RTE LiveLine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,298 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Kieran: "I don't know about that story, and maybe that's a poor reflection on me."

It is.

17792852151331387014209354399765.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,122 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

Here's an idea, maybe RTE could have a caller driven show where people call in with their issues? Not the agenda of the presenter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,546 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Who is she calling a journalist? 😛

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,708 ✭✭✭FAILSAFE 00

Take that Kieran lol

"i don't know, i was not listening" 😄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,212 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Maybe drop the nonsense from the george 🤔

I am going to say I really enjoyed todays Liveline. Unfortunately, I enjoyed it for all the wrong reasons.

She may be getting a round of applause in aisle 4

You 💩 Kieran, he listed a number of topics that Liveline covered in the past week or so, anti-Semitism, racism, the death on Henry Street, the Dublin Rose of Tralee and more.

They were all completely biased, and basically it was saying that Irish people are bad.

the 14:59 ad break now

And none were what people wanted to talk about. OK some people wanted to talk about them, but the vast majority did not care or were interested. And one topic should not have been aired to begin with.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,700 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

The money tree is starting to fade, meta just the start of it, will be fun and games then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭z80CPU
    Darth 8-bit

^^ Biffo of the Drink-In sessions with the rest of FF way back when. Innocent times

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,700 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

I'd such a great time during the celtic tiger, was just the right age, working, living at home (way beyond my means!) had an absolute blast. Luckily didn't get burned as wasn't old enough to really buy an apartment in Bulgaria.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,539 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

I wonder if she hands out professional advice to people on how to dodge bullets, like Eleanor Donaldson today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭Dublin Calling

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,919 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

That’ll set back the poor woman’s recovery now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Coolcormack1979

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭Dublin Calling

I am listening back to the podcast. It is just as interesting as the Dail Committee. False Accounting is not here to defend itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,438 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Based on all this stuff going on in RTE it would appear that nobody, both some employees and some management

had no clue…..no clue at all….. how to manage money.

The boy Butters was right, the place was a shambles both in management and employee structures .

People have been banging on about the way the place was run here on this site for yonks.

Any semi - intelligent individual could see how out of kilter and shoddy the whole corporate package was.

Like Humpty Dumpty the difficulty now will be putting pieces back to a cogent properly run entity.

Will be extremely difficult .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,251 ✭✭✭avfc1874

Derek Mooney presenting the today programme on TV this afternoon

Only a coincidence that he'd be presenting something this week 🤔

Probably produced it as well 🤔😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭Ben Bailey

Ah, I don't mind Mooney, at least he knows something about his core subject.

I'm reminded of the famous quote from Todd Andrews who was persuaded at the age of 65 to chair the RTE Authority by then Taoiseach Sean Lemass (having just retired from CIE). He was asked by reporters what he thought was the main difference between CIE & RTE.

He replied 'RTE carries more passengers'.

That was 1965. Plus ca change, as they say in Montrose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Homesick Alien

By the "vast majority of people " do you mean "you"?

I don't think RTE was always that badly run. But I believe they are way overstaffed for their current level of output. In saying that, most of the staff are not on big money. There seems to be a lot of 'personal contracts' for those in the inner circle. A good friend of the family presented a number of historical documentaries in the late 80s - early 90s, the days of educational programming. He made these with both the BBC and RTE and would talk about how tight RTE was with money. They would have crew of about 4/5 out filming (Himself, Camera, Sound, Director), with every penny watched. While with the BBC there would be 12 people on the crew, and no money issues within reason. Of course, these days there YouTubers producing professional historical documentaries as a one man show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,212 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

well done well done well done

I went in to secondary school in France for a few weeks. The unisex jacks were a row of about 20 or more individual cubicles, with a low wall in front. This wall had the sinks attached. Where there would have been mirrors above the sinks was open for all to see. This was horror of horrors an outside jacks, that opened to on one of the main school yards. Your wan would have an conniption as such a setup.

Actually, I wonder has she even been in UCD's Swimming pool changing room?

All these systems work well with no issues.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,919 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

No Sandra it’s not of national interest. Only of interest to you.