Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 12.02.26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,880 ✭✭✭caviardreams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭GolfPar

Player Review of the Season - Below is my player review for the season. I'm not one for all the transfer talk and speculation all summer, find it a bit tedious and sometimes the shiny new toys aren't what you're expecting :-)

All opinions are my own whether you agree with them or not and that is fine too.

Goalkeepers:

Bayindir (6 appearances, 11 goals conceded, 0 clean sheets)

Got his chance because of how bad Onana was. Despite his physical size he doesn't have the physical presence to play in England. Can't be relied upon as a back up either. Would be best for both parties if he was moved on in the summer.

Lammens (32 appearances, 39 goals conceded, 8 clean sheets)

A surprise signing but a necessary one. Got his chance probably earlier than expected but took it with both hands. A very impressive season for the 23 year old. Has a calmness about him and is good in a one to one situation and under the high ball. Can improve with the ball at his feet as has been seen with a couple of errors which lead to goals and a few close escapes.

Defenders:

Dalot (34 appearances, 5 as sub, 1 goal, 3 assists)

A player who was moved around a lot under Amorim between RWB & LWB. Has benefitted from a return to right back under Carrick and has had possibly his most consistent run as a United player. Has a good engine and is always available. Not always the best on the ball and definitely suffers from brain freeze when he gets in the box.

Mazraoui (20 appearances, 9 as sub)

A valuable squad member who suffered a bit with the African nations breaking up the season for him. Generally very dependable and offers cover at left back if required. Good squad player.

De Ligt (13 appearances, 1 goal)

Had a very good start to the season and was probably seen as our first choice centre half in most peoples eyes. His injury has turned out to be a nightmare for him. Hopefully he can come back as the same player early next season. Remains to be seen after being out for so long.

Maguire (23 appearances, 4 as sub, 1 goal, 2 assists)

Spent a large part of the early season injured. Highlight of the season was his goal vs Liverpool. An effective player in both boxes and has done very well under Carrick, earning himself a contract extension. Good at progressing the ball forward. At this stage of his career he will still be susceptible to players running in behind him if the team wanted to play a high line. That's not going to change now. A summer without the world cup should be of benefit to United.

Martinez (18 appearances, 5 as sub)

Unlucky with injuries, but given he is first choice when available he needs to be available more next season. Has largely done well when available and fully fit, although still a bit rash at times. Need him to spend more time on the pitch next season.

Luke Shaw (38 appearances, 1 goal, 1 assist)

Who would have thought Luke Shaw would have started every premier league game this season. Started out as a LCB and finished the season in his more traditional LB position. He has carried out his primary role as a defender very well and is also used to link up play into midfield as he is comfortable on the ball. He is also there to support in attack but doesn't provide the lung busting overlaps much anymore. Would like to see him move the ball on quicker at time rather than taking a touch or two. If he stays fit he will be vital again next season although will need to be rotated in and out of the team.

Yoro (32 appearances, 14 as sub)

Played more under Amorim with the 3 at the back system and his penchant for substituting centre half's in every match. Was a bit of an up and down season struggling for consistency. As a 20 year old he has time on his side and hopefully he will benefit from working with Woodgate & Evans. He has an important commodity for a centre half and that is pace. Hopefully he will grow a bit next year as I'm sure he will be needed.

Heaven (17 appearances, 6 as sub, 1 assist)

The left sided centre half version of Yoro. Again benefitted from injuries and systems to get more appearances than he probably would have expected. Not seen as much under Carrick but performed well when called upon due to suspensions and injuries. A no nonsense centre half but prone to making the odd rash tackle or jumping in. Hopefully keeps up the progress next season.

Dorgu (26 appearances, 11 as sub, 4 goals, 4 assists)

Listed as a defender on the PL website. Primarily a LWB under Amorim and without much success. Wouldn't have been a fan of him at all to be honest. Has moved further forward under Carrick and although missing a large portion through injury he looks like a player transformed. Is it any coincidence he started the 3 best performances under Carrick (City, Arsenal, Brighton). Has a knack for a goal as well and has some engine on him that enables him to get up and down the pitch with ease. At 21 he will have a big part to play next season. Should be good competition between himself and Cunha on the left.

Midfield:

Bruno (35 appearances, 9 goals, 21 assists)

Haven't always been his greatest fan, but then we haven't always been looking at this version of Bruno. Now that he is further forward I would like to see him add more goals next season. He will always be creative. He benefits from playing with players around him in midfield who are comfortable on the ball and can create space for him like Mainoo & Casemiro in the second half of the season. He deserves to win a league title with United.

Casemiro (34 appearances, 1 as sub, 9 goals, 2 assists)

One of my favourite players. A fine swansong season for him as a red. Some great goals. Used to wince when I seen hi dive into tackles but they were better timed this season. Benefitted more from having players around him and lot being left exposed too often. Will be missed but the time was right.

