Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Mod Note Added 02/09/25*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Perfidious Cretin

The Sunday Independent had a full page article about Yves. No full page article for Alex. Not only that, an opinion piece by Colin Murphy says he finds the fact that Irish people becoming a minority exiting. You can't hate these people enough.

And I'm sure plenty on here feel the exact same..

35385.jpg 35384.jpg 35386.jpg 35387.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭Paddy_Mag

A civilised vigil for alex coughlan in blanch today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,439 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Just unbelievable that such a character is being eulogized in the national media. Fair enough excessive force was probably used, but the fact he died in the course of committing a criminal act which resulted in an innocent person being injured, leaves me feeling little sympathy.

🙈🙉🙊

And the PM results were inconclusive, statistically speaking the toxicology report is highly likely to point to a cause of death unrelated to the incident on Henry street

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,521 ✭✭✭1800_Ladladlad

yguh

"….they will make a fire with your beautiful oak door."

Like Saint George of the fent. They milked it for everything they could. Everything. Then like 2 years past and it showed the gimp died of a Fentanyl overdose

35389.jpg

Apparently there's some Congolese shaman walking up and down in front of Arnotts putting curses on it with a broom. 3rd world voodoo crap. Why are we putting with this? Send them back to their own backwards holes.

Edit: Apparently he's saying that anyone that enters will die. And the guards are standing there looking at him...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,876 ✭✭✭✭walshb

because if anyone challenges this behavior you’ll have some very influential dangerous Irish people shouting racism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭Resplendent Moose

1000032680.jpg

Why do we put up with superstitious crap? Oh, i wonder.

A personal invitation to dance, as Nero plays for the last time
    Tonight you will mix with the prophets without honour...

Exactly. No excuse for that in this day and age. We have our own crazies, why import more. I'm glad you agree with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭kabakuyu

He must be confused,last I heard its the Congo where you might be at risk of dying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,923 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

That picture is at least 25/30 years old. Not quite the same.

Ireland's relationship with religion has changed significantly in the intervening period.

But I'm sure you know that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,876 ✭✭✭✭walshb

plus I’m not aware that lady ever acted with hostility, agitation or aggression towards people or premises/businesses associated with people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,961 ✭✭✭.Donegal.

No doubt he’s completely supporting himself financially here while he’s placing curses in the hopes of killing thousands of people who commit the crime of entering a shop. We put up with some amount of absolute bollox. A mentalist like that should be deported, unhinged and a security risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,110 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

I'm sure the place that Yves was born was also "almost entirely monocultural" and still is to this day. I can't imagine anyone declaring that a bad thing and being "excited" at the prospect of the demographics of the congo changing so drastically and Africans becoming a minority. anyone doing so would swiftly be labelled a racist coloniser I'm sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,836 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Depressing item on the bbc news showing little Afghanistan girls on their way to school with their school bags saying that when they get to secondary school age education ends and they will be forced to marriage. Assume the Afghan men who arrived here have the same views of women in society? What a backward society, assume the Somalians have the same beliefs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,836 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Forty year old picture of a poor deluded woman who did no one any harm, what a stupid post

That was in response to moose’s post showing that woman across from Henry street most days

As Kaiser said, they know exactly what they're doing. They can't argue the point so come up with nonsense rebuttals.

Thats Dancing Mary (Dunne). And you are dead right. Zero hostility, agitation nor aggression. She never git in anyones way like your man and his sweeping brush casting spells wishing death on anyone who passes through a threshold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,597 ✭✭✭Floppybits

And if that fails then the play the xenophobic and racist card in the hopes of shutting down the argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭engineerws

She was a legend. A real part of the city. Didn't hurt anyone and I don't remember anyone hurting her. If more people were out dancing like her, the world might be a better place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,054 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

Criminal Justice Act 1994

6.—(1) It shall be an offence for any person in a public place to use or engage in any threatening, abusive or insulting words or behaviour with intent to provoke a breach of the peace or being reckless as to whether a breach of the peace may be occasioned.

(2) A person who is guilty of an offence under this section shall be liable on summary conviction to a fine not exceeding £500 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 3 months or to both.

A traveller man who once threatened to put a curse on a member of An Garda Siochana was once sentenced to 8 months (other minor offences included) in prison under the same act.

Edit: link https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-30896320.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,928 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

That shaman is talking about taking 2 babies for every person who enters arnotts. What a great contribution to society he is. We've reached the twilight zone.

