President Connolly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭deezell

Leaving it vague to let the public fill in the blanks is just weak. She knows if she says 'local authority' housing, the LAs will not be happy. Say it and take the consequences. Say 'Government housing policy', and take the consequences. Take the far left pbp line and say 'corrupt greedy private developer Housing'. Either say it, tgen resign, or shut up. Someone like her in that job for seven years, she'll lose her mind.

The real problem is of course the expectations whipped up by official and social media as to what the Presidential candidates are going to do if elected. If you say on the hustings that you're actually allowed to say and do sweet fanny adams, then you won't get in. The role is neutral. The mandate is for oversight of the legislature, and official state functions. Playing populist politics is a relatively new thing. Engaging in politics is an absolute no. Remember President O' Dalaigh resigned when criticised by the Paddy Donegan. The position becomes untenable if you lose the confidence of the government, even unjustly as in Donegans outburst. When Brian Lenehan and Charlie Haughey tried to coerce President Hilary to impose a FF Government on the country, he rightly refused to even engage or comment. He would only accept the dissolution of the dail or a new government if it was agreed in the Dail. That's the level of political remove of the office of the president from the institutions of the state, and housing is very much one of those.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,059 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

The mandate is for oversight of the legislature, and official state functions.

That is a 'part' of the President's mandate/role. Their constitutional role.

That you continue to ignore that the President has other roles and functions is really your problem, not the present incumbent's who will continue to make observations and give opinions as a 'representative of all the people',

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭JohnDoe2025

Where are the other roles and functions set out in law or in the Constitution?

Any officer of the State, from the President down to a Clerical Officer, cannot carry out a role or function outside the law.

If the President is breaking the law with that website, you need to alert the authorities to it.

As I said, I assume the government have seen and sanctioned the website of the President. As they have not sanctioned a President for speaking on behalf of the people or making comments, then I am not seeing a problem here.

Deezil and others continue to make up fantasy problems where none exist.

You have made a claim that the President has other roles and functions and claim that other posters have a problem if they are continuing to ignore those other roles and functions.

That is a tad silly if you are not able to define the roles and functions that other posters are supposedly ignoring. Do those other roles and functions exist, either inside or outside the law?

Address that question to the government and the President's office.

Those are the roles as defined by the Office Of The President.

You wanna make outlandish claims that the President may be operating outside the law…work away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,922 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

When will she be put in jail Francie? Or resign? Or get impeached? Any minute now?

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,922 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

A reminder of the vitally important words by our superb previous president re the housing disaster. It certainly woke Michael Martin and Simon Harris up to the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,157 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

our great, great, great failure

such eloquence, you'd know he was a true poet

The bitchiness really is a wonder. Maybe he shoulda done an edgy Tik Tok? 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,390 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

The president is in fact the legislative branch in the separation of powers. The main function.

However, the President still has a voice. As long as it is not overt attacks on the government policy, I don’t see the issue.

Can you not see what a clever strategy Connolly has? She doesn’t rant and rave like Michael D. He could make himself sound foolish at times shooting from the hip.
    But Connolly quietly and subtly makes her point. On the face of it underneath the radar. But on closer inspection you know what she means.
    That is well thought out and well delivered. She has found a certain balance in her tone. Careful with words, unhurried. It works well. That’s grand as far as I am concerned.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,390 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Connolly was even asked about Bertie’s recent comments. She said that -

On a general level, I think we all have to own our own words. We, and particularly myself in my role, and other politicians with me, have to take responsibility for what they say."

Again. a superb answer in my view, why?

1. it shows how Connolly knows the importance of her words as not only a public representative, but as President of Ireland
    2. Yet, by the tone of the response we can clearly tell that Connolly was not impressed by Bertie Ahern’s comments without directly saying it.

:-:

To me it is ironic @deezell for example seems to imply constitutional levels of crisis, from nothing. But really should be delighted at how conscious and careful Connolly is with her choice of words. Far better than Michael D. We are back to sensible Presidential speeches, less of the soapbox stuff. In my view it is no coincidence that Connolly was legally trained, Michael D. wasn’t.

Legal training gives a person a certain way of analysing issues and speaking. It is not as loose more often than not. It always comes back to analysis of “the facts” and “facts at issue”. That becomes ingrained.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,037 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I watched some highlights of her visit to England and thought she came across very well, and looked very well. Impressive. It's great to see our two islands so close and cooperative

and looked very well.

Would this be said if discussing a male president? It's like a patronising pat on the head tbh.

I.E. you have met my standards for how a woman should look.

Francie, give over trying to find an issue here. I saw the woman and I have made an observation on her. I thought she looked really well, and you're now trying to spin this into an issue?

If it was a male and he looked very well I'd say the same. Plenty men out there have impressed me with how they look/present.

It's an observation.

By all means show us where you commented on how a male 'looked' in a similar situation?

I don't have to show you anything. I have made plenty remarks commenting on how smart and presentable a person looks, whether they be male or female.

It's actually quite odd that you are trying to find offence and trying to create an argument because someone said that our President was very impressive in her dealings in England, and also added that she looked very well. She was both very impressive in her dealings and also looked very well presented..

Jaysus, imagine that…commenting (in a positive fashion) on how well a lady looks…awful stuff, isn't it!!!

Bit surprised here with you, Francie to be honest…maybe you're just bored and want a back and forth pointless debate…

No, I have called out comments on her appearance before.

Yes, comments you perceived as being critical and negative of her appearance. I get that. And I did comment before on her style/presentation in a less than complimentary way. Shoot me!

Presentation and appearance are absolutely important for certain people in certain roles and positions and, title etc..

Had she rocked up to meet the King in a kappa tracksuit and trainers, I'd have no issue calling it out as a disgrace..

No different than if King Charles met our president in a pair of old jeans and a t-shirt!!! Works both ways.

Anyway, she looked very well I thought, and conducted herself very well. She was impressive…you can try make a non-issue out this observation if you are that bored!

Don't get me started on some those scruffs in Dail Eireann, or we'll never be finished!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭almostover

I have to agree with you, Connolly has fulfilled the role of president perfectly well so far. I didn't vote for her because I had a concern that she would use the office as a platform for her political agenda. But she hasn't done so and she has respected the responsibilities of her role and it's limitations thus far. She has been measured and is doing a good job.

As I said, it was just an observation on something that I still believe would not be said if it was a male in the same situation.

If I recall, you lambasted Zelensky for not turning up to the Oval office in a suit. I think you said Vance was dead right to have a go at him for being so disrespectful.

Well you don't know me, so you'd be wrong. It's actually something I would look for and notice with people in positions of power…their style and presentation/appearance…..Trump, for example, and odious character, but he always is turned out impeccably!

Yup…I don't think I lambasted him (you're wee bit exaggerating), but yes, going to meet the President of the United States in the Oval office……dress smarter, lad! But he seems a decent skin, so maybe I'll give him a pass!

I do wonder how many times you have commented on how Trump looked at a meeting? I'll take your word for it. It was just an observation.

Commented where? Here on boards? There is life to me outside of boards….

Another one who always looked sharp and stylish/presentable was Leo as our Taoiseach!

I look forward to your comments on how males are looking in diplomatic meetings in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭creedp

Ah Jaysus lads ye need to relax or next they’ll be calls for petition to introduce a ‘Hogweed of Killarney’ competition for the fine looking Irish lads😂

If they impress me like President Connolly did I'll call them out!!

Other posters have pointed to his comments on the sartorial elegance of others.

And he has commented favourably on Trump's appearance.

I think that poster is owed an apology from @FrancieBrady