Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Village87

I'd say even Neverbet is in Paddy Powers after that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Charlie69

Congratulations to Dublin, by far the better team and way better tactics than ours… especially against the wind in the second half. Long journey home now after that and a long road back to the top table for Kilkenny hurling if big changes aren’t made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Marrooned

Well Village, don’t mention the war. But I still believe this could be the best thing ever if everyone comes along for the spin.

There will be a few on trying to pull the wool over our eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭Nickindublin

The Kk team we have seen this year would not win an AI.

So as some have mentioned here it might be for the best today if it brings massive change.

Its clear there is something missing between Lyng and the players. They look clueless and at the end of the day this comes down to the manager. No disrespect but draws to Carlow and Offaly says something is wrong. If you want to play a certain style you have to have the players to play that style. Trying to fit players into the style wont work. Square plugs round holes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,584 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

I know it's probably too soon to be thinking about it (especially as lyng is not necessarily gone) and there's more to all this than just the senior management, but I would love to see them move heaven and earth to bring in Brian Dowling. As good a manager as anyone in the country, successful everywhere regardless of resources available, and able to adapt his tactics to his circumstances. Just my tuppence on that

Dowling Is a good shout. He has worked his way up the ladder. I think a lot of people will be saying Shfflin but the way the U20 are going it will rule him out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭verizon

if that’s the players attitude to do or die, they’ve equal if not more of the blame. No ability to win the ball on the ground despite having the numbers all year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 607 ✭✭✭Butterbeans

Would love to see Brian Dowling in. And by no means do I mean an overnight success, but Jesus we need the team and management playing to the same tune at the very least. We looked clueless out there today. We are where we deserve to be and as @robwen said earlier it's not even surprising, which speaks volumes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 GotTheCream

I thought to myself before this game, if we're going to go, let us be clean knocked out. And we were clean knocked out.

Good luck to Dublin for the rest of the championship - they were fantastic today. Their backs were tigerish. They beat Limerick last year, they are a proper side.

We go again next year, up the cats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Todd_UnctiousGael

Brian Dowling would be a good shout, knows the underage scene for obvious reasons and would command respect of players. I'm not sure about marque appointments of former players, Derek hasn't worked out even if he came in with u20 all Ireland win. We had the luxury for a long time under Cody without having to make managerial change decisions. It's something every other team has had to do every 2-3years, we're inexperienced with it in last 30 years

Something else re Dowling is he probably has little influence from Cody. Lyng was heavily influenced from Cody as player and selector. Im not dizzying Cody but the game has changed completely and we are still scratching our heads trying to figure it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 covcat

I think Dowling is man for the job when Lyng eventually goes. I hope it's just my mood at the moment but I can see Davy Fitz coming our way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,517 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

There would be mutiny if they hired Fitz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭Imeall an cearnóg

Did RTE and Duignan miss a great save from Eoin Murphy in the second half?

They did yeah, they couldn't understand why it was a 65. Cusack, to be fair to him, pointed out how good a save it was at full time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭Imeall an cearnóg

Ah I didn't stick around for the post match analysis

You didn't miss much, I wouldn't have either except as soon as I turn off the hurling I'm going to have to do work around the house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭hogans heroes

We must have conceded 1-5 on turnovers through short aimless passing.dublin went short and launched it into Hedgo and played off the breaks simple. Our Maor Caman kept shouting at our backs to run it.likes of verger Mike and paddy are not comfortable running the ball. IM with Andy Comerford on this short ball ****.we conceded far more than we score on the short puck outs.thought Mikey carey played well and young clifford when he came on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

It was obvious that hitting the ball in long to the forwards wasn't working but yet Kilkenny persisted with it despite Dublin catching every ball that was sent in. Crazy that this tactic wasn't changed - there was literally no plan B.

All credit to a Dublin as well, they played a very smart game and played to their strengths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭njcat

Well deserved win for Dublin. Very impressive to beat both Galway and Kilkenny in 7 days. Will be supporting them in this year's championship.

Kilkenny very poor all year. A lot of soul searching and major changes in management and this tired team required. We need a complete break from the Cody way. Ollie Walsh freshened things up in 92-93 from the 80s style; more artistry. Intensity and work rate just boring. Cork are the only exciting skillful, team around. Hopefully more teams up their game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Sir Chaz

Changing management won't solve it but we do need to change it. I've the height of respect for Derek Lyng, a dyed in the wool Kilkenny man and all time great, and I feel for him today, but we need things freshened up. He will be hurting more than any Kilkenny supporter on here, or any keyboard warrior, and we'd do well to remember that. He has given his all to the County as a player and a manager and gave us some great days. He brought us very close, won 3 Leinsters in a row and reached an All Ireland and League Final, but unfortunately couldn't get the big one.

