Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 12.02.26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,697 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Henry is brought in because its his and De Bruynes record that is being passed. Why wouldn't he be in the conversation.

Nobody has said Bruno doesn't deserve praise, I just said that I find it cringy that pundits ignore that context.

Bruno will likely break the assist record by one on Sunday. What this should do is highlight even more just how impressive that Henry season was, but instead most media just gloss over it and want to put Bruno on a pedestal. Thats what I find cringy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,671 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

Next season will be far more difficult than this and it's nothing to do with extra games in CL.

Arsenal will have the monkey off their back and will I think push on.

Chelsea have gotten a great manager in Alonso and will have learned from the circus that is Real. Club is a flash fire but I expect him to have a tight hold over the squad and a strong assertive playing style. There'll be none of the nonsense we've seen this season.

City will bolster with the best money can buy and Maresca will start the season with probably the strongest squad in PL.

Liverpool.. who knows? Badly underperformed this year. There's a lot of talent there. One or two more signings to come in and if Slot ( or whoever) gets them ticking, they'll have a large say on where the title goes next May.

United...too many variables. Midfield needs a very strong summer and I'm not confident we'll get the best players available. We still look light up top and the defence needs 1 or 2 fullbacks and possibly even a CB. We're all hoping Carrick is the answer, but I'd say none of us have 100% confidence in him.

What I really want next season is a good preparation for a title challenge the following year. A cup win and a decent run in CL would be nice but I'd take this season again if I saw real progress towards 21.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,788 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

I don't think anyone is saying it's close to what Henry done. 24 goals and 20 assists is absurd.

But attention is going to be on Bruno if he breaks the assist record because it is a record no matter what way you look at it. There's only a handful of times anyone has even got close to it.

Just like there was no talk a couple of years back when Salah broke the scoring record that he actually didn't contribute more Goals & assists than Henry in 2003 or than Suarez in 2014.

It was just "what an achievement it is for Salah to break the scoring record". It's the same for Bruno.

It's no deeper than that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,761 ✭✭✭BenK

I feel we're at the stage where we need to make the types of signings Liverpool made before they consistently challenged at the top end. The Van Dijk and Alisson type signings in particular that suited what they needed perfectly (not saying in those exact positions). That's why I feel Anderson is the signing the club needs to really push on and send a message to the league. He looks perfect for our midfield and has his best years ahead of him.

Obviously he has to want to come too but it feels like the next 3 or 4 signings the club makes have to be of the highest quality possible to be closer to challenging. This summer will tell us a lot as to where the club is heading and what the ambition really is (happy to just be an intermittent champions league qualifier or aim to properly compete for the big titles).

I actually think Arsenal will drop back. Their attack is very underwhelming and I think a lot of teams will figure out ways to fight them at their WWE game. I'm not even sure new signings will help, because I don't think Arteta is good at using them. There is a reason they limped to this title and I can see it becoming more pronounced next season.

A title winner with no attacker worth a place in the team of the year, when has that ever been the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,788 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

I would actually rather they get the points reduction mid summer. Something like 60+ points.
    Watch them try to convince Haaland and co to stay for an inevitable relegation as they spend the season trying to claw back the points.

They would need to hit a near 100 point season to have any chance to stay up.

They would have next to nothing to cheer all season and would just be ticking off the games until it became mathematically impossible to survive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭Seattle

Ok but you brought Henry's goals into it (without acknowledging you were comparing a CF to a midfielder) and neglected the fact that Fernandes was a box to box CM in a midfield two for half a season.

I don't even know why you have brought this conversation up again to be honest, I can only repeat the same points.

I compared the current record holder to the guy who has just matched it, and thought it remarkable that the media don't acknowledge that the old record holder was also banging in a crazy amount of goals at the same time.

Could Bruno have gotten more assists? Sure. And maybe Henry could have had more goals if he wasn't also assisting so many people. And De Bruyne would have had more if he wasn't sharing the ball in midfield with Silva. But neither of those things are the point.

