Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Village87

Pity, fair play to all involved against a good Galway team and written off all year. All Ireland QF not a bad consolation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭kksaints

Typical of our minor teams the last few years. Just can't get over the line. Ref missed a flick out by the Galway 7 in the last passage of play, innocuous but still a free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭Pigeon Chaser

Minor match was great. Two fine teams. Nothing between them. I'm sure they will be disappointed but all did themselves proud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭me89

Some good hurling for 45 minutes but 4 points scored in the last 35 minutes is shocking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 catseye2

great game.. presume they get Munster losers now, Tipp?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,156 ✭✭✭morphy87

Tipp won Munster, beat limerick, I’d say ye get the third team in Munster which is Cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Village87

I believe they play the winners of the Leinster losing semi finalists v 3rd and 4th Munster placed teams .

Wexford

Dublin

Clare

Cork

Potentially Tipp in semi final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Sir Chaz

I don't know. They made a couple of very strange substitutions in last 10, took off 2 of our better players this year in Pembroke O'N and Grace, and didn't seem to make any positional change to protect the lead late on.
    We've only beaten Westmeath and Dublin. Unless we win a quarter final at least it's been a poor year.

Standard at minor looks a bit lower than normal. Tipp look a cut above from what I've seen. I think we'll have the beating of Cork or Clare who look way back on last years teams.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭Willie Power

Kilkenny well outscored Galway in the first 20 minutes with the wind, 11 pts up at one stage that was their purple patch.

Galway had theirs with the wind in the last 12 minutes of ordinary time. That's the ebb and flow.

These are just boys, 15, 16, 17. They did themselves, their families, clubs and county proud. They gave everything.

They have come on no end since the group games v Westmeath, Galway and Wexford. They're as good as any team in it.

Often a minor team that loses a final produces more adult county players than a winning one, losses put a bit of desire in them.

Fellas calling it a disaster, nah, going out, never turning up and being beaten by 20 points would be much, much worse.

"He might be an eejit, but he's our eejit"
    Willie Power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭hogans heroes

Gave that away but hopefully the learnings they take out of it will stand going forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Firstsub

Unlucky to lose. There was driving rain and it was cold so mistakes were made. Nothing between the teams, very unlucky not to score a couple of goals in extra time. Ref should have given KK a free late on but that is the way it goes. Bit naive not to have an extra back late on in the 60 minutes as Galway need a goal. Still a few promising players for the future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Marrooned

dead right Willie, they should never have lost that 12 point lead but there were four calls at the end of extra time which the ref didn’t give us, he had no such problem giving them a soft free to draw the match in normal time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭jamesbond2022

Some effort from both groups of young lads tonight

Massive improvement from kk since the round robin game in nowlan park vs Galway

Sickener to lose but as others have said we had enough chances to win the game more than once

As usual when a team is a good few pints up the refs gives them a few soft frees which Galway got to build momentum and get back into it

The wind and rain in the second half in particular did affect things it probaly didn’t come across how bad it was on the tv

Our last free probaly wasn’t a free and when we should have got a free at the very end we didn’t get it

Ultimately Galway are probably the more balanced team 1-15 some of our backs are lacking that bit of hurling

Look there was nothing expected from this side and on the way up tonight I would have been happy enough with a point loss. Hopefully they will learn and have been improving all through the campaign. The rain was brutal at one stage and as Willie mentioned wintry conditions.We should be proud of these lads.

Agree Marrooned.

Older players will cover the goal at all costs at 5pts up and 2 min normal time to go. Give away a pointed free or two if it comes down to it.

The ref seemed to give easier frees to Galway in ET in my opinion. Also it was easier to give a free in than not to KK at the end. I'll have to watch back but there was definitely a hurl flick and what looked like a sliding tackle. Again it's hard to say from the stand.

Willie Power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,584 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Very unfortunate to not win that and you can point to lots of things that might have gone another way but they'll learn big time from this about ruthlessness: no lead is guaranteed until the final whistle. But yeah I doubt anyone at the start of the year thought this team was going to be toe to toe with Galway let alone looking like they were doing to hammer them. You'd have major questions about some of the decision making, on the field (some of the backs tending to bat ball down into the lap of incoming forwards, a few of our forwards taking very low percentage shots instead of picking a pass, or going in for goal when a handy point would have probably sealed it) and on the sideline (substitutions mentioned above by Chaz I think it was), but it's still a day you'd take more positives from than negatives. If they can bottle the frustration now and channel it properly they'll surprise some teams yet. Galway minor teams are always savage, always. There's no easy result to get from them, and there never was in all my years watching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Great hurling from both teams tonight. Kilkenny probably should have won but Galway battled back well. I actually felt the red was very hard on Galway. Don't know the stats but I'd say we got more frees.

Lads saying its a disaster would want to cop on . Only young lads, disappointing for them obviously but they have another game at least to get back on the horse.

don’t agree with the first paragraph ref was brutal for us as I mentioned in my last post. I agree with the second paragraph entirely.

Very few remember that Waterford lost in the Munster Minor Championship last year but everyone remembers they won the All Ireland.

It'll be a huge task to win the minor All Ireland. But there's nothing to lose and they'll embrace that task. No minor team is without flaws and unbeatable.

Willie Power

Jaysus Chaz I’m surprised at you. As stated before this team wasn’t rated at all going into this competition and I personally thought they did very well and have improved every match.Westmeath had high hopes which didn’t materialise but bet Dublin on there way, we should have won against Wexford and bet Dublin in Parnell park. Galway also bet us in Nowlan and I think they have improved from that and that’s what needed. Someone said we have to meet the winners of Wexford and Cork,and then we will see what happens. I agree they made a balls of it last night but that happens and hopefully they will learn from this.as I said conditions were dreadful and if you weren’t there you wouldn’t realise this. No sleight if you weren’t there just saying.

