RTE LiveLine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,248 ✭✭✭avfc1874

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Terrontress

Joe would have been great with the death of the Congolese man.

He would have got ultra defensive when someone born outside Dublin makes even the slightest criticism.

He would have dragged out and mispronounced the names of all the callers, even it is a name commonly used amongst Irish people.

Having heard someone describe how they were born in Congo and moved here at the age of 2, they see themselves as Irish and will live here forever, he would have gone into great detail about where they’re from, do they have family there, are they ever going to “go home”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,781 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

Maybe she doesn't know the new temporary number for Liveline and can't ring in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭mykrodot

very few Irish accents on Liveline today, and everyone is giving out and preaching at us. Getting fed up of being gaslit for being Irish, are we all meant to be ashamed of ourselves? Another person suggested yesterday that Bertie go on an anti-racism course……what was her name and where was she from , Councillor Helen Ogby or Dr Ebun Joseph? Last week is was the Dublin Rose story. Today the Congolese community and Abraham from The Liberties giving out about their experiences here (right or wrong, good or bad).

It seems that any chance to punch down on Irish is being taken these days, by our new arrivals, by our Government and by all media! If we're that horrible why is everyone moving here?

It's not looking great for us Irish living here anymore.

These people heading to Gaza on boats, they’re bringing aid to the Gazans, but they know it won’t get through. The Israelis have plenty of food, but are starving the Gazans because they want to weaken them.

So a boat load of Irish people with food and medical supplies isn’t going to be met by the Israelis with “Thank god for that, we don’t have any food or medical supplies”.

So it can only be seen that these people are doing this only for publicity. They know the Israelis are going to arrest them. The Israelis arrest them.

It’s all quite tiresome at this stage, and I wonder if it’s for the ego of the protestors or the good of the Gazans.

She happens to be in Greece this very same week? Thats very convenient, isn't it?

The guy on yesterday said they had school bags for the children in Gaza. Not much use when the schools have been flattened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,951 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

She leaves it til the end of the call to tell us Mikey is being shot at!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭Dublin Calling

Is there someone trying to rewire the RTE Switchboard in the background?

I don’t want at all to speak in favour of Israel, and every story coming from Gaza is heartbreaking. But I can’t see any benefit in what these people are doing, other than allowing the protestors to think they’re doing something.

Caller: The Taoiseach didn't get back to us.

In fairness, and I'm not a fan of his but I'd imagine Michael Martin has other things on his mind right now then returning a call to some random constituent. The Department of Foreign Affairs is who you need, not the Taoiseach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭Dublin Calling

I am waiting for Recode to call in about this topic, but she is probably on holidays again.

I'm a cynical person anyway, but these people know they are not going to get anywhere near Gaza. It's a bit of a junket down to the Mediterranean, where they will get returned to Greece.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,302 ✭✭✭✭zell12

It is to keep media spotlight on the issue. Governments are doing nothing about the UN-labelled genocide, so what can ordinary folk do? They are to be applauded for trying.

I don't think the people heading off in a yacht with Gretta Thunberg can be classed as ordinary folk.

It is an adventure of a lifetime to tell the grandchildren about. Much the same as all those who climb Mount Everest and can afford to.

Or the people who cycle across the Gobi dessert for "charity".

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,898 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

Bit of a shame Liveline is wading into this hysteria over the suspected shoplifter. Nobody deserves to lose their life just for theft but it seems some have decided to immediately jump to the conclusion that this is race reheated when, right now, we haven’t even discovered whether the dead man was actually involved in a crime at the time or exactly what led to his unfortunate death.

It might be fair to say that if you live somewhere where if at any time due to the policies of the country you risk death if you become involved in a confrontation with security personnel then maybe it’s not a country to put down roots. Perhaps also if you’re accused of a crime and have nothing to be guilty of you’d stand your ground and prove your innocence instead of fleeing and injuring an 80 year old man in the process.

Liveline shouldn’t be jumping on histrionic bandwagons like this.

Post edited by squonk on

The thing that annoyed me is we don't know the nationality of the security guards. So before everyone jumps on it being irish people being racist, in my experience, lots of security guards in Dublin nowadays are Eastern European.

The other thing that annoyed me was it should not have been on the radio to begin with.

Are yis saying that Liveline production team are transistion years who can't think things through?

I'm saying transition year students would be better than the Liveline production team.

They'd be cheaper too.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,898 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

We know nothing really but it’s automatically declared a racist incident as a person of colour was involved.

It’s either a shoplifting incident gone disastrously wrong or a case of mistaken identity or heavy handed treatment by security personnel or an unfortunate death due to other health factors. If the man wasn’t allowed into the shop in the first instance due to his appearance or ethnicity then it would be fair to call it a racist incident. None of these reasons bar racism deserve a whole article on a national show or even national politicians becoming involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

The Liveline production over the last two decades really is sickening.

The constant bias and clear intellectual deficits of Duffy, his ability to believe and refuse to question pure nonsense, the cherry picked topics, ignoring the ordinary person, toting the government line, nepotism, preferred guests, gaslighting people, obscene salaries and clear incompetencies and deliberate attempts to avoid topics of national interest at all costs*.

*Open criminality, no policing of our streets and a pro-crime/pretence of a justice system, all off the backs of real workers - would be one example.

Now, a new low, race baiting and rabble rousing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,395 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I don't know if the actions and consequences were rooted in racism - we don't know enough of the facts, I'd accept that I can't say for a fact one way or the other whether there was anything racist at play.

But, some of the responses to it really make me wonder...

If nothing was known of the man's ethnicity and background and all that was out in the public domain was that someone died, would there be so much of - what reads to me as either intentional or unintentional - attempts to downplay the outcome? Of someone being dead.

We have not heard from Fadder Iggy or John O'Donovan or Mannix Flynn for a while

They were part of the Joe Duffy Circus, and not woke enough for Kiki Cuddles. There are auld stories about Mannix, a bit if a hard lad in his day.

17792217224832887243227947820698.jpg

That's the thing though, there wouldn’t be much out in public if a death like this occurred and a racism agenda wasn’t being pushed hard by vested interests. Nobody is saying the death wasn’t unfortunate or tragic. Nobody knows tge exact circumstances of the death but some parties have already decided it’s a racially motivated incident and are hyping that up. The issue really is that outlets like Liveline are only too happy to help. In contrast there were several tragic losses of life on Ireland’s roads over the last week yet there isn’t a Liveline segment devoted to road safety this week so far. Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭littlevillage

Nice one Scan.

Join the pile in to abuse me..... then turn and run (delete your post). when the tide turns, 🔔 end