Israel/Palestine Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,291 ✭✭✭dmcdona

I've watched the video but there appears to be no context on who is doing what or why.

It's certainly not clear to me.

I think best wait for official reports of what happened before judging anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭Paddy_Mag

Its crystal clear the cops are trying to keep the arrivals gate clear for the other passengers arriving at the airport who just want to go about their own business.

Different angle below you can see the cop on the right has clearly asked them to move, and he makes room for a passenger coming through to exit.

One lad, with a beard, on the right takes umbrage with a cop standing behind him and gives him a little shoulder nudge. Then he grabs another cop from behind which sparked the incident.

You aren't seeing it because you don't want to see it. But the video is fairly clear on what happened. You don't need an official report.

The Journal reported this from TVE:

"When a relative of one of the activists tried to approach them, a police officer forcefully prevented him from doing so, leading to scuffles between both sides, public broadcaster TVE reported."

Unless you have inside information and you're an expert forensic video analyser, only an official report will confirm what happened.

Until then, you're only expressing an opinion on a video - and narrating what you think you saw. And it seems you're currently proposing a narrative that suits your general position.

I'll wait for the expert final report rather than amateur opinions before making my mind up.

So you will use a media report which suits your agenda which is not an official report. And it's also false. The small guy with the beard assaulted two police officers which was conveniently omitted. Touch Hypocrital there.

The little man with the beard nudged one cop on the back for allowing a passenger with his child in a buggy to come through (other paseengers later followed) and then tried to grab another cop from behind for trying to maintain a clear arrivals area. That was conveniently left out of the report you quoted.

Is behaving in a civilised manner beyond these virtue signalling crusty types??

What did he expect the other cops to do when he grabbed one around the neck/shoulder from behind?

Those relatives/supporters have no business entering the arrivals area of an airport. That area is clearly marked out for a reason. They were rightfully removed from the area.

The 6 in grey have no right to block the arrivals gate. Virtue signalling idiots with a sense of entitlement looking for their moment in the sun. Hope they enjoyed the beatings they got.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,310 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Probably just wanted to get arrested again to double down on attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭BettyS

just for my own information, as I have only read about it in the Telegraph and the Journal, would you be so kind to show the information and footage that you have perused, showing the individuals in the way that you describe? Thanks

I watched the video and why did the police start by pushing the flotilla individual? Surely, if you want to move somebody to permit the passage of the other individuals on the flight, you don’t start by body-slamming the flotilla activist? It would seem almost a provocation? And why such a violent and disproportionate reaction to these individuals? There was nothing threatening about them.

Its an airport. They were blocking the arrivals gate and others who presumably didnt get off a plane were encroaching into a designated arrivals area.

They didnt start body slamming people to clear the area. Thats something you have just completely made up.

They, the cops, clearly were accommodating other passengers who wanted to make their way through and the guy on the right with the beard started the entire thing. He shoved one cop for facilitating other passengers desire to make their way through the airport then tried to grab another from behind around the neck/shoulder who was, as he is perfectly entitled to do, stop people encroaching onto an area they have no right to be, which provoked the situation.

I just watched the video that you pointed out to me. Rather than us getting into a case of he says, she says, people reading this can look at the video that you referred to from 0.42 and make up their own mind if they think that the police used proportionate tactics to usher the activists aside.

I have no agenda - I simply quoted a report that is in dispute with your own personal view of what happened - thereby showing that you, me and journalists can wax lyrical about what we think happened 'till the cows come home.

The official report will clarify and confirm the actual details of events.

It's remarkable that you accuse me of hypocrisy when you appear to have formed your own view and other reports (from journalists) are simply "false" - in your opinion.

I find it disturbing that you express a hope that people "enjoyed" their beatings.

Glorifying violence against people is disgusting.

What about the behaviour of the short guy with the beard? Is that justified?

Shoving one cop for allowing a man with his child in a buggy through the arrivals gate .

Grabbing another from behind because the cops are trying to keep the arrivals area clear.

A real stand up citizen.

The "activists" got what they deserved.

I formed my opinion on video evidence which is very clear.

can you please point out the time-stamp on the video where that incident happened please, so I can form my own judgement? And just to clarify, this his reaction come before or after he was forcefully pushed aside with the torso of the police man?

Video "evidence" which is "very clear" in "your opinion"

QED.

Edit - any response to you "hoping" those individuals "enjoying" their beatings? A retraction perhaps? Or doubling down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

Literal definition of whataboutery.

Can you explain what actions you have taken to protest this that you seem to care so much about?

If you’ve done nothing, why not? Or are you just using this in an attempt at a cheap shot against all Palestinians?