A drop in the ocean and pointless really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,850 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

More than half of the women in Somalia have gone through FGM.

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-47131052

Over 4 million girls / 30% in Afghanistan were married before the age of 18.

https://childmarriagedata.org/country-profiles/afghanistan/

Homosexuality is punishable by death in Afghanistan.

https://www.humandignitytrust.org/country-profile/afghanistan/

With the huge numbers involved, I think its logical and reasonable to believe that SOME of the people entering Europe and Ireland from these places have no issues with FGM, no issues with child marriage and no issues with stoning homosexuals to death.

Simply put, these are nations where their beliefs and morals are simply not compatible with western society. Yet we are taking them in by the bus load.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,110 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

And not a peep out of the usual suspects about all that. Same with the homophobic murder that took place in Dublin recently. God forbid though if you dont think that humans can literally change sex for example, then you're the worst bigot on earth. Meanwhile actual hate crimes and oppression of women get a free pass if its the right kind of person doing it. It doesn't make sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,765 ✭✭✭seenitall

Infuriating stuff. The public in this country is being treated so condescendingly, taken for fools. This is supposed to be reassuring or something. While criminals and other complete unknowables, lying about their ages and their identities, from the worst societies on earth, are let stay, given protection and citizenship, and let roam the country without a bother, with multiple convictions to them. Like our “hero” of the moment. I mean, you just could not make this crap up in a dystopian story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,923 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

We can thank American culture wars and easy access to the Internet for that.

In the late 80s and through the 90s, with the spectre of imminent destruction fading with the fall of the Soviet Union, American society turned in on itself.

An entire generation grew up being told they were special, unique, that nothing was their fault, and any adversity they faced were failings of the system, their environment etc. Anything but their own responsibility.

This generation are now the ones espousing the same ideology in colleges, media, and politics over there. Meanwhile, the divisions in their society have only deepened. Hundreds of years of actual racism have never been dealt with, politics has become so polarised that the likes of Donald Trump or Hilary Clinton are seen as viable candidates for the highest office of the land, and identity politics (again based on the notion that everyone is a unique and special individual who can be whatever they feel) furthers these divisions.

The advent of the iPhone and then universal and cheap Internet access meant that notions that would have been previously confined to rags like the National Enquirer or college bulletin boards could now be shared with the entire planet in seconds. Every crank now had a voice and the ability to have it heard on a global scale. This was accelerated massively with the advent of Facebook and particularly Twitter.

With the decline of traditional news and newspapers, formerly respectable and responsible outlets found themselves with masses of virtual column inches or 24 hours of rolling news to fill.

Given that most of those same outlets are now staffed by the same generation I referred to at the start, who have to fill those columns and believe in the ideology, suddenly what would have been in the past rightfully dismissed as nonsense is given legitimacy when it appears as a headline on a prominent news site or channel.

Then you have countries like Ireland, with a historic and very real NEED for validation and approval. With much of our mainstream culture already imported from the UK and the US (not so much Europe, which is why we don't feel as connected to the EU), and the country becoming an international tech hub, it's no wonder that some have soaked up the worst of these "beliefs" and ideologies like a sponge and are now trying to transplant them and the issues behind them into our society.

Things like BLM, actual racism, gender politics, and the likes have no place in Ireland precisely because these aren't things we have historical or institutional problems with. Equally some seem to care more about Donald Trump than the carry on of our own politicians and the mess they've made of the country (just look at how active the Trump and US-issue threads like the Iran war, Israel, and others are vs the more local issues - and even then the latter are filled with the same misplaced mindsets I've been referring to here).

We've lost our way, and we've largely lost our own identity - although considering that that identity was one of an oppressed, impoverished people for most of our history, it's probably not a surprise that many were keen to emulate a country that (again back in the 80s) we were told through the TV and movies we all watched was the pinnacle of Western society, land of the free and opportunities etc. For many it wasn't just escapism, it was a way to reinvent themselves.

So now we live with the results. A country falling apart socially while many who grew up here blindly cheer it on and rail against the rest who can see things for what they are.

We laugh at America and how far it's fallen, and we think ourselves better than many of the places previously referred to as the Third World, but we're still rapidly and enthusiastically taking on/in the worst of both.

There are darker times ahead I fear. We only need to look to the UK or parts of Europe to see where our current path leads.

Unfortunately, there are none so blind as those who will not see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭Resplendent Moose

A personal invitation to dance, as Nero plays for the last time
    Tonight you will mix with the prophets without honour...