Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Mod Note Added 02/09/25*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,836 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Do you have anything relevant to contribute other than posting pictures of harmless religious women from years ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭Resplendent Moose

I'm trying to determine what appetite people posting here have for religious nutjobbery (although I'm not certain some of Maggie's harassment was quite so "harmless". So far it seems they're willing to indulge homegrown nutjobbery but not imported nutjobbery. That looks like basic textbook dictionary-definition xenophobia, which they also seem to want the luxury of denying they're engaging in. Some kind of cognitive dissonance going on there?

A personal invitation to dance, as Nero plays for the last time
    Tonight you will mix with the prophets without honour...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭bored65

What you are doing is trying to paint a whataboutery false equivalence

But one nutjob is a (long dead?) citizen the other one most likely is not (yet)

It’s bad enough we have our own nuts, let’s not import more?

So dictionary-definition xenophobia it is, then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,850 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

An Irish woman, in a Catholic country, preaching religion is not the same as a man from god knows where, in a Catholic country, placing voodoo or whatever curses on a store and anyone that enters it. To try and marry the two together is mindbogglingly stupid tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,978 ✭✭✭plodder

Far from it. She was one of a cast of characters that added some colour to an otherwise dreary city. The contempt that some people have for anything considered to be "old" or traditional about the country is telling though.

“The opposite of 'good' is 'good intentions'”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,876 ✭✭✭✭walshb

That's two really silly illogical pics you have put up to try deflect from the Arnotts madness…added to the Coppinger nothing insta post…..

You're aware that Christianity was imported into Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,923 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Ya, I think you'll find that "counterargument" died about 2 years ago.

Personally I don't give a toss if some randomer on the Internet thinks that it's "xenophobic" or "racist" to express concern about the numbers arriving into the country, the migrants-posing-as-refugees tactic many employ to try to circumvent our immigration controls (such as they are), the behaviour and problems some of these people are causing as a result of incompatible religions or cultures, and the knock-on pressures and failures of the support systems we all rely on.

I actually live here, can see the effects with my own eyes and am dealing with the pressures personally in both the rental market and now the purchasing side of it where I'm competing against councils and private housing bodies, as well as my inability to get a regular/decent GP in the last decade, and needing to commute 2 counties over to work just to name a few.

No, of course these are not solely the fault of migrants - illegal or otherwise - but the numbers arriving are most definitely having a negative impact on all of these elements, and given that 80%+ of the country are now recognising this as a major issue facing the country, trying to silence debate and discussion with words that are clearly misunderstood doesn't work anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,850 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

Over 1500 years ago. But that has nothing, nothing, to do with your frankly bizarre efforts in the last couple of posts. If whataboutery is the upper limit of your retorts, theres little point engaging with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,978 ✭✭✭plodder

In fairness, what harm is he doing there either? More the fool on anyone who takes this stuff (or indeed elderly ladies waving crucifixes) too seriously.

“The opposite of 'good' is 'good intentions'”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭bored65

It depends if he is doing that on his free time or at the expense of taxpayers whom go to work only so their tax money is given away to foreign imports like this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

https://www.rte.ie/news/dublin/2026/0524/1575027-alex-coughlan-vigil/

RTE quote Umar Al-Qadri in this article re the Alex Coughlan who was beaten to death a couple of days ago

They don’t provide any additional context as to why Al-Qadri is being quoted. Partial reporting, couldn’t be letting any actual information get out, the plebs might not be able to process it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Famous Seamus

I'm sure the partial reporting is to make it look like RTÉ is being impartial and fair when covering such stories, by throwing Al Quadri's comments in without context they are allowing (rightly or wrongly) people to draw their own conclusions.

Post edited by Famous Seamus on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭Migdal_Or

I had some free time at the weekend, so I decided to watch the free version of Matt Cooper's podcast, 'Path to Power', because I knew he'd be discussing this issue. Brendan Ogle was his guest. As you can guess, their desperation to link this to the George Floyd incident got the better of them very quickly. Ogle's opening and core claim was, and I'm quoting him from the transcript because I went back and checked:

"people will be familiar… with the George Floyd video… it's remarkably similar both in length… in what happens and unfortunately in the outcome"

So, he's linking the two cases primarily through video resemblance (restraint, duration, public setting, and fatal outcome), implying equivalence between the two incidents, without establishing underlying causes or confirmed factual parallels.

