Near Misses Volume 2 (So close you can feel it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

First car was cutting it fine enough but the brain dead novice lemming just nonchalantly overtook into oncoming traffic and then cut in on top. Props to the oncoming car who was travelling slow enough to stop dead and avoid the collision.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 56,278 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i experienced one of the worst overtakes i've seen in years, eariler. on a downhill on a narrow road (probably doing between 35 and 40kmh maybe, it's about 5% gradient), approaching a 90 degree blind right hand bend - less than 50m from it, i heard an engine on my right, and thought 'motorbike?'

but no, it was what looked like a young enough lad in a landcruiser or similar; i gestured forward with a 'can you not see you're headed for a blind bend on the wrong side of the road?' gesture (well that's what it was meant to convey) and the idiot actually floored it. we were probably 10 or 20m from the bend when he was actually alongside me, at which point i hauled on the brakes, and he shot past, and around the bend, at a fair clip, still on the wrong side. i roared out something like 'WHHAATT THE FUUUCKKK' and he slammed on the brakes and stuck his head out the window and roared something equally wise back at me, and floored it again and drove off.

but if there had been another car around the bend, or a cyclist or pedestrian, that would have been messy. i wish i had had a camera for it.

a few hundred metres further on he met an oncoming motorist (the road was not wide enough here for two cars to pass safely without one pulling in), and i'd say he startled the other driver, he mounted the verge and accelerated fairly hard again; i'd say he didn't want me catching up with him.

this is the location - just north of fourknocks, on the road you'd take from fourknocks to cromwell's bush crossroads.

https://maps.app.goo.gl/eSNQ6X5w6RJ8YRNU8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Lots of, not punishment but couldn't give a sh1t, passes today on the embankment / Brittas N81. Squeezing past in lane without putting a wheel over the solid white center line. Quite the variety of cúnts and pr1cks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

Including one particularly clueless fcukwit overtaking only to come to a complete stop 50m later so she could turn right.

When interrogated why she had done it she did manage a vociferous "because I can!".

That's what you're dealing with out there - (a) poor driving and (b) a complete failure to take ownership of said poor driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,839 ✭✭✭cletus

Just got stupidly left hooked going through a large housing estate.

I passed the guy at a junction, he pulled out, passed me and then immediately pulled across me.

It was so close we both had to stop, but then he just steered around behind me and continued on.

I was angry enough to follow him. I met him hopping out of his car and had some unsavoury words for him.

His reasoning? It wasn't that he hadn't seen me, but he was in a hurry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,392 ✭✭✭Paddigol

At least he was honest. I'd actually prefer if the Hi-Viz Nazis just came out, like yer man, and said "No, it's nothing to do with ability to see you, I just dislike seeing cyclists on the road and want to make their lives a little bit less enjoyable wherever I can and mark them out as some sort of special sub-category of road user. Hopefully it would trigger the first of many more measures to make cycling less accessible". Because then I could just say "Nah, f**k off, not wearing one" without having to engage my brain to try and reason with people.

100% Paddigol. These aren't accidents or failures in observation IMO, they're mostly deliberate and calculated actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭tnegun

Looked over my shoulder to see this twat this evening https://streamable.com/8asn5s overtook 3 cars queuing to turn right using opposite turning lane before using the hatchings to cut me up. No idea what his problem is be he was shouting a pointing at me but then wouldn't make eye contact when I caught up at the next set of lights!

It's always men, isn't it. Angry little inadequates who compensate for something lacking in their lives by trying to act the Billy Big Boll1x behind the wheel. They feel so safe when they're moving and a good distance from anyone. But when they're actually confronted by someone on a lightweight bicycle they suddenly go all coy. Pathetic, yet an absolute danger with access to a vehicle. They kinda sum up half of what is wrong with the world right now, from Tech Bros, to Manosphere knobs like the Tates, to d1ck swinging incompetents like Trump, Putin and Netanyahu. I'm well done with angry male energy at this point in my life. Yet still have to share the road with them.

Was it the white Peugeot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,717 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Yeah, it took me two takes to figure out who it was. He was so far back, and the manoeuvre was so outrageous it took me a while…. You can see him lining up the overtake, front wheels already in position. He passed the Clio, Audi and the Skoda using the opposing turning lane. Strangely, the only time he held his lane was when he tried to bully the cyclist out of the turning lane when he'd lots of space.

If a member of the Gardai sees this and does nothing about it it should go to the PCSA with the Garda's shoulder number.

Absolutely Paddigol.

Sure the MSM and social media feeding these behaviours, mindsets, and outlooks *constantly*.

Not even an Irish thing, but a western "civilisation" thing at this rate.

I use that word above quite loosely.

