Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭Nickindublin

I think its more a financial hit that worries the CB. I am getting a feeling from the comments here and this only my own opinion that cash is the top priority now at CB level in KK ahead of everything else.

No rumours even going about re Lyng. I did feel from his comments that he will step away. The comment of the sacrifice his family is making is very telling to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Marrooned

jaysus Realt I couldn’t see it that way. Loss of confidence, loss of revenue and another slip by KK. If we were starting to come strong then maybe but otherwise it would be a fiasco.

we are miles off of where we should be. We are after slipping so bad it’s unbelievable, our confidence is on the floor.

Typical CB gone to ground, no answers hoping it will all die down and it probably will,or there will be a distraction like the minor game at the weekend. I’d say they are down on there knees praying for a victory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,007 ✭✭✭kk.man

True. Liam Cahill gave 17 mins of a very frank interview and supporters respect that more than any duck and diving. It was interesting what he said of the pre season preparation. When mistakes are made the first way out is to admit them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭Grats

Looking ahead to next year - we need a manager who's not afraid to speak his mind, is local on the sideline, encourages leadership all over the pitch, thus stirring the supporters in the stands. He needs to come with a plan(s)/system to suit his players and practice it at every training session. Physicality is important but the skills are more so in order to get a better return from possession.

The manager should be allowed chose the captain. A captain who is a leader and who's own game isn't negatively affected by the role. This is no way a reflection on TJ but rather on what young guy might be saddled with that role in future.

The panel should be as small as can be, 30 and no more, with room left for additions where players are performing in various competitions. Players should have to burst a gut to be invited onto the panel and to wear the Kilkenny gear. We had way too many players sitting in the stands decked out throughout the year. They need to fight hard for a spot.

The new manager should be appointed asap, and certainly before the club championship starts. On his panel list of potential candidates should be ZERO, starting from scratch, with no certs. And every club player should be made aware of that ahead of the championship.

I'm sure other posters have suggestions that our County Board might just consider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭kksaints

30 is too small for a panel for training purposes. With the rate of injuries and bugs that go through squads these days, 34-36 players is the minimum size of a panel.

I'd also disagree with the 2nd last paragraph tbh. The amount of springers from the club championship is very low these days. New management team has to have a core of existing players to build around.

Perhaps use players from under 20 panel for training purposes in conjunction with Henry. Carrying 40 plus on a panel is just making lads too comfortable and complacent, and perhaps disillusioned. They need to fight hard to make the panel.

What I mean by starting at Zero, is that no player in this year's panel should automatically walk onto the new panel, he should be invited in due course. Of course a manager worth his salt would have a fairly clear idea of capable players. I don't exoect him to find 30 springers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 TryMyBest

Just want to ask a question from a non-KK perspective….

How many players on the KK Senior, U20, and Minor teams were not educated at either Kieran’s or Kilkenny CBS?

Off the top of my head, I can think of Marty Murphy (Good Counsel) and Rory Garrett was Johnstown, think Eoin Murphy would either have been New Ross CBS or New Ross Tech, ye would know better than me admittedly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Charlie69

Eoin Murphy was New Ross Tech or Kennedy College as its now known. He pretty much won hurling matches on his own when we played them. Not as good a Soccer player mind you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭KK36

With the split season it is very hard for anyone to get onto the panel during the inter county season because of club form. There aren't any real club games. It was different when there were league/championship games in April/May.

Thanks. Just offering my tuppence worth. There's a discussion needing to happen and hopefully local radio might pick up on points of view here. Nobody's contribution should be knocked without offering an alternative. There's too much of that going on with the County Board. Clubs need to step up as do the Supporters Club, and don't say they're not being listened to. Make the County Board listen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭neverbet

Firstly, our present manager is still in situ. I think after 25+ years of unbroken service to his county on and off the field Derek deserves the respect, time and space to make his intentions known. Has nothing been learned from the unfair treatment meted out to Niall Bergin and Mark Dowling and their management teams for their contributions in recent years at minor and u20 which with hindsight were a lot better than some would have you believe? On that note serious good luck to everyone players and management involved with the minors saturday. A brilliant team to follow in victory or defeat. Next years Senior management all going well should have the benefit of a fully fit and refreshed group fully available as follows, Huw Lawlor, Tommy Walsh, Jordan Molloy, Billy Ryan, Adrian Mullen and Harry Shine. That is one third plus of our team that exited at semi final stage last year. If that transpires to be the case relegation might appear a little less likely.?Also with home games v Galway, Offaly and Dublin in Leinster a return to a top 3 finish and progress in A1 series a realistic possibility. Glass half full.