No regard is given to anyone else who was impacted by the incident, needless to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

And if people born in Somalia who move here are as Irish as the rest of us, then it means a portion of us Irish now have no issues with the above. As we know most Irish think immigration has gone way too far and the government would rather gaslight then listen.

If they continue to facilitate such huge levels on immigration then the new Irish could eventually counter us regarding voting for change.

https://gript.ie/mcdowell-slams-dishonest-bid-to-rule-out-ethnicity-amendment/

The government don't want this conversation had so they'll do their best to prevent transparency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,361 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Is it all algorithm and click related regarding reporting? Is it sexier for advertising and market share to report on conganese shoplifters killed in the line of duty than innocent irish people murdered?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,177 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Just ignore the obvious trolls lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,014 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Pathetic attempt at trying to get me to defend something I never said. Gutted for you it didn't work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,521 ✭✭✭1800_Ladladlad

She had all her faculties in place. For you to imply she was anything like "our own nuts" that currently exist in society today is beyond silly

"….they will make a fire with your beautiful oak door."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,054 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

We used to record the nationalities of those accused of rape.

The Rape and Justice in Ireland report 2009 found that immigrants from Africa and Eastern Europe were overrepresented to their share of the population at the time.

The left in Ireland accused the DPP and An Garda Siochana of racism and not long after this report was published, we stopped recording the nationalities of rapists.

I think it was around 2015 when the wokeness began coming over from the US Universities, we started getting headlines like "Dublin man convicted of rape" to describe foreign rapists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

But it wasn't just him, quite a few Africans were there shouting which would have been intimidating for people going in and out of the premises.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Paddy_Mag

35 houses bought by the state for asylum seekers. Appalling stuff.

There again today apparently. One guy shouting "boycott arnotts" at people entering the store on Henry street. Gardai need to remove flowers etc and stop allowing this intimidation to continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,054 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

I remember the videos from Dublin after George Nkencko was shot. A large group of black people tried to pull a man out of a grey Ford Transit

Customers had to be locked in the Eurospar store because of a group of black people banging down the doors calling the people inside white bas***ds.

We had Free Palestine protesters in Cork city enter a McDonald's restaurant in Patrick Street (which is owned by a franchisee and has nothing at all do with McDonald's corporation) go in and disrupt the business from trading. The McDonald's that gave free food to members of the IDF was also a franchise and again had nothing to do with McDonald's corporation other than paying for the franchise rights.

None of these people have been arrested.

Theres a discussion on Reddit right now about disrupting Coca Cola, despite the fact that Coca Cola is also a franchise in most countries. The bottler in Ireland is a Greek company called hellnec(?) butchered that spelling

If this was the so-called far right, this would be treated as domestic terrorism. For example threats to protest and obstruct a new McDonald's restaurant in my hometown

1000008831.png

Btw idc about Israel or Palestine, I only care about Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Paddy_Mag

I was in blanch shopping centre on NYE, the day after that happened. Buying some bits as lockdown was back the following day. It was a scary situation.

Not a chance…we're soft as effing shite in this country against anything that can be even sniffed at as controversial. The loony leftie snakes would only love the gardai to interfere with this whipped up frenzy!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,749 ✭✭✭creedp

At least they seem to have been awakened into action to protect their own reputation internationally against wilful lies

https://www.thejournal.ie/gardai-channel-4-news-yves-sakila-7051008-May2026/

saw that alright. Shows you how devious these reporters are. So so desperate to sensationalize, that accuracy and people’s names and reputations mean nothing to them.. Coppinger, Murphy and a few others reek of this toeraggery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭strathspey

Doesn't mean we have to import Islamists. On that note, how does Muslim culture contribute to our culture. They have an aversion to music, to alcohol and with the exception of Mo Sala, they're **** at sport!