Beef price tracker 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,007 ✭✭✭kk.man

Maybe that might be a way as a form of PROTEST renage on mass on the tax bill. Then see the barons who supported FFG in the 80s and 90s by way of corporate donations see whats its like. Then we might see a competition authority who has teeth? The farmers journal week pricing guide is an absolute joke.

Nothing hurts a baron like a politician with a vengeance they didn't kick their a%<"as hard enough for all those years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,199 ✭✭✭Robson99

I've no idea where it will finish, but be it €6 or even say it levels at €6.50 then it's far more sustainable than yo yoing above €7…some lads on here wer hoping for € 9 - €10

Becareful what you wish for with the beef baron's ..there will always be pain after any gain you get from them and there is always only one winner in the long run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

Id be expecting it to hold around €6 to be honest.if they were aiming for €5 there would be alot more that 10c per week comming off i reckon

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 5,108 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Hard to know with them but €6 would be just about OK. Farmers have zero control thou when it comes to dealing with the 3-headed cartel.

I was talking to my uncle who does calf-to-beef and used to finish 40-50 every year. He brings them all to the mart now once they hit 600kg and lets the feedlots bid for them rather than finish himself.

It's not for everyone and I know they lose 20-30kg going that route but it might be better for your sanity than getting laughed at by the factory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,615 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

For me it looks about a euro a bale extra, so 7-10 euro an acre.

Its gard to know all right

https://www.bordbia.ie/farmers-growers/prices-markets/cattle-trade-prices/eu-world-cattle-prices/

This is the BB world price guide. Beef seems to be slipping back. Prices ate for 16/5. If you compate to last year were were ahead of general EU prices. This year we are behind. Calf and store prices even though these lads need them are out of sync at present.

Gennerall from the BB world prices the US is ahead at 7.5/ kg.

The rest looking at R3 bulls/ steers and cows

Uk 7& 5.9

France 7.1& 7.27

Germany 6.44 & 6.11

Italy 6.86, however U= 7.24 any steers are 7.6 but its a very specialised market cows5.72

Netherlands 6.98 & 6.33

Poland 6.48 & 5.98

What has amazed me over the last 12 months is that Polish and Duch beef is now virtually on par with Eu priced.

Its often hardnto judge prices because you will hear what are premium prices. For instance a lad selling O+ grade AA heifers into the ABP scheme is getting 6.83 / kg at a base of 6.4.

The agents themselves are taking a hammering. Our own agentbis not a happy camper. He is expressing concern on what hevlaid for cattle last Autumn. However his realmpain I expect is there calf to beef operation which has just stopped purchasing.

Calves are completely out of sync. Had to buy two to put under a Friesian cull we bought last autumn. I was caught for time so could not go to Kerry. Paid 800ish euro for two AA heifers 3 weeks old. Nice calves admittedly from FR cows, they were nearly 60 kgs.

Teagasc have data that show lads finishing cattle and selling direct to slaughter are the most profitable farms.

If the HE are 600kgs they are slaughter fit or will be with 6 weeks meal feeding. May not the slaughter fit he thinks he has to take them to

Feedlots need a gross margin of 500 over 90 days to stay in business. They are not getting that much extra to cover that. Mostbof ot is comming at the ordinary farmers expense

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

Price makes no difference in the grand scheme of things as most lads will buy the required numbers for their system if beef was €3.65/kg or €8/kg.I suggested here back in the spring what if beef price dropped and people were paying London for calves but the response was the old adage "may keep the wheel turning".."have to keep stock number up"..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭HHH

Any quotes for for this week/next week? The journal says there's more than €6.30 available but I can't find it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭Conversations 3

€6.30 is what I was told, and hold out another few weeks, might stall at that for a week or two and creep up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,615 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Getting quoted the same 6.3 for steers, 6.4 for heifers. Have 5 booked in since early in the week for next week. They are not that flush I think. They are getting thete 31.5k a week but it is not climbing. I think when the last of the big numbers of shed cattle ate gone in 10-14 days time it will stabilise or even rise.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭memorystick

Heifers back a € since March and bullocks back almost €1.5 since November. To say I’m sick of these cúnts is an understatement. All the positivity of last year gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭epfff

I think it will fall more. Before slight short term rise in 3/4 weeks. But impossible to predict.