firstly if Derek is going it has to be done quickly. What’s the point in hanging around. There is an awful lot to be sorted and time passes by so quick everything will be up in a heap in October November As you stated we have the three big guns at home in championship next year, but we need to have our house in order way before that which could include a change up in the CB which I personally think needs to happen. I certainly think we have talented people to take over the CB in the morning. I think some officers there have lost all credibility with the public. I know you would probably disagree with me but sure that’s the way it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Village87

Unfair treatment to Mark Dowling and Bergin!! I am not so sure about that? Harry Shine needs an awful lot of work. We are the 4th best team in Leinster and probably 9th in Ireland, we need an overhaul of some sort, Derek is surely gone stale of the whole thing now, the whole set up last 2 years did not sound like a good environment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 covcat

Are Huw Lawlor &Billy Ryan coming back? And no doubt we could of done with them this year but neither are getting any younger.Would be worried about Adrian Mullens long term fitness/staying injury free.Tommy Walsh also not a young man.They would all be great additions to panel but has time come to look for and persist with a younger group?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

The only unfair treatment given to Niall Bergin was the county board (without any discussion or so it seems) giving him another year after presiding over a minor final loss to a 13 man Tipperary. If there was ever a match lost on the line that was It. It was unfair on the players that he was given another year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭Nickindublin

Well they could be gone for 2 years if still in OZ as the working visa program can be 2 years and maybe they might decide not to hurl intercounty again. IMO whoever the manager is next year to get fresh legs in and build competition for places.

welcome back Grats I agree with everything bar the captaincy that’s a Huge honour for the county champions, saying that it shouldn’t be a stumbling block and could easily be discussed.

Well KK a suggestion a few years back was a feeder panel U23 playing other interested counties in competition this would solve that problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭The_Tank

Regarding a new manager- hasn’t Henry just started a new business? Leaving aside his relative merits I doubt he would take a senior county job on while trying to establish his own business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Nedflanders02

Personally I think Henry would be a great CB chairman! He'd drive high standards and has a good business head on him! Doubt he would ever do it as he'd have ambitions on the managerial side of things but he'd be a great candidate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

So true about andy. Hes like one of those emotional fans who comes on talksport to rant about his football team.

Hi andy what's your point?

Pocchettino is a disaster mate hes gotta go.

Yeah but andy, he's only been there 2 weeks!!

Can't see this working out based on the U19 competition. Also wouldn't that add a fair amount more expense running an extra squad compared to some extra players on a panel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Firstsub

1960's 3 AI

70's 4 AI

80's 2 AI

90's 2 AI

00's 7 AI

10's 4 AI

We will not win an AI in the 20's

22 AI won in a 53 year period. Tipp won 12 and Cork won 11 since 1960's. We were the best team by a distance.

Now we are the ninth best team, 11 years since our last AI. We have lost 4 AI since 2015 and lost the last 2 AI semi finals. We have won 1 U20 AI since 2008 when we beat a depleted LK team in 2022. We have lost the last 4 minor AI's we played in since the last final in 2014.

I now expect every KK team to lose. I expect us to lose rucks, be tactically poor, lump balls into forwards, to have a poor first touch, be poor in the air, lack speed, lack hunger.

Defeat is expected and accepted. No one aged under 20 will have a clear recollection of the KK senior team winning an AI. Our best player is 38. We are further away from an AI than at any time in the last 60 years.

If the above is not a crisis, I don't know what is. The first thing the County Board has to do is acknowledge the scale of the crisis. In the short term, they need to accept that Derek has tried his best and it hasn't worked.

No one is going to be able to produce a magic wand but we should be able to produce a team that wins 50% of rucks and has hunger. We should be able to produce a team that is tactically aware. We should have players with a good first touch and with equal conditioning to other teams. I hate to say it but we should be throwing every single ball. We need to learn about running off the shoulder

In the longer term, we need to look at how clubs and underage hurlers are playing as currently they are not producing senior hurlers of the required standard. We need better facilities, more floodlit pitches and a lot more money

I think Brian Dowling or Tom Mullally are the best options but as I have said before the most important thing and the first thing is for everyone to accept Kilkenny hurling is in a severe crisis

KK. Did you ever hear the expression **** the expenses. I actually thought of that after sending it. An Andy moment. u23’s just a thought, it’s expensive to carry them on a panel as well?

Carrying ten of them on a panel would be cheaper than another panel of 30 roughly. Plus the extra backroom staff, transport costs etc. I can see the usefulness of the U19 panel to an extent to act as a bridge between Minor and U20 but I don't think the U23 option would develop enough players for us at Senior to make it worthwhile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,007 ✭✭✭kk.man