Waterford GAA Thread - Mod note post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

Exactly I haven’t heard one person imply that we haven’t been good enough to get out of Munster. Of course sport is about survival of the fittest. The argument being this system is simply not right and not for the greater good of hurling. I’ve seen plenty of people from Limerick and Cork say the same things who have made it out of the group every year since the RR came in. There’s a few gowlbags deliberately missing the point just want to stick the knife in and don’t want change as they would be happy to see Waterford hurling rot. No point even engaging with these apes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭sasol

what’s wrong with the system ?

Everybody outside of Waterford waxes lyrical about how brilliant the Munster championship is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,970 ✭✭✭decies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭fuinneamh

I love the Munster championship but the condensed nature of it is bizarre for all teams. In contrast; Mayo are only getting their first game of All Ireland Championship in 2 weeks time; they are gauranteed 1 more game after that. Surely our matches could be pushed out another 3 weeks and finish up in June at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,404 ✭✭✭914

The Munster championship is brilliant but is the All Ireland?

I think that is where the discussion needs to be.

The Munster championship is so good, how can we replicate that across Leinster and the All Ireland series?

While the Munster championship is so good, it's over in a 4-5 week window timeframe.

There are currently 11 counties between the Munster and Leinster championship and 5 of those counties are finished hurling before the weather gets good.

I get the 5 teams aren't good enough, but I do feel something needs to be done to generate more of a buzz around hurling and the All Ireland Championship.

While Gaelic Football has more top tier counties, we will see 16 teams taking part in the All Ireland series where as in hurling we will see 6! Even if RTE show every single one of the hurling all Ireland games, that's a grand total of 5 games.

2 quarter finals, 2 semi finals and a final, surely more can be done around the All Ireland series.

In theory it's also more beneficial to finish 3rd in a provence rather than the top two. Taking Munster as an example, if you finish in the top two and lose the final, in order to win the All Ireland you have a to play a total of 8 games, where as finishing 3rd you only have to play 7 games and you need to win less!

Win less, how? Generally three wins gets you to a Munster final, so let's say you win three and lose the final. You then need to win the AI, quarter final, semi final and final. Needing a total of 6 wins.

If you finish 3rd, generally two wins will do that, you also need to win the AI quarter final, semi final and final, requiring only 5 wins to win the All Ireland.

Three wins, wins you an all Ireland whereas three wins might not even win you Munster. Making it look like this harder to win a Munster title than an All Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭HikingBeatsSport

RTE news : GAA says its vital to stream 'highly attractive' games

http://www.rte.ie/sport/football/2026/0521/1574497-gaa-says-its-vital-to-stream-highly-attractive-games/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,834 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

"While Gaelic Football has more top tier counties, we will see 16 teams taking part in the All Ireland series where as in hurling we will see 6"

So we are back to rewarding failure by letting the likes of Waterford with 1 point progress or do you mean get more games out of the 6 teams like another group stage or 2 leg ties ?

Holy god, you obviously haven't read any of my previous posts. My points are not about Waterford but how we can enhance the All Ireland series and how over time we can make more counties stronger.

Perhaps an improved All Ireland series is just the 6 teams, worth 2 groups of 3 and the top in each group go straight into the final and munster and Leinster remain as they are.

To me, everything is on the table for the benefit of our national game.

Killenny could end up with more points than the 3rd place Munster team and yet not make it through to the All Ireland series, someone might say "that's because Leinster is weaker than Munster", "or "Leinster has one extra team", that in itself is a reason for improvement.

I don't think anyone in this form has stated that a bottom side in either Munster or Leinster should advance to the All Ireland series.

Everything including the possibility that we might already have the best format ?

That never seems to be on the table.

The truth is we can't make more counties stronger. Hurling people have been trying for over 100 years. No format is gonna get Kildare or Laois people to get up and support their team. Even regular Liam counties leave a lot to be desired and that's on them not a format.

Mod Edit

Warning issued.

Post edited by ShamoBuc on

Maybe we could add more teams by having a Limerick B and Cork B. That's the Waterford solution to things isn't it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Deiseen

Your still not getting the point. I'm not saying we are good enough and I'm not saying we should be given a free pass of any sorts.

I'd be happy with an extra couple of weeks break between the games so everything is not as condensed.

It's all about exposure to the game and having a small handful of teams left in the championship before we've even hit june when there's so many football games going on is the issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Montys return

Can we just end this conversation here? Nothing is going to change, adapt or die. That's the choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

Yeah. Can reconvene the topic next March/April…! For the mean time it’s local club games and arm chair spectating of the rest of the championship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,114 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Could Kilkenny going out early influence a change in format

I think it’s a case that the weak Leinster round robin hasn’t served Kilkenny well they’ve gradually fallen back to the rest of the pack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭sportsfan90

I’ve been thinking about Waterford today and where they stand. This isn’t going to be a post about championship formats.

You guys definitely don’t need a Cork man telling you how you should be feeling, but I’m comparing Waterford to my own counties form a couple of years ago. In 2022 we did ok in Munster without being brilliant and were happy to scrape through in 3rd place, before going out tamely to Galway in the quarter final.

The following year we were on 3 points after the first 2 rounds with visits to Ennis and Limerick to come. This was when Clare and Limerick were the top teams in Munster and playing each other in the final pretty much every year. We went to Ennis and lost by a point, followed by another very unlucky 1 point defeat in Limerick after a brilliant performance.

We had people saying Cork had gone backwards, having progressed from Munster in 2022 followed by coming fourth the following year. But I was hugely positive and hopeful for the future after seeing our performances in 2023.

Comparing it to Waterford. Every year they win a game in Munster, except this year. You could argue things have gone south, but for me this was the best I’ve seen Waterford in a while. Albeit their top level is slightly off the likes of Limerick, they really performed in every match and with a bit of luck (3 first half injuries and an incorrect black card against my own county) they could easily have won a few of those games.

The only thing I’d worry about is potential retirements. Not sure of the ages of Stephen Bennett, Aussie, De Burca and Barron but I hope they stay on another few years until the crop of minors from last year are ready to take the jersey.

All early-mid 30s

Barron been in the squad since 2013, 2014 for the rest of the lads mentioned if I remember correctly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,970 ✭✭✭decies

So how long do we wait then to see are we continuing with same management ? A month should be time enough for a decision .

Best of luck to the Minor footballers today in the All Ireland Tier 3 semi final vs Wicklow

1000455635.jpg

A lot depends on Queally himself in the short term if he intends to run for another year or step away. All intercounty teams are now officially out after the minor footballers today so intercounty management review will be on agenda at next monthly co board meeting. then there will be a committees to review and come back the following month if they going to stick or twist or twist with Queally or if there is an alternative plan. So probably looking at a period of 2 months before we know what direction it’s going to go

Are the senior footballers not playing round 2B Tailteann Cup tomorrow

Apologies I forgot about Tailteanm cup. Best of luck to them

Kilkenny out of the Championship, perhaps Leinster is starting to become competitive, great to see Offaly get through and great to see Dublin put in such a strong performance.

The supporters won't know what to do on a Sundays now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,053 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Leinster is substandard compared to Munster Offaly wouldn't be within 6 points of any team in Munster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

kk supporters will now experience what it’s like to have no inter county hurling interest in June/July. Also it’s only the dubs second championship win over them since WW2…🤔