GENERAL World Cup Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Suvarnabhumi

Forgot to add I left my Irish Leaving Cert exam in 1990 to watch Scotland v Costa Rica! I failed the exam, but would have failed World Cup or no World Cup 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭ronjo

your year were shafted !

I did Inter in 87 and Leaving in 89…….. Lovely free time for Euro 88 and World Cup 90 😎

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,126 ✭✭✭adaminho

Reports online saying 2-3 more weeks. He's been missing since before the squad announcement. I wonder was he included knowing he would have to pull out? Keeps the sponsors happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,507 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

it has the smell of a destabilizing sideshow but we will see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,697 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Because in the leaner tournaments, the lower ranked sides were still good sides with great players who had to earn their place.

The more you dilute the tournament, the more those lower ranked sides include what are nothing more than bang average football players at best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,436 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,731 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

lucky fecker! I had the leaving in 2002… missing that Germany game was a sickner. Missed the Saudi game as well.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

I had to sit in on an interview for a new hire that ran over, we were due to shut down at 12 to allow us to go watch the match. There were no buses or taxis to be got but the guy passed me on the road and gave me a lift, I made sure he got the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,053 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

There will be some stinkers in the group stage. A lot of extremely defensive teams like Ecuador Paraguay, Tunisia. Plus you'd expect a lot of weaker teams will put 10 behind the ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,336 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I think the heat will be more of a factor than boring tactics.

It will be very slow football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭ronjo

Ecuador will be mental alroght

I would be absolutely shocked if there is more than 3 goals in total in their 3 group games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,053 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

My reading of Ecuador is they would beat the worst team in the tournament 1 0 but will probably only lose 1 0 to France or something. I'd hate to play them if I was one of the favorites, would be a real slog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,139 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

WC History

1990: I wasnt even 2, but told I wanted to wear some tshirt that had the whole squad on it

1994: Not much memory but remember some family gathering at granny's house for one match, think was Italy game, which was great

1998: remember France winning the final. And Croatia....the picnic blanket jersey ensured that. Left a hotel in kilkenny when they had a cracking game, think a 3-2 vs i want to say Netherlands (/Holland)

2002: fierce excitement and being off school before 1st game. Roy Keane....Robbie Keane, good times.

2006: remember enjoying it but not much else in terms of teams or matches, bar the final as they put it on screens at Oxegen between Franz ferdinand and RHCP.

2010: vuvuzelas and being pissed at France for being a pathetic no-show. Was this the one NZ first qualified and went unbeaten, love seeing stuff like that

2014: the 7-1 being most memorable, germany getting over the line, watching bits at a festival in Belgium

2018: the mad stand in Ekaterinburg, Mexico gk heroics, the assumption there'd be dodgy calls for Russia to get them the wi

2022: winter WC, but was fun too. Lot of entertaining games anyway, final being great fun in the end.

2026: I'm actually excited to see lot of the smaller countries in their first WC. Yeah quality be diluted, but i assume the fans will be enthusiastic and make it a fun atmosphere....unless they all get deported of course. Will be strange missing a load of games but can't expect that to be different

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,834 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Genuinely had me going for a second. I totally forgot about that song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭Benedict XVI

Was this the one NZ first qualified and went unbeaten, love seeing stuff like that

Close, they were unbeaten and just missed out on the last 16, but their first qualification was 1982.

At least us 1990 Leaving Cert kids were in the right time zone and had the games in the evening or late afternoon, not in the middle of the day.

1978 - I was 6, remember Kempes and the final with the ticker tape.

My father's spinster aunt decided to visit just as the final was starting, he was annoyed.

I also had a world cup wall chart.

1982 - Remember loads of it, the early goal for Robson v France, the Kuwait whistle controversy, Cameroon, Hungary getting 11 v El Salvador, Poland coming third

I still have the official annual with the scores written in it. I keep it in my laptop bag, I consult it every now and then for inspiration like the way a religious person might read the Bible to help them.

1986 - Really enjoyed staying up for the late starts.

1990 - Needs a thread of it's own. Was 18 and doing the LC. No other sporting event will equal it the way it took over Ireland. I still refer to it by it's Italian name "Italia Novanta" when talking about it so as to give it the respect it deserves.

I think I'll write a book about it.

1994 - Apart from the Italy game and the pub strike in Dublin that day it was a damp squib. A lot of high expectations after Italia Novanta that were (or could not be) lived up to.

1998 - Was living in the US for most of it but was home for a wedding during it, other than the final can't remember much.

2002 - Was at the group stages. Was behind the goal v Germany, was at England v Denmark with all the Beckam mania from the locals. Japan was such a great place to visit.

2006 - Can't remember much, watched the final after being at the Munster football final.

2010 - The one I remember the least.

2014 - The kids started getting into it, remember the driving header by the Dutch guy.

2018 - Watched most of it but can't remember anything in particular.

2022. - Didn't mind the winter element of it but other than the final can't remember anything special.

2026 - Will probably be posting here at 1:42am while watching some game that I hadn't planned to.

And it's no surprise that I remember more about the tournaments from 40 years or more ago than the recent ones, it's just the age we were and times in our lives that they happened.

Post edited by Benedict XVI on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,968 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

any sign of wallcharts in the papers this weekend?

How big is your wall😂 its all App based now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,379 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭jacool

FIFA FF announced. There are some surnames in the squads that I hope get on the ball, just for the craic!!

Will dig them out later. The rules look complicated, but might just be me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,571 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

My sis did too, said she could hear the celebrations for Keane's goal during whatever exam it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,925 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

Doesn't seem like a WC year ..or not as I remember them, just a continuation of endless tournaments

Has the CL final ever been played so close to the opening 2 weeks and England playing a friendly day before the opener seems odd

could be the first major fcuk up by the US of the actual tournament proper. Possible it’s South Africa who messed up.

IMG_1156.jpeg
    • Suarez excluded even after he tried to kiss and make up with Bielsa
    • Since bielsa is their manager they could be a great watch but the Copa in America was an unhappy camp appartently although they held Brazil to a nil all after 120 mins which must not have happened that much in Brazils entire tournament history
    • They were incompetently managed by Diego Alonso in their last tournament. Baffling selection calls. Might be a dark horse. Easy group with Spain, Saudi Arabia and Cape Verde. Probable round of 32 tie with Argentina.

I see also that Breel Embolo hasn't gone to the US with the Swiss squad because his ESTA authorisation was placed under review, after a Swiss court ruling linked ⁠to a 2018 altercation. He was convicted in 2023 of making multiple threats and ​handed a suspended fine, a verdict upheld on appeal after judges rejected his account of the incident. As he decided not ​to take the case to the Federal Court, the judgement is seen as ​final, and he may have to watch it all, like us, on the telly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭scottser

So given that we have no skin in the game, who are ye rooting for and why?

Moreover, who do you want to see embarrassed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,633 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

It'd be nice to see Curacao get a result versus Germany… Cape Verde too in their games, don't want to see them embarrassed but them maybe some drubbings would highlight if the quality has been reduced too much and bring FIFA back to their senses.
    Be nice to see Mexico do well as hosts, better than the US, would show them up.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)