GENERAL World Cup Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,837 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Not a hope he was anywhere near top 5 a few years ago. Top 5 in his exact position maybe.

Has done nothing of note since 20/21 and that's being generous to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,731 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Tbh I get it… like, look at most squads, usually there's a few lads in there who are complete also-ran, just making up the numbers and only getting a handful of minutes. Using that spot for a national hero and their all time record goalscorer is grand, as long as he knows his place. And it seems he does, as Carlo has stated that he'll be on the bench, and maybe coming on, maybe not. I'd say at this stage of his career at 34, Neymar will just be happy to be involved, and tbh if he's as fit as Carlo has said he is, he probably does have something to offer.

I don't like him as a person, but he does have a level of creativity in attacking midfield (where he's been playing) that they're otherwise lacking. Could be important to unlock a defence late on.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,511 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

I can see your point and it’ll be nice to see him at the tournament but I think picking him is a sop to the Brazilian public who adore him.

IMG_1033.jpeg

talented squad with loads of familiar names that could threaten to win it …all sacrificed for Ronaldo’s ego who has been a complete bust at the last 3 tournaments …a shame but the FA get the Ronaldo merchandise cash so who needs to win anything major

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,481 ✭✭✭Iscreamkone

Twice in the top 3 in the world. Injuries have prevented him from reaching his true potential. He has been kicked/fouled far more than Messi or Ronaldo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,551 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Neymar came to Europe a bit later than expected at 21 years old, and those few years at Barca, he was brilliant, but then he moved to PSG and became irrelevant/Party Boy…

He had all the tools to be another elite player Messi/Ronaldo/Maradonna/Pele, but will never be remembered as such, not even close…

The mess that was his transfer from Santos to Barca (his parents being paid €40m as part of the deal, and Barca dodging taxes) didn't give him the best start either and it's been pretty much controversy after controversy since then..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭ronjo

Yeah the guy is Brazils top scorer ever on 79 goals, won a tonne of trophies but his career still has a "what if" feel to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,046 ✭✭✭✭josip

I saw Neymar play for PSG against Lille shortly after Covid. Of the 3, (Messi and Mbape) he put in the most work. Messi was disinterested unless he got the right ball in the right position. Mbape would try whenever he had the ball. But Neymar was the only one prepared to work when he didn't have the ball.

If by top 3 you mean Ballon d'Or that became a popularity contest years ago now. Gone back to normal a bit now with the lads gone thankfully but still not something I would go by.

Also those were 10 years ago. Don't think anyone denied he had serious talent back then but rose and fell very early in his career and is nowhere near what Brazilians think he is. If he wasn't Brazilian we wouldn't even be having this conversation but they pushed and pushed him because they were jealous that the greatest player ever talk in the 00's didn't include them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭jacool

Heard Ancelotti announcing the squad. Huge cheers for Neymar and also for, interestingly, Rayan.

They both got way more than any other player. Neymar's "cheer" was louder than Rayan to be fair.

I think you have to keep in mind with Neymar that Barca got 222 million for him and still got a bad deal. They spent more than 222 mn to replace him with Coutinho, Griezmann and Dembele and neither of the three came anywhere close to Neymar’s level of output.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭patob

Listening to Tim Vickery on Five live last night, was at the Brazil presser, which was something of a circus. Says that half the nation hate and half adore Neymar. Any Brazilians I have spoken to in Ireland are in the anti-Neymar camp. I hope that Don Carlo has made the right call.

Not for Barca but over their career I would have Griezmann or Dembele on my team any day over Neymar.

Might not look as flashy but both players have actually shown up on the biggest stages consistently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,381 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Neymar -injury allowing- was always likely to make the squads now they are still 26. Even with 23 man squads there was generally a slot or two for a veteran who was unlikely to be relied on but was still brought along more as a recognition for their career achievements than what they would actually provide.

Richarlison and Pedro didn't loose out because of Neymar anyway. Igor Thiago forced his way in and made himself undroppable which would have knocked Richi out. Then Rayans electric form since landing in England similarly forced himself in and Pedro lost out. I'd have kept Pedro and dropped Everton for Rayan instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭ronjo

Martinelli is a bit lucky to be picked. He did score 2 in last 3 games and Ancelotti is a fan supposedly.

IMG_1047.jpeg

Switzerland: look a big physical team. Could be a hard watch. Dont see many technicians in there.

IMG_1048.jpeg

Germany: probably won’t win it but will likely be a handful for France in a probable quarter final matchup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,390 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

It will be interesting to see how Portugal perform when their main man goes. Still in fairness Portugal did win a Euros with him cheerleading at one of the matches. Ronaldo is never going to be like the way Robbie Keane gradually faded out for Ireland. Knowing it was time to accept a sub role etc.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

I just saw that in the BBC.

https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/articles/c1k2g782m1ro

It’s framed as the two former bright prospects now yesterday’s news.

My first reaction was imagine having a squad that strong where you can leave out Foden AND Palmer? It’s sickening. Has to be arguably the strongest England squad ever on paper.

What worries me is Tuchel seems to be very pragmatic. More concerned about building a team. Than picking on reputation. That sort of thinking wins tournaments.

When Jack Charlton asked Ramsey why he picked him. Ramsey replied -

"I have a pattern of play in my mind, Jack, and I pick the best players to fit that pattern. I don't always necessarily pick the best players."

:-:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,573 ✭✭✭McGrath5

Forgot that Ivan Toney still plays professional football, a big call selecting him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭Torrey

There is an alternative England squad that is better than the squad picked!

If it was between him and DCL then I’d say that’s a good pick. Scored more in one season than any of the others bar Kane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dinorebel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭adaminho

In the Land of the blind the one eyed man is King!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,158 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

If he's set on playing a 4-2-3-1 even against weaker teams you could argue there's a cold, dare we say Teutonic logic to the squad he's picked. But it's arguably still disproprtionately weighted towards no. 10s over holding players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭TerrieBootson

Was never less interested in a WC :(

France look the squad to beat

Jayus I am the opposite after that weird Christmas world cup it is nice to have it back in the summer for a start. Plus there are plenty of teams for the neutrals to be watching even the likes of Norway, how far could one man carry them?