Is Irelands neutrality stance in WW2 unfairly criticized? (see Mod note 217)

Answers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,555 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

I would broadly agree with Churchills speech. But he was anti Irish and imperialist. Dev was anti UK and anti Imperialism to a level that clouded his judgement. He damaged his legacy beyond repair with his actions. He might have protected Irish neutrality but damaged it's international reputation at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,540 ✭✭✭Francis McM

Do you condemn Dev for hanging some IRA men in Irish jails during the war? If not, why not? You condemn Mrs Thatcher for allowing Bobby Sands to starve himself to death, but then why do you not condemn Dev who went one further and actually excuted some IRA by hanging? I could never understand that. Genuine question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,058 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

What has that all got to do with Neutrality?

You just want to do a hactchet job on a man who like all leaders did good and bad for his country.

Judging from the answers you have gotten here, you have failed in your arguments on our neutrality.

Dev was anti UK 

That is an unfair read.
    Like many Irish people he was not anti UK, he was anti British bullying and sense of superiority. He stood up to them.

Just the right type of leader we needed at that point in our country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭growleaves

Sweden supplied Nazi Germany with massive quantities of high-grade iron ore and other economic and logistical support which directly supported the Nazi war machine.

This is well-known and controversial to this day.

Late in the war when it looked like Germany would lose and the Allies would win, Sweden softened on the Allies and started allowing US use of Swedish Airbases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭adaminho

Did you listen to his rebuttal I posted. If anything he was restrained in his response to Churchill's speech. The Cranborne Report outlined the aid the Irish government gave to the Allies and yet we were accused of frolicking with the Germans.

Do you know why they were hanged? McGrath, Harte and Kerins were convicted of murdering Gardai, O'Neill and Goss were convicted of attempted murder of Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,303 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

The population of the FS were overwhelmingly in favour of Dev's neutrality policy as were a lot of volunteers who went to fight against Hitler and serve the cause in many ways. There was never any significant opposition to the policy only disagreements about the details.

Similarly the population of the United States were largely in favour of American neutrality until the attack on Pearl Harbour. I read a book years ago about American Anglophobia between the wars. "Limeys" were not much loved in the good 'ol USA of that time.

Maryishere a former poster here had the exact same argument on Dev as FrancisMcM, back then I took the time to read the exchanges in Congress as Roosevelt tried to get his Lend Lease Act through, there was very strong opposition to him helping Britain in the US. FDR had also promised in his 1940 election campaign that no-one was going to be sent to a foreign war.

Yes and I think that is retroactively obscured because people may not be fully aware that American entry into the war, and the subsequent Cold War and Marshall Plan, came with a huge public relations campaign orchestrated by the US Government about the friendship between America and Britain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,513 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

I don’t think any war crime should ever be classed as “justified”.

Not that it’s on topic at all here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 716 ✭✭✭myfreespirit

This makes absolutely no sense.

The Irish government decided in 1939 to remain neutral in the war between Germany and the UK/France/Poland, just as Switzerland did.

The decision was very likely influenced by the comparatively recent war that the British government had waged against Ireland in the period 1919 - 1921. That war saw atrocity after atrocity committed by British troops and ADRIC, the burning of many towns and cities in Ireland as reprisals against the IRA, the bombing of towns by the RAF, the torture and murder of Volunteers, and the torture and murder of anyone suspected of helping the Volunteers, including a Catholic priest in Galway. This also included the demolition of property owned or used by Volunteers using British Army tanks, (rather reminiscent of the IDF demolitions in the West Bank today), the looting of property by lawless State-sponsored thugs, allowed, even encouraged to commit crimes to intimidate the Irish population.

And you expected the Irish Taoiseach to sign up to Churchill's war after all of this???

Incomprehensible.

Not incomprehensible if (as it is in FmcM's case, not sure of Flinty's views) if you think the British presence here and their departure was a benign period and we ungrateful threw it in their faces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Politelymad

Ireland and with them the other neutrals that managed to stay that way were walking a tightrope where mis-steps could have seen them dragged in one way or another.

