Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Todd_UnctiousGael

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-41851356.html?fbclid=Iwb21leASCBpljbGNrBIIGMWV4dG4DYWVtAjExAHNydGMGYXBwX2lkDDM1MDY4NTUzMTcyOAABHuW7xritFnDoC7mmHlZh87h9Miy__maC6clBUhtVYxUDlTiCWyFqdD-v5gA9_aem_rNoJFoUJzNpftMO_ERE0aA

Worth reading this. When I first saw the headline I thought it was going to be another typical Andy rant, but when you actually read the article there’s a lot in it that should concern if it’s accurate.
    The big issue for me is what it says re atmosphere around development squads. Those squads are supposed to be producing players that are technically, physically and mentally ready for senior intercounty hurling. If senior management are looking at players coming through and feeling they’re lacking intensity, tactical awareness or core fundamentals, then the pathway clearly isn’t functioning as it should be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Marrooned

No Leinster final in any grade .

CB have another year and a half in office, can we wait that long for radical change?

On Andy’s comments last night concerning the development squads I don’t think they should be scrapped but they certainly need to be upgraded and clubs have an onus to be honest in who to send in. My son, my nephew, my son’s friend etc. this isn’t good enough. Michael Fennelly stated that some kids were far off the mark skillls wise when sent in and had to be worked on, which wasted time. I still say Michael Fennelly is the man to put it right. Forget our differences on here I would like everyone on here to give a thumbs up on a Michael Fennelly appointment, incluyNever bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭nippy corner foward

Have family members involved with underage teams and its a complete **** show since fennelly left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭Willie Power

It is interesting enough when you read it. I was going by the headline a bit. I have seen it a few times where lads think they're nearly too good for their club and shaping around a bit in their county gear from development squads, in a few counties.

"He might be an eejit, but he's our eejit"
    Willie Power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,062 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Hes speaking a lot of sense...

A lad in our club was on a minor 'extended' panel, and youd swear he had won 9 All Irelands the way he was going around ....

These extended panels are a bit of a sham..

Managers should have the balls to trim their panel and not have 10-15 'hangers on' around the panel.....

The fact that theres no Post Season Review is shocking .... A County Board that hasnt the balls to face facts and to lay them bare....

247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Village87

On County boards and falling outs, the much maligned Cork panel of 20 years ago got it right now in hindsight. Look at Cork now, 20 years later, best of facilities, excellent underage and a senior hurling team and support that is the envy of the country, would this have happened without that intervention !!

Kilkenny need a uprising of similar standards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭Nickindublin

What the CB needs to do is get in the likes of Michael Fennelly as a Director of Hurling. Give him the authority to allocate whatever finances they have for the Hurling side of the County. We all know money is scarce in KK but we need to be allocating it to where we might get a better return in years to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭KK36

They don't.

All those roles are for one year only. Those positions are up for grabs at Convention every year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Takeyourpoints

Development squads were once the envy of the country but the process is outdated in the current age. However, scrapping them is not the answer. The answer is to evolve them to more professional standards.

If I was to suggest improvements it would be to have it more like a scouting exercise.

Throughout the year, the club management team can have files on the players and rate players from 1-5 on their abilities. E.g. striking on both sides, first touch, pace. The players wouldn't see these ratings but they would be passed on to Development squad management who would then go scout players at games and invite players into the squads for trial games.

It's up to the county squad selectors to then identify where the clubs are falling down. If a club is giving all their players top marks on first touch and then they arrive into the squads and they're only a 3 out of 5 then that should be fed back to the club with drills to improve that particular skill or attribute (e.g. fitness) and to tell them what level they want to see to be considered a 5 out of 5.

We need to see consistent improvements and that only happens with communication from clubs to squads and vice versa and constantly feeding back this information.

Sprinting training should be available to all clubs too, we've seen our lack of pace and something has to be done to teach young lads how to run properly.

Finally, regarding gear. The max any young player up to u16 level should be getting is a pair of Kilkenny shorts and socks. The ego thing needs to be addressed but how we do that is probably one of the more difficult things to do.

That's my two cents on how to improve the situation. It might not work but it's a possible solution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Skeheenlad

Sure players are only with the squads once a week, ya swear they were in every night! Andy had no real alternative to development squads, opening up Nowlan park for each under 14 club team to get a training in there, what the hell would that achieve? Nicky Brennan is right about coaches there needs to be more education there!

Well Nick that’s another **** up finances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Nedflanders02

Absolutely! The max they can stay is 5 years, which would bring them to the 2027 convention but they have to be reappointed every year, if someone was to stand against them they could be changed at this year's convention. Will anyone stand against them? But it's not change for the sake of change we need, there's loads of lads doing jobs on CB committee's and sub boards who would only love to jump into those positions, what we need is the right people to go into these positions, getting them to run is a far more difficult thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭Nickindublin

The issue is that the job descriptions have changed but no one has notified KK CB. You only have to look at the Premier League and the clubs that were left behind because the people at the top didnt have vision and were only interested in their own self preservation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

its easy to manage a great team which Kilkenny had in the glory yrs. More difficult when you dont have the players as Cody and lyng found out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭ttowncat

The coach education does preach the development of the Fundamental movement skills and fundamental hurling skills. Unfortunately, more often than not, the egos of the club coaches takes over and it's all about winning and competition.