Mount (23 appearances, 11 as sub, 3 goals)

Another season affected by injury. Did play over 1000 minutes but needs to be available more because when he is he has a lot to offer the team. A very good performance in central midfield yesterday in all aspects of the game. Compliments Mainoo + Bruno well. I think that is where we will see him play more next season or as an alternative to Bruno due to rotation. Needs to be fit though. Might see him figure plenty in the Champions League.

Mainoo (28 appearances, 12 as sub, 1 goal, 2 assists)

The biggest failing of Amorim was his treatment of Mainoo (and there were many). Back in the team and the England squad now and grew in stature as the season went on. Has added more to his game as well in terms of physicality and breaking up play more, no doubt helped by Casemiro who loved him. More of the same next season please.

Ugarte (22 appearances, 14 as sub)

United don't do well when he starts. Don't think he is as bad as is made out but still not of the quality required for United, Not good enough on the ball and don't think he would get any better with a run in the team. Will either be moved on of 4th or 5th choice next season.

Attackers:

Sesko (30 appearances, 13 as sub, 11 goals, 1 assist)

Took a while to get going and get used to the physical demands of the PL. A very good 2nd half of the season and popped up with some vital goals. One for the future but needs another number 9 in the squad to rotate with and push each other on.

Cunha (33 appearances, 4 as sub, 10 goals, 2 assists)

A fine debut season for Cunha, with some real highlights. I think that's the type of player he will be. Will be pushed by Dorgu next season for the starting place you would feel. For a wide forward you would imagine he should have more assists to go with his goals.

Mbuemo (33 appearances, 2 as sub, 11 goals, 3 assists)

Started the season very well but his form took a dip after the African Nations and under Carrick with a large barren spell until the last 2 games. Has filled in as a centre forward at times but probably more of a false 9 rather than a target man type figure. Would like to see more from him next season.

Amad (32 appearances, 5 as sub, 2 goals, 3 assists)

Made some appearances as RWB but primarily has been a wide forward. Another whose form under Carrick hasn't been good and looked to be lacking confidence. Need to see a lot more from him next season in terms of creativity and goals. Hopefully himself & Mbuemo can push each other on to better things.

Zirkzee (24 appearances, 19 as sub, 2 goals, 1 assist)

Limited starts and with good reason, he doesn't effect the game in any way. For his size he offers no physicality or desire to get involved in a physical battle. His best showings came as cameos when coming on and play was broken up but you don't get that very often. Another player not suited by the PL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭All_in_Flynn

Nice way to end the season. Played some lovely ball at times against a good Brighton side. Weather helped a bit as the press from them wasn't as intensive as normal and players took full advantage.

Dorgu is some athlete. Already feels like he is a massive positive for the scouting team. Very raw still in parts but scope there to be a very effective player.

Was very impressed with Mount in CM to the point where you'd like to see more of him there. He's got a lot of the attributes you'd want from a midfielder. I'd be really reluctant to get rid of him. Just has to stay fit.

Think we are all in agreement that it's a huge transfer window for us. We have to get the midfield right. I don't think we can afford to be going for 3rd and 4th choices.

Enjoy the Summer folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭17togo

Good response by Bruno on an interview with Steven Bartlett, on keanes comments on his assist record. Called him out for lying about what he actually said in the post match interview.

No harm in a bit more of this, might make 'The overlap inc..' think twice in future about how they're commenting on utd.. Although I doubt it if it's still making them money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,389 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I wonder if we are going picking at West Ham how much would Summerville cost?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,513 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Rpy will say something like

"listen i hold my hands up i got it wrong. I'm big enough to admit a mistake (insert joke about not making mistakes). But Bruno has to learn o cope with this. Its MANCHESTER UNITED. You can't be concentrating on this stuff, especially when you're failing on the pitch. You have to deliver trophies and he isn't".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭17togo

I read that in a my best Roy Keane impression! 🤣

Yeah probably right, but still think there seems to be a bit of a shift away from what people think of himself and Neville now. They'll still have their younger tiktok/social media fans seeing snippets like that but for ould farts like myself that saw them play their legacy is beginning to leave a bit of a sour taste!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,697 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

People make far too much out of whats said when a bunch of old lads sit around a table for a couple of hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭paulbok

I was planning on posting something similar but as I mostly agree with your assessments I won't go as detailed.

I would add the following though.

Goal keepers.

