5 seat Cars/SUV that can fit 3 kids car seats in the back!

• 19-05-2026 07:37PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21

Need help with finding a car or SUV that'll fit car seats/boosters for 3 kids, 2 are in high back boosters ages 7 and 5 and the 1 year old is in joie 360. We have a 7 seat kodiaq atm but I've been growing tired of it. It's a 2l diesel and herself only does 14km a day for work at zone oand it seems a waste, so looking to go electric and don't want to break the bank either. Anyone have a similar situation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭MightyMunster

Would have thought most of the Model Y, ID4 size would fit them. Might need seat belt extenders to make it a little easier for everyday use.

I regularly carry 3 in the back to/from sports etc.. in a Model Y.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Ncl1989

In boosters? Id have a Isofix joie 360 and two boosters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,662 ✭✭✭munster87

New or second hand?

I’d be looking at the Citroen C5 or Peugeot 5008

I'd go new if possible, I've read up on the 5008 the 3 in the back seems to be gone in the new ones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,662 ✭✭✭munster87

I think it’s the same with the C5…if you could find last year’s version of either with the 3 individual seats it could work

2 boosters and a massive rear facing axkid minikid.

Sometimes use 3 boosters if taking 3 older kids to give them more space

• Administrators Posts: 56,565 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Going from a 7 seat Kodiaq to an ID4 or Model Y is going to be a big reduction in space for your kids, the middle seat is obviously not a full seat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭cgorzy

what set up are you using in the Kodiaq? 3 across the middle row or are you using the 2nd and 3rd rows?

For 3 in the middle most of the new models are pretty poor in that they don’t have 3 equal seats in the middle row but that is the case in the Kodiaq too.

For pure practicality probably a van/mpg is best, a Tourneo for example. For big money there is an XC90.

It is but the cost of running the kodiaq at the moment for my wife's commute isn't really making sense. It two (1 high back booster, 1 joie 360)in the 2nd row and one booster seat in the 3rd row. Looking at it we wouldn't loose much space maybe a bit of height...

The family SUV isn't really tearing it up especially the affordable ones. I don't think I'd go mpv horrible looking yokes.

Ok, flat floor helps with the leg space.

Bring your seats on the test drives and try it out. You'd need narrow booster seats like the besafe izi flex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭SodiumCooled

Surely it’s costing almost nothing to run on such a short commute? We have a superb combi so same engine and we both work from home so ours isn’t even doing 14km a day most days and a tank of diesel lasts a long time (provided we have no long weekend trip). That all being said and with just 2 kids (and staying at that) we find ourselves really needing a 7 seater with play dates , cousins visiting, other family members etc often not being able to travel with us and bringing a second car (and an extra adult to drive it). We were going to go for a new Kodaiq this year as they are a very nice car but with a large solar array et we are going to wait for the new Skoda Peaq 7 seat EV instead now.

To answer you actual question however 😀, I believe the Enyaq can fit 3 seats but what size combinations I’m not so sure.

You might not lose overall space, but it's obviously going to be very different squeezing 3 kids into 2 and three quarter seats in the back of a car than it is having a 7 seater and using 3 rows.

If your missus is only doing 14km a day the monthly fuel bill must be very small. Are you sure there are even savings to be made here?

its a diesel and it's not appropriate for the commute, it's costing €30 a week on diesel..but from all research in won't be changing, incredible that electric SUV or any other car within a normal persons budget can't fit 3 car seats along the back.

Unless my sums are wrong I don't see how 14km a day can cost €30 a week.

Still, even if it did, that's only about 1500 a year in fuel. If you factor in the cost of a brand new EV along with depreciation I am not sure you'd make any savings by changing?

It doesn't add up. should be capable of under 5l/100km but lest just say 6 at worst to account for some stop start that would be around 250km for 30 euro at 2 euro per litre for simplicity which is nearly a month if we only consider the commute.

OP if you really want to change did you check the Enyaq it is possible to fit some combination of 3 seats across it from what I've read but it probably depends on your exact seats.

As for most cars not fitting 3 seats I suppose you are going to be making them wider than needed when 7 seaters are catering for this market and what most people will opt for regardless.

She does other driving too probably another 60km a week to relatives etc.

I just find it inefficient, it drops pretty quickly for short journeys, since I got a petrol hybrid myself 6 months ago I'm saving money, I had a 1.6 diesel before and it cost me bones of 55 a week the hybrid is 40ish depends on where I get the petrol

I've seen pictures of old Nissan leafs with 3car seats in them, you'd pick one up for a couple of grand and would cover your daily commute no problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭Tech_Head

If it’s just your wife with them, look for cars with isofix on the front passenger seat so one in front and two in back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,786 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Worth having a look at the Kia PV5 passenger version? I haven't seen in the back - saw the van version at Nevo last year, but it seems like the sort of vehicle that would have decent width across the 3 rear seats, and should also have a big enough boot to carry all the stuff that goes with 3 child seat age children.

its the family car so needs to be 3 in the back, my corolla is the workhorse then,i do 500km a week

High back boosters aren't isofix anyway so this shouldn't be a major need as they can go in the front with no isofix.

But are you factoring in the cost of the car itself here?

Not digging on you, but I hear this a lot from people. "I moved to EV to save money on fuel", but they don't factor in the fact they're now paying hundreds per month on the car payment and more on top in depreciation.

If you fully own the Kodiaq then you'll definitely be paying more each month by changing, but even if you don't, I would still be very surprised if moving to a brand new EV doesn't increase your monthly motoring costs when you factor in all the depreciation you'll be eating.

Or maybe they'll buy a car for less than they sold the Skoda for AND save on fuel?