Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭jamesbond2022

From what I’ve seen this year he is a sweeper he was on a mountain of ball the last day in portlaoise not as obvious as maybe neary last year but he’s definitely free more often than not

He maybe just doesn’t try run the ball out as much as neary last year though

Fingers crossed 🤞

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭Happyilylost

There is a lot of optics to it. To be honest I don't feel it has anything to do with ye or trying to be smart or clever. Think it's more in-house issues and how best to manage them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Charlie69

I realise he was two years younger but he was on so much ball in the 2024 minor all Ireland final as he was one of the free men when Tipp lost a couple of players and he just didn’t use the ball well that evening at all … did a little solo and then hit long ball into the forwards when the game was crying out for us to carry the ball into contact, draw the man and make the pitch as big as possible. He’s a fine hurler with a good first touch and I’m sure he’s learned from that whole experience. I expect to see him in black and amber for many years to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭ttowncat

"Ex-Kilkenny hurling captain Comerford: Dublin are 'no great shakes' "

This certainly doesn't help..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭Willie Power

I don't mind speaking out once or twice but he's getting too gobby now.

Kilkenny levelling goal as I type, going to be another tight one!

"He might be an eejit, but he's our eejit"
    Willie Power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭me89

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,517 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

Galways ability to catch, control a ball or read a break is so so far ahead of us

Big second half needed, some really sloppy turnovers. Full forward lines needs to get going nothing sticking

Our first touch is so poor… how many attempts to rise a ball? Galway far more aggressive and first to every break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Firstsub

Very poor from Kilkenny. Losing every ruck and first touch of some players is poor. Only complaint is the clear throw for Galway's goal but ref is not even blowing for throws 5 metres from himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭hogans heroes

Its A throw fest,something really has to be done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Village87

Garrett could do with coming out he has been cleaned in the first half

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,638 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,007 ✭✭✭kk.man

Did any see Andy Comerfords interview in the Examiner?...im only the getting headlines on the phone but the titled piece read 'Dublin are no great shakes' not ideal going into an almost do or die game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

Dollard having an absolute mare here. Needs to get the curly finger

• Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭terracedgarden

This ref is doing everything he can to fcuk us over

Galway man coming out with the ball out of every ruck…

This is so frustrating, bullied and basic skill level was way off. A long way off the pace and another depressing result for kilkenny hurling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭mullinr2

God we are so poor. Whatever about the minors, they were actually decent, but these u20s are way off the pace of what is required. How many on the team from last years u20 final team?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,517 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

Lightyears off it. Congrats to Galway.

The biggest issue in Kilkenny hurling. More than speed, more than size, even more than the fact our hurling is poor... Is brains. Serious lack of intelligence in players at all levels. Decision making and reading of the game is shocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭Conversations 3

They can't keep up with the pace of the Galway lads at all.

Galway are getting some distance on the throw balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭The_Tank

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 824 ✭✭✭bamayang

How they decided to put Barcoe back at 3 is madness. Cleaned for every ball and inevitable a second yellow would eventually arrive.

Two best players in Barcoe and Garrett absolutely cleaned out of it

That was a humiliating night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭Pigeon Chaser

Pretty poor showing from the u20 team.

Galway had more hurling in them, were faster, stronger, more intelligent, more skillful, better coached and seemed a lot more up for it and were clear deserving winners.

One thing that greatly saddened me is the amount of throwing in the game. It's sad that teenagers would play the game like this. It shows it is endemic in the sport.

I wish the GAA would take action to address this but sadly there appears to be no appetite to do so.

Congrats to Galway. Deserving winners. Hope they can beat Clare too.

To be fair to Garrett and Barcoe when there’s an endless supply of very good ball coming in there’s only so much you can do… they weren’t the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Moosey15

6 defeats v Galway in last couple of months at the three grades , it’s beyond embarrassing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Hurlarious

another humiliation, what does is take for an absolute root and branch review of the failures over the last decade or are the county board just going to let the rot continue, because it can and it will get worse.

What were Henry and Hogan at putting Dollard at 6 it was shambolic. Dogs on the street could see this was going to be an issue. 6 Needs to be solid, not pulling out of tackles and avoiding contesting high balls