Ulster Team Talk Thread IV... Go On My Henderson...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭big-al

Wilson can bring serious carrying as well. I’m expecting career best performances from several Ulster players. We’ll need it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,089 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Delighted ye have Bobby Baloucoune back, hopefully with most of the verve he showed in the 6N

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,988 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

Montpellier Hérault Rugby starting XV:

15 Tom Banks; 14 Gabriel N'Gandebe, 13 Arthur Vincent, 12 Auguste Cadot, 11 Donovan Taofifenua; 10 Domingo Miotti, 9 Ali Price; 1 Enzo Forletta, 2 Jordan Uelese, 3 Mohamed Haouas; 4 Florian Verhaeghe, 5 Tyler DuGuid; 6 Lenni Nouchi, 7 Alex Becognee, 8 Billy Vunipola (c)

Replacements: 16 Lyam Akrab, 17 Baptiste Erdocio, 18 Wilfrid Hounkpatin, 19 Adam Beard, 20 Marco Tauleigne, 21 Leo Coly, 22 Thomas Darmon, 23 Jon Echegaray

https://www.epcrugby.com/challenge-cup/content/official-epcr-challenge-cup-final-line-ups-in-full

Montpellier without Camara in the BR and Piccardo at 12. No backup 10 (T.Vincent) on bench either.

Ulster 28-20 Montpellier

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 45,403 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Coly is covering 10 in the usual french '9 can play 10' fashion.

Im not convinced with Miotti any way, perfectly serviceable 10 who never impressed through his jaguares, force, glasgow days. Decent goal kicker though. Seems to have found his feet in monty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭autogrow

And he's also very much a 'break glass' back-up, to their actual back-up, Vincent. He can kick from the tee though and slotted over a difficult last min pen to beat Castres in Dec.

Montpellier game is almost exclusively built around an excellent set-piece and 'taking your points'. Miottti is a superb kicker. His kicking form the tee must be close to 90%.

Ali Price-Miotti might not be the flashiest halfback pairing but they are very effective at putting the pack in the right ares of the field and keeping them on the front foot off quick rucks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭RAKM

If Ulster lose do Connacht qualify for the Champions cup next season?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭FtD v2

Yep; the current situation where Connacht have already qualified would be confirmed.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 45,403 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

not sure of your point??

hes named on the bench for Friday night.

Darmon could possibly cover 10 as well, as thats where he started out playing, but Coly has actually stated a game at 10 more recent than Darmon (last season)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,699 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Seems very tough on Kok to miss out on a last appearance for y'all, would have him over Ward personally, for his defense if nothing else.

Nah - Kok can be a complete liability positionally in defence too IMO, even though he's a committed tackler.

He'll finish off tries, but he can't score tries like the two Ward bagged last week against Glasgow, and that's the kind of gamebreaking you need.

I'd have Kok on the bench over McIlroy probably, but I'd 100% have Ward & Baloucoune starting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭ljsulster

Ward is statistically one of the best back 3 in Europe. Never really rated Kok- full of energy but don’t feel he uses it overly well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭bingobango12

Obviously missing McCloskey and Stockdale but that’s a good strong starting 15. I feel your bench is pretty weak bar Ward but fingers crossed you can get across the line. Best of luck fellas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭big-al

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 864 ✭✭✭ShineyShiney

Best of Luck tonight lads, as a Connacht fan I'm a little conflicted but wouldn't begrudge you lots a shiney pot.

Very excited to see Postlethwaite do his best Stu impression. I think he can make a dint in that Montpeliier 10-12 channel. Gets an offload or 2 away and Lowry/Baloucoune will light up San Mames tonight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,044 ✭✭✭connachta

I would. Connacht DESPERATELY need Champions Cup. C'Mon Montpellier, close yor eyes about some players past and enjoy the strenght of TOP14 2nd best!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭Ben Bailey

As a Blue living in Green land, I can understand that Connacht supporters favour an MHR win. But I'll be cheering on the Irish Province. G'wan Ulster, bring it home.

I'd cheer for (and always have) any Irish province in a final (except against Leinster obviously) and tonight will be no different.

Lots of Leinster fans wearing white Leinster jerseys tonight in the ground expected and cheering on Ulster.

Winning a final with this young team, against a really good and tough Montpellier side, missing 3 or 4 absolute totems of Ulster rugby for the last decade or so (McCloskey, Henderson, Herring, Stockdale) would be an enormous achievement, a huge development milestone for these young players, and unquestionably a great development for Irish rugby IMO.

It's unfortunate for Connacht, but 100% want Ulster to win tonight.

Winning a final with this young team, against a really good and tough
    Montpellier side, missing 3 or 4 absolute totems of Ulster rugby for the
    last decade or so (McCloskey, Henderson, Herring, Stockdale) would be
    an enormous achievement,

So that's why it won't happen.

I'd be in Ulster support in most of the situations but not against Connacht massively important Champions Cup spot.
    Ulster have and will always have enough money. Connacht with Sportground re-developpement are broke. We need those 2 games to fill the stadium and attract good signings long-term

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,477 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Understandable in fairness.

Although I'm not sure the Ulster beancounters would be happy with two years out of the Champions Cup. Although as a ST holder I've enjoyed this season a lot more than any in recent years so from a fan experience POV I'm not that bothered about the Champions Cup, it's lost it's shine ever since it was called that IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,379 ✭✭✭Paul Smeenus

Fully appreciate that you would rather Connacht had Champion's Cup than Ulster - of course you would. Fair play.

But lets's not try to make it a quasi-analytical, objective take about finances and what each team needs etc. Philip Quinn said that missing out on Champion's Cup would cost Munster a million - I assume the same's true of Ulster. A second season of that would/will be brutal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭OldRio

36C at the moment in Bilbao. A yellow level heat warning in place until this evening. Good grief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Tommybojangles

More well wishes from the connacht thread. F*** scraping into the watered down Champions Cup, winning trophies is what sport is supposed to be about and here's hoping you win tonight and we win the URC

No, I've said Champions Cup and the million matters more for Connacht than Ulster.

Ulster will exist at high level and qualify more often than not. Connacht are obviously and still will be more fragile for the next 10 years, till the Sportsground is paid. Even with Dexcom/Gov funds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭ironingbored

Would absolutely take two Irish wins this weekend and a Connacht URC.

Best of luck tonight and hope there are lots of Leinster fans in white.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭longjohn200

Regardless of result, I hope Ulster leave with no regrets and the result isn't decided on a dodgy TMO/ref call!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭50HX

Best of luck Ulster.

I think its a mad call to out all the CC eggs in this basket but sure what do I know😁

Big big task v Montpellier.

IIt would be something special to win & give the provence a huge boost going forward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭SaoPaulo41

Is anyone else's tv sort of stuttering, buffering?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,437 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lost Ormond

lot of complaints on x about it. yeah few places having a mare showing it