Donald Trump the Megathread part II - Mod Warning updated in OP 12/2/26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭greyday

Bessent calls for other Countries to go afetr Irans finances aggressively, the article forgot to mention Russia but surely its in the same category of the USA's new crusade, No Money for Terror, they will surely treat Russia as they will Iran????? Surely?????

Bessent urges G7 to help U.S. attack Iran's finances

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,454 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Without a shred of comprehension these same people will accuse other countries of being run by religious fundamentalists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,676 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

Thats precisely my point. I don't think anyone knows exactly what would happen. So all his advisers are saying "Mr President, it could be a very bad idea". Especially while the enriched Uranium is still there.

At the very least it could take out much of the oil pumping infrastructure which could take months to rebuild.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,638 ✭✭✭✭looksee

But of course he wants to use a nuke. They are the biggest and (therefore) the bestest. Only used by the strongest, most powerful people. Xi hasn't used a nuke in war, it would put him one step ahead, get his respect. In fact everyone would respect him, sir, they would say, sir we deeply respect your decision to use a nuke. you were right, it was the best thing to do.

Only two have ever been used in war, so if a past US President can launch one, he has to too. Actually he'd probably launch three, just to be ahead.

Post edited by looksee on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,848 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

America is one of the most corrupt countries in the world now. Get convicted in the courts and sentenced to jail. No problem, just pay the godfather enough money and he’ll give you a pardon.

How many is that now? And when challenged he’ll say he was reliably informed the prosecutions were brought by a corrupt Biden administration

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,917 ✭✭✭amacca

Apologies I didn't realise you were joking about how easily manipulated the orange gobshite could be...

Mea culpa.

I actually think he is easy to manipulate. If someone sat him down and explained with some crayons if needed, that it might cost him significant amounts of money, he would hold off.

Also he doesn't have to use nuclear weapons...conventional weapons can knock out civilian infrastructure just fine

He's done enough rhetoric referring to wiping Iran out that he clearly was not referring to conventional weapons.

Ancient Rome, of course being renowned for it's drones 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭Stanley 1

He desperately wanting the taxpayer to pay for the ballroom and using the military to do it, cost gone up to over a billion $ and he will trouser the $400m private donations.

Wonder where the drones will come from to attack Washington, maybe Greenland……..

I'm reminded of a sub-plot of the West Wing when the deputy Chief of Staff's assistant is tricked into mentioning in a magazine article that there's an Exocet missile bunker beneath the WhiteHouse, where rockets come out of the Eisenhower Putting Green.

I think DJT was watching it and thought "I dont want to affect the putting green, but we could have drones come out of the ballroom".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,701 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

In fairness he's probably thinking of casinos named after ancient buildings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,138 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

I went to college with a guy who would just chance his arm during presentations, this is exactly how they went.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭midlander12

He probably thought West Wing was a documentary.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 4,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

US Senate hearing on Section 2 of the Voting Rights Act.

Like Trump Im a fan of Neoclassical architecture, and wish we had built some after independence. I think our leaders historically frowned on it both because we used to be a poor country, and also because they associated it with the Protestant Ascendancy. Of course in other countries like France and the USA, Neoclassical buildings are associated with republicanism.

Granted we did rebuild the Custom House and Four Courts albeit with sandstone instead of marble.

I think some of it also comes from Modernist ideas that we need to move beyond "Western" styles of architecture. Sortof "architectural multiculturalism". I was watching a documentary that was visiting Baku last night and it showed western style buildings built by the Soviets, which were kept after independence.

For me, Neoclassical buildings represent democracy, or at least constitutional checks and balances. The Soviets didn't see it that way of course, though they sometimes used the word "democracy" and rigged elections to claim the people assented to the rule of the Party, just as the Chinese Communist Party does.

But the way Trump is going about it in my opinion is wrong. There needs to be transparency about who the private donors for the ballroom are. I don't believe there is such a thing as a free lunch in politics.

Post edited by Ozymandius2011 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,757 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

Possibly so. Don't think he was at all comfortable with use of the US military and waging war in his first term. It is different now, and his hesitancy is gone. He seems to look at them as a group of very expensive and effective personal "button men", on call for needs of Trump Inc. However, ordering kind of assault on Iran he has been threatening on social media is another step up (or down) from what he has been doing so far.

I'm still convinced he fell asleep watching the TV one night and they played a re-run of A.L.F, and thats where the whole illegal Aliens eating cats and dogs came from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,070 ✭✭✭✭briany

Trump lives in the world as much as anyone, when it comes down to it, as do his donors and his family. The deployment of nuclear weapons is where the games end, full stop. All the business deals and power plays which politics are often accused of being a mere smokescreen for ends . It all ends. It's an escalation pathway no-one wants to risk other than those who truly do believe in the glory of the world to come, and even most of those are in no hurry to get there. Certainly the ones with anything like the political power to press the button. Far too busy enjoying their temporal power.

