Gig Reviews - 2026

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 45,403 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

I was impressed with chalk when they supported idles a couple of years ago in the Olympia.

Good to hear they are growing and progressing. I must keep an eye out for some future gigs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,697 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

The Cosmic Dead in The Workmans.

Loudest gig Ive seen in there. Great band. Heavy, proggy, Can, Hawkwind. Loads going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Richard Ashcroft in 3Arena.

Great gig. He played about 1hour and 40 mins . Everyone was totally into it and the atmosphere on the floor was good. Very loud bass though on a few songs . Get that at 3 Arena more than anywhere else ..

PXL_20260516_201519395.MP.jpg

Lovely band playing support beforehand ,

PXL_20260516_191307788.MP.jpg

very impressed with lead singer's voice , The Royston Club .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭garyskeepers

Fantastic Ashcroft gig.. Big memories of Slane 98.. Completely different listening to these songs with a guitar solo… Weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,173 ✭✭✭Stillill42

Dove Ellis at the Workman's.

I'm always a bit wary of the hype when it comes to new acts and it was no different with Dove Ellis but this guy is the real deal. Fantastic night in the Workman's. Incredible voice, a falsetto Prince would be proud of and a set of songs indecently good for a 23/24 year old, certainly the album tracks. He sounded amazing throughout. Band also excellent, including the bassist/ fiddler from Mary in the Junkyard? He's part rock God, part TY student from Gort CBS or wherever. Still finding his feet but mahoosive potential.

@Mucker46 the support, Existing Conditions were mental. 2 guitars, bass, drums, flute, sax and a French horn i think? Open to correction there. Thought they were deadly, sprawling songs, changes of key, tempo, all over the gaff. Lead man fantastic, great voice, you could see him in Prefab Sprout, Talking Heads, Joy Division, very impressive chap. Not for everyone but I'd defo recommend getting in early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Mucker46

Support billed for 8 but on for about 8.15 I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,939 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

42775.jpg

Hawthorne Heights 20th anniversary of if only you were lonely, for those of us old enough for the first go round (which was the vast minority) they understood the assignment, on stage at 8.20, ripped through the album, never left the stage, 4 song encore, finished with Ohio is for lovers with JT Woodruff in the middle of the crowd and I'm home for 10 on a school night. More of this....

42797.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭gilly1910

Ah brilliant, I had mean to get tickets for that gig when they were anounced last year, and completely forgot. Great to see him back though, although he owes the Gallagher brothers for having him as their warmup during their UK & Ireland tour, but he did go down a storm in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Paul Simon at the 3Arena .A Quiet Celebration .

It was a quiet concert alright( for me !) with a full suite of musicians playing every note , real guitars , and flutes and saxophones and an array of multiple instruments . Paul himself for a man in his mid 80s was very spry and sang for 2 and a half hours with an intermission after the first set which was his recent album .

His voice was a little thinner than before but still true . Played a lot of oldies, not necessarily all the hits , but Homeward Bound did it for me …Very emotional . That was my dad's song ❤️

The crowd were standing to clap only. All seated and packed quietly humming and singing along .

PXL_20260520_201839246.MP~2.jpg

Two encores ,the final one himself alone on his guitar with The Sound of Silence at 10.45 pm !

There with one of my sons who loved it. Three generations all over the arena enjoying the concert immensely .

He packed out a US tour too before this ...big stadia !

Lovely to hear him playing and singing in full voice again .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 547 ✭✭✭Sean Seoighe

I am usually standing somewhere straining my neck to see above the tallies ! This was luxury .

Thanks Santa ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭piggysiren

It was so lovely. You could say something like there's a lack of this and that portion of his career, or the big bombastic Graceland numbers, or his performance ability yada yada but something about it all just came together and it was so sublime. I can't put my finger on it but set two was just really well curated and structured for some reason.

Lots around me sceptical after set one (I liked Seven Psalms myself), but once set two started it was a complete conversion. Shame about the prices as it did price out many people I know who would have loved to see him with this likely being the last time, but it was incredible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,114 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

20260520_201504.jpg 20260520_204256.jpg 20260520_201701.jpg 20260520_223838.jpg 20260520_224533.jpg 20260520_224934.jpg 20260520_220815.jpg

Enjoyable gig last night by Paul Simon in the 3Arena. It was well known to show going to be different and still had people been shocked at it

It really was a great night of music by top musicians and part 2 flew by, so many great songs and was nice to see special guest Martin Hayes. Loved, 'The Lord' 'Graceland', 'Homeward Bound' and 'The Boxer', not forgetting 'The Sound of silence'. I would loved to hear a few more of the hits but beggers can't be choosers

A legend of the music world and we were so lucky to see him do his craft

Sadly we'll never see another Simon & Garfunkel tour but hopefully they'll reunite once more before father times catches up on them

Next up is Nick Cave in Malahide on the 10th June

Yes I am not a fan of dynamic pricing for most and would actively avoid paying more than a certain amount or encouraging others to do so .

