Republic of Ireland General Discussion Thread 2026

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,383 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Just forfeiting and handing them 3pts isn't much of a disadvantage.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

Spot the guy attending his first ever football match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,224 ✭✭✭✭TheCitizen

In terms of an actual football game with 3 points at stake etc. If we’re any good at all and we have improved; We’ll beat them anyway because they’re muck.

If the game is in Dublin (I don’t think it will be) it will be faced with huge disruption and protest. Or the game will be played in Hungary behind closed doors. Or the game doesn’t happen at all. One thing is certain it won’t be played with minimal disruption or protest or largely as if it’s a normal game of football. It’s not.

I agree I think we should do the right thing.

Hold an EGM. Make a clear statement and decision that we will not play this game of football in the current circumstances of Israeli government genocide in Gaza and illegal war in other surrounding countries.

See what UEFA come up with in terms of punishing Ireland instead of doing what they should be doing by applying their own rules and expelling Israel from international competitions. Whatever they come up with let the country and the nation stand behind and support the football community in terms of any fines involved if there is any. If points are possibly forfeited for Ireland let that cause more embarrassment to UEFA for failing in their duty to sanction Israel for breaching their rules while punishing Ireland instead in a cowardly manner. The embarrassment for UEFA and focus on it may prove a breaking point in forcing UEFA to finally do their duty in this matter which is under their own current rules expel Israel from international competitions.

There will be an EGM apparently. If the home tie goes ahead it won’t be in Dublin if it happens at all is my guess at what will happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,817 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

People going to a friendly against Qatar to protest against playing Israel.

The lack of self awareness is astounding.

People are well aware of human rights issues and conflict issues in many countries across the world. That doesn’t detract from the focus required for the current genocidal and warmongering of the Israeli government. The level of whataboutery and attempts to diminish legitimate protest against the current Israeli regime is truly astounding and it won’t work either.

The campaign of protest that will coalesce and intensify around this football game hasn’t even started yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Were they, and yet FIFA only partially sanctioned Russia to begin with. But had to do a complete 180 less than 24hrs later and fully ban Russia when numerous other countries came out and said they will not play Russia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭Macy0161

I certainly wasn't comfortable with us playing Qatar last night*, but we've played lots of States with dodgy human rights records (Hungary for example!). It took teams refusing to play Russia for the authorities to act. No association has had the balls to stand up to Israel so far - but it always takes someone to be the first mover and I'd be proud if it was the FAI that was the first. The things other teams/ associations have done to "highlight" the issue have made feck all difference.

*yes, I was there, season ticket in the south terrace fwiw!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,815 ✭✭✭tigger123

I didn't see the last 20 minutes, but Umeh played well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,517 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

yeah looks the part most importantly. Hes an imposing man while some of our promising youngsters still look weak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,392 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

What annoyed me yesterday. Richie Sadlier seems to lap up this "performative politics" stuff. He said on air "The Irish politicians make statements". But Ireland can take real "action" by not playing the game v Israel! He wasn't challenged on it.

It sounded so daft to to me "action" how is it action it is purely symbolism!? The problem for the FAI in society now; particularly among the young, symbolism and "action" get conflated. But ultimately symbolism, achieves nothing other than lads patting themselves on the back, saying how great they are in a communal protest.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭Migdal_Or

Was there last night in the West Upper. A dull affair on the pitch. As for the protests, security gained control of the situation pretty quickly. One of the protesters, a white, middle-aged, Celtic-shirt-clad "salt of the earth" Dub, kept shouting "I'm Yves Sakila, we're all Yves Sakila", when security were dealing with him. The laugh that got was the highlight of the night, which tells you everything about the game itself.

If the game isn't played in Dublin for security reasons, and I saw nothing last night to be concerned on that front, then our ability to host games and major tournaments going forward needs to be questioned. What we saw last night, after months of tough guy talk in the media, mainstream and social, was a handful of attention seekers, whose protest was so ineffective that the referee didn’t even bother to stop play during the final attempt.

It's mind-blowing, really. You had people protesting at a game involving Qatar, calling for a game against Israel to be boycotted on humanitarian grounds. I didn't see one person protesting against Qatar at the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭srfc d16

Surely you can tell the difference between making a statement saying country X is behaving in a way I think is wrong and refusing to participate in a match against county X?

In what sense is it "purely symbolism"? What would need to be done by the football team/association that would qualify as action if this doesn't?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,878 ✭✭✭caviardreams

Thought his interview was great - a guy buzzing to be playing for us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭I see sheep

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭I see sheep

Richie was 100% right in everything he said.

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,392 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

It is complete performative stuff (the same mentality as those who particpate in flotilias) it is more about the protesters feeling good about themselves/having some fun/adventure (like the protestor another poster mentioned above) rather than actually, achieving anything. People looking like they are doing something.

Now whether a country participates in a tournament that is a wider football governing body - world or European. It has nothing to do with the FAI they have no real say.

