No quitten we're whelan onto chitchat 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,290 ✭✭✭endainoz

Very easy to say you're not afraid of a dog when nothing has ever happened to you but you never know other people's circumstances or what may or may not have happened to them. Trauma is absolutely a real thing and I doubt "a kick up the hole" would be the best remedy. I do agree that they're in the wrong line of work though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭White Clover

He could have had a wedding or some family occasion coming up very soon. 2 dogs barking at him, maybe he didn’t want to take the risk which is quite understandable. Best thing is to lock away the dogs when there is people calling. It could prevent a lot of future problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Probly is in the wrong job, but dogs should be fit to be restrained regardless for any visitors.

Fair enough if you want to keep people out like travellers and such, but if your expecting services to come to your house, it's simple courtesy to restrain a dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭RockOrBog

You can't trust..

a dogs tooth or a horses hoof or a man named Burke.

An elderly lady lady told me that years ago when I was out on a service call and her old collie fancied a bite of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,361 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

You dont know when these people are calling though, is it fair to leave dogs locked in all day because someone might call. If someone rings in advance someone will be here to meet them. Otherwise the dogs are around the yard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Jb1989

You'd have an idea when a delivery would be coming to move dogs, otherwise collect the items yourself.

I Don't have a dog at my home farm so I don't have this problem personally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,007 ✭✭✭kk.man

The Sinners are after getting a kicking in Dublin Central. The difference in the Republic is the now diverse of parties and creeds. But Gerry Hutch putting his name in the ring really nailed them.

I ordered detergent online Wednesday night, i have waited 2 weeks for a similar delivery before. Normally get a text that delivery will be next day. We have a camera in the yard so if dogs are barking we can look on phone and see what the story is. The dogs keep travelling salesmen away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,936 ✭✭✭enricoh

Think when fastway went wallop it came out the delivery drivers got under a euro per drop. At that money the risks I'd be taking around dogs would be in the slim to none category!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,881 ✭✭✭straight

I've had plenty trauma in my own life tbh. One has to deal with it and not over react like a baby. And, I could never understand people taking on a job that they're not able for. I have an aunt or I think one other person that doesn't like dogs. Strange people.

Was Charged an extra 20 euro for delivery of the drums on top of normal delivery which was supposed to be free

I strangled my neighbours dog years ago. Fecker nearly took my finger. They have some power In their jaw. I wouldnt have a cross dog myself. Ours are always just pets that bark a bit. Some asshole got handy money off my father's insurance years ago when he said our dog bit him.

Kerry bet

Meath bet

I'm a dog lover myself but you still need to be considerate of other people's fears and issues. I remember a few years back I had a fella from teagasc visiting me on the farm as part of my green cert I was doing at the time.

Anyway he arrived in the yard and our family pet was sniffing around the car, dog wasn't barking or anything at him but he was a afraid of his life of the dog. This was a big tough man by the way, I had to convince him the dog wasn't vicious so he'd get out of the car. If the dog was barking at him I'd say he would have stayed put. One would think a teagasc fella would be used to seeing dogs in yards but this guy was terrified of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Sergeant Bilco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,289 ✭✭✭older by the day

Sounds very like the lads that beat the postman to death in north cork a bit ago.

Seems that the footage of the Congo shoplifting lad (which is totally wrong too) wasn't as protected.

Unfortunately it seems that it won't be until its a politicians relatitive or a person of importance, that Irish people will wake up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭eastie17

had a delivery driver bringing me a few pallets of nuts there during the winter. Told him go through the gate up the passage and drop in the yard on the concrete.

20 mins later I hear wheels spinning, I go out and yer man is after unloading alright but instead of going out the way he came in, somehow went into a field and bogged himself. This was a rigid.

Grand says I, get the tractor and chain drop one end to him to connect and I drive forward a bit, look back at him, he gives me the thumbs up, connected, I give some power and bang there’s plastic flying everywhere. The eeijet had gone and wrapped the chain around the plastic fairings on the front of the lorry, not a tow hook or anything solid. I should have checked I suppose but I was busy and thought surely to god he’d know what to do. Made complete shite of the front of the lorry. Polish lad, I felt sorry for him, he was fair shook about it, reckoned he’d get the sack. That company has different drivers all the time so they must be just taking lads with a pulse who are willing to do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,811 ✭✭✭StevenToast

Ive never heard that.....its funny because i know a few Burkes and I wouldnt trust them as far as I could throw them!

"SUBSCRIBE TO BOARDS YOU TIGHT CÙNT".....Plato 400 B.C

I assume the two teenagers that were arrested are black otherwise ye wouldn't be talking about it? Dublin has a serious problem with young scrotes terrorizing and attacking people regardless of what colour they are. They are a product of years of bad housing policies and even worse policing. Stoping immigration will not stop serious crime. I don't have the solution either and I can't see the situation improving, I suppose better community policing may help but very much doubt gardai would be willing to allocate resources to it.

It's the cover up im disgusted at, as well as the crime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,062 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

These are both equally disgusting crimes and the full weight of the law needs to be brought into the perpetrators of each.

Far too many are revelling in posting videos of murders just because it supports their specific race perspective.

One wonders if sharing videos of murders like this needs to become a crime in itself. Send them to the guards surely, but sharing them to make a point or to enjoy a black man getting murdered is not what we as a civilised community should be doing.

Ah come on Brian. This murder in the street in the middle of the day. A man down on his knees and begging for his life. And your worried about sharing videos.

If they were Irish teenagers it would be non stop coverage.

When our national broadcasters won't cover murders done by foreigners, Facebook and x takes there place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,062 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I think one at least is Irish born national but I don’t care about their colour or nationality. Those lads should be locked away for a very long time. I’d be making an example of them as they specifically filmed that man’s terror.

Equally the security guards who murdered the man over a bottle of perfume should face manslaughter charges and be locked away.

But the sharing of such videos for point scoring or grim entertainment isn’t right either.

I’m not saying let the murderer go and prosecute the sharing of the videos

I’m saying both should be crimes and both prosecuted to the full extent of the law

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,936 ✭✭✭enricoh

Murdered him? U must have heatstroke lad.

Between him n that nkencko tramp the refugee industry sure have some dodgy heroes. Denmark now automatically deport any foreigners sentenced to a year in clink, way past time we do the same. That Yves crackhead with 50 convictions would be long gone in Denmark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Thesmallfarmer

There is no medical evidence yet to suggest he was murdered or why he died but dont let that get in the way for getting your own narative across here.

How could any security guard get a fair trial with all the ridiculous racism slant on this tragic death.

We have seen the guards equally man handle fuel protesters not so long ago and you were defending the guards .

Nobody should die for robbing a bottle of perfume, though I'm not sure if it would be seen as murder anyway.

Please don't compare members of gardai to security guards from a shop. The are not the same. Also nobody died during the fuel protests, and they certainly weren't "equally man handled"

It absolutely should be a crime to share something like that, it should at the very least be the same category of crime as revenge porn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭almostover

The autopsy on the perfume thief seems to be pointing towards his restraint not causing him any injury. People should wait for the full details of his death to be published before jumping to conclusions and George Floyd comparisons.