Seeing as we’re now in the appropriate thread, and you refused to answer on the other one, do you condemn the genocide perpetuated on the Palestinian people by the IDF?

From 0.27, the police man pushes the activist out of the way with his shoulder and then the activist reacts. An Garda Síochána- guardian of the peace operates by principle of deescalation. Why did the police man physically push the man out of the way without even asking him to move along in a non-confrontational manner. As a police person, you do not want to exacerbate or worse still create a conflict situation, before even trying non-peaceful methods of resolution. I would be very nervous living in a society where the police could physically hurt first and ask questions later.

The arrivals gate behind the 6 people in grey opens as a passenger attempts to leave the airport

1000011127.jpg

The cops on the right behind the bearded guy in grey waves the passenger through

As he does that, the bearded guy shoves the cop from behind.

1000011133.jpg

Other cops arrive and are pointing to the left and it looks like they have asked them to move aside so other passengers can come through.

1000011136.jpg

The bearded guy then squares upto cops as two people in the centre of the pic, guy in orange, woman in black encroach into the arrivals area and the cop on the left comes across to usher them away from the arrivals area as there is other passengers trying to come through as can be clearly seen in the background.

1000011142.jpg 1000011145.jpg

This is from another video on twitter, the bearded guy in grey attempts to grab the cop who ushered away the two people from the pics above, from behind. So the cops intervened

1000011151.jpg

Its all there. On video. Crystal clear. The one who started the physical altercation was the little bearded guy in grey who clearly has a sense of entitlement about him.

Thats a lie. The cop was facilitating other passengers coming through arrivals.

Thats some climb down from the cops body slamming people out of the way BTW.

None of this would have occured had the 6 people in grey shown a basic standard of manners and not blocked an arrivals gate at an airport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,877 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

It's the phrase of an absolute ****.

As if a septuagenarian RAF veteran needs to signal any virtues by trying to bring aid to a beleaguered people and then being treated like a piece of shite, bound and beaten, by a vicious rogue state led by the worst attempts at humanity imaginable.

On the one hand you have the same type of dickheads saying that people who are against what Israel is doing are being silly because they might own a phone and then when a group actually tries to ship aid across seas to Gaza, they're "virtue signaling". 🙄

**** who frame things like that aren't even worth the steam off of your piss.

Why would i retract it?

You reap what you sow IMO.

Video evidence is a lot more conclusive then "media reports"

And if you want to discuss official reports, the official report from Israel is there is no genocide in Gaza/Palestine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,957 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Why were there so many police in the arrivals hall at Bilbao airport to begin with? Looks like there were 20 or 30 of them there and they started beating the activists with batons within five seconds of a skirmish starting - the whole thing looked seriously dodgy. Heavy handed policing wouldn't even begin to describe it - they looked even more violent than the ICE crowd in the US.

Because a large group had turned up because of those arriving.

Also the rugby was on Friday and Saturday so there was a higher then normal volume of passengers

he did a bodyslam at 0.42. My point that reference this was given a time-stamp. You deliberately misunderstood because you rely on trickery to make your points valid. You are not interested in discourse. You are like a TY-debater, who is avidly listening and trying to seize on any opportunity to make a point, whether or not it makes sense

I notice on your screenshots that you did not include the photo of the police man at 0.27 shoving the man? An accidental mistake on your part? Let people watch the footage and make up their own minds

And the Oscar for the best female lead actor goes to....

Hard to take these people serious at all

There was no shove by the cop at 27 seconds. He is facilitating a man with his child in a buggy coming through arrivals and there would appear to be the minimal contact with the bearded guy, the cop had his back to the guy so how can he shove him.

The bearded guy then sticks a shoulder into the cop which escalated the situation from nothing to a well earned beating.

look up the principles of ATLS. When somebody has sustained physical trauma, you have to immobilise their neck until you make sure that it is not damaged. If the doctors did not immobilise and the patient had a broken neck, then the pt would end up paralysed. Take a walk through any A&E and you will see that neck collar. It doesn’t mean that everybody with it has a broken neck. It means that they have not yet excluded a broken neck. But if you know better than expert consensus and decades of medical practice, feel free to have a go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,877 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Jesus, posting snippets of videos from an account that calls themselves "GAZAWOOD - The PALLYWOOD SAGA" and expecting to be taken seriously.

🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,957 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Very rare that you see large numbers of police at any arrivals terminal terminal area in Europe, especially as airports have their own airport police all year round. Seemed almost like they sent 30 police officers to the arrivals hall with the intention of causing trouble, rather than preventing it - there to escalate things rather than de-escalate.