Dee Forbes banging the RTE TV licence drum again 60m uncollected fee *poll not working - pl ignore*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,303 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Peter Dragon

The BMW was not part of his pay package as I’m sure you know, it was a separate deal with BMW and nothing to do with RTÉ. I’m not sure if the BMW deal was arranged by NK or predated his representation of Mr. Kenny.

The Toyman topped €723k one year. Truly bonkers.

Yes, the salary is enormous, I understand that, but that doesn't affect my soul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,159 ✭✭✭Caquas

Indeed, the high moral ground is now occupied by hypocrites, many of whom work for the media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,145 ✭✭✭RoTelly

It's not, we keep saying this but you don't seem to understand that RTÉ didn't have that money to give it to them. Their salaries were over the top, beyond the means of the employer and while the talent was over rated and over paid by RTÉ.

If you want to give me 900K, I will take all the criticism for it, however Pat Kenny in particular might say

"I built my house in 1988. Like, why is that a trophy house? I don't want this kind of crap coming at me."

BTW when he built his house in 1988 unemployment was at 16% and when he said that the unemployment rate was at 12%.

______

In the end they were just greedy, they all knew one another and knew what to expect more money for no return, it was a secure cash flow, but in fairness they looked for what they wanted and fair dues to them for that, and wouldn't you be doing the same!

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

Don’t be using facts to back up your argument!

Those contracts were absolutely outrageous and though technically legal they were immoral and could only exist in an organisation as corrupt and with no accountability with regards to its use of public spending as RTÉ. It did not represent anything approaching value for money and most certainly was not “right”.

Post edited by Peter Dragon on

IMG_6291.jpeg

Great to see The Toyman front and centre here. If I’m not mistaken that’s the pic he uses for his Bookshelf podcast and the picture of the short-lived “TUBRIDY” Magazine that I suspect at least one regular poster will have a copy of. In case you missed it, the magazine was a compendium of The Toyman’s London Diary columns which aside from rarely being about his time London were and are written in a style akin to a primary school essay on the topic of “What I did on my summer holidays”. It also featured a list of The Toyman’s favourite books of the year, as well as his favourite sporting books which he absolutely read being the noted sports fan that he is……..

IMG_6292.jpeg

Speaking of The Toyman and sport, does anyone know when the TalkSport show he said he would be hosting will be starting? It’s at least 5 months now since he mentioned it and still no sign. I mean, he wouldn’t just make something up to stay in the news would he? Not the most trusted man in Ireland? Surely not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,159 ✭✭✭Caquas

Let me add a fundamental point which is often overlooked. RTE should pay its top stars many, many millions more - if only they proved they were worth it i.e. if they produced television of such outstanding quality that the world would pay RTE handsomely for their programmes. Then opportunities for our talented content makers would abound and Ireland's image would be greatly enhanced worldwide.

That's what I'd call public service broadcasting.

Then who would bother with a piddling licence fee?

Of course, the opposite is the case. RTE has never been able to even recoup its production costs through exports, it gave away the only mega-success that it, almost inadvertently, created (Riverdance) and on the rare occasions when it fostered real talent e.g. Gabriel Byrne, Dermot Morgan, it couldn't get rid of them fast enough. What do almost all the amazing array of the Irish talent in today's global movie/TV business have in common? They were blessed to have been untouched by RTE!

That is the real failure of RTE which should overshadow any debate about someone getting a hundred grand under the table.

Post edited by Caquas on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭Dublin Calling

Is there a live stream available for this (PAC?) meeting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,646 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

Its the media committee that starts at half twelve tmw https://www.oireachtas.ie/en/committees/34/arts-media-communications-culture-and-sport/

CR1 https://www.oireachtas.ie/en/oireachtas-tv/cr1-live/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,303 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

RTE isn't some Premiership football club. they didn't own Riverdance, Gabriel Byrne or Dermot Morgan. Their remit is to provide quality PSB for Ireland not to generate revenue by exporting talent worldwide.

Generating local content isn't fashionable anymore and has to compete with big buck organisations producing content on a varity of much more accessible licence free platforms.

Therein lies the funding dilemma.

Great that Simon Harris was able to take time off from posting selfies and engaging in self-congratulation on LinkedIn and making Tik Tok videos to give a quote. This the same Simon Harris who after condemning the waste in RTÉ after The Ryan Tubridy Pay Scandal subsequently went on The Toyman’s Bookshelf Podcast. As did Micheál Martin. You couldn’t make it up.

Just came across the Talking Bollox interview of Ryan Tubridy, fair play to guys for asking him about it, they did challenge him a bit but they are also quite sympathetic to him. https://open.spotify.com/episode/0RzCO2WhFexnA6daYnFtTk?si=fBypnFRDTqCivpA_6yDPPQ from March 24

Still a lot of self justified waffle from him.

I haven’t listened to that one. Did he retell the Sinead O’Connor “you’ve been mugged by God in a hoodie” story again? Did he drop in a (not so) subtle mention of The Devonshire pub in London? Did he do some casual name dropping? Did he say how glad he was that the thing happened and how he’s really enjoying being his own boss with all of the wonderful opportunities that are there for him now whilst simultaneously practically begging to get back into RTÉ? Did he plug the live shows?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

A number of points :

Shackleton, who stood on a stage in Belfast supporting unionism, Protestant supremacy, loyalist gunmen against Irish freedom and democracy.