In isolation, today is on the players. In a game we had to win, Dublin showed more desire and hunger. They were still in the championship had they lost. That says it all. They were hungrier in the tackle, pressurised us far more in the middle third than we did them, and won what seemed like 90% of the breaks. Inexcusable for our players to be outfought in the circumstances we found ourselves in.

The bigger picture is that we 100% need the current county board set up and old boys club, completely uprooted. And fast. We're already facing down the barrel of a Cork like famine, and if we don't fix things soon, it'll be even worse. If today's result helps that, then we might look back on it as a positive.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭Willie Power

A few neutral thoughts.

I think Kilkenny had only 2 shots on goal, one in either half. That's unreal. There was no guile or creativity in creating space and opportunities.

They lumped high ball on top of a dominant Dublin back line. There was no pattern to their game or method.

Dublin seemed to win 3 out of 4 dirty or ruck ball. Even when Kilkenny came within a point of Dublin I never really felt they would win.

I actually wouldn't like to see TJ retire. His frees were excellent, he chipped in with a few from play and set up scores.

Kilkenny are going to be making their most important managerial decision in 30 years. They need to take their time and appoint wisely. Hopefully the opportunity is taken for a root and branch overhaul of hurling in the county. Underage development, style of play etc with full club input.

Derek Lyng is a great Kilkenny man. Sometimes it doesn't work as a coach, despite the effort put in. I hope people have the cop on not to abuse the man. He set out to do his very best. Not a time for recriminations but to learn lessons and progress.

"He might be an eejit, but he's our eejit"
    Willie Power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭nippy corner foward

Kk new how dublin were going to set up. Kk played right in to their hands. It was beyond braindead. Dublin have a style,identity,system. This is dereks 4th year and the players cant pass a ball. Harry shine wouldnt catch that ball if he had a ladder. Bar one or two lads here the lights are flashing for years. The county board are a shambles. The only county in ireland without a center of excellence. Walking out today the most die hards of kk hurling said this had to happen. If this is what it takes for a complete overhaul because its stale out dated. Look what can be done in offally with someone like duignan. We have pj kenny he cant even dress himself. He was put in that position because it was convenient. The trend is there. Kk are declining the last 3 years. What did the county board do? Gave management another two years. Its the same players and the same mistakes year after year. Not good enough. Kk drew with cw and offally and cw beat them in a challenge match a few months ago. The book stops with management. This team has picked itself the last few years. Who ever comes in needs to clear out 4 or 5 lads. Losing with new lads is one thing but losing with the same players over and over again. The lack of fight was alarming but the amount of mistakes was shocking. I dont remember blanch cathing a ball. Kk were always good to watch,flair,hunger,heart. Thats all gone. This was coming. A long summer ahead and a big post mortem but a huge clear out is desperately needed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭red_diesel

I hope they start the club championship games a bit earlier now. No point waiting until September.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭randd1

We will.

Act now, and it’ll be 10 years when we’re in a position to consistently challenge for the AI again.

But we all can sense that whatever the county board do, it won’t be acting now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭Alonzo Moseley

I am with those who are relieved, we were never going to win an AI this year. so it's better we exited rather than prolong the malaise.

We need change on and off field and we need an innovative coach who can come up with an antidote to the modern version of hurling.

This version is visually appealling but it's an illusion, a game that plays scant notice to the rules. We need to look beyond the modern game because I am convinced it has a limited lifespan, as sooner or later rules will have to be enforced. The game needs to revert to being primarily a stick game.

We have been the best innovators of hurling tactics for over 100 years. We need to come up a new blue print that plays to our traditional strengths of stickwork, hooking, blocking, nicks and flicks etc and not go chasing this current version, especially as we are absoutely **** at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭BoroMan32

Very poor; in every respect.

I don't like singling out players but Killian Doyle was woeful and didn't try a yard, either.

Archaic tactics, as usual. High balls booming in all the first half and nothing coming from them.

Complete clear out of management and back room team required.

On current form if we played Cork in a QF away we could lose by 20+ points