Heavyweight Boxing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,486 ✭✭✭squinn2912

Right Rico was in big trouble but was still answering. If you’re answering I think you should get the benefit of the doubt to continue. Ref a little eager to get it finished. I don’t think we were at the stage where you’re talking about unnecessary punishment. That said, if it was allowed to go to a 12th Usyk was stopping him then. Finally got the right result but super performance and an off night for Usyk. Movement head and feet wasn’t there. Surprised he didn’t talk about it. Agit in the ring was poorly choreographed and looked disrespectful on rico. They didn’t have a plan for him having done well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Terrible stoppage. Rico may have been done but was still defending himself and even trying to throw a few jabs. 100% deserves a rematch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,705 ✭✭✭✭OmegaGene

Rico has filed an appeal on the way to the airport

The internet isn’t for everyone

Yup. But you can also see the damage he took in the last 90 seconds. Face a mess.

getting marks on the face is part and parcel of combat sport

RICO spoke about the game plan worked on by Peter and another coach, I often wonder how Tyson would have turned out under his uncle for longer

Family disputes are a disaster and usually involve money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,057 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Usyk was barely marked at all..

As for cards. As usual, anytime an underdog, and particularly a huge underdog like Rico does well and is competitive, it’s very natural to see them winning, and to award them rds. The real clean and technical and more solid work was with Usyk.

Rico won rds for me, but this narrative that Usyk was 4-5-6 rds DOWN going into rd 11 is nonsense. Usyk was definitely in the mix for deserving 3-4-5 rds after 10 rds completed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,031 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

They need to get rid of these incredibly cringe/awkward in-ring face offs after flights.

Agit being made to stand around like a third wheel was ridiculous. And some bloke just appearing with a ring belt, taking the mic and starts claiming what should happen next for Usyk before Turkin corrected him. All very amateur for a sport which has so much money behind it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,337 ✭✭✭Brief_Lives

so going into rd 12 it would have been 105-103 on two cards to Usyk and 104-104 on the other card

another bull narrative that I think needs to be put to bed is this automatic assuming that Usyk didn’t prepare and was very poor etc.

He absolutely did prepare. That was a seriously gruelling fight against an absolute heavy handed awkward lump, and Usyk still rallied to close the show…

Rico wasn’t the prettiest, but he was very fit and busy and strong..

I saw no issues with Usyk’s speed, feet, stamina to tell me he didn’t prepare.

He threw more punches in 11 rds last night than he did in 12 rds against Fury

It was the unknown, added to Rico’s size, weight, movement, fitness, concentration, awkwardness that made it a very tough night for Usyk. Credit here fully to Rico.

Thought Usyk looked a little flat footed in a few rounds.

When Usyk assesses his own performance he won’t be at all happy with his movement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Manc-Red_

Usyk made the classic mistake of not being sharp with fitness because he must have thought that it was a night for easy pickings ……. Massive mistake.

Fair play to Rico. He as winning that fight by a mile but looked a man ready to go in the 12th after late pressure in the 11th that hurt him bad. He didn’t deserve that stoppage, he deserved his last round with Usyk to try get through to still nick it.

Feel bad for him but for the good of boxing he deserved his rematch.

Better Born Lucky Than Rich.

Usyk did not train with his usual man for this camp and instead used the man that’s training Aj

he was not winning the fight by a mile.. official judges had it pretty much even after 10. Armchair judges, like me and you don’t count.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,060 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

I'd agree it's a case of someone doing better than expected and people giving them rounds. The lad on Dazn gave Usyk one of the first 9 rounds for God sake. Personally if it had gone to round 12 I would have had it Rico 6 5 plus a KD for Usyk so if Usyk had won the 12th he would have edged it for me anyway.

all fair points. Just on Fury v Wilder. Fury got up and actually put it on Wilder to finish rd 11 stronger. Fury also looked far fresher and in control. It is not a certainty that Usyk finishes Rico in rd 12, but very possible I think. Anyway, would not have mattered because after 11 completed rds it was Rico who needed a massive rd 12 to avoid defeat.

you could see real gulf in class in rd 11 when both men were tired. Rico just burrowing in head glued to the floor throwing punches hoping for the best, and Usyk with eyes clearly on the target measuring and firing with purpose and precision.