Since when does Tubs have an interest in boats? Seriously, why is he there?

Safely assume, Tubs didn’t vote for Connolly.

Is this going to make his ‘London Diary’?

It did actually! 🤣 I’d link it but I’d rather not be responsible for increasing its view count.

On Tubs and his historical and political buff claims - they are, like I always say about his voracious book reading claims, more fiction than fact.

I’d say anything he knew about Shackleton was taken from the Kenneth Branagh tv series from the early naughties…but as that was a multi episode series I doubt he would have had the attention span for it.

Why he was fronting this is anyone’s guess. He’s still popular with a certain type in that area who probably thought as a local celeb he’d be perfect to host such a dignitary. I b wonder did he ask for his usual fee? Loved the ensemble though - very nautical, very Partridge. I’d say he was trolling us but he’s not that clever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,084 ✭✭✭✭briany

What the likes of Forbes don't want to hear, because it would massively downsize their jobs-for-the-boys scheme, is that there's absolutely no reason for RTE to be the size it is in the modern day and age. We don't need to give RTE money to pay for the rights to things that most of us can get on Netflix anyway, for example, plus regular British/American TV. Who's out there in 2026 waiting for RTE to broadcast Westworld or whatever? If there is a demographic of people out there who rely on RTE's output for an evening's entertainment, it must be an ever shrinking number of older, rural viewers. They may lose out in a restructuring, and I'd be sorry for that, but progress cannot be held back in order to cater to this minority.

It should be massively stripped down to real public service broadcasting with only the two channels plus three or four radio. Large salaries for top presenters should not be offered and let them go to a middling British outfit if they think they can get a better deal and make way for younger presenters to get their foot on the ladder. Indeed, if RTE becomes a transit point for those who think they can make it in a larger market abroad, so be it. If RTE can no longer broadcast 24 hours a day, no damage done. Who tf was ever watching Shortland Street or Euronews at 4AM, anyway? A few insomniacs and the odd shift worker having an existential crisis. They can watch something else.

The gombeen double dipping of demanding a licence fee in order to pursue a broadcasting mandate that must also appease advertisers - a total conflict of interest - must end. Strip it back to either one or the other and go from there.

RTE money to pay for the rights to things that most of us can get on Netflix anyway, for example, plus regular British/American TV.

20 - 25m a year on broadcast rights for US, UK and some Australian shows. An amount that has never been cut, even in the heyday of big international TV series RTÉ were putting many of them out after mid-night.

My Mam and Dad recently asked me who Drew Barrymore and why she was on the TV, and 3 hours of it in the morning (RTÉ air double episodes of Barrymore along with an episode of Kelly Clarkson).

Meantime, Daithi O'Se is off on holidays for the summer after becoming a staff member!

______

In the end they were just greedy, they all knew one another and knew what to expect more money for no return, it was a secure cash flow, but in fairness they looked for what they wanted and fair dues to them for that, and wouldn't you be doing the same!

Yesterday

They used to screen award-winning shows like Mad Men after midnight on a Friday night and keep primetime Saturday and Sunday evening slots for Mrs. Brown’s Boys and Killinaskully REPEATS!!!!!

"Shackleton, who stood on a stage in Belfast supporting unionism, Protestant supremacy, loyalist gunmen against Irish freedom and democracy."

Have you a link to support this claim?

Speaking after a meeting with Minister for Communications Patrick O’Donovan, Bakhurst said the controversy was “frustrating”.

“We have paid a price for that transparency which is the controversy in the past few days, and that’s disappointing for me because I do want to drive transparency,” he said.

“If we pay that kind of price when we discover something we want to put right and put it in the public domain, it’s not an incentive to be more transparent.”

https://www.irishtimes.com/politics/2026/05/19/number-of-rte-workers-earning-more-than-100000-increased-more-than-a-third-in-past-five-years/?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=bluesky&utm_campaign=HP-SubDesc

Ridiculous what price have they paid?

Post edited by expectationlost on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,727 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

RTE isn't normal but they should be disclosing everything.

The price the price …. of …. of… Hooonnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnessssssssssssssssstttttttttttttttttttttttttyyyyyyyyyyyyy… oh! the drama of victimhood. How was I supposed to pay for my trophy house in 1988?

______

Yesterday

Including the internal communications Tubridy and NK have been trying to get for a couple of years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭Dublin Calling

The look happy and less disheveled post meeting. It must have gone well. Maybe an increase in the TV License Fee was agreed to?

15 MAY Fran McNulty on Behind the story talks about how story arose in RTE. https://www.rte.ie/radio/podcasts/22613074-money-money-mooney-rte-china-deals-and-eurov/

McNulty is also saying 'this happened before my time' or 'the person is not working here anymore' is not a sufficient answer.

Post edited by expectationlost on

A lot of the explanations Bakhurst and Rooney gave were “management at the time” type answers. This ignores the fact that Bakhurst’s hand-picked executive team is broadly similar to the previous team bar essentially two retirements (Jennings and O’Leary) and two who were shall we say “let go” (Coveney and Collins). He went out of his way to retain the HR Director who was involved in redundancy packages for roles that weren’t being made redundant.

That answer should frankly be given short shrift if it’s expressed today.

Don't for get Paula Mullooly.

… and Robert Shortt who sat on the board and then was promoted to Company Secretary.

______

Yesterday

So now we have the Ryan Tubridy scandal, the Derek Mooney scandal and the Sean Rocks scandal, right?