Israel/Palestine Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,042 ✭✭✭Odhinn

There was a time when apartheid south africa was in the same position as Israel - widely condemned but under no real sanctions and protected by the US. It took 30 years of slowly building support, bit by bit, for BDS to change that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

You don’t condone a genocide and the slaughter of 50k+ women and children, but you’re outraged on behalf of women in Denmark.

I wonder why one and not the other?

For me, I focus on my own little part of the world, my family, my circle of friends

I’m sure you’ve a mountain of Danish friends and family.

If there was a genocide against Danish women, would you not condemn it either seeing as you it’s such an important cause for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭Paddy_Mag

Given the trade links between ireland and Israel, especially being so heavily linked to the many American MNC based here in electronics and pharma in particular, I dont see BDS working any time soon.

The world has changed significantly since then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,157 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Oh my, is this about a flotilla? Well they knew fairly well what's gonna
    come
    , it did come, and now they crying over it? And making a news. Job
    well done, achieved nothing. Reality.

Punished by the Israelis before the event. Are you such a fan of Israel that you think they should be allowed to break international law and abduct people from international waters for the crime of… what, exactly?

Focus on the international law here; it doesn't matter which class of people you perceive to have been in the flotilla, and it doesn't matter what religion or skin colour they have. All I'm talking about here is Israel deciding when and where they can act, regardless of borders and whether a law has been broken or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,291 ✭✭✭dmcdona

You've just posted, in my opinion, a remarkable and powerful piece that I find confuses me a lot. Not the detail, just that you clearly hold, what I think, are very deeply held morals that I agree with.

So the confusion for me is why hold those values yet find it hard to condemn genocide? (I'm not asking you to condemn it by the way but you replied to another poster). Whether you do or don't is not important to me - though I do admire your courage to at least be honest.

I certainly do not agree that attending the match means you (or anyone) supports Genocide. No more than someone waving a Palestinian flag does not show their approval of the mistreatment of women as another post stated.

But I do also believe that because I own a phone/laptop that seems probably to contain Israeli tech, that does not mean I also condone Genocide (and therefore risk being called a hypocrite).

I'm stumped tbh. You've surprised me.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 4,528 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

Its possible Ireland joining BDS would sway some Irish Americans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,157 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I dont pick one cause which i have no control over to support over
    another outside of that.
    I campaigned for marriage equality as I saw the
    anguish my brother went through for simply socialising as a gay man, i
    convinced a good few people in my extended family and friends to vote in
    favour. I also campaigned for abortion because I want my kids to have
    control of their own lives in the future. I dont ever want them to
    suffer the same fate that the Indian (?) Woman called Savita did.

If the vast majority of people in Ireland hadn't supported a change to our constitution, would you have kept your mouth shut? You were powerless to change things on your own. If everyone had your "don't give a **** about anyone outside my orbit"" attitude to things, nothing would change, nobody would have stepped up and said anything first, because they were powerless to change anything alone. If you hadn't had kids, would you have cared at all about abortion?

Not being able to empathise with anyone outside your family and friends group shouldn't mean others should be prohibited.

But I do also believe that because I own a phone/laptop that seems probably to contain Israeli tech, that does not mean I also condone Genocide (and therefore risk being called a hypocrite).

Yet i was accused of supporting Israel and their actions because I don't think the FAI should boycott the two games on the other thread.

What defines being pro Israel? I would say buying goods or availing of services with heavy links to Israel is far more damaging then two football matches ever will be. The football matches will come and go like many have over the last 2-3 years, but if the money continues to flow over a prolonged period of time as a result of the international trade??

Given the Mary Manning Dunnes example was put forward, the severe economic sanctions were a major part of apartheid in SA was ended. Two football matches, neither of which are to be held in Israel, will make a blind bit of difference because as far as i can see, if FAI do boycott the games, its going to be action in isolation. And the only ones who will face consequences are the FAI

With all due respect, this looks like the usual suspects who are always warning Ireland. Its only 16 members.

How many American MNC are based here, who have facilities in Israel, or supply chains in Israel?

How many jobs are provided by the MNC here ?

The Irish government know the consequences of the OTB would be devastating for Irish jobs, thats why I don't think it will be passed any time soon.

As with Apartheid South Africa there will be blowback to a boycott I agree but it's the right thing to do. 60% of Americans now have a negative opinion of Israel.

The problem in the US is elite opinion, which is unduly swayed by donors like AIPAC.