I can't be sure, but I think he had the time to overtake as the traffic was letting the white Skoda exit the estate, so he likely nearly collided with them too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭Jnealon

Pop in to Leixlip Garda Station the next time you are passing, see what they have to say

Unfortunately, from experience that ends in nothing more than wasted time and frustration.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 46,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

This was on my commute yesterday. Driver close passed me coming off a roundabout (near Hazelhatch). I caught up with them and (stupidly) suggested (verbally & pointing left) they pull in. They close passed me again (on the left)…

In hindsight, I shouldn't have tried to engage with them but heat of the moment and all that!

The video also shows the relatively poor quality of the Raveman cycle camera and that it doesn't record audio

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

Their bonnet looks like it's already had a knock at some point. Just an all round terrible driver by the looks of it.

What. A. C***

No doubt he's "well thought of in his community" and would be "full of remorse" if his superb driving skills let him down and he injures a cyclist the next time. It's funny how hindsight is thrown at pedestrians/ cyclists as some sort of mitigating factor in those cases. Whereas the reality is that people who find themselves before the courts are most likely serial assh**es on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,819 ✭✭✭CR 7

The video also demonstrates just how easy it is for the blue Renault (Zoe?) and the BMW to pass safely, with that SUV in the middle looking a bit border line. They all end up in the same place anyway but overall it's less stressful for everyone.

Yeah but the other guy was really important, and a great driver and in a BIG RUSH so he just had to get through. The nation's survival depended on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭Steoller

yeah, the state of the bonnet would probably put me off wasting my breath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

Straight the guards with that, can send it in to Traffic Watch with a link to the video.

The driver might be able to argue the initial pass was careless and an oversight but the 2nd is deliberately endangering a more vulnerable road user and needs to be before a judge to realise the error of their ways.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 46,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

FFS twice in one week 🙄 Today's one was really, really weird. I was cycling through Newcastle Co. Dublin on my way home after doing a few laps of Smith's Hill (in that feckin heat 🥵)

I got that sensation you get when without looking, you know how there is a car right up your ass. Anyhow, I told him a number of times in my own special form of diplomacy to get ta feck away from me but as you can see, he didn't change his proximity. When he passed me, I managed to punch or slap (cant recall which) the side of the car. The driver was shouting something (non-aggressively) out the passenger window but I couldn't be sure if he actually did say what I thought he did. Anyhow, as I passed him again, he said it again and I stopped where he repeated his claim that he was trying to protect me and trying to keep me safe. I told him I didn’t need protecting and he should feck off and stop being a danger to me.

Again we came to a stop and again he kept telling me how he was trying to keep me safe and he was protecting me.

I'm just glad I turned off after that because I'm not really sure how much more protection I could take.

(Sorry but camera doesn’t record audio 🙄)

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,856 ✭✭✭standardg60

That's disgraceful, what happened there was he wasn't happy about you passing the central ramps on the outside, so intentionally drove alongside to keep you close to the kerb, before adding a punishment pass.

I assume you'll be reporting it?

Yeah, trafficwatch report submitted so now I just need to wait to see how long it sits on someone's desk before they reach out (I've not yet heard back about last week's submission).

I'm still puzzled by it. The driver seemed to be Spanish or Italian and was in grand form - not pissed off as I'd have expected. Maybe "f**k off" just got lost in translation

What gets me about those kind of interactions - which to be honest, especially at the more benign end of the scale, occur much more frequently than the pure aggression kind - is the complete (TOTAL) lack of awareness by the driver of the danger that their driving and their multi tonne lump of moving steel poses, not just generally to traffic around them, but especially to vulnerable road users when pulling stunts like that. One mistake from the cyclist, one ill timed sneeze by the driver, or one unforeseen cat/ dog/ child, football shooting out in front of both parties, and the consequences could be catastrophic. It's the clearest signal that the driver has never in their adulty life experienced the roads as a cyclist and has no idea what distance needs to be given.

I'd hope that anyone reviewing that footage in Garda Trafficwatch sees it through that lens/ from that perspective, as opposed to "ah, shur they were going slowly and there was no aggression"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭hesker

Initially I thought it was cute hoorism but now given what you’ve said I’m thinking it was poor logic along the lines of….

I’d like to overtake this cyclist but it’s difficult given he’s using the full width of the lane. If only I could find a way to keep him into the side I’d be able to pass. I know I’ll use my car to block him from moving out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭TerrieBootson

Yeah, I never post videos that show me as in the wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭TerrieBootson

Would not excuse the driver, but when there is only one lane you are required to keep to the left side of it - not weave around in it from side to side

Aside from hoping to engage with the driver, what did do wrong in that? In what way do you think that I, on a bike, put other road users in danger?