Even if you think it would be a one-sided strike, it's a hell of a pandora's box to open, and it only makes it so much more possible that Trump ends his life huddled in some bunker far below ground, with dwindling supplies and nothing to go back to. No more casinos, no more golf, no more fellating his ego on Truth Social, no rallies, no ballroom, no Fox News, no McDonalds. No real power of any kind because all infrastructure and chain of command has broken down.

And that's the best-case scenario if things were to get out of control, and it's why the major powers of the world have always followed a nuclear doctrine of not using their weapons in an offensive capacity, but saying to everyone else that they will strike back if hit, and so the world goes on with this weird Mexican standoff. It's hard to overstate how dangerous any change in attitude about this is from Trump to where the US would openly threaten another country with nukes without being hit first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭Resplendent Moose

I'm fairly certain his nappy was too tight for him, and somebody told him he needed more ball room.

A personal invitation to dance, as Nero plays for the last time
    Tonight you will mix with the prophets without honour...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,114 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

no more fellating his ego on Truth Social,

well he could possibly still do that, but the audience would be much smallerr…

Acting Attorney General Todd Blanche signed an agreement today declaring the federal government will not seek any sort of audit or payment from the president, his family members and companies as part of Trump’s settlement agreement with the IRS.

In a sweeping one-page addendum to yesterday's settlement agreement establishing a nearly $1.8 billion “anti-weaponization” fund, Blanche agreed that the U.S. is “FOREVER BARRED and PRECLUDED from prosecuting or pursuing, any and all claims” including “monetary relief” that “have been or could have been” asserted by the IRS against Trump, his family or his businesses.

The addendum comes a day after the Justice Department announced that Trump and his co-plaintiffs would drop their $10 billion suit against the IRS in connection with the 2022 search of Mar-a-Lago, his Florida home, and the Russian collusion scandal “in exchange” for creating the fund, which the Justice Department said set up a “systematic process to hear and redress claims of others who suffered weaponization and lawfare.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,407 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Amazing levels of corruption

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,686 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Absolutely astounding. But sure checks and balances wha?!

I cant imagine an Irish Taoiseach doing something like this. Its truly banana-republic territory. Its Third World governance.

We like to run down our system but compared to America its better. In Transparency International's Corruption Perceptions Index, Ireland scores in the top 15 for least corrupt countries. USA ranks 29th and I suspect has much further to fall. Russia is around 168.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,558 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

By the time the GOP are done, Trump's swamp will be immovable.

If we continue our economic reliance on US FDI, more and more of this will seep into Irish politics and businesss too.

Kentucky House primaries. Will Massie survive challenge from Trump-candidate Ed Gallrein. The Israeli lobby have spent millions support Gallrein.

Edit Livestreamed results. So far Massey behind 10%.

Screenshot 2026-05-19 235829.png

Think Cassidy et al will go scorched earth until they're officially done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,882 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Its utterly incredulous to anyone outside the US looking in to see all that is happening and wondering WTF is going on over there.

Any other country he would be in jail, but in the land of the free and living the American dream he is lauded. Capitalism at its best

The rest of the world really needs step up and just say feck off to the US and cut off all ties

Yes but I think in a few years there is likely to be a UK version of MAGA in power. I would be very concerned if they tear up the Windsor Framework for example.

We've already seen Farage dodging questions about the £5 million from a crypto billionaire based in Thailand.

Looking bad for Thomas Massie so far. The Cinncinnati suburbs in Northern Kentucky around Covington are going for Gallrein so far. For a Republican looking for anti Trump votes, this should be the sort of area you look. Massie is ahead barely in Mason County, which borders the he lives in.

Also Trump poking the Greenland polar bear again. Sending a doctor with his presidential envoy Jeff Landry.

Greenlanders are not ‘experimental subjects’, says minister as she decries US doctor’s visit

Health minister in Nuuk condemns doctor’s presence in US delegation as ‘deeply problematic’

Miranda Bryant Nordic correspondentMon 18 May 2026 19.06 CESTSharePrefer the Guardian on Google

Greenland’s government has criticised the arrival of a US doctor in Nuuk alongside Donald Trump’s special envoy, Jeff Landry, saying that Greenlanders are not “experimental subjects”.

Joseph Griffin said he had joined the delegation as a volunteer to “assess the medical needs” of the Arctic island, which the US president has repeatedly threatened to invade.

Greenland’s health minister, Anna Wangenheim, immediately condemned his presence, describing it as “deeply problematic”.

“The health sector in Greenland has historically been the subject of geopolitical interest,” she said in a statement hinting at deep sensitivities in the now largely autonomous territory, which as a Danish colony experienced repeated health-related abuses of Indigenous Greenlandic people.

We were less dependent on US FDI before 2015.

image.png