Lemmens has earned the no.1 spot impressively. A young keeper brought in to the PL from another country late in the window, was no small ask and he had been solid. Aside from that howler a few games ago, I don't recall him costing the team a goal (open to correction). There were a few few, 'could have done better' goals conceded but every keeper has those. Bayindir not good enough as second choice and Vitek would develop better as a starter elsewhere, even with rotating him in cup games is not enough game time to progress. Sell Bayindir, loan or sell Vitek with a strong buy-back clause and bring in an experienced no. 2 who shouldn't cost more than 5-10m.

Central defence.

Even with 5 really good CBs it is difficult to nail down a first XI starting pair. Maguire, deserved his new contract but has his weakness's with pace. DeLigt and Martinez has major injury concerns and can't be depended on to be available for most of the season. Yoro's development has stalled, could be a case for a season long loan but he'd likely reject it. Heaven has progressed well and is likely to start as first choice.

Ideally we would move on one of DeLigt or Martinez and replace but who would take a chance on either at the moment? Funds needed elsewhere will likely kick this can down the road till next summer.

Full backs

Like center back, I think we'll muddle along with our RB,s for this season but a starting LB is definitely needed. Shaw unlikely to be available as much again next year and Dorgu better on the wing. What is the situation with Diego Leon? Is he still too raw to bring into the first team? Amass likely to go on loan again or be brought in as cover.

Midfield.

The obvious critical area, just a matter of who/ how many are brought in. Definitely need two at a minimum, and ideally a third to replace Ugarte. Anderson and Fernandez the ideal two main signings, I'd put up with Ugarte for another year if they came in.

Forwards.

Huge improvement this season. Cunha, Mbuemo and Sesko have been successes though all have had some poor patches. Still good for their first season. I can see the logic in the club looking at a left winger, but I'd have that as a cherry on the cake signing after other areas.

Zirkzee needs to be sold, offers little and an experienced striker is needed to mentor Sesko and to compete/rotate in with him.

Next season predictions.

Hard to judge yet until the window is closed.

Arsenal could kick on as a team, especially if the with the European Cup, though if they lose it could just as easily knock the smugness off them again. Still the team to beat imho.

City, new era starting, you'd expect them to back the new manager heavily. Are the 131 charges ever going to be decided on them?

Liverpool, keeping faith with Slot, Salah gone, unlikely to spend as much as last year again so their season likely to hinge on last years signings to come good.

Chelsea. Like us this year, likely to benefit from no Europe to stabilize a solid team.

Villa, like more of the same from them.

Spurs, unless they reinforce well over the summer and hit the ground running next season, they could end up in another relegation battle and I don't think they survive a third time.

Newcastle, don't look like they will ever kick on to the next level. Likely to be raided for players again this summer and you could see their oil daddy getting fed up (Saudi cutting back on vanity projects at the moment, e.g. LIV, The Line)

With everything going in our favour with signings and with other clubs enduring their own difficulties, it's not unimaginable that we could be involved in the title race next year but I think we will do well if we get top three again, endure a decent run in Europe and give one of the cups a good rattle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Gadge

Re Lammens: Gakpo one is the only error leading to a goal that I can remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,522 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

this ederson transfer doesn't paint the brains trust in a great light - we want him, fine.

so why TF were we happy to sit back and watch him go to atleti a few months ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

Read a fkiff piece that west ham are asking 80m for fernandes. Pricey if true.

Tchouameni, Fernandes and Ederson for about 200mil would be excellent buisness imo. 70/80m- 50-70m - 40-50m. Adds nice depth and numbers in midfield which we havent seen in years.

Lewadonski on a free (big wages)

Need a no.2 GK as well

The lw and lb position can wait for me, even though dire need of a LB if it made sure the midfield got sorted. The midfield has been so light for so long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,408 ✭✭✭✭FourFourRED

Roy should let it go.

IMG_9175.jpeg

He clearly fails to see how this image is a lot more like himself in recent times than it is like Bruno.

The way Roy was talking about cringe etc, that post is right up there.

He completely misquoted Bruno as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭scottser

We really need a left back. Shaw won't be enough. Dorgu might cover at a push, but we'll need an actual defender in there with the increased schedule. Lewis-Hall would be ideal, I think.

Lewandowski won't hack it in the PL and should probably go to Italy, US or Saudi. Out of all the left-field striker options so far, Troy Parrott is the most intriguing to me, and the universe would be put right by an Irishman playing for United again. Richarlison has a year left at Spurs - you might get him for 25m, if we really needed a striker. Everybody else will demand stupid money and as others have pointed out, we have goalscorers across the team now.

80m for Fernandes is too much. For that money, you're in Anderson territory.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

A few months ago United wouldn't have the money/been able to decide exactly what options they wanted to go with.

Who is the brains trust - I am trying to understand who you are actually blaming/giving out about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,522 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

wilcox, berrada.

they had 65m to bid for semenyo so there was money there.

i'm just saying if they didnt want ederson in jan, why do the they want him now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,756 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Because he's the Casimero replacement. Very underwhelming if that's the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,697 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I would imagine they didn't want anybody in January, having just binned the failed manager, knowing the schedule was going to be light and that there were still a lot of unknowns.

