Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭The_Tank

I’d say that for sure in the first half especially when we hit some stupid pot shots. But even when we hit the ball in for the second half we were cleaned on first touch, on the breaks, and in the air.

Brian Dowlings stock rose after this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

Yes beaten all one the field and during the first half it was clear that the Galway backs were able to come out with the ball much easier than the Kilkenny backs, and were able to deliver much better ball into their forwards.

Kilkenny players tried hard to be fair but Galway are a good step ahead of Kilkenny (and to be fair always have been in terms of this u20 group), imagine if Niland had been playing.

Ed Lahauff one of the few positives for Kilkenny tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Charlie69

Galway by far the better team, some lovely hurlers on their team and you’d imagine they’ll mine quite a few seniors off of it. Bergin, Sweeney and Buggy improved of us when they came on but it was a very poor performance, Kilkenny players first touch was so bad for this level and when they got possession they made bad decisions with the majority of it. No fight no aggression… very disappointing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Firstsub

Very, very disappointing.Minors had a number of players with potential. I honestly couldn't pick out 1 player from the U20's. Poor first touch, cleaned out at rucks and in the air, general lack of skills, no off the shoulder running. On 4 occasions, a Kilkenny player in plenty of space hit the ball directly to an opponent 20 metres away. Players battled hard but the standard of play was very disappointing. Kilkenny hurling is in a severe critical place now. Emergency procedures are required now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Village87

Lahouf, Mcderrmott, Garrett, Vereker, Dollard, Kelly, Bergin all played last year. A lot of and probably 5/6 them played some part in the final last year.

The gulf in class was very disappointing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Hurlarious

Given the decade-long absence of All-Irelands , compounding losses across all grades, and a pattern of results reflecting systemic failure, affiliated clubs should formally requisition a Special Convention under GAA Rule 3.10 to demand a full review of management structures, selection processes, and county board accountability without delay.

thanks ChatGPT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

Agreed re the decision making.

Watching Kilkenny underage teams a lot over the past 10 years, one item that keeps coming up is selfish play taking place and Kilkenny players playing for themselves as opposed to the team.

I see the same players doing it week in week out- not passing the ball to the man in the best position but taking on shots from the sideline - hail Mary attempts - as opposed to playing it to the man who is best placed to shoot. Or backs who decide they have to run the ball every time and lose it in contact as opposed to just passing it. And the worst thing is that these same players get picked week after week on team after team and nobody shouts stop and says you will be out on the bench if you keep doing that - so there seems to be no consequences to this type of play and so the cycle continues.

And then when Kilkenny underage teams come up against a team (who it's drilled into them that it's all about the collective and it doesn't matter who scores) it can become very apparent that this type of individualism doesn't work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Ah stop. We were cleaned out of it. Galway defence walked out with the ball.

Lot of reputations took a battering tonight, albeit that's an excellent Galway team. Killeen ruled the midfield. Physically far stronger too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Marrooned

I thought Lauhoff and Anthony Clifford were our standout players. Kilkenny didn’t look like they were motivated from the start.and were always second best. Hope the weekend changes things Celtic challenge against Galway on Saturday and the Dubs on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Give it to tj

TTbf To barcoe at least he fought in the last 5 mins when we were 8 down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,584 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Could the lads who spent the last few weeks scolding people for being too negative on this thread spare us the lectures tonight? That was a shambles and if we aren't willing to call it out we are going nowhere. That's a team that had high expectations. Didn't need a win, just brave performances, a bit of tactical savvy, a clear sense of what people's job is etc. The minor team a few days ago let go a big lead but there was so much positive about it, and that's a side and a management that was written off. This group was highly touted and the red carpet was laid out for Henry. It's not good enough and there's an urgent need right now for a full review of the entire county set up. Every year we stumble along trying to cobble together a better performance is another year wasted. It's not all on Henry today, or all on anyone, the whole setup is simply not up to standard and the occasional positive result shouldn't blind us to the overall pattern of decline. And beating Dublin at the weekend, if we happen to do it which I'm not confident of, would be a great result but it wouldn't change the fact that the county is in a crisis right now.

