Mayo GAA Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭FullBack Jam

I think a lot of people would agree with the principles you are saying. However to compare him to a bad smell, saying that he is disruptive and selfish is very inappropriate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

Cillian hasn't even played a full game this year when you add up all his minutes. Against Roscommon we were 7 points down when he came on.. we then conceded direct from the next two kickouts so 9 points down. It's mad the amount of stick he has gotten in the last few weeks.

He wasn't involved at all last year and we had a dreadful season by any metric.

John heslin was brought back into the Westmeath panel to good effect and is the exact same age as Cillian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,434 ✭✭✭MacDanger

There's a lot of talk about Andy bringing back older players, etc. and while I agree with the general thrust of it, it also ignores the fact that we were eaten alive at MF against Roscommon and that's where the game was lost. A new keeper, FB & corner FF might be needed but that's not going to be enough to beat Monaghan or anyone else - winning the MF battle is the key to any game these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭Westernview

John Heslin is clearly in great shape and is shooting the lights out for his club while Cillian hasn't been able to stay fit enough to play regularly for Ballintubber the last few years. There's no comparison.

I dont agree with any disrespect towards him but his race is surely run at this level and I'd rather see a young player get 10 or 15 mins championship experience than a great servant who just cannot reach the levels anymore.

Well it's the disrespect towards him that I have a problem with. IMO it was fair enough for Andy to invite him back in this year to see if he could reach the required level again. It's a panel of 35 or 40 at the end of the day.

It hasn't worked out for Cillian but he also doesn't deserve the blame for us getting hammered by Roscommon. Surely it's the ones who are playing nearly every minute that are most at fault.

No one is putting the blame for the Roscommon loss solely on Cillians shoulders. But he is one of the players that won't be part of any 3 year plan. Its more of a criticism of management to bring him back along with other players past their best. I don't buy into the idea that it was worth trying and it didnt work. Andy and Boyle should have realised we had to move on. I said this when he was appointed and nothing has changed.

Plenty of players have to shoulder the blame from the Roscommon game but most of those are much younger and arent breaking down under training loads. Some will have to be dropped, some will be selected again with along with new faces hopefully.

I think people are a bit over sensitive here. Every player has to go at some point. Keegan, McDonald, McHale, Nallen all great servants reached the end and made way for others but kept playing with their clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭spakman

Nobody is arguing with those saying that Cillian's time is probably up.

It's the insulting of one of Mayo's all time greats that people reacted to. Referring to him as a bad smell and selfish is beyond the pale.

Just because you think he's past it doesn't mean it's open season and he deserves to be insulted.

Read my last 2 comments again. I said I didnt agree with any disrespect towards him and I disagreed with any suggestion that he was smouldering all the blame. I stand by each of thise points. He isnt like a bad smell but Andy shouldn't have convinced him to return. I actually think he wanted to stay retired but Andy is a very convincing character.

Well my point is I heard quite a lot of criticism of Cillian after the Roscommon game and the Kerry league game.. despite both being over as a contest when he came on.

Talk of a 3 year plan is nonsense. Andy was aiming to win something this year and that's why he brought back a few experienced lads into the panel to help guide younger players. He'll be aiming to win something next year as well when it comes around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

I don't think there was a lot of criticism for COC, AOS, Hennelly etc. The criticism was laid at management. I think it is poor judgement by management to expect them to deliver performances that they could do in their mid 20s and even go as far as to leave them exposed - this had to be evident in training. I can understand that they may want to wait on, but ultimately management need to understand what they can do and more importantly what they can't do. This is why they are there and its time to move on and try to find new leaders. This is not been disrespectful but part of life and getting older.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,248 ✭✭✭PressRun

I see Davitt Neary officially charged with that assault in Castlebar. Wasted potential there but glad a hard stance was taken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭Vish81

Yet he broke down yet "again".

Unlike Heaslin , his body simply cannot cope with the demands.

That's fair enough but I just don't see why it's such a big deal.. management took a punt by bringing him back in the hope he could regain fitness and make an impact. Many players have gone through injury troubles and came out the other side of it (Michael Murphy, Damien Comer etc).