The War of Independence / Civil War was less than twenty years gone. Joining the 'Old Enemy' would have been viewed as unforgivable by a sizable group of people. Which would have run the risk of internal instability. Ireland certainly would have found itself the target of bombing. I think there's also a case that a neutral Ireland was perhaps more beneficial to Britain than a co-belligerent. Thousands of Irish either fought for or worked in Britain. Had Ireland be directly involved, there's no certainty they would have been available. Certainly Britain would have had to provide equipment, training and possibly troops to defend Ireland's southern coast at a time at a stage of the war where there were more demands on resources than resources to go round.

Now the country did have a lucky break with the return of the treaty ports. Had those still be in British hands, they certainly would have been fair game for bombing which with the limits of 1940s accuracy, would have resulted in far more damage to the country (even assuming the Germans tried to limit it to the ports).

Where I think you can definitely point and say this is wrong is Dev's actions after the death of Hitler. Regardless of what was or was not known about the regime's crimes, it had been ground out of existence. The opinions of Germans or whatever came out of the war was not going to count for anything. However the opinions of the winners was going to matter and Dev basically committed an unforced error that left a massive and lasting blot on his own legacy and on the country's reputation.

Now going into current affairs I think Ireland's WW2 neutrality gives a false impression that neutrality is something that can be done easily and really without cost. In reality it was as I said walking a tightrope where ultimately you got neutral if the combatants chose to allow you to be neutral.

While it's a good speech and outlines a template for Irish Neutrality that endured. It doesn't outweighs the bad in Devs legacy in my opinion.

While some assistance was given it was very lite. At a critical point in the war Ireland was in a position to provide huge aid to the free world and it chose not to. By mid 1943 the air gap was closed and the moment passed.

Don't think I'm dismissing the value of Irish Neutrality. But I think it's viewed internationally as much a cost saving convenience than a moral stance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭casey jones

Imagine the scorn that would have been heaped on Dev and Ireland had we joined the allies in 1944 when it was clear Germany was going to lose!

There is no record of what was said when Dev called on Hempel who was a diplomat and certainly not a Nazi. Hempel had conducted himself impeccably throughout the war and Dev wished to assure him his diplomatic status would be respected when it was unclear how far the allies were going to go in punishing Germany.

However it was a mistake, easily misrepresented, e.g. the non existent book of condolances.

Leo Varadkars blunder in bringing a photo of a bombed customs post to an EU dinner to support the case for no border had similar echoes of this, easily misrepresented by bad actors as threatening violence, which it wasnt.

You are right about the sentiments in Ireland.

But technically Britain didn't wage war against Ireland because Ireland as a country didn't exist. Regardless of the proclamation. But for sure it was a dirty campaign as you described.

But this wasn't Churchill war, there you are wrong. He wasn't in office at the start of the war. He certainly was very active against the rise of Germany. But he didn't initiate it as implied.

Afaik Britain was the only country that decided to help defend other countries being invaded before it itself was attacked. It didn't wait to be attacked before taking action.

But it was a world war. Not a British war. Irish ww2 Neutrality is viewed on the context of global conflict not an Anglo Irish one.

Switzerland had a significant military to enforce it's Neutrality. Even then it significant dealings with Germany and isn't beyond criticism of it's actions in WW2. By some accounts it laundered almost 2 billion in loot and helped bankroll the German war. It would be curious to align Irish Neutrality with that.

If we did join the Allies, we could have insisted that only the Americans - or the Canadians, or whoever - establish bases and naval stations in the Republic. Could have saved a lot of allied lives. Or maybe even decided the course of the war, because the battle of the Atlantic was a close thing for a long time. Churchill said the only thing that really worried him was the U boat threat in the Atlantic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,513 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

Think it’s time you gave up your crusade against Ireland and move to good old Blighty where you long to be.

It's well known that US population didn't want to enter the war (either war). They basically wanted nothing to do with it until it landed at their door. On both coasts and all theatres of the war. They had to be persuaded to get involved. They were dragged into it.

