GENERAL World Cup Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,304 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Fixtures by date. Irish time.
    And, unlike most fixture lists, I've worked on the assumption that if people are staying up late on Friday night for a 3am game that it counts as 'Friday' rather than 'Saturday'. (Though I've put the 5am games down as 'next day'.)

Group Fixtures
    Thursday June 11th
    Mexico V South Africa - (20:00)
    Korea Republic V Czechia - (03:00)

Friday June 12th
    Canada V Bosnia - (20:00)
    USA V Paraguay - (02:00)

Saturday June 13th
    Australia V Turkey - (05:00)
    Qatar V Switzerland - (20:00)
    Brazil V Morocco - (23:00)
    Haiti V Scotland - (02:00)

Sunday June 14th
    Germany V Curaçao - (18:00)
    Netherlands V Japan - (21:00)
    Côte d'Ivoire V Ecuador - (00:00)
    Sweden V Tunisia - (03:00)

Monday June 15th
    Spain V Cabo Verde - (17:00)
    Belgium V Egypt - (20:00)
    Saudi Arabia V Uruguay - (23:00)
    Iran V New Zealand - (02:00)

Tuesday June 16th
    France V Senegal - (20:00)
    Iraq V Norway - (23:00)
    Argentina V Algeria - (02:00)

Wednesday June 17th
    Austria V Jordan - (05:00)
    Portugal V Congo DR - (18:00)
    England V Croatia - (21:00)
    Ghana V Panama - (00:00)
    Uzbekistan V Colombia - (03:00)

Thursday June 18th
    Czechia V South Africa - (17:00)
    Switzerland V Bosnia - (20:00)
    Canada V Qatar - (23:00)
    Mexico V Korea Republic - (02:00)

Friday June 19th
    Turkey V Paraguay - (05:00)
    USA V Australia - (20:00)
    Scotland V Morocco - (23:00)
    Brazil V Haiti - (02:00)

Saturday June 20th
    Tunisia V Japan - (05:00)
    Netherlands V Sweden- (18:00)
    Germany V Côte d'Ivoire - (21:00)
    Ecuador V Curaçao - (01:00)

Sunday June 21st
    Spain V Saudi Arabia - (17:00)
    Belgium V Iran - (20:00)
    Uruguay V Cabo Verde - (23:00)
    New Zealand V Egypt - (02:00)

Monday June 22nd
    Argentina V Austria - (18:00)
    France V Iraq - (22:00)
    Norway V Senegal - (01:00)
    Jordan V Algeria - (04:00)

Tuesday June 23rd
    Portugal V Uzbekistan - (18:00)
    England V Ghana - (21:00)
    Panama V Croatia - (00:00)
    Colombia V Congo DR - (03:00)

Wednesday June 24th (final group games, same ko times)
    Switzerland V Canada - (20:00)
    Bosnia V Qatar - (20:00)
    Scotland V Brazil - (23:00)
    Morocco V Haiti - (23:00)
    Czechia V Mexico - (02:00)
    South Africa V Korea Republic - (02:00)

Thursday June 25th
    Curaçao V Côte d'Ivoire - (21:00)
    Ecuador V Germany - (21:00)
    Japan V Sweden- (00:00)
    Tunisia V Netherlands - (00:00)
    Turkey V USA - (03:00)
    Paraguay V Australia - (03:00)

Friday June 26th
    Norway V France - (20:00)
    Senegal V Iraq - (20:00)
    Cabo Verde V Saudi Arabia - (01:00)
    Uruguay V Spain - (01:00)
    Egypt V Iran - (04:00)
    New Zealand V Belgium - (04:00)

Saturday June 27th
    Panama V England - (22:00)
    Croatia V Ghana - (22:00)
    Colombia V Portugal - (00:30)
    Congo DR V Uzbekistan - (00:30)
    Algeria V Austria - (03:00)
    Jordan V Argentina - (03:00)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,379 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Goals were more important back then before tiki taka and paralysis by analysis xg et al. took over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Suvarnabhumi

What’s your World Cup history?