Nobody has to agree with me, I just think the media are being a bit cringy when they ignore the dual threat that the others were providing.

Post edited by bucketybuck on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,629 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

I would be looking to the games like Everton (H), Leeds (A) both under Amorim along with Sunderland (A) and Newcastle (A) under Carrick rather than to the big games.

Every team has bad results but the games above and a few similar ones were all examples of just how poor our squad is overall.

The first 11, despite needing some improvements, is able to compete. Our squad is miles away from being able to compete imo. 6 or 7 real quality signings away, with 3 or 4 of them needing to be real quality starters imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭Seattle

Henry was a CF, it was his job to score goals and get assists. Fernandes spent half the season in a role that demanded equal parts attacking and defending, then the other half tasked with directly creating chances and combining with the midfield. Scoring prolifically was never his role or responsibility, so I wouldn't hold it against him that he didn't match Henry's tally from his record-breaking season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭scottser

One can but hope. They'll no doubt appeal till the cows come home and we'll all be old and grey before they face any proper punishment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,071 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Who was it that had the obvious hand assist a few years back vs. manu? My memory says Southampton, but searches say otherwise (hand was used as an assist, player in the box, I think it ended in a draw).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭FrankN1

It's always next year or 3 years away from competing. We aren't far off this season with a makeshift midfield. Surely a title challenge next season is what's expected. It's already 13 years since our last and only 10 more until we surpass Arsenal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭johnnyryan89

There was one against Boro when they knocked us out of the FA cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,522 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

thats why we need a stellar summer in the transfer market.

onana, bayindir, ugarte, zirkzee, rasmus, rashford, malacia, casemiro all need to leave/are leaving.

leaves the squad looking like the below, needing at least 5 IMO. if we do get 5, i think we should be able to compete on all fronts, but still lacking the quality in depth to really challenge - but getting closer.

Screenshot 2026-05-20 185722.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

Social media was barely a thing back in Henry's time, everything is amplified nowadays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭GolfPar

Best of luck to The Iceman, starting in midfield for Villa tonight.

I doubt they'd go for a striker unless an opportunity presented itself, would be a CB if anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭waywill1966

urgh, the thought of Sancho winning a European trophy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,408 ✭✭✭✭FourFourRED

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,781 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

I'm getting ptsd from losing to those bums last year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,712 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Happy for Lindelof. The other fella can feck off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,769 ✭✭✭kerplun k

Delighted for Sancho, not that he came off the bench to John Terry himself up to lift a trophy, but the fact he knows his contract is ending, soon and he won’t get near the 250k he’s been on. He’s still 26, and through his stinking attitude, he’s pi$$ed away at least 70% of his earning potential over his remaining years as a player.

3 winners medals and one CL runners up medal in 4 years with 4 different clubs.

And he still isn't worth a **** stained penny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,522 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

we cant go into a season with 1 recognised striker, maybe last year with no europe. negligent it would be.

mateta for example should cost about e20. 1 year left. would do a job for 2/3 years as rotation option. would depend on the reason he failed the milan medical though but his injury record is perfectly fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Milan felt he needed surgery for a knee issue and pulled out of the home. He'd been managing a right knee inflammation issue for a couple of months before that.

Palace said several specialists and doctors said he didn't need surgery so rehab and load management was enough. Milan said it would require surgery. He was out for about 5 weeks after the failed medical treating the knee issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

We need to start adding clauses to loan deals if they win a trophy etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,817 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

We never seem to take advantage of free agents.

Looking at Tielemans last night is a perfect example.

I mean especially when we need to spend so much on midfield this summer.

Sensei would be a great option.

Darwin Nunez if the wages were right could be a great signing.

He does everything right until he's in front of goal, if he sorted out his finishing he would be some player.

Would pee off the pool fans also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,027 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Dont care if he won 4 CL's in a row good riddance to Sancho.

EVENFLOW