Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 12.02.26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,441 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

I dont think Vlahovic is that great, would want big wages and his goal scoring record imo isnt worth what hed want. Hes been on transfer news across Europe the last 2 years.

A Cavani type would be ideal for 2 years and reassess then when Sesko has more experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭xtal191

I'm probably the only one but I'm finding the reaction to all this Keane and Bruno shite embarrassing, obviously what Keane said was wrong but **** me you'd think he did or said something really bad, its such a non story. Not like he's spitting on kids, riding his brothers wife or beating women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,671 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

Keane's in the business of media promotion. Louder makes more money, so that's where he's going. He'll say whatever, watch the mayhem ensue, and watch the cash roll in. He'll close the door behind him when he gets home and get on with his day, no thought given to any of it.

Loved him as a player, but clearly had limitations as a manager/ coach and he offers very little analytical or tactical nous when on the telly.

He's our 21st century Eamonn Dunphy. Enjoy or ignore, but I wouldn't be taking him too seriously or waiting for any nuggets of analytical gold either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,821 ✭✭✭Charlie69

You’re right, he’s not doing any of those things… he’s just being an a**hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,263 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

The 115 charges thing is always looming. But I'm not sure how much Anderson will care, he can put clauses into his contract if City were relegated or whatever. It's not nothing though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,202 ✭✭✭Robson99

Jesus the amount of dislike on here for Keane is daft. In 20 years time Keane will still be remembered as a club legend in the same light as Edwards, Law, Charlton, Best, Robson, Cantona. Bruno will be forgotton about a few years after he leaves the club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭paulbok

Keane the footballer and Keane the pundit are two separate entities and can be held in separate regard.

Same with Scholes etc and others in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,522 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

presume this is all a negotiation tactic to get a reduced price on rashford. if it is true rashford needs to stop being a cuck, and get his agent to look elsewhere.

Barcelona have joined the race to sign Newcastle forward Anthony Gordon.

Newcastle are now in talks with both Bayern Munich and the Spanish giants over the 25-year-old.

Gordon was an unused sub in Newcastle's last four games, as they protected him ahead of a summer move.

He has four years left on his contract, and Newcastle are looking for around £75m for the winger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,408 ✭✭✭✭FourFourRED

Come on man - I don’t think anyone has said they dislike him. Roy Keane is genuinely embarrassing himself through his commentary on Man United, particularly when he zeroes in on Bruno. People are discussing it. That’s all.

Is it important or a huge issue? Not at all. Nobody is suggesting it is. The discourse on this has mainly been ‘Roy should cop on a bit’.

Nobody is comparing Keane with Bruno either. Why would they? However - he will not be forgotten a few years after he leaves. He may not have been part of a great team, he will likely leave without a league or European title medal, but that won’t take away the fact that he has been a very good player for us for 7 or so years, in a period where most of those around him haven’t been good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,584 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

Gordon will cost over twice Rashford's agreed fee - he is younger but I don't think he's much better.

Put your money where yer mouth is... Subscribe and Save Boards!

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,516 ✭✭✭Quandary

Bruno will most certainly not be forgotten. He is one of the best players to have ever played for the club imo. Yeah he can be a moany ar5e on the pitch but in terms of workrate, hunger, ability, and leading by example he can't be questioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,769 ✭✭✭kerplun k

I like Keane. I even think he’s a good pundit. But he’s come off looking a bit silly regarding this recent Bruno thing.

I think the overwhelming majority of people share this view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭17togo

If he keeps going the way he's going he'll ruin his reputation with alot of fans. It'll go from he was a great player and captain to yeah he was great but a bit of a prick and hates united, so he won't be held in the same esteem as Charlton, Cantona or Best. All the ones you mentioned were United to the core and ended up as ambassadors or simple just fans of the club. Keane can't even bring himself to say he supports united. He'd prefer to say he's a soft spot for **** spurs. 🤷

Just look at the whole saipan thing, there's still alot of Ireland fans that wouldn't consider him for the best footballer we've produced, which he definitely should be in that discussion, because of what happened there.