Born 1973

1974: Only a baby

1978: Too you to remember although I did have an Argentina 1978 t shirt.

1982: Can remember so much about it. Watching all these exotic Brazilians play. Northern Ireland beating Spain, the great French side. Hoping Italy would beat evil West Germany.

1986: First real World Cup where I knew exactly what was going on, had the wall chart. I wasn’t allowed stay up for the 11pm games!

1990: Watched every single game possible (apart from the games that kicked off at the same time). Loved every minute of it! The football was dreadful for the best part. The Ireland run was great, seeing empty streets when the games were on. The buses and trains stopping so everyone could watch the games. Great times!

1994: Fulfilled a lifetime ambition and went to the 4 Ireland games in USA. 6 of us went, had my 21st birthday in New York!

1998: On shift work now, so watched what I could. Don’t recall too much about it.

2002: Went to Japan & Korea for the 4 Ireland games. Only 2 of the USA 6 made it.

2006: Don’t recall much of this tournament. Still on shift work. Real life getting in the way

2010, 2014, 2018: Same as above.

2022: Meh.

2026: Looking forward to it, but know it’s going to be crap. Way too many teams in it. Modern football doesn’t excite me the way it did as a kid. I’m just a grumpy old man now 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,126 ✭✭✭adaminho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,683 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

1990: just shy of 1 years old

1994: too young but mam got my aunt to colour in a picture for a competition for me (so cheated...) and I won a football. The love for football started there

1998: Don’t recall too much about it apart from world cup 98 game for the PlayStation and my love for David Beckham was at a all time high

2002: Ireland's first group game being the same day of my grandfather's funeral. Also the game vs Spain. No need to mention Keano

2006: I have no memory of it

2010: vuvuzelas and colour. De Jongs King fu kick

2014: I was working on football maps in America. The shock around the 7-1 scoreline at pick up time amongst the parents. Watching the final in some random bar.

2018: no recollection at all. Forgot it was even in Russia until I started working with people this year who were involved in it

2022: great excitement as we had Senegal and Ghana training at our venue. There was outdoor screens and fanzones everywhere in the UAE and Argentina came for warm up games before it. Vibes were great and the weather was top class. I didn't travel to it as I was one of the few at work whose country wasn't participating so I held the fort.

2026: I have no care for it tbh. Trump and America are pretty insufferable, the time zones for me are awful and there's going to be a laid of crappy games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,834 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

1990: Was the start for me. Obsessed at the age of 4 and talked about nothing else when it came to Ireland at least. Got really into World Cup history and watched old tournament recaps and finals like they were kids cartoons. I'll never get over the Dutch losing those 2 finals.

1994: Again very much Ireland focused except for the final.

1998: Too much else on my mind as I was starting secondary so my big grown up life was too busy for football for a few years.

2002 to 2022: Back to being obsessed but old enough to appreciate the whole tournament and watch every game possible. Would have watched a lot of 2010, 14 and 18 in the pub thanks to having lots of international friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭ronjo

1982 : Rossi running away from the entire Brazilian defence to shock the world. Schumackers attempted murder in the semi and Tardellis iconinic celebration

1986 : Denmark were everyones dark horses until Olsen made the imfamous backpass….Diego !!

1990 : Dire tournament. Best craic ever

1994 : Was behind Pagliucas goal

1998 : Ronaldo part 1…. Was at the game he scored his first ever goal

2002 : Saipan and Ronaldo part 2.. the crowning of a legend

2006 - 2022….. the older you get the less you care for me anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,434 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Sometimes those matches between two lower (but somewhat evenly) ranked teams can be a good watch though; it's the obvious mismatches that I'll be avoiding

Ya but there is also gonna be so many more of them. Some of those small teams had a narrative of some sort or a novelty to them but most importantly there was only a few so you could at lest keep up.