Peter fury said after the fight that one thing that let Rico down was lack of experience so he wasn’t taking breathers in the clinch etc and he was drained

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,163 ✭✭✭Big Ears

I've only seen round 7 and the finish so far, but Rico definitely looked extremely tired at the end.

I know people that know him well talk about his powers of recovery and what Fury did vs Wilder etc, however it's one thing for your head to clear, it's another to try and suddenly become fresh when you're exhausted......and he seemed exhausted more than anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭Sandor Clegane

Fury spent 6 seconds on his back staring at the ceiling motionless after Wilder kod him, only moved at the count of six, you'd be hard pressed to find a ref who wouldn't have stopped that fight there, Fury was blessed.

Then Wardley was left become a human pinata, could barely stand up, allowed to take punishment round after round on the hope he may be able to land the right, which was all but useless anyway.

Usyk was left batter Fury fury from pillar to post in rounb 9, nothing but the ropes holding him up, he was out on his feet.

Rico was in it way more than any of these, he's have had the break too considering the round was essentially over, he too is known for his recovery and there was only one round left, ref was too keen.

Usually they don’t interview a stopped fighter in case of concussion or other issues. He was able to speak very lucidly. Didn’t the same ref stop Whyte with fury? Whyte was banjaxed and he got a better chance than that. Fury a much better chance in a few fights. Rico was still answering, far, far cry from Taylor against froch

him speaking lucidly 10 minutes after the referee stoppage has nothing to do with the referee’s split second call. He calls it there and then. Boxers don’t have to be out of it 10 mins later, and incapable of lucidity for a stoppage to be correct. And no rule automatically stopping the interviewing of a stopped fighter. They usually get checked over in ring and cleared or not cleared to hang about.

Boxing history is littered with stoppage call debates; and why was that stopped and why was this not stopped etc. It’s not an exact science. I think Stuffins said it best. Wasn’t a bad stoppage, but wasn’t particularly good either. I’d lean with it being good/ok, but would have no way said it had to be stopped.

I love Usyk, but was actually wanting Rico to finish the fight and get the nod on the cards. Just for the sheer madness of it all.

Really was a mad fight. Really entertaining and really exciting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Manc-Red_

So what’s the point of an option then? Not supposed to have one or is it not the same a yours?

Ridiculous post.

Better Born Lucky Than Rich.

an option? Do you mean opinion?

You said Rico was winning by a mile. He absolutely was not. On the official cards after 10 rds it was very very close! If you said “on my card, or in my opinion,” that’s another thing. You didn’t say this.

yes, we can all have cards/opinions, but they don’t count as to the actual officialdom of it all. That’s all I said. Nothing ridiculous whatsoever

Ok I see your points. I’m trying to say that there’s a lot of indication that say that stoppage wasn’t great. Comparing other heavyweights is relevant and most get a better opportunity to continue. Huni would be another where the referee was very eager to stop it. Likes of Cooney foreman is where the stop could have come earlier and what can happen if you’re too keen to continue.

Yes. I agree. But here’s the thing. It’s impossible to say in certain circumstances what is a correct stoppage and what is not. It has never been an exact science.

I’ve watched few videos now. Ya know, referee jumped in after 4-5 seconds after action resumed. Not straight away. He let Rico try survive.

And also, just because you fire back, doesn’t mean you are not in bad shape and extremely vulnerable. Rico was really weakly firing back a couple a shots, but with no real coolness, and he was clearly wobbling whilst doing this. And was a sitting duck.

We’re sitting on armchairs here yelling about bad stoppages; the referees are up so so close almost feeling the shots and the danger. It’s why I’m never quick to criticise the referees, who have a duty of care to the fighters.

And it’s a disgrace that the likes a Turki can openly slate and criticise professional referees that are doing an extremely responsible job, and him there slating their decisions. He’s doing nothing but damaging the reputation and integrity of the sport. No other sport would tolerate this

Ok if that’s how you saw this stoppage and ricos condition then that’s 100% fair. I don’t agree with you. I think he was answering Usyk, not just taking heavy shots, not stunned. Yes in trouble and yes needing the bell to ring. Now, the bell did actually ring just as referee begins to jump in. Often you see a referee jump in to end the round, especially if a fighter might be in trouble. I find it hard not to compare it to the fury fight. In the 9th he was in much more trouble and I was sure he’d be stopped in the next round. For what it’s worth I also think Rico was getting stopped in 12th but I think he deserved the chance