Beef price tracker 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 juniorfarmer

Have a breeding bull. Non q.a 850kgs. His feet are gone. Not suitable anymore for breeding. Would I get a quote for him or is it a case of land him in and hope for the best. He is 10 years old. Based in the south of the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Thesmallfarmer

Roscrea trough an agent but different story if you are in a panic to get rid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭Arm Wax

i cant understand beef farmers moaning all the time ,its your choice to be in a industry that produces a product and when its ready you phone a factory and ask how much are you now going to give me for it or do you want it,if you guys that are beef farmers were at the mart looking for lets just say 10 aa bullocks around 400kg and there was 2 pens of what you wanted ,the owners of said cattle were standing beside them and 1 man said he wanted 1000euros and the other said he wanted 1150 please dont tell me you would buy the dear cattle because you would not ,so your no different than the factories in your own little way …..rant over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,007 ✭✭✭kk.man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭grass10

You are also a beef farmer aswell all the dairy farmers seem to not be able to understand this point

I do agree with your point about fellas just taking whatever the factory throws them because lads are in a panic to sell because they need the money or want to buy replacements etc instead of demanding a price but the dairy farmers are probably a bigger culprit than beef finishers at this

i think you missed my point beef farmers try to buy as cheap as possible same as the factories , as for i being a beef farmer as well ,i see where you are coming from but i do not agree ,i fatten my own culls and when they go to the factory i am in general always very happy with the payment vs the payment in the mart ,i dont complain because its my choice to get the last penny from my culls,as for calves i have never had to bring a calf home because of any issue always sold so some one wants it and yet again thats their choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,195 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Seriously ill judged posts that I don't agree with and I'm a dairy farmer too.

There's a strong whiff of I'm alright jack, you should be too. That's never a good look and there's no point to it than inflame relations pointlessly.

If a beef farmer buys a cheaper pen of cattle. They are in a sale with should be at least twenty other buyers that they saw value and the other buyers did not. They bought the cattle they directly effected one seller.

We've a monopoly on buying cattle in this country from a small cohort of factory owners. Their cutting prices only leaves export as the other market. Their cutting prices effects thousands of farmers across the country and the wider national economy. It doesn't benefit the country if factory owners make record profits and put their toes into the private health industry or whatever else money making schemes while the raw product producers that got them there are languishing.

And to round the circle the beef farmer buying the cheap pen of cattle would be forced to pay more to their comrade beef farmer from competition based on a good beef factory price that they do all end up in bar export.

If you were a dairy farmer in the UK you'd be giving out like us as you said. The best Irish Dairy ever did was to set up co ops but more importantly they retained them.

If you were dairying under a Conglomerate with no farmer shareholders just like us with an active big three group cartel you'd be giving out.

And yes its in my interest to buy cheap and sell for the best I can get. The two lots of cattle you mentioned don't normally sell privately so its fair in the ring under an auction system, generally. The new owner doesn't have that choice. See attached this journal page, if thats not a cartel I don't know what is. Now f^&:k back and milk your cows if you have any.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,961 ✭✭✭amacca

I was about to comment but previous two covered it but fcuk it I'll go at it again for one particular dairy farmer colleague posting on the thread

As a beef farmer of course I try buy as cheap as I can but I have to complete with other buyers or do a deal direct...maybe some buyers can leverage unfair advantage in this situation but I'd say its held to a minimum

As a factory it looks a lot like I get to collude with the other factories in the country and indeed other factories outside the country I own (with what looks like the express purpose of controlling the trade here) to artificially depress the price of cattle to what I judge I can get away with....I get to do this in a number of ways and make sure profits aren't shared in a fair way with open and transparent competition for the product I buy (and not necessarily open and transpatent methods of grading/valuing etc...

To compare a lad buying animals at a mart to a sophisticated operation like meat processors operating in unison is almost laughably childlike reasoning.

you must be rattled with your last sentence ,have a great evening moaning about beef farming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Jb1989

I agree. I'm carry my stock to beef of my own accord . Nobody putting a gun to my head to kill them. Ive to accept beef price and if I don't I'm free to leave and get a job in tesco.

Factories screwing us but we're free to leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,615 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

@Arm Wax ķ

Just As an aside we were not buying last week. However we saw a pair of Frx surplus dairy heifers that were 330 kgs. They sold for 660. If we were bidding we would have followed them to 800ish euro. Would probably have bought them less than that.