that Galway team are on a mission to avenge the minor loss to Clare and I think they will beat Clare and beat them well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭jamesbond2022

Where things are falling down for me

Basic skills- struggling to win ball in the air at all levels tendency for players to bat the ball down rather than go with the hand

Taking two to three goes to rise a ball hurling to slow 

Can’t win clean position 

Tactically-can’t predict quick enough what opposition will do with the ball short puckouts line balls teams running the ball up the pitch to slow slow to react never pro active always reactive 

We are not throwing the ball enough 

Athletically-Players aren’t quick enough can’t change direction stop turn pivot out of trouble to offload the ball no angled running from forwards or backs supporting the man in possession all to static 

Fitness levels aren’t highly enough to play a running game off the shoulder we don’t have players breaking lines to offload the ball

Structurally-When we do play a game plan we struggle because of all the above breaking down and our players don’t seem to understand where they should be on the field from a puckout a line ball etc 

Often our only game plan is to hit it long to the big man and work from there opposition deploy a free man or numbers under the break and work the ball out over and over again 

Opposition always seem to have spare men against us we’re not able to read where the ball will be always one step behind our forwards in particular seem to be outnumbered by the oppositions backs far to often

We have a generation of tactically inept coaches which is all down to our county board being asleep at the wheel for far too long 

The players we are producing are not that bad but we just don’t seem to be tactically aware on the field or able to see what’s happening in front of them and that’s down to coaching 

Teams are taking the ball short against all our teams running it up pop pop pass  point or goal without a hand being put on them and it’s all done at pace 

Or it’s a couple of passes and a perfect ball into there forwards putting massive pressure on our backs every time

These issues are prevalent from senior right down to minor same issues all the time we just don’t hurl smart on the field anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,176 ✭✭✭robbiezero

I think it will be a cracker. Two good teams.

Didn't see anything from Galway tonight that would suggest they will beat Clare comfortably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭Willie Power

An Offaly man was going through his all time greats on the Wexford Scrap Book page on Facebook. A few names might give ye a laugh.

1000035964.jpg

"He might be an eejit, but he's our eejit"
    Willie Power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Neewollah

That was a tough watch tonight. We are in a really bad place overall. Can't seem to get anything right.

I've gone to a fair amount of underage club games in recent years after a few years of a break. One thing that sticks out to me compared to games 15/20 years ago is that the standard, in my opinion, in nowhere near as good. I think the root cause of most of our problems is poor club coaching from the age of 6 to 14 before lads start hitting county squads.

A lot of players first touch is poor and handling is awful. Catching the ball seems to be a forgotten skill of the game in Kilkenny. IMO catching should be one of the 1st things drilled into young players and the advantage of being able to catch a ball without touching your hurl needs to be focused on. High fielding is few and far between at club level in Kilkenny nowadays when it used to be one of our strengths.

I know all clubs, including my own, have had huge issues trying to get people involved in coaching and I think we are paying the price for that as a county. Don't know why so many people shy away from it when they are there with their kids anyway watching on. Our kids need more people to want to coach and to drive standards. Without that in clubs our county team will never succeed. We could have Pep Guardiola coaching the county teams but if the players skills aren't perfected at a young age they will always have flaws when under pressure at an elite level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,007 ✭✭✭kk.man

Too much favouritism ranks in kk at the minute.… when that stops we might get somewhere. If it keeps going kilkenny are on a hiding to nowhere.

Ye I think you’re right but club coaching before ever going into accademies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Sir Chaz

Very sobering night. We looked flat from the beginning I thought, and Galway's defence were on top throughout. Galway's forwards seemed to have tonnes more space than we did, particularly the full forward line. I felt sorry for our full back line with the quality of ball they were getting in. Even when we held up runners, they repeatedly had options straight away off the shoulder. Our attack on the other hand lacked spark and aggression, and even the few decent balls that came in which favoured our attackers, seemed to come out twice as fast.

