Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Mod Note Added 02/09/25*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,749 ✭✭✭creedp

This was your response to a couple of more balanced posters questioning the use of the extremely emotive and inappropriate word lynching in the context of this case.

How would you describe an extra-judicial killing carried out as a public spectacle, so? Or does the fact that the original intent may not have been to kill make it OK?

Gas how you were so fastidious chasing posters with your ‘alleged shoplifting’’ but somehow couldn’t find the same energy chasing posters with ‘alleged lynching’.

Of course to borrow another phrase over used by your good self ‘You're kinda giving yourself away with these sentiments too’

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭bored65

Maybe the Somalis invented teleportation

Tho why they don’t teleport to China, which the Left tells us is the future with its shiny cities and are not morally and economically bankrupt like us decadent westerners, is a mystery

China a country that only has 296 refugees according to UNHCR

https://www.theglobaleconomy.com/China/refugee_population/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭Resplendent Moose

Well we certainly have one open border, between the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland, and people crossing that border are not recorded. But don't let that get in the way of some far-right fearmongering.

A personal invitation to dance, as Nero plays for the last time
    Tonight you will mix with the prophets without honour...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,749 ✭✭✭creedp

Amazing when you consider that China’s population is declining rapidly forcing the Govt to introduce expensive policies to try and increase the birth rate.

I wonder why such a modern economic powerhouse doesn’t just promote high levels of immigration which according to some is considered a universally positive policy in Europe?

I can’t even imagine how many immigrants a country with the worlds second biggest economy and population of 1.4bn people could absorb?

https://rhg.com/research/chinas-demographic-future/

65 to 90 million empty homes too and a property crash that make our 2008 one look like child’s play

But hey “decadent westerners” must be at fault for all the problems on this planet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Perfidious Cretin

Are the wacist far right in the room with us right now? Come on, don't be shy. We're all friends here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,978 ✭✭✭plodder

I really don't like jumping on these band wagons, and I'm not a fan of the whole "unvetted male" notion, but wouldn't it defuse the situation a small bit if it were understood (and the reality) that this man would be deported after serving his sentence (he has pled guilty)? Would anyone argue that he should be allowed to stay?

“The opposite of 'good' is 'good intentions'”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Kinda crazy thousands upon thousands of refugees coming to places like Ireland with a housing crisis when China has a growing number of empty homes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 696 ✭✭✭tallaghtfornia

Referring to the sisters who got hurt in that city by that Somalian man

I don’t go into that city anymore it’s a dangerous kip. We have absolutely no idea who are arriving on our shores or what there background is the government are just letting these people loose on our streets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Perfidious Cretin

https://www.ontheditch.com/arnotts-security-company/

Interesting. Seems the security crowd working in Arnotts also run security operations in IPAS centres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭SpoonyMcSpoon

These immigrants are not welcome in the country and people are deluded to think there is no safety risk for letting in African and muslim men into the country illegally under the vague “asylum” process.

Men fleeing a country without the women and children are going to war; these unvetted males are essentially here to declare war on the decent, high quality of life we have in Ireland, and our politicians need to be told that they work for legitimate voters and not for the undemocratic EU asylum treaties, corrupt NGOs and other shadow interests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Guaranteed a lot of their security won't be Irish. The racism card pulled in this situation is just bonkers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Paddy_Mag

The woke ones won't let that get in the way of a good story though.

I see coppinger finally, begrudgingly gave a statement on the murder on her own constituency

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 4,542 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

Report in Irish Independent about a Nigerian man, who was allegedly trying to get children into his car, being forced out of his home by concerned residents in New Ross. Cathaoirleach John Dwyer has spoken about it.

He apparently is a sex offender. I think after serving their sentence, such people should be deported and if naturalised, should have their citizenship revoked.

Also it's another strong argument for electronic tagging. It's a joke that after 30 years of debate Ireland still doesn't have it

Indo article

Its just nonsense at this stage. Councils giving out homes to Africans etc

My Nephew recently was unsuccessful in an application to an affordable homes scheme of which 40% were allocated to Indians. They are only obliged to be in the DCC area for 3 years to be eligible. So thats a 120k leg up onto the property ladder.

1000011206.jpg

1000011208.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,850 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

The open border between ROI and NI and the concerns about migrants using NI as a gateway from the UK into Ireland has been talked about and a cause of consternation since Brexit. With every post you make you embarrass yourself further tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,187 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Govt to offer cash to Ukrainians to return

Front Page Irish Daily Mail 27/05/2026

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,923 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Not necessarily true.

A baby requires space too and will drive more demand as the parents look for a bigger place in a better area with the idea of putting down roots.

If those parents are maybe living at home as many are, then that's an extra house (because most won't want apartments for raising kids) needed in the market.