IMO, this is just feeds into the whole negative narrative around united that has be grown because of people like Keane and Neville constantly slating the players even after winning games they'll concentrate or find negatives to talk about. Think back to that clown souness going on about pogba being expected to get 4 assists because he cost 100million. When our own "legends" are slating players it gives others the freedom to do the same with no pushback. Imagine if Wirtz had signed for utd for the price he went to Liverpool do you think he'd have got the pass from Keane and Neville like he has has from Carragher or other Liverpool pundits. I can't recall him ever being criticised for average, at best, performances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭NITRO95

Getting Ederson for less than £40m would be a great bit of business. A friend of mine is a regular Serie A viewer and has seen Ederson in the flesh multiple times and hes extremely excited about us getting this deal done. That's good enough for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,782 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,752 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

He mustn't be considered the Casimero replacement though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,513 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Yep.
    I think he can be an EXCELLENT squad player. but he should be a squad player rather than needing to be out star player.

No chance he is, hes the cheaper CM option reported.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭paulbok

It does make sense to bring in the second or third choice new midfielder first (assuming Mainoo and X will be the first choice pairing).

It'd be a lot harder to convince Ederson to join if for example, Anderson and Fernandez had already joined. Though I would expect Ederson would be briefed somewhat on the plan for midfield reinforcements.

<40m is worth the gamble, if he doesn't work out they should recoup most of that back.

Plus the more expensive mids will be all off to the World Cup, get the easy deals out of the way first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,821 ✭✭✭Charlie69

I agree with the earlier point on how former captains like Bryan Robson and Bobby Charlton became true United legends and ambassadors is because they always showed class and respect towards the club and the players that came after them. You absolutely never saw them slagging off current United players in the media or trying to score points for attention.

Roy Keane was an unbelievable player and honestly one of my favourite United players ever …. but that doesn’t make him a nice person, and I think people should be allowed to say that without being accused of disrespecting his legacy.

The whole spat with Alex Ferguson is something I also find very distasteful , if he doesn’t get on with him anymore that’s fine and relationships break down…. im sure he has what he thinks are good reasons. But Ferguson made Keane the captain of the biggest club in the world and saw him as his on field representative until he felt as manager that Keane’s influence had become disruptive . Publicly slagging off our greatest manager ever and someone who helped him to be the player and leader he became….just comes across as crass, bitter and hugely disrespectful .

You can admire Roy Keane the footballer, and I always will , but you can also recognise that he often comes across as unnecessarily harsh and not particularly likeable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,976 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Looks like Ederson's done.

Man Utd closing in on £38m Ederson deal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,387 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Getting a deal for any midfielder pre-WC is fantastic. The fact hes the cheaper option and still at a very good price is excellent. We needed to be quick this summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,939 ✭✭✭Dave0301

From the same link...16.7 million to sack Amorim. No wonder he didn't want to resign!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭davemckenna25

I read that was rhe figure for RA and his team, not just him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,588 ✭✭✭weemcd

Gordon looks a done deal to Barca.

I was always of the opinion Rashford would end up back in Carrington again by May, still a couple of days left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,435 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Yeah personal terms agreed and £69m opening offer to Newcastle.

One one hand I'll be gutted to see Rashford back at Carrington, especially if he's even more grumpy due to Barcelona ditching him, but at the same time I'll be a bit amused that his high opinion of himself will take another dent if Barca reject the chance to sign him for €30m because they're skint, and then sign Gordon for €80m instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,697 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

It will indeed be funny if Barca become just the latest club to not want Rashford. I guess we'll be seeing another social media post with another veiled dig soon.

I do want to meet Antony Gordons agent though, that guy must be an absolute genius at his job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,893 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

There's no way Rashford comes back to the club imo. There's alot of goodwill around with the players at the moment and hes purely an agitator that would disrupt things. Think he'll still sign for Barca but it will be a heavily incentivised deal, something like 10m up front and 20 depending on trophies etc. Id like the fucker go on a free rather than have him back.