They have just added another 16 of these minors and at this stage I can't even remember who is in this World Cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,434 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Ah yeah, 48 teams is way too many, completely dilutes the quality

I know FIFA in their role as evil Bond villians have already announced they are ending the Panini sticker albums soon so it won't matter for much longer but could you image trying to fill the book now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Suvarnabhumi

They want 64 at the next World Cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭finbarrk

It's hard to know what is fact or fiction with our ginger, bald, gay, black, Arab friend in charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭jacool

I'm so old I saw the Netherlands lose back-to-back World Cup finals, in black and white to West Germany in 1974, and in a riot of colour in 1978 to Argentina. So old, in fact, we were calling them Holland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,633 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

One thing that stands out in memory is the build up to 1998 because of the classic FIFA: Road to the World Cup 98 computer game.

1990 would be the first tournament where I'd have followed it all the way through from group games.
    Obviously there were the Ireland games but even without that I can recall Cameroon, Scotland, England games.
    Schillaci - not just for the goal against us.
    Yugoslavia beating Spain in what would be their last World Cup.
    The ill tempered West Germany v Netherlands 2nd round game.
    Argentina sucker punching Brazil in their 2nd round game.
    The tense semis going to penalties. The one side final decided also by a penalty, this time during the game.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

Ye were also referring to places as Zaire and Yugoslavia back in 1974.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,939 ✭✭✭Dave0301

It was tabled as a proposal already and has been officially discussed. There is pushback against it, so hopefully it will not go ahead.

Looking at some of the fixtures for the 2026 World Cup and there are already too many mismatches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,633 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

That was the official name of those teams in 1974 though.

The Holland for Netherlands has a long history, kinda like England for the UK.

For example, the "Holland" entry in the style guide of The Guardian and The Observer newspapers states: "Do not use when you mean the Netherlands (of which it is a region), with the exception of the Dutch football team, which is conventionally known as Holland".[56]

In 2019, the Dutch government announced that it would only communicate and advertise under its real name "the Netherlands" in the future, and stop describing itself as Holland. They stated: “It has been agreed that the Netherlands, the official name of our country, should preferably be used.”[57][58] From 2019 onwards, the nation's football team will solely be called the Netherlands in any official setting.[57] Nonetheless, the name "Holland" is still widely used for the Netherlands national football team.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Terminology_of_the_Low_Countries#Holland_as_exonym

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Madd Finn

Too young to remember 1966

Latter years at National School. All had World Cup fever. Nearly all of us supported England, and this was in inner city Dublin (near as dammit) as the Troubles were gathering pace. But then, we were all full of Shoot and Scorcher and other football comics from "the Mainland" who were still exulting four years later about England's Great Victory of 1966 and so we were effectively brainwashed. Most of us were DISGUSTED when Brazil beat them.

My dad, who was enchanted by the beautiful football of Pele, Rivelino, Tostao et al tried to encourage me to transfer loyalty to Brazil from the quarter finals on, but no. I wanted REVENGE for what they'd done to Bobby and Gordon and Geoff.

What a naive young fool!

Had acquired a little more maturity by then and laughed long and loud when England failed to qualify at the hands of Poland. Had some ambivalent feelings for Scotland as they put in an admirably "Irish performance" beating Brazil 0-0 but effectively losing 1-1 to Yugoslavia to finish up as the only unbeaten team in the tournament but out at the group stages. Only beating Zaire 2-0 while Brazil put three past them and Yugoslavia nine was just not enough.

The favourites throughout were the Dutch and West Germans and I can still remember some of the commentary as we all revelled in the magic of Total Football. "Cruyff! The Master!!" as he scored a flying volley against Brazil to take Netherlands to the final. Van Hanegem's left foot that could place a ball on a sixpence; as an early pubescent I came close to actually fancying the lusciously long-haired and languidly brilliant Rep and Krol. But a few years later Charlie's Angels sorted me out!!

Now it was time to laugh at Scotland with their ridiculously deluded manager Ally McLeod who gave the impression that Scotland only had to catch the plane to qualify for the final. Defeat to Peru and a pathetic draw with Iran put paid to that.