If we had been bidding the dairy farmer would have made 200ish euro more. In the present market we expect a 300kg DW friesian heifer to make 1800-1820 euro. We just take our margin. Our margin is dictated by factory price.

Your analogy about 1150 and 1000 euro heifers could also be described as whether we are online buying or not or if someone else is bidding to buy beyond our price.

The processors are totally different. They gennerally a lot of the time not bidding against each other. We had it last year. I be paying 200+ less for stores this year

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭50HX

And yet here you are again since posting this morning re farners moaning about beef prices.

I see the point you are making but it smacks of smugness tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Coltsfoot99

They have gone through Sheep, non finishing unit operations are currently getting railed, the Dairy man is next up.

For beef we are looking at most of the kill in another few years being in operations that do minimum 500 a year and most in thousands.

Same mad metrics are coming for Dairy, in time will 150 cows be large enough or sustainable and will we see 500+ herds being the normal

very sorry dont mean to be smug ,i was in suckling gave it up ,no point sums were not adding up,why stay at it nothing was going to change,now i did love it but i had to make a choice got out, if dairy changes guess what i am gone too,if that what society wants so be it ,you wont hear me complaining just get on with life,…..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭50HX

I was sucklers as well...dry stock now for acfew reasons with sums being the main one.

Not in a position to invest in dairy from scratch.

And for how long do you stay at dairying if it changes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,289 ✭✭✭older by the day

That's it in a nutshell.

Everyone making money out of beef except the producer. Beef barons, hauliers, marts, factory employees, vets, FARM UNIONS, the security lad at the gate ect.

I can't remember ever reading, but was a coop style beef factory ever set up in Ireland. is the type of profits that we think they make real. I thought a Chinese company was going to set one up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,409 ✭✭✭limo_100

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 5,108 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

We're all anonymous here (mostly!) so you don't know what type of yard, land, farming experience, family help, etc. anyone has.

Some lads started with little or nothing. Others just had to walk out in the morning and Daddy had the heavy lifting done for them. After a few posts, you get a sense of who's standing on their own two feet and who's not.

But you can't generalise and say beef farmers are this and dairy farmers are that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,199 ✭✭✭Robson99

There is going to be some correction in the price of stores this back end with the way beef price is falling. It was never going to last. Factories suffered last year, but are back in the ball game now. For everyones sake it would be better of if it settled where it is now and stayed around that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,156 ✭✭✭morphy87

In your opinion what will the price settle at? For everyone’s sake it would be better to settle at something and at least people would have a figure to work off

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news (I've been accused of) but sell, sell. The cartel are going to destroy every single beef farmer no matter whats produced or finished. Now in the manner of Joe Kennedy snr…when the shoe shiner guy gives me advice then im getting out. The cartel are on a serious route..... so take it lying down or fight ..they have done the winter finisher and there's plans to do the grazer. THIS IS ABSOLUTELY A SERIOUS WARING IF YOU DONT PROTEST, GO TO THE WALL. There's no hidden agenda here folks im telling it as im giving the info. I won't specify for anyone here.

Btw im.not in the market for buying cattle now nor am im trying to deflate the price.

Post edited by kk.man on

Not only protest now but make it much bigger than the last one, this is the time, its no good in September when the game is on its knees and fighting weather. The message to the barons must be loud and very clear, European beef is off the ricter scale and we are taking shite because the Barrons control most of Europe. I've no skin in the game im insulated in more ways than others. The beef plan are noticeable absent, they have their little cartel added and abited by their masters. There's a line in the sand and now its crossed.

Remember this any folks who are decent farmers and I include me in this, there's a serious tax bill waiting for you next October. So either renege on the tax bill or take it lying down.

Post edited by kk.man on

7 euro is a good price for everyone. But them seem to want to go below t he belt because the are c**ts

If the mullet returns to Bord Bia we can all look in the window when he's having afternoon tea with his buddies. What a s_</t show you couldn’t make it up.

I was ringing about silage today and got dropped with the price of it it gave me a land. Then I was think between trump and the factories this year they have both robbed me equally. I’m only new to this last 4-5 years I’m getting hard to make the numbers make sense

I have a few culls in the shed I better to sell them so now instead of fattening them up so? 5euro is a disgrace it’s daylight robbery when beef is 7-8 euro on the continent. Hopefully an export or live market opens up to move cattle on the Irish factories don’t deserve our cattle or our hard work.