What would qualify as "action"? They are footballers, not politicians. Playing the game of football v Israel and winning well is action as far as I am concerned. That is all most football people care about, lets be honest.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,857 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

In general an excellent pundit in a game where there are less and less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭vid36

Its a crazy situation, Israel will play in Kosavo which is 90% Muslim but not here ,Kosavo will want to beat them on the pitch not forfeit the game.

Kosovo are strong allies of Israel they have no problem whatsoever playing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,857 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Kosovans are generally Albanian and Albanian Muslims don't seem to have much connection to Middle Eastern ones. Attitudes to Arabs wouldn't be much different to any other part of former Yugoslavia or Albania itself.

More importantly Kosovo is probably the only place in the world who feel even more greatful to America for facilitating their land grabbing than Israel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,517 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

the only Albanian Muslim I talked to (in Montenegro) wanted to talk about 2 things in a brief conversation when I said I was irish; Conor Mcgregor (standard) and Ireland being ok because they supported Palestine.

Theres also the fact Palestine still refuses to recognise Kosovo as independent from Serbia, and Palestine previously tried to host Milosevic until Israel threatened to arrest him if he set foot there.

So the Palestinians again backed the wrong horse backing the Serbs in the war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,434 ✭✭✭MacDanger

That's complete bollix tbf, you're talking about protesting as being performative "rather than actually, achieving anything" - sure no protest is worth doing if that's the approach you take since, in and of itself, no single protest achieves anything.

UEFA & FIFA have excluded Russia from their competitions because of the war but ultimately that has achieved nothing - do you think that decision should be reversed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭johnnyryan89

If I was the players I'd refuse to play abroad in a behind closed door game. I'd like if they refused point blank in general but tell those in charge if you're not going to boycott at least have the balls to play the match at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,746 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

That'd be the worst of both worlds… either make a statement by not playing it at all, or play it at home in a hostile atmosphere as a huge spectacle.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,925 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

Of course it's performative, go protest the UEFA headquarters if you want a protest they gave Israel license to compete the FAI have no say say who should or shouldn't be in the competition ….fail to fulfil a fixture it's they and the ordinary football fan who face sanctions nothing changes in the middle East, play the game nothing changes in the middle East

You have a very vocal very left leaning Pro Pally lobbyist group in Ireland, of course they were going to be all over this fixture …..'do the right thing' what's right for them doesn't make it right for everyone, if you are not left leaning you'd be a fool to row in with these people on anything because the chances are high they are the very people who will be counter-protesting you on the next matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,963 ✭✭✭Benedict XVI

This is where the FAI fail once again.

I'm no fan of the Palestinian cause, the complete opposite actually, but the grassroots of Irish soccer put a motion to UEFA , that the FAI supported, to ban Israel.

But the FAI were adamant that they would fulfill a fixture v Isreal if it was drawn in a tournament.

If they supported the motion in good faith they should have stated that they would not play a fixture v Israel if it was drawn.

Now they are in a pickle, and it looks like they are trying to weasel out of hosting the game, which will have a knock on effect on their standing when it comes to hosting big events like Europa or CL finals.

It may be to late for them to lose the hosting of Euro 2028, but the powers that be will be wondering what the F the FAI are like if they can't host Israel and everyone else can.

This stuff all fails to recognise that for this Israeli government being allowed to continue participating in international sports and cultural events is vital for them. It gives them validation in their twisted minds for what they’re doing in Gaza and other countries in that region. If they find themselves frozen out of international sporting and cultural events it undermines their support within Israel. There are precedents for the affect that international admonition can have on despotic regimes. Israel are desperate for inclusion and approval from the US and European countries.

If you think that genocide in Gaza and perpetrating murder and mayhem in other countries in the Middle East is just a concern of people who vote for the Left; again you’re failing to understand the situation.

What are you saying here exactly; “never mind the children of Gaza we can’t have the Lefty’s thinking that they won an argument about the staging of a soccer match here…..” Seriously? You don’t have to agree with people on every issue they campaign about just because you might agree on trying to do something about what the current Israeli government are guilty of perpetrating.

This Israel regime has gone completely rogue. It has committed genocide in Gaza (according to the UN). It is attacking Iran and Lebanon. It has a dangerous buffoon in the White House dancing to its tune.It is endangering world security and the world wide economy. If you think these are issues only “Lefties” care about you’re completely underestimating the situation.

Will Ireland not playing Israel affect what’s happening in the Middle East? Maybe not straight away but if it was the start of a movement where Israel is ostracised from international sports and cultural events it could change the type of government that gets elected into power in Israel. There is a reason why the Israeli government wants Israel to continue to be accepted by the international community by being included in sports and cultural events, they don’t want to be ostracised because over time that undermines their power. You and a couple of other posters here obsessed about “lefties” seem to be a little bit naive about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,609 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

The game should be played in Dublin but no away fans allowed for their own safety. Play the game and get on with it. The Israeli players aren't the ones dropping bombs on people, they are probably horrified with what their Government have done for all we know. Anyone causing trouble in the stands should be thrown out and locked up.