Argentina were the favourites throughout and impossibly glamorous with their skimpy shorts and ebullient play. Ardiles and Kempes set the tone and the style and they were never really in doubt. Especially with the cowering co-operation of several referees. Hungary's two star players sent off in the first match. An unprecedented rescheduling of their final stage two match to enable them to take the field against Peru knowing exactly what they would need (4 goals—they got 6) to overtake Brazil to get into the final. And then some epic shithousery at the start of the final with Netherlands when the Argentinians complained about a foam bandage (which he had worn throughout the tournament without bother) on the arm of Rene Van der Kherkoff. Then, and throughout the final, the ref left the Argentinians away with murder, but then, the Junta were in the stands!!!

Now a student looking for summer work in Germany. Came out of the rain to take a break from job hunting and watched from a bierkeller West Germany play Algeria. Couldn't understand why everybody was so pleased when Algeria caused a massive upset 2-1. Turned out the punters were all Yugoslavian. (It was still a place then)

Ambivalently delighted to see Northern Ireland beat Spain but they were no match for France. Some epic matches, chiefly Italy v Brazil and the nailbiting semifinal between France and West Germany. The final itself…Meh! But the celebrations by the local Italian community—unforgettable!

The Hand of God followed by the most magnificent, incredible, jaw droppingly brilliant solo run and goal by Maradona in the quarter final against England. What else happened in that tournament?

Ireland's first appearance on the big stage. The fans were brilliant, the atmosphere was great (even from several hundred miles away) but the football….? After Ireland came back to "beat England 1-1" in a rain-sodden match in Cagliari, one of the Italian sports papers carried a headline over its report on the game: "No football please; We're British"

Which was more insulting than he probably intended.

Not much else in the way of excitement

When the highlight of Ireland's tournament is a penalty shoot out and a scabby Niall Quinn goal that even a Gah Lad would disown, you know you're clutching at straws. Not a great tournament. Maradona a fading force and the final itself was probably the WORST climactic game of a World Cup ever…….

…until the abomination of a match that decided the destination of the cup this time.

What else happened? A great Irish victory over Italy followed by three flaccid performances (one draw and two defeats) that we tried to blame on the heat. Nothing much memorable, apart from Maradona being done for drugs. And how. But at least FIFA learned its lesson: don't host World Cups in the US. So that won't happen again…..

Six down, seven to go.

Feck it! That's enough for one sitting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭Benedict XVI

Trivia question

How many goals did Holland score in the 2002 World Cup?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,481 ✭✭✭Iscreamkone

Matt Holland got one v Cameroon.

Netherlands didn’t qualify

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭Benedict XVI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,683 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

I love the history posts! Keep 'em coming people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

THIS Is the first world Cup where I don't really feel much excitement and enthusiasm. Usually I'd be reading previews, looking up odds on paddy power, or buying four four two magazine for a previews.

I think the main reason is that Ireland were so close to qualifying and we might not get the same chance for a while. The night time kick offs and too many teams obviously another reason.

I think once it starts we'll all get into it and then be getting excited about the Colombia or Japan new whizz kid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,508 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

Wout Weghorst in the Dutch squad and he hasn’t scored for them since 2024 so he’s been saving up the goals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,043 ✭✭✭✭josip

I suppose he's the "Break Glass In Case of Emergency" guy.

You'll only see him come on in the 80th minute if they need a goal and total football on the ground hasn't worked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭scottser

1978 was the one I remember first, and all the hoopla that surrounded it. I'd have been 9. England didn't qualify, to everybody's delight so we all followed Scotland and we all wanted to be Archie Gemmell after he scored v Holland. Ossie Ardilles and Ricky Villa going to Spurs afterwards. My Da giving out about Videla and the Junta and him muttering '**** nazis' when Argentina lifted the cup. Ticker tape in the stadium. Free stickers in your cornflakes box and the wall-to-wall newspaper coverage. Yeh, 78 got me hooked.

USA 26 can take a flying **** at a rolling donut as far as I'm concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,379 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I mean whats the alternative. Hes the 3rd highest scoring player in the squad after Memphis and Gakpo and the one of only two strikers with Brobbey the other.

They are far removed from the likes of Makaay, Van Nistelrooy, Van Persie who just dont exist anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,508 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

Neymar has a grade 2 calf tear muscle. That presumably is the end of that going on what ChatGPT tells me is the recovery time for that.