Nominating kids to go into development squads is still biased.

The messiah everyone is mentioning is not the silver bullet everyone thinks. There are issues there from what I've seen and heard. I'm not absolving the kk board from anything either.

Pace, agility and off the cuff imaginative hurling are lacking everywhere in kk hurling. For instance, how many lads in the county can turn on a six pence and shoot on the back foot?

I know the bigger the population means you can mine out more elite athletes of size, pace and agility- and apart from this Limerick once in a generation, that's the way the pecking order is starting to line itself up.

Development Squads for All is how I'd see it improving. 3 clubs cluster on some evenings. A, B and C assigned to each venue. You train and develop with peers of your ability and skill set.

Don't get me started on the kk senior management and the health of that dressing room environment. Lyng has to go but I don't think he will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭Ceist_Beag

Just curious @Marrooned , on what basis is Fennelly the man for the job? I'm not saying he isn't, but I'm not sure why so many posters are saying he is. He is certainly a very good talker, I'll give him that. But I don't see too much evidence of achievement in his term and I did see evidence of promises made that didn't materialise. I'm not saying that's his fault either but being a good talker is not enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭JohnCougar

Michael Walsh said it right on the KCLR podcast when he said that Galway last Wednesday and Dublin on Sunday had more intensity in their play that both our two teams. Our teams might think they want to win these games but Galway and Dublin wanted it more than us and that is what is hugely dissappointing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Sir Chaz

Andy is ensuring Kilkenny are kept on the front pages anyway. He's like that meme with the auld lad shouting at the cloud in the Simpsons. His outlook, and I'd strongly suspect the outlook of the '15/16 lads' he supposedly rang, is a 'pull on the ball on the ground' type approach. Outdated, romantic and archaic.

Like the County Board, the squads absolutely need changing, but not disbanding. I've said this before but a large proportion of lads that are coaching development squads are fellas that wouldn't get jobs with their own clubs, or who their own clubs don't want involved. That sounds harsh, and look fair play to them for giving up their time, but unfortunately it's true. It's why I was extremely skeptical about this years minor management team which was selected from lads in the squads environment, full of fellas that have given plenty tike to the squads but had achieved little of note in the game, and certainly not enough that warranted/deserved an inter county job with a county like ours. Especially in the circumstances we find ourselves in. The 20's approach is the right idea for me. Reputable people with track records.

Identifying suitable coaches for the squads should be a priority. And by suitable I don't mean lads with hurling 'qualifications'. Any eejit can do the hurling courses and pass them. There's a lad in our club has done all the courses but I wouldn't let him near a club team, let alone a talented underage county selection. Yes you need certain expertise, but most importantly you need the right person that will command respect and most importantly can communicate effectively to players. If you have an overqualified eejit in charge, you're at nothing.
    The best teachers are often not the most qualified academically.

Where are all the greats we had from 2006-2015? Why can't we target them and even incentivise them to come in and help? If it means throwing money at it then do it. Something has to change.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

100%. The maximum a person, bar Treasurer, can serve is 5 years but they must be elected each year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭Willie Power

The good thing going forward is Kilkenny has so much hurling tradition, experience and know how. Surely all those positives will be harnessed to plan and work out a blueprint for the future.

Most other counties wouldn't have those resources to draw on. From Eddie Keher's generation down you have shrewd hurling men, and women.

"He might be an eejit, but he's our eejit"
    Willie Power

Andy probably needs to pipe down at this stage. His comments were passionate in the beginning but are now nothing more that controversial for the sake of it. It's just noise now.

You are right about some of the coaches on the squads. You really wouldn't put them in charge of a piss up in a brewery.

Your comments on the minor management are a bit harsh. They have gotten far more improvement out of their gang than the u20 management have.

The 06-15 lads are a big disappointment. Many have turned down the chance to get involved, presumably because they were able to get big bucks elsewhere. Some lads agreed to get involved and contributed very little. They are then very quick to go on media and criticise. Christ some of them are always on the media. It's a pity because these are the lads who would have commanded great respect. It's actually a bit late for them now. Remember next year's u14s were born in 2013 and would have no recollection of any of these lads or the great matches they played in.

We do, but our tradition can be a hindrance at times, I see in club and county matches all the time the crowd shouting "hit the ball long " even tho a swarm defence is in place, or if a short pass goes wrong there is a groan in the crowd. It's putting pressure on players and management and causing friction amongst set ups and supporters.

The problem in Kilkenny is everyone is an expert.

there is a misconception here that Cody got one team and did everything with that squad. Not true from when Cody started to when he finished there was a diverse range of players just look down at all the winning AI photo’s and it will prove it was an evolving team although reaching its greatness mid way through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭jamesbond2022

We haven’t been able to harness that knowledge and know how in the last 10-15 years so I’m not to sure about the future

The big problem is the know how is not at the upper levels of the co board

Does it. They fact that we have had the chance to get rid of some of them and not taken it is hardly better…. is it?