It's an especially difficult issue for Democrats. Michigan was lost in part because of Muslims staying at home or even voting for Trump, who was promising to end wars while in fact he has started wars. The issue is featuring again in a very close Senate primary in Michigan.

In any case given the OTP saga has dragged on for 8 years, I have little confidence the government will see it through whatever they say now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,646 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭StarryPlough01

Starry: UN special rapporteur Francesca Albanese aims to expose the role of global banks in underwriting Israeli treasury bonds (investments) that fund their military operations in Palestine. Her July 2025 report is designed to deter long term IDF military actions by highlighting the very financial foundations required to sustain this genocidal state’s war effort. Francesca is sounding quite Churchillian !!

UN Human Rights Council's summary of Francesca’s report is below:

Arms influence

A snippet of Paragraph 74. ⬇️

"Some of the world’s largest banks, including BNP Paribas[251] and Barclays,[252] stepped in to boost market confidence by underwriting these international and domestic treasury bonds, allowing Israel to contain the interest rate premium, despite a credit downgrade.[253] Asset management firms – including Blackrock ($68 million), Vanguard ($546 million) and Allianz’s asset management subsidiary PIMCO ($960 million)[254] – were among at least 400 investors from 36 countries who purchased them.[255] Meanwhile, the Development Corporation for Israel (DCI) (i.e., Israel Bonds)[256] provides a bond solicitation service for the Israeli government for overseas private individuals and other investors.[257]"

"Report of the Special Rapporteur on the situation of human rights in the Palestinian territories occupied since 1967*, **
    FROM ECONOMY OF OCCUPATION TO ECONOMY OF GENOCIDE
    Summary
    Human Rights Council / Fifty-ninth session
    16 June–11 July 2025
    https://www.un.org/unispal/document/a-hrc-59-23-from-economy-of-occupation-to-economy-of-genocide-report-special-rapporteur-francesca-albanese-palestine-2025/

“This report investigates the corporate machinery sustaining Israel’s settler-colonial project of displacement and replacement of the Palestinians in the occupied territory. While political leaders and governments shirk their obligations, far too many corporate entities have profited from Israel’s economy of illegal occupation, apartheid and now, genocide. The complicity exposed by this report is just the tip of the iceberg; ....”

Paragraph 5. “International law accords States the primary role of ensuring that corporate entities do not violate international law and respect human rights, as part of their obligation to respect, protect and fulfil human rights.”

^ Francesca is correct, it needs world leaders to sanction and embargo... ^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭StarryPlough01

“IRELAND COULD BRING forward sanctions against Israel after it assumes the Presidency of the Council of the European Union in July, Fianna Fáil’s Timmy Dooley has said”. 
    24 May 2026
    https://www.thejournal.ie/ireland-european-union-presidency-sanctions-israel-occupied-territories-bill-7050226-May2026/

“He [Micheal Martin] called the interception of civilian vessels and their illegal detention the latest examples of Israel’s growing disregard for international norms and its failure to meet its obligations under international law.”

Maybe Martin should say something about building a momentum on sanctions before July. Macron said this around officially recognising Palestinian statehood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

So you brought up rapes in Denmark caused by Palestinian men (henious crimes) for what reason, if they don't outrage you? Was it to justify a genocide? To display that you just don't like Palestinians? Or was is it just classic whataboutery on your behalf?

If the EU backed us against US anti BDS laws, like it backed Lithuania in its row with China years ago over Taiwan, then we could be shielded to some degree from US retaliation.

Some of these anti BDS laws have been struck down by US courts including in Red States.

Post edited by Ozymandius2011 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭Miniegg

Look fair play for engaging.

You are the first person I have come across on this site who shows a complete apathy for the Gazans/ sneeriness of those saying what is happening is wrong (I don't think I have mischaracterized you), that doesn't come across like a mindless bot. You put some thought into what you are saying beyond repeating the same auld guff. Or maybe it's just a more sophisticated way of repeating the same auld guff? I dunno.

I first took notice of this war when I mistakenly clicked on a video on twitter of bodies of two young girls being carried off a hospital gurney (3-4 yrs old)- they were the same age as my girls, wearing similar colourful clothes, same runners, they even had same hair colour. The younger one was missing the top of her head. Was f*cking horrible, obviously the first thing you think is that could be mine. Was shook after it and won't ever go back on twitter. Reactions like mine is the reason media is banned from Gaza.

I came on here to try make sense of people's take on it and how this stuff is allowed to happen. I entered a swamp of pshychos and scumbags telling people they were antisemetic and support terrorism or virtue signalling for saying it's wrong this is allowed happen.