But a special one only comes around rarely, and the price advertised was about a third of that of a certain reunited group last summer that I had refused to pay , and for those seats which were frankly amazing and the best gift ! I couldn't say no 🤗

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,046 ✭✭✭RayCon

Christopher Cross - Bord Gais Theatre, 24th May.
    Firstly, shame on me for never realizing previously what a guitarist Christopher Cross is - fantastic. Excellent gig overall, all the hits you'd expect with some deep cuts and a shouted out audience request, "Deputy Dan", that wasn't in the rehearsed tour setlist - but they pulled out a perfect version. His band are a bunch of superb musicians / singers - just a pleasure to listen to and watch. Enjoyed myself so much that after the gig I immediately put deposit down on a yacht and a peach coloured linen suit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,796 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

It was a prompt 8pm start, no support act.
    I wish artists would do this more often.
    Particularly those who are older, perhaps?

1½ hours of a fabulous performance, it was really special.
    It took me right back to the 80s.

Still some tickets available for Dublin, Castlebar and Kerry this week.

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,647 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nigel Fairservice

It's probably one of the more mellow gigs I've been to but I enjoyed Christopher Cross as well. He was happy to play his hits and told a few funny stories along the way. I also did not realise what and accomplished guitar player he is. His band were all great musicians but his piano player was top drawer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 407 ✭✭Beagslife

A great vibe in the Stadium last night with Rodrigo y Gabriela 🎸 celebrating the 20th anniversary of Re-Foc. Gabriela had her leg is a cast last time I saw them in Lisboa, so great to see the pure energy on show last night.

They move on to Dolans and Cyprus Avenue next, but delighted to have seen them in their spiritual home away from home.

mgp-rodrigo-y-gabriela-national-stadium-may-20265.jpg

Also, my first time back in the Stadium in decades. It still has something very special about it for the right gig 😎

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,139 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Rod Y Gab and Clutch both on same night and couldn't make any of them....same tonight for Clutch. Infuriating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,026 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Sprints, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar, The Scratch

Gigs '26 - Deftones, Sleaford Mods, Stereolab, KNEECAP, Sugar, Clutch, Big Thief, Jon Spencer, The Cure, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, IDLES, Electric Picnic, Public Service Broadcasting, Suede/Manic Street Preachers, Korn

Freebies for Lemon Twigs in Vicar Street tonight. Top deck closed, back bar closed, bit of an over estimate on the promoters part but great evening's entertainment nonetheless. Missed Fizzy Orange, caught the last 4 or 5 from the Stones, a bit ramshackle but very likeable. Really enjoyed Lemon Twigs, lovely set of 60s and 70s inspired pop/rock. Great band, enjoyed Slash on drums, bonus points obviously for synchronised jumps on 1st and last chords, some lovely harmonies which, as the bloke in the jacks said, you don't see enough of these days.

Haven't seen them since EP a hundred years ago, thought they were something different, a bit wilder? Pantsuits? Spandex? Possibly just a beautiful dream. Anyway, well worth the trip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭Turbulent Bill

They were class, their playing is still spectacular. Both they and the crowd were up for it. Extra marks for having good sound.

I should have gotten standing, seats in the Stadium aren't amazing.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,537 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Really pleased to get to see Mr Simon last week. At 84 years and 221 days he becomes the oldest artist I have seen, and that fact alone highlights how great it is to see some of these guys long after they could have dropped out of this touring lark. Thoroughly enjoyed the show

DSC05812.jpg DSC05866.jpg DSC05965-2.jpg DSC06086.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,026 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Sugar - Ulster Hall, Belfast

Excellent gig. Unreal energy. They came on a couple of minutes before 9pm, blasted out three Copper Blue tunes with barely a pause between them, before saying 'hello' to the crowd and then cracking on with the next tune. No let up from start to finish. They didn't leave the stage for the 'encore' but tried to whip up the disappointingly flat crowd before kicking in to the final three tunes. Left the stage at a couple of minutes after 10:30pm. Class. The only issue that I had was the murky vocals on some of the tuned, especially those of David Barbe. Bob Mould couldn't be tied down! Hard to believe that the drummer is 73!

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Sprints, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar, The Scratch

Gigs '26 - Deftones, Sleaford Mods, Stereolab, KNEECAP, Sugar, Clutch, Big Thief, Jon Spencer, The Cure, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, IDLES, Electric Picnic, Public Service Broadcasting, Suede/Manic Street Preachers, Korn

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,965 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Also saw Rodrigo y Gabriella but in Dolans last night, was a fantastic show, I think they did the whole album, granted it wasn't a note for note copy of the album, I recognise the music but can't remember the titles, was great to hear Orion, would have loved the full version.

Got up to the second row, seeing Gabriella's right hand going from less than ten feet away was something else, ferocious at times, they said they've a new album coming (new song sounded good) hope they'll be back again before too long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭mrk75

The drummer was really good. Very economical. He wasn't thumping them but the drums were obviously well mic'ed up - the old Charlie Watts trick.

Lovely . Hard to get pictures at it. Where I was there was two ushers strictly enforcing the no flash photography rule …flashing the torch and telling people off ....until they just couldn't anymore . Only doing their jobs but it felt like you were a kid at the cinema back in the day ;)