's very uncommon around here that contractor would do the whole lot.

Baling and wrapping was 11 euro here last year. He's talking about 12 this year. We supply plastic. Raking 15 per acre. Mow and draw ourselves.

I'm planning on making the pit bigger for next year bales gone too expensive altogether

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

How do you reckon it sounds steep if you know no contractor just doing baling and wrapping?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,861 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

you must be from cork. Near impossible to get somebody to draw and stack up here in Meath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,112 ✭✭✭DBK1

I don’t know of any baling contractor that offers drawing of bales as part of their service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭mr.stonewall

Around here it's raking baled and wrapped is the most common. Farmer supplies the wrap. Most farmers cut their own but contractor will cut in a per acre basis.

3 keltec bale chasers have popped up around in the past 2 years.

Will agree bales have gone expensive. Was 11/bale around here last year, when you add in plastic, mowing and hauling them in, it adds up.

Just in the door from covering the pit. Contractor paid and was paid going out the gate ,€180/ac inc vat. A cover for the pit was the price of 2 rolls of wrap.

Say a 8bales to the acres would be a charge of €100/ac(worked @12.5/bale), plastic on those 8bales would be €26.50/ac. (Covers for a pit would be less than ,€5/AC if you mind your old covers and only buy a new one every year)Add in cutting at €35/ac if using the contractor and to haul them in and stack at near enough €3-5/bale (€24-40/ac). This brings back into the range of pit silage. Any length of a draw will be more. Bit cheaper if you are willing to cut and haul the bales, but not much more, when you factor in time, and wear and tear

By the way I have a hatred of bales but they are a necessary evil

Every baling contractor has minimum 3 bale trailers some have more trailers vast majority of customers insist on bales being drawn and stacked, 1 contractor near me was trying to avoid drawing bales but was losing jobs so will do it if he'll lose the job , that's what competition does in a market

My 2 contractors will do the whole job but break down charges for each part last years charge was 11.50 for baling wrapping and supply of plastic with plastic on plastic no net mowing is charged separate the same as raking and stacking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

What's the reason behind supplyng your own wrap? It's not done where I am.

Surely the contractor buying in bulk would get it at a better rate and would avoid farmers handing over half used damaged rolls from last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,028 ✭✭✭Sami23

Fully agree but I presume they don't want the added cost involved on top of netting/barrel wrap and diesel costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭hopeso

This is it exactly. Their bill for wrap would run into tens of thousands very fast. The wrap supplier might give them 30 days credit, while the lad paying for the bales might take 6 months or more to pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,825 ✭✭✭✭893bet

transporting the quantity of wrap would be an issue also. Fusion making 300-500 bales a day needing to carry 10-20 rolls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Danny healy ray

dairymen should ask the creamery to sort out the electric company vet and contractor before he milks a cow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭24_7

Anyone using the rhino protective net. Wanted to cover the bale stack as had a lot of holes in bales last year from birds. Rhino seems a good bit cheaper than the secure cover

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭Gillespy

Must be annoying having to take off part used rolls at the end of a job and then having to use up them same part rolls next time you're baling at that farm.

got the silage done yesterday was heavier that I thought around 12.5 bales to the acre on the silage ground. A few surplus paddocks brought down the average to 10 but 180 bales to start with. Still have 15 acres to go hopefully try that in hay. If the weather comes back. Have good reseeded meadows for a second cut that I probably will only need a field or 2 for silage and probably don’t have enough cattle to stay on top of the grazing. Wonder would I get much to set them? What’s the going rate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,620 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Sheer cost and logistics involved. Contrator did our silage lat Thursday. He baled 200 for us finished at about 1pm. Started the followi g morning at 5 am because of the rain forecast. Probably did 1.8 to 2k bales. Was putting 5 layers on mine as it was dry. 8 rolls.

At 3.5 to 4 rolls per hundred bales. He would need 65 rolls arrange right number of rolls at each farm. About 7-8 places. Outlay would be 6k plus.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,620 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

We are gone modern train them with new robotic technology. They are on the triple mower by the time they are 8

https://www.instagram.com/reel/DYttLLwOLAb/?igsh=MXVvM295M3FmcGJjdw==

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,298 ✭✭✭White Clover

What was the 5 layers? Barrel wrap and 4 layers?