Now that won't be the case for every new birth, but given how many 20/30 somethings have been forced back to their childhood bedrooms but still trying to maintain adult relationships, it starts to add up too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭dabbler2004

From the New Ross story above

{Aware of the tenant in question, Ms Donoghue said her understanding was that he “was in the country longer than two years” but that in some instances WCC would ask housing applicants to provide their own garda clearance “from whatever country they arrive from”.}

And the ones that arrive here without documentation or say they're from a particular country without any paperwork to confirm.....how are they getting this police clearance from their own country? Another it'll be grand situation!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,054 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

The Ukrainians should never have been given those perks and benefits in the first place, but I get the feeling the state is intentionally throwing them under the bus right now to make them the baddies. You had Sinn Fein embarrassing themselves very early on calling for all asylum seekers to be treated this well.

Whilst people are busy criticising the Ukrainians, they aren't paying attention to the other economic migrants getting sneaked in to the area.

Thurles didn't officially get its two planned IPAS centres, but it you ever walk from West Gate to the end of Friar Street, every closed derelict shop has Muslims in it. They'll be hiding these people, sneaking them in by railway stations and sourcing accommodation in the most unlikely places.

Speaking of Ukrainians heres a laugh for everyone

I used to flirt with this beautiful Ukrainian girl that was living in Thurles at the time. She had the prettiest blue eyes and blonde hair. There was a protest in Nenagh about the Ukraine war.

Now if your from Tipp, you'll know that Nenagh is the virtue signalling capital of county Tipperary with its demand respect campaigns, BLM posted on shop fronts and their local TD (Alan Kelly) wanted to restore Jus soli.

But there's not so many immigrants in Nenagh, so she told me the story how they had to send two coaches to Thurles, Moneygall and Roscrea to collect the actual Ukrainians for this protest. It was broadcast as the Ukrainians of Nenagh protest for peace.

😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Glenomra

'She had the prettiest blue eyes and blonde hair.' So theses were the 2 reasons you flirted with her! I'm struggling to believe you. 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,650 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

The minimum wage in china is 250-300 € per month, the average wage in china is around 1200 € per month, I'm sure social welfare is below the minimum wage, which wouldn't be much use to freeloaders

Which further highlights that a lot are here because

1. Economic reasons
    2. Lax system with no checks or law enforcement

You would think China is the land of milk and honey with their gleaming cities from some of the posts in parallel thread and other social media like YouTube

But a lot of them Far Eastern countries are xenophobic as f, yet their online trolls sneer at us backwards westerners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,195 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

To think workers face a 47.2% marginal income tax after just €44,000 to pay for social housing for sex-offenders and Africans who invite children into his car and who thows bottles of whiskey out of top floor windows.

And yet FG were elected in GalwayWest.

Did we fight for independence for this?

I often wonder why there isn't a revolution.

Post edited by Geuze on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,923 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Because divide-and-conquer distraction tactics are in full effect - oh it's the "far-right", "racists", "low-lifes", "scumbags" etc who protest. Sure who'd want to be associated with them?

That's why it was, and continues to be the case in "official" media (as exampled by the RTE report linked a page or so back) that reporting on any incidents would be couched in such vague terms as to be meaningless if the perpertrator was a non-national or migrant.

Plus, many people are doing quite well out of the situation as landlords, hotel owners, investment fund groups - either by renting directly to the councils/AHB's, or from increased rents from tenants generally. Why would they protest?

An entire generation of Irish people has seemingly forgotten the 100% mortgages, "creative writing" applied to income statements, SSIA scheme and other perks that allowed them to buy their own houses 20 years ago and are fully invested in keeping the notional value of that house as high as possible now. Again, why would they protest when they can lobby their local TD to ensure that "those people" stay in already struggling and under-resourced working-class or rural areas.

We've had 2 real protests that I can recall in my adult lifetime (3 if you count the recent fuel cost one) that actually DID bring about change - one was the anti-drugs marches of the 1990s, the other was the protests against mandatory water charges/Irish Water in 2014/15. People DID actually get out and protest and the Government were forced to listen and make changes… but that's 3 big national protests in 30 years. Not exactly France, are we?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭donaghs

David McWilliams recently asking the thorny question as to why Ireland is still taking in more immigrants per head of population than any other EU country.

If its a good idea, there should be a plan for where everyone will live etc, and some explanation to the public as to why this has been occurring like this, and seemingly into the near future too…
    https://shows.acast.com/the-david-mcwilliams-podcast/episodes/irelands-immigration-disaster

Lots of lessons from Canadas functioning and popular immigration system to its descent into a near open borders chaos during Trudeau jr:

https://www.cbc.ca/books/tony-keller-wins-donner-prize-for-best-canadian-public-policy-book-9.7201398

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,597 ✭✭✭Floppybits

If it was such a good idea do you think the likes of France and Germany would be looking to take in as many as they could and leave Ireland with the scraps? Instead they are happy to let our idiot politicians take more than anyone because our politicians just want to be seen as best boys and girls in the classroom so they can get a slap on the back.

A wonderful addition to our society. Thanks to FF FG and the Greens

This wont go down too well with a certain cohort.

1000011226.jpg