US did well out of the war. It ended the Great Depression, propelled industrial production, and sparked a post-war economic boom. It rebuilt Germany and Japan but made UK pay through the nose for everything.

The US looked after us own interests.

Defending the empire was certain a large part of British interest. But it still got involved to defend other countries when it didn't have to. It essentially bankrupted itself. No debt forgiveness from the US either.

That's the context of Irish Neutrality in WW2.

If Dev was such a fair minded, great lad, why was it OK for him to execute IRA members in jail by hanging? The northern authorities never hung prisoners in their jails, yet they come in for more criticism by Republicans?

Back to the topic of Irish neutrality during World War II, the Soviet Union were very pi**ed off with Irish neutrality and viewed it with deep suspicion and frustration. Moscow perceived Dev's policy as passive and uncooperative in the fight against fascism, which cost many millions of lives.

After the war, because of Ireland's wartime neutrality, the Soviet Union, for about a decade repeatedly used its veto power as a permanent member of the UN Security Council to block Ireland's entry into the United Nations. It was not just the Americans, Canadians and British who were pissed off with Dev as they knew it had cost lots of allied lives and could have decided the battle of the Atlantic.

Wheres the evidence it could have saved a lot of allied lives? The western approaches to UK are over the top, ships from US went up along the coast of Canada and across the top following the earths curvature, the earth isnt flat! With Britain having use of Northern Ireland e.g. Lough Erne for the boat planes plus the Donegal corridor allowing them to fly directly out over "neutral" Irish airspace the ROI ports would have been of little use.

It would never have been agreed.

I think it would have a massive negative impact on Irelands long term neutrality.

The death penalty existed in Ireland up until 1990 with the last execution taking place in 1954. I notice you didn't mind the other 9 executions that took place during the war only the IRA members.

Ports and airfields in places like Belmullet and Cork would have extended cover in to the Atlantic. Do not forget about the German U boat bases in France. The Americans, Canadians, British and Russians all wanted the Atlantic made safer for shipping.

Imagine if northern or British authorities had treated Irish prisoners in jail as harshly as Dev did? Why does Dev get a free pass on this? Was there any need for him to execute IRA men in Irish jails?

But of course the Soviet Union did not view its own neutrality negatively.

They signed the Nazi-Soviet non-aggression pact which allowed Germany a free hand to invade countries to its west and which only ended when Germany invaded the Soviet Union in 1941 in a surprise attack

They also signed a neutrality pact with Japan in 1941 and only much later denounced it in April 1945, 30 days prior to V-E day and when they knew Truman had a finished atomic bomb program ready to go.

The Soviets, once in the war, managed to snatch Poland and keep it for another 45 years which is unfortunate because, in fact, Britain entered the war to fulfil the Anglo-Polish Agreement in which they'd pledged to defend Polish independence.

The actual British war aims of defending Polish sovereignty and thereby preserving the power of the British Empire tend to get swept under the rug. It's easier to focus on a misty conception of being on the side of good than get into specifics (such as the utterly farcical surrender of Singapore to the Japanese Empire).

What are you on about! They were convicted like the other 9 people executed in Ireland during the war. Also the British executed IRA members Peter Barnes and James McCormack in 1940 despite De Valera campaigning for clemency.

There were no airfields in Cork or Belmullet. The port of Derry and the boat planes use of lough Erne were much closer to the western approaches than anything in ROI. Irish neutrality is just another stick to beat us with for that cohort who are minded to do so.

Dresden was rammed full of German refugees fleeing the Russian advance when it was firebombed. Britain (to their credit) implicitly recognised this when excluding Bomber Harris and Bomber command from the VE celebrations.

As regards saving the Jews, the USAF and Bomber command never bombed the railways to Aushwitz despite pleas from Polish resistance among others to do just that. This at a time when the Nazis were killing Jews on an industrial scale, thousands daily.

But yeah Dev and the Irish..