No its 5 layers is it has a Kuhn baler wrapper I think, he can set it to individual layers whatever he has

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

you couldn’t be dealing with the shite wrap lads come out with that’s been kicked around all year.

My BIL is contracting, not massive but a fair few bales all the same and he supplies the plastic. I thought he was mad when he started doing it but when you see it from his perspective, the down time taking off half rolls or less and then going to the next farm and putting in half rolls or less , doing 20 bales or less and having to get out to reload again never mind the breakages you might get on damaged half rolls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,112 ✭✭✭DBK1

Exactly, I shiver when lads tell me they have their own plastic. Even if they have everything perfect with all new rolls it still slows down the job.

Let’s say you go to a lad that’ll have 70 bales and he has 4 full brand new rolls in the field waiting for you. After 60 bales you’ve to get out and change the 2 rolls, then 10 bales later get back out and take off the 2 rolls you put on at 60 bales and give them back to him. Then drive to the next farm and get out and out on their 2 rolls. Thats 2 extra roll changes at minimum 5-10 mins per change, never mind the time the farmer expects you to stand chatting him when you’re giving him back his rolls at the end of the job because he has his baled now so doesn’t give a **** about delaying you or the 10 men you still have to bale for before the rain comes that evening!

You’d have had 10-15 bales already made in the second farm if you’re supplying plastic quicker than you’d have the first bale made in the second farm in the scenario above. Add that up over 8 or 10 jobs in a day and then add in the wasted time with small rolls from last year or when you’re left an uneven number of rolls or left waiting for the rolls to be brought to you because they weren’t in the field before you got there and you’re talking 150-200 bales less being made in a long days work because of pricking around with plastic.

I’ve a few lads that’ll buy say 10 rolls of plastic at the start of the year and leave them in my yard. We know a roll does 30 bales so that’s 300 bales worth. I then just bale away as normal all year as if that was my own plastic and there’s no changing rolls at their jobs or anything. At the end of the year if they’ve made 400 bales they pay me for the extra plastic for the last 100 bales, if they ended up only making 200 bales then I knock the price of the plastic for the 100 bales less off their bill as I’ve used their plastic elsewhere on another job that I got paid for. It’s a better system altogether as long as the farmer buys the same brand of plastic as the contractor always uses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,298 ✭✭✭White Clover

Is there barrel wrap on the Kuhn? A wrapper can only put on even number of layers if you want all the bale covered with the same number of layers.

As you say he is not in it a massive way. Supplying plastic is probably adding 70% to your cashflow. As I pointed out my contractor probably used 6k in plastic in two days. If he was supplying plastic he would need it in his yard probably three weeks ago. Payment would be due the end of June or 1% per month would be added. He has probably 6k+ bales made so far this year, 25k in plastic costs would be due the end of June. Balers hold 8-10 rolls, he would need someone coming to him with plastic 2-3 time a day with plastic or go back to his yard 3-10 miles away.

Any time he would be within a mile of the yard he be shooting back to put on rolls of plastic. As well all packaging and empty rolls are left at the farmers yard.

A bigger contractor bill means the farmer expects a bigger discount on the bill next September. I supply Silawrap, he warns lads about shite plastic and if they fail to heed it he will allow for it in his charges.

He told me cashflow was an issue this year, some dairy farmers that would be normally payi g out the gate wanted a few week to await the milk cheque.

The discount they would get would be minimal, I buy Sila wrap, another contractor I onow buys 2-3 pallets at the start of the year. There would be little difference in the price admittedly I pay up front for it.

Other than that its the difference in vat but that equates to about 60-70c/ bale.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

his wrap cost would still be a big expense for him regardless of his size. He probably has 3.5k bales done already. Had 1500 made up till last Sunday before the big burst came on

How many units are people putting out for second cut? won't be getting any slurry was thinking 75 units of N could probably cut that back as I don't need a huge cut