Ye Realt, you’re dead on as regards the batting down of the ball and these chaps in particular have being doing this without naming individuals, they also tend to knock down the ball with the hurl to the opposition and this happens with the U20’s as well, just using Ed. Mc Dermott as an example against Offaly in the park he failed to catch any ball and didn’t score. Against the dubs in Parnell last Wednesday night he caught every ball and was a revelation he won frees and set up scores because when he had the ball in hand he was impossible to stop and only for the dubs cornerback wasn’t too bad Ed would have destroyed them single handed. Do the coaches not show footage of TJ in action and the benefits of fielding the ball this man is the GOAT and we should be learning off of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭Ceist_Beag

Fair play to both teams last night in horrible conditions. It was a cracking match and typical of what you expect at this grade. Yes there were mistakes and poor decision making but you expect that. But it was great to watch two teams go at it with everything they had and there was some fantastic hurling on show. I disagree with the poster who said the standard of hurling is lower than normal, I saw some real quality hurling last night which, given the conditions, is a credit to the lads and also to the coaches who appear to be doing good work in the development of these lads. I would agree on the batting down issue, we conceded some needless scores from positions where it was an easy catch but we batted it down to a Galway lad.

I thought the two boys in midfield were great, especially Bolger who really stood out for me. Corcoran at corner back looks a nice tidy player as well and young Power is a really exciting talent, the flick back over the head was something you just can't coach. No doubt it's a game they should have won, but that hunger should fuel them to try harder so hopefully they can use that to drive on. The Galway 15 looks a heck of a player as well it has to be said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭KK36

Disappointed to lose but very encouraged by a lot of what I saw last night. Very little expected of this group at the start of the year. Remember, not one of them could make the 26 last year. Management deserve great credit for the improvement in the players but more importantly, last night, I saw a real determination in the players, which stems from management. One thing they could improve in the short term is the passing in the forwards. A lot of them just go for their own shot and could throw it around a small bit more. A lot of the players showed that they have the right attitude to be good senior hurlers. It's now Kilkenny's job to make them better and stronger. I would prefer what I saw from a lot of last night's lads over some of last year's so called stars.

Finally, playing extra time at minor is crazy. It descends into nothing more than a load of cramps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Sir Chaz

Surprised at what Marooned? Not sure anything I said was harsh in any way there? Mildly critical of a couple of the decisions on substitutions in normal time, and also on game management giving up a 12 point lead with less than 15 left. Not critical of young lads at all. Their attitude and effort was excellent all through.

It's always difficult to gauge but there was a general perception that this team wasn't the strongest, most likely due to the fact that very few were 2 year minors, but sometimes that doesn't mean much at all and can be just down to selection. There's plenty of those lads that look like they should have been on the panel last year but weren't picked by previous manager. I've watched all our games and a few of the Munster matches, and from what I've seen so far we are plenty good enough to be competitive with almost all teams left, with the possible exception of Tipp.

If you're saying you have an issue with me suggesting that any Kilkenny team that potentially plays 6 games in a year and wins just 2, (including one against Westmeath) is not a successful year, then we may close the gates altogether.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

well said…

Congrats to both teams on severing us up a cracking match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭JohnCougar

Unfortunately this is how teams are being coached and young lads are being told to bat the ball back and the players in front of them are to pick up the loose ball but that does not happen. Too many players also being told to use the hurl to control the ball also. They should be catching the ball all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭JohnCougar

I thought Kilkenny were excellent last night and they will learn a lot going into the knockout rounds. It was always going to be a tough even match and the conditions were terrible on both teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭neverbet

Agree with most of the above. For me 10 mins before half time,t no score with the wind and several wides cost us. The hurling produced against the wind in 3rd quarter particularly from our inside line was brilliant. With Shine back with seniors lacey firing with the 20s and Joe Dowling, Brian Walsh and Ruairi Power lighting it up at minor our attacking prospects going forward are more promising than for a good while. We could have had at least three more goals. Jack Bolger like Kevin Buggy is a brilliant link it up midfielder. Paddy Grace was withdrawn I would imagine because he was on yellow and had been given a final warning by the ref. Pembroke O'Neill came in for a lot of heavy punishment and his race was run, he had given his all. All in all this group have been a good representation of the work being done in clubs, schools, and development squads. The structure of minor lends itself towards development and this team have certainly benefitted and progressed. To be fair, their biggest challenge faces them now, trying to come back from losing a final in such heartbreaking circumstances. I don't doubt they will rise to it. Well done to both teams for a wonderful exhibition of hurling in desperate conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Charlie69

I think that’s fair enough Chaz, It was fierce disappointing to lose from a position of total control but as a few have said thats young lads for you.

I can’t help thinking that a bit of mental fragility has crept into Kilkenny teams at all levels in recent years though. People would never have associated Kilkenny teams with losing games from strong winning positions in the past. But you can add this one to the 24 minor all Ireland final where we were at home with a two man advantage and still found a way to lose. Our under 20 teams have lost tight games from good positions and our senior team losing a few close games including the last two All Ireland semifinals from very strong winning positions in both games.

Maybe it’s a symptom of going so long without a senior title and maybe younger players coming through haven’t grown up seeing Kilkenny teams winning in the style previous generations did. The black and amber jersey filled players with confidence in the past and the aura and even cockiness that Kilkenny teams always had just doesn’t seem to be as strong as it was. There was a time when Kilkenny teams got into that winning position they’d absolutely bury the opposition and put the game out of sight.

Still like others I’d take a lot of positives from last night and the talent is clearly there. But apart from issues around our puck outs and coaching that seems to be a problem at all levels I just feel imo we don’t seem as ruthless or composed as Kilkenny teams of old when the pressure comes on.