And I've heard I would say hundreds of similar killings like this - targeting kids and schools - happening again and again, and the same head the balls on here saying the same sh*te, defending it and being c*NTS to anyone who doesn't agree.

I can't believe Irish people given our history could be so easily brainwashed to hate people they have never met that they'd engage in this stuff.

Just for context, with regard to your Palestinian rapists jibe - when our people were starving in the millions in this country, the British papers at the time were flooded with images and articles presenting us as monkeys and gorillas, lazy feckless layabouts or violent, dangerous criminals, woman beaters and drunks. The worst of us cruelly shown as the norm as a million innocent people starved, and double that fled. People in the UK lapped it up at the time, and our countries population halved.

Comments like yours, of which there are hundreds on this site, are no different to that. All done, whether you are aware of it or not, to justify the killing of innocent people as deserving of it. It is a playbook repeated through history by stronger countries butchering weaker ones. We should all know better.

And yes bad things to happen in the world, but in almost every other instance of something of this magnitude the international community comes together and punishes them. UN Sanctions/ embargoes / warcrimes investigations. The media report on it, there is some scrutiny to try and slow the pace of killing. There is also likely an army on either side duking it out. This is different, people hemmed in behind a fence being massacred every day, no one to defend them and people like you telling everyone to ignore it in our "ivory towers". It's nuts.

Sanctions may not stop Russia or Iran (as they are resourced), but they would cripple Israel and force them to stop.

And I wasn't criticizing you about the Ireland match, I actually think we should fulfill the fixture and hammer the f*ckers off the park, but when you then engage in calling Palestinians rapists, refuse to condemn a genocide, etc etc, it makes me wonder are you just another pshyco posting whatever they can in bad faith to keep this whole horrible sh*tshow going, and keep the people doing it away from justice.

Post edited by Miniegg on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,868 ✭✭✭✭walshb

read below post on FB that is far far more to the truth than this nonsense:

“I'm of Irish descent but even I'm embarrassed by this fanciful story. Let's be perfectly clear about this...the flotilla achieved absolutely nothing apart from giving the privileged narcissists a jolly little cruise around the Mediterranean. They never intended to get to Gaza otherwise they would have packed more supplies instead of the few non-perishables they took which could be reused. They went with the intention of getting intercepted, detained and with the aim of confrontation. They had only one objective and that was to paint the Israelis in as bad a light as possible hence the ridiculous tales of sexual assaults, beatings and starvation. These people are nothing but Palestine-obsessed antisemitic fruitcakes.”

The Facebook post of an individual is now elevated to the heady heights of "the truth".

Clutching at straws methinks.

who cares where a post/opinion is from.. forget where it’s from. Its content is what matters, and to me the content is bang on!!

So, a single Facebook post from a random person on the internet is your go-to source for the truth?

I suspect it's "bang on" to you simply because it says what you want to hear.

Of course, content matters, but so does context. And credibility of course.

Here's a report from RTÉ. It doesn't say what you want it to but it's factual, credible and corroborated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,405 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

The post, I feel, resonates with many folk and it’s hard to disagree with the content.

The kind of people on the cruise would certainly not inspire my confidence, based on what I saw and heard.

These people will gather again for the Ireland Israel game and for me it has never been clear who is funding them.

Is the Irish Taxpayer bankrolling them unknowingly.

A lot of light needs to be shone into very dark corners on this subject.

That all may be true, I have no idea of those people.

What you are missing is no-one forced Israel to intercept them (correct term in international waters is kidnap them, it is completely illeagal).

No-one forced Ben gvir to make his little video.

Gaza is not Israel. It should be free to take in a boat.

Would you support another country stopping boats landing in Ireland and kidnapping people who want to go to Ireland? Why would you support it happening in Gaza?

It doesn't really matter if those people are narcissist or selfie takers or fruitcakes or whatever lazy sh*the you characterize them as. Those aren't crimes.

It isn't illegal to sail to another country - there is a ceasefire in the war (well on the Gaza side at least). It also isn't antisemetic to sail in a boat, is it?

Let them land and let them document what is going on. Why would you advocate against this?

Post edited by Miniegg on

Yup, all singing from the same spoofing anti Israeli hymn sheet. Not a mark on any them, and not a single bit of actual verified evidence to corroborate their fanciful tales. Exactly what Mr. Facebook post said!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,806 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Jaysus why are you trying so hard to prove the flotilla achieved absolutely nothing? Are you jealous that some people stand up to forced starvation?

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

How is sailing a boat to Gaza anti Israel? Explain it to me.