Next week full locally and showing no interest in cattle for following week. Lots of shed Cattle out there and they are returning more beef per head than the last 2 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

I agree with the first part of your post, there is markets for certain types of animals throughout Europe and these animals have to be inspec for the customer and if not what’s required the customer will go elsewhere for supply. Each country has a animal type for their needs, in France it’s usually 36 month heifer or young cow beef. The young bulls go to italy and veal rouge is produced for home trade. Calves and weanlings that are shipped are to customers needs, there’s no point sending Fr bulls to Italian customer that wants Red Lim.also do lads realise the cost to run a factory for one day with staff etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Yep working for a man today, he can't get rid of bulls for a few week in any county around monaghan

Another factor is the World Cup. This will increase beef consumption in Europe if sone fans do not travel because of the cost.

On the other hand if you have HE or AA cattle.in a bunch they will kill within the week

Slava Ukrainii

https://www.rte.ie/news/politics/2026/0527/1575600-seanad-meps/

Fair play to Ciaran Mullooly for raising this issue.

18 / 20 months

If we're getting it hard to shift and us along the border, it must be tough for certain stock down south

I say its the product he has. O grade bulls unless they have rakes of flesh and the fat cover they can be hard to shift. The processors will take cows, P grade and over age cattle etc before them.

They will always back up bulls if they have plenty of cattle

Post edited by Bass Reeves on

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭Dunedin

@Bass Reeves we have a World Cup and Euros every second year - I’ve never saw a notable price increase linked to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

A good sport competition in nice weather will have Parties (BBQ) which means improved sales of alcohol (beer) and food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,811 ✭✭✭StevenToast

Never equates to a price increase for the farmer...

I won't be holding my breath in anticipation anyway....

"SUBSCRIBE TO BOARDS YOU TIGHT CÙNT".....Plato 400 B.C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Coltsfoot99

Every time there is a clear reason in the market place that should drive prices up, they fall.

Beef is not a free market

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭Austinbrick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,811 ✭✭✭StevenToast

"SUBSCRIBE TO BOARDS YOU TIGHT CÙNT".....Plato 400 B.C

The nation holds its breath.…to lower beef prices despite Romania and Italy increase theirs 😂

The cartel and Bord Mullet are inept at marketing Irish grass fed QA Protective Status beef in a world of shortage.... its time to give up the QA en mass...there's no point.….

Thats their mindset is the UK (which they have flooded with southern Hemisphere beef of mostly their making) what a shower…

Keep Sainsbury, Tesco, Waitrose et al happy.....

I know it doesn't sound good but the qa status if a protest was to start, thats the key. It won't attract the fines etc and who cares at this stage we are all going down the gutter anyway. If in unison QA was removed let them market that.

One group recently marketed 'sustainability' id love to see the food miles of each individual animal to achieve this fathom 'sustainability' in those plants (UK SUPERMARKETS TAKE NOTE). Most groups use many good food miles to control their catchment area, what an absolute joke. The English language is great till its dissected with the beautiful Angus in the lush green fields.…

QA is very much gone, there's no sense nor meaning to it, we are the whipping boy's of Europe for far too long.

If the farm organisations don't protest let's replace them.

There's procurement managers laughing and gloutin at lads taking the quoted price for cattle (in numbers) whom cost serious money to produce, this won't be forgotten for years to come.

We have a crisis beyond proportion in this country while the barons are making their nest.

Post edited by kk.man on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭Austinbrick

You may never see a notable price increase. But in this game a difference of 20-30c/ kg is 60-100 euro a head. It may come in the form of prices not continually dropping or a slight price rise.

However to a lot of finishers its immaterial, we just take our margin whether it will be at 5.8/ kg, 6.3/ kg or 7/ kg.

Just like last year we paid higher prices for stores, yearlings and for calved this spring

Post edited by Bass Reeves on

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Thesmallfarmer

The beef finisher continue to come here to moan and yet if there was a blockade in the morning ,it would be up to the thickos to support it.

The last time the gates were blocked by the thickos ,numerous beef finishers broke the picket in fact there was as many dairy farmers protesting as beef finishers.

In fact i am going to say the beef finishers prefer the factories to pay lower as it gives them the opurtunity in marts to have more control of price of store cattle and ultimitily drive down the trade!