Plenty of theories here but it's very hard to put a finger on it. I'm not sure the best team was on the field at the start, and far too many of our players were passive throughout. Galway were the better team and crucially they looked like they wanted it more, and the result was a 9 point defeat which flattered us on the night. I reckon the scare that Galway got against Wexford really benefitted them and they looked like they were making sure that performance wasn't repeated. We on the other hand had 2 bloodless victories against what was vastly inferior opposition. In hindsight it was very poor preparation for a game against a side of Galway's quality, who were on a mission after their poor display against Wexford.

Fair play to Galway, they have some excellent players and their attitude was spot on. I hope they go on to win it out.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭jimmythesulk

Very much true. After hitting the nail on the head there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 ready to go

Very disappointing showing last night

We were likely set up wrong from the start

40 players on the U20 panel ……. Most carry 30

How can you drive all 40 , most know they will never tog out for any match , going along for the spin .
    drive to be on 24 named and then the 15 drives the panel !

2025 loss to Waterford in u17 semi was a major disappointment but it showed something, that ,that panel are not as good as they make out … that loss is not solely on management, those players got a lot of chances, last year , the year before and now this year.

cbc Kilkenny exist from schools this year was a major disappointment and prob the most under delivered team of the year. again lots of players involved in U20 set up and how strong was the Kieran’s team this year. Only three started Last night in the end.

but more worryingly is what will change !!!!

Our 64 players at U14 squads are in a Gym one night and on grass one day

We are obsessed with gyms , when we fail to master the skills of the game…….. while the county lead on this is on the sideline last night ….

Route and beach review of squads has to be a priority, put the focus back on all underage club games …… all squads players from U20 down should play all club games from minor down to U14 no exceptions.

we have to dig in now and make changes and bring everyone along the journey and stay united.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭Nickindublin

I was going to say that about our seniors in a post lately. We have hurlers that give 100% and they have the ability to win an AI but we just don't have the cuteness or as you said a hurling brain and composure under pressure. It cost us an AI final appearance last year too. Its probably a big reason why we struggle with the modern game too when the pressure come on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭Ceist_Beag

The question is, why is this the case (and I agree it is an issue)? Is it a symptom of our development squads? I've watched some of those sessions and it's incredibly individual. Every man is trying too much on their own, presumably trying to impress. I don't know if that is the cause (or partially the cause), but you can certainly see more individual play in our teams where the better option is the pass. Is there too much emphasis on picking the best individuals across the county instead of picking the best team players?

To all the posters commenting, all have great points mostly about development.but it goes back to Michael Fennelly and his statement about the amount of work he had to do to get the young lads to the level of skill that they should have been coming in to the academies said it all about club coaching. I just saw the Dicksboro U 15 or 16 team ( still confused) , I was amazed at there skillls level there catching, striking and moving were very impressive and their victories were Hugh. Jim Neary’s fingerprints were all over it. I still think there should be be a skillls based camp in the summer for U12’s include everyone who has just finished national school have competitions , prizes etc. at Club level nobody wants the U6 or U8 teams(no glory in that) and this is at the most critical level of development. How did some intercounty hurlers come through the ranks of the academies only able to strike the ball on one side?

stupid statement by Andy ahead of Sunday’s game, the Dubs won’t need anymore motivation than that. Never run down the opposition. Just on last night there was a big difference when we met Galway a few weeks ago and last night and there manager more or less said that on the post match interview and Wexford’s performance as well took away any complacency they might have had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Charlie69

I’m repeating myself now and repeating what others have said already but last night was very worrying. Forget about tactics or systems for a minute… the really concerning thing for me is that the absolute basics weren’t even there . Kilkenny inter county players struggling to catch high ball , first touch all over the place, taking far too long to rise or control the ball and even a couple of players penalised for catching the ball three times . That’s absolutely shocking at this level.

The use of the ball when in possession was soul destroying to watch , poor decision making, aimless deliveries and absolutely no evidence of hurling intelligence or awareness under pressure.