There are plenty of young players on the panel and team so it's not like Cillian is stunting the whole squad's development by being there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭muddle84

When Andy got the job there was alot of people(including myself) that were worried he would be too attached to the older players that he played with and not be able to make the difficult decisions that that alot of people(including myself) think need to be made. Bringing Cillian back and giving him game time is game time that another player could be getting and developing. Just like sticking with Hennelly and Aiden as well.

You can't play football forever and these lads had their time and gave us some great days, but in the end they weren't good enough in their peak so its time to move on and look to the future. So in my opinion, its not just about Cillian. If there had been a clear out and more faith put in younger developing players and Cillian still there as an impact sub then it wouldn't be such a big deal at all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,547 ✭✭✭naughto

He has a 3 yr contract yet still went with the old faithful should he not have started youth in yr 1,brought then on in development in yr2 an have a right good craic at it for yr 3.

This craic of having the older lads there to help the younger lads is a load of boll1ix if anything the manager will be listening to the older lads views than his own people.

But Cillian was an impact sub, and barely that, he only played a handful of minutes, so I don't see how he impacted other players - Beirne and McHale played the whole league between them

Exactly. Two rookies started in the forwards vs Roscommon. Yes O'Shea did as well but he was hooked after 45 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Compo82

David Coldrick named to ref. Doesn't really do Mayo any favours.

The poster is talking about player development and the future. If you have a panel of 35, if COC is there, it removes the possibility of having a guy like Tom Lydon on the panel if he is number 36. Its over and has been for awhile and people need to move on and look to the future. Andy's team the next day will be one hot topic!!

Yes you plan for the future, but you also try to win every day you go out.

Andy decided Cillian still had something to offer. I didn't see the evidence for it tbh based on club form, but if he thinks a player can offer something for the year, he's right to bring him in. If a younger player is better, he'll get in ahead of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,547 ✭✭✭naughto

He will in his hole sure Cillian is good friend's with moran,you think a young lad has any change of game time ahead if him.

also rumours Jordan hurt himself in training don't no how serious it is mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,022 ✭✭✭✭irishgeo

The youth didn't cover themselves in glory against Roscommon. No fight in them. 2nd to every breaking ball.

There is no evidence for it in club or county because Cillian has played very little football in the last 2 years because his body isn't able for it. So that goes back to the concerns that so many of us have, if there's no evidence to show that he has something to offer, is he only there because he's one of the lads?

If we're good enough to win then it doesn't matter who the ref is!

Did anyone listen to Keegan talking about the height of their powers and playing against Dublin. He spoke in a way that it was like war and not giving an inch, intimidation, bullying etc and all within the rules to be proper contenders, omg he was a proper footballer in every aspect. I think there is a disconnect between some people of what they want and been realistic of the expectations based on what is chosen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭The Supporter

It was stated after Tyrone beat Roscommon that Malachy O Rourke used the last six weeks very well to get Tyrone into the shape that they could defeat Roscommon in The Hyde minus the two Canavan brothers, how well did Andy use the last six weeks?,we will know on Sunday, is he able to put a bit of fight and determination into the Team, O Rourke said refering to his team"Thers a great spirit among them".Will we show any spirit on Sunday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,434 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Was listening to the Ah Ref pod yesterday and the lads are very positive about our chances in a way that I wouldn't be at all. I get the 2 week turnaround after 2 games going to ET is somewhat of a negative for Monaghan but performance & attitude-wise, they've been streets ahead of us so far in the championship.

I'll be travelling to Clones but more in hope than expectation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

I wonder how accurate this will be. Id be surprised to see so many postional changes, even if justified

https://www.con-telegraph.ie/2026/05/27/moran-set-to-make-sweeping-mayo-changes-for-tricky-clash-in-clones/?fbclid=IwY2xjawSEI71leHRuA2FlbQIxMQBzcnRjBmFwcF9pZA80MDk5NjI2MjMwODU2MDkAAR703S4VQF3GmTBRaKoup8Com0njVi2Cyz_LBCn-rp3tEbjE_bzwo8-hkcb0nA_aem_7juX6cjxAhluhiZVucx_Hg

A bit of diivilment from Henry there I think. He knows there won't be that many changes but he also knows Moran is under pressure to make significant changes.

I expect Mayo to come fast out of the blocks. The real test will be if the game is still in the melting pot in the second half. We will see them if this team has the metal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,355 ✭✭✭HBC08