Hard to argue that they were wrong, considering what happened next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,782 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Why would they bid for Semenyo when we had just signed Mbeumo for RW.

I believe the reporting at the time was that it was seen as a great opportunity, despite the other forward signings made in the summer.
    Two footed, can play on both flanks. We’ve already seen Mbeumo used up front, Amad and Cunha have at times been unavailable, not in the best form. It would have been a very good signing.

Should the funds have been used on a midfielder? They probably would have been if the right one was available at the right cost. Not easy in January. Semenyo was a release clause £62.5m - not cheap, but a fixed fee for that talent was always going to be a good deal for whoever would end up getting him.

Strongly disagree man, midfield should be setup for next couple.of years. Its absolute weakest point in the team. We constantly get carved up through the middle.

The difference between make shift dorgu/Shaw lb is way less priority than the 3 signings that could.be made midfield.

Richarlison shout, no thank you. He's knowhere near the standard

Of course but our attack was the least of our worries, plus I can't imagine him wanting to sign for us not knowing who the manager will be....Ironically he's now in that situation!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,756 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

The only reason he signed for City was the money pure and simple.

Yeah it wasn’t, but it appears that he was seen (to the club) as a profile of player who they would need to sign at some point, and this was an opportunity to get it done with a very good talent at the right price.

So let’s say we spend £60m on another wide player this summer or in January 2027 (Maybe they don’t now because of Dorgu) and it’s someone good but not as good as Semenyo, it makes a bit more sense.

It definitely would have felt like a luxury signing while ignoring a glaring midfield hole for sure. I do think it would have been a great piece of business. A front 4 of Mbeumo, Bruno, Cunha and Sesko should be good enough if all 4 are on form - not always the case. And the player to compete with them, Amad, same situation. Even when the midfield is sorted - more players are needed. Look at how many forward options Arsenal have.

The narrative at the time from a lot of people here was “we had £62.5m so it should have gone on a midfielder”, when recruitment isn’t really that simple. The club clearly knew midfield needed work, but if the right player wasn’t available in January then spending £60m on someone they didn’t fully believe in just for the sake of filling the position would be bad business. It’s also entirely possible that major midfield spending was already planned separately for the summer regardless of whether Semenyo arrived or not.

On the manager thing - Amorim was in place and didn’t look at risk at the time he agreed to move to City in December.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,102 ✭✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Strongly disagree. LB should also be a priority this summer along with midfield. Can't go into next season with Shaw as our only LB given Dorgu isn't seen as a LB. Was signed for the WB role because Lecce were turning him into a winger and Amorim likes wingers playing WB. Our first and second choice RBs will probably get a game at LB before Dorgu does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭thefa

There was something in the Athletic/ToTD that Semenyo had been put off by United’s attempt at him in the summer. Amorim even met him. Part of the story was that they prioritised Mbeumo as he was expected to come in materially cheaper but Brentford ultimately negotiated a similar price to what Bournemouth had requested for Semenyo. He got a new deal with Bournemouth at the time anyways with the January release clause.

Mbeumo had an amazing 24/25 (completely outperformed xG) so understandable why he was prioritised. Returns have reversed this season between the two.

Big Keane fan. Amazing player. Don’t mind him having the odd lash out as I think he’s playing his pundit role. This new Bruno stuff is just disappointing though.

Ah sorry I thought he was signed in January after Amorim got the boot.

I wonder though if we had signed him in Jan, is that 62m less we spend on a CM this summer? If that's the case and with Dorgu looking like a winger and a cheap forward coming in this summer I think they made the right decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,102 ✭✭✭✭johnnyryan89

It's why I think a LB is needed this summer. When Cunha is your LW whose style of play is to come in centrally and you've got a LB who doesn't really attack the final third it's forcing you to rely on the right and central areas more.

A LB who'll look to make overlapping runs throughout the game to hit the byline for balls into the box gives defenders something else to worry about. Creates more space for Cunha or draws a midfielder out to help the RB defend against LW and LB which creates more space centrally.

On Semenyo - yes, and that meant it was always going to be a very difficult deal to do. At least they went back and asked. Didn’t work out, and that’s fine.

Re: Keane. The strangest bit about this is he previously (within the last year I’m sure) was made to eat humble pie about Bruno. Knowing that you’ve already made yourself look silly when it comes to him - why go for him again? Twice now he’s done that and it’s ended up backfiring. The angry man act can be funny, but it’s more tiresome than not these days. I find myself cringing at him more than I’d like to. Will always be my favourite player, but podcast & punditry stuff he’s like a broken record at this stage.