Galway looked hungrier, more composed on the ball and technically way ahead of our lads. Kilkenny were always known for producing fundamentally sound hurlers with immaculate touch and game intelligence. So what’s changed? Is too much focus being put on physique and modern systems instead of developing the skills of the game? Are young players not spending enough time mastering the basics anymore?. I hope the seniors win at the weekend to give Kilkenny hurling a bit of a lift but make no mistake about it our underage development is not in a good place right now and last night has raised some serious questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭The_Tank

Losing to Galway underage is no surprise - they have always been incredibly strong and produce solid teams every single year. But the manner of losing and the discrepancy between the two teams was very concerning.

Go back a couple of years and all you heard was the need S&C for Kilkenny - because we were blown out of it a few times underage. Now the pendulum has swung the opposite way and the opinion is too much S&C and not enough hurling.

Is it the case that Galway just have a golden generation? Or have they cracked what plagued them for years - the ability to bring through senior ready players.

Considering Galway are as orthodox as ourselves in their hurling philosophy it wouldn't do us any harm to go up and learn what they did different to bring through such a great crop of players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭Glenomra

When I previously commented on Kilkenny hurling one poster suggested that I concentrate on the Clare forum. But intrigued as I am with Kilkenny hurling and also with Limerick, Tipperary, Cork, Waterford, Galway and Wexford hurling not to mention the Banner, here goes. If you are by far the most successful team in the history of hurling, producing some of the most celebrated and skilful players ever, naturally one's fortunes will be a topic of conversation amongst hurling fans. Last night's performance by Kilkenny was a strange one, not losing as every team loses, but in the actual performance. Kilkenny looked a far inferior team to Galway, displaying none of the traditional skill and cohesion one associates with the county. To be fair Galway were far more focused, better coached than many of their previous teams, with none of the play acting they occasionally engaged in previously. Just wondering if Kilkenny's apparent decline is an inevitable result of years of dominance, a decade ago it appeared inevitable that Kilkenny would continue to dominate hurling. Administrators, management, coaches etc probably became complacent and standards dropped. Other counties invested in coaching and have caughtup , or are catching up. Here in Clare there's huge emphasis on coaching, hurling camps etc and it's paying dividends. Hurling at under-age is becoming the 'religion ' it always appeared to me to be in Kilkenny. Incidentally, Galway's hurling coach last night was a Clareman. 2 of Limerick all Ireland winning teams' coaches were also from Clare. I have no doubt, as reflected in the volume of comments on this forum, that Kilkenny will learn a few lessons and get back to the top relatively soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Sir Chaz

We hammered Galway at U17 four times over the last two years and should have beaten them again on Monday. On the other hand our 2023 minors were easily beaten by Galway on 2 occasions, which would have been last night's 20's group. I don't think it's the case that Galway are doing anything magic up to U17 over the past 4 years and we're not. That doesn't mean we don't have serious issues with our development squads, I think we do. The elephant in the room with development squads is that a very high percentage of the coaches in there are not involved with their clubs, and to put it politely, the clubs aren't overly worried about that fact.

Look, last night was really depressing, but in the cold light of day, the fact remains that this 20 group would have had very little expected of them given they were so far off it at minor level , but the hope would have been the addition of younger players would have bolstered it and improved it from the 2023 version. On a quick count there were 8 U20 players (2023 Minors), 5 U19 (2024), and 2 U18 (2023) starting. There's some very good hurlers there and some big reputations (people should remember though that's not driven by players themselves) , but apart from one or two lads, we seemed miles off it attitude wise and I'm afraid to say, gameplan and structure wise as well. Is it a legacy of the previous coaches these lads have had or is it a failure of current management? I honestly don't know but even if we accept that perhaps maybe too much was expected last night, something is off. I think personally we seem to lack a hardness and a ruthlessness in our teams which we always had in abundance. When it came down to it last night, Galway appeared to have more 'men' than we did. And I don't say that lightly.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭jamesbond2022

Players do the most developing from 17-22 if they can’t improve the skills of the game in those 5 years along with there athletic ability something is very wrong some where with coaching

I would agree as regards ruthlessness and hardness I saw a good few players give up on balls once there man got there first last night a real lack of appetite for hard work and hard running

Some lads heads dropped after 10-15mins when they were beaten to a few balls

Galway ate us alive on breaking ball and moved the ball with pace an purpose all night