Limerick GAA Discussion Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭Shocs24

Bit late now but I'd have loved to have seen Lynch tried at centre back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭PIORUN

Dan needs game time for when Limerick come up against a big man…Duggan was a handful last week for Casey.

Midfield is definitely more balanced with DOD and English… Lynch nearly get man marked out of most games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭King Power Fox

DOD was a big loss in 2024, ge was always 1-2 weeks ago but never came back unfortunately. He is the glue in midfield to keep the team ticking over. English/Lynch combo is two similar players, need a DOD or WOD with one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭letsseehere14

Wouldn't be thinking about meeting anyone further down the line just yet.

Anything can happen and we're only on 2 points. Lucky Waterford have been gutted with injuries but still have to go out and win.

Glad to see Lynch benched. To me DOD and English is a better midfield pairing. Hegarty O'Connor and O'Neill all playing better than him aswell.

The right decision until he ups his game.

Would have stuck With Casey at 3. Morrissey has very few minutes under his belt and let's be honest, hasn't many seasons left in him. Its a bit of a gamble in reality based on this year.

IIll Be grimmacing every time I see Gillane turn or jump praying he doesnt aggravated his injury. He is pivotal to us.

The rest pick themselves atm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,833 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Hadn't realised Dan has 3 years on Mike Casey.

It's funny that O’Donovan is now seen as the defensive man in a midfield pairing. He used to be the forward minded of the two. Not saying it's incorrect to think of him that way but it shows how the team evolved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭High bike

Didn't realise that either about his age and while i have great time for Casey and he has always done a job either in the corner or fb i wouldn't consider playing Dan as a risk at all.In my book himself and Hugh Lawlor are head and shoulders above every one else in the position.When he came on against Clare that was the end of Duggan,thats no coincidence.

Post edited by High bike on

Some good performances tonight especially when considering Tipp were definitely favourites. Pity they did win but most important thing is how a number of players had good games.

Yeah a lot of pisitives tonight,a few chances to close the gap before the late goal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭letsseehere14

Yeah Dan Morrissey must be about 33 at now. Casey 30 I recon.

Morrissey hasn't done much hurling for us in the last year and a half. So in that way its a gamble.

I see Clare turn to the likes of McInerney who would be a similar age and think thats someone there for the taking. Kennedy for Tipp similar all be it after a bad injury. Its hard to come back in at the top level. Now watch Dan get motm now lol.

People think there's a chasm between teams. A percent or two at the top of the bell curve it can show badly on the scoreboard, but if youre 5% off it these days you get eaten alive by anyone. We did to Cork last year what we did to Clare this year and our season went downhill fast from there. Big job of work to get done this weekend then we can look forward.

Our season did not go downhill fast. I am sick of hearing that. We lost a Munster final on penalties and yes we fuked up in relation to coming out of Munster in 2nd which was a situation we had never been in.

Losing to Dublin was a disaster but it has nothing to do with beating Cork and if the ref hadn't been very generous to Cork or O’Donovan put over an easy point there would be no complaints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭Iecrawfc

Key now is to regroup and plsy to their potential, like Waterford last year, get over the quarter finals where they could meet cork or clare again, would be good to get a few more games for this team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Dropping o neill would be crazy. He's been outstanding this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,048 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

it probably will be the most likley that o'donovan is dropped , a fair player to be throwing to the sidlines , i have a ticket bought for this game ,and a mackey stand one at that, either the bandwagon is over or it was so convincing against clare the fair weather lads dont need to show up

you saw the videos of bull obrien being egged on by a drunk kiely bouncing up on top of a parked car , a day or two after the munster final , it must have been light sessions for the next 12 days that caught limerick last year, to be fair dublin are fairly good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Vinnie222

Like 2 years ago this fixture was never going to be close to a full house .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 ✭✭✭lim4ev

Hard luck to the minors i thought they had a right chance and with a little more composure in defence and attack could easily have won this match. At this age group anything can happen regarding winning or losing trophies but the main thing is producing players for the senior team and though I know zero about these young lads and have only seen a game or 2 of them there's certainly 4 or 5 possibly more that could follow on to the senior grade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭moby2101

We certainly lacked match consistency last year,never really got going against Tipp in Thurles and we shot the lights out against Cork in the Round Robbin in a revenge match

Ken Hogan mentioned on Dalo’s podcast a few months ago that Limerick played an A v B’s game on the Thursday evening before the Dublin match in the GG, he couldn’t get over the physicality and full bloodied intensity of the game 2 days before a quarter final.
    Kiely and Kinnerk obviously underestimated the Dublin game and were looking at a semifinal, not like them, the best management team in the game for over a decade now.

Was he really outstanding in the last 2 games. I didn't say I would drop him anyway though. I said himself or O’Donovan is most likely if you want Lynch back.

What would you do yourself. Leave Lynch on the bench or whk would you drop ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,752 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Jaysus the Leinster championship is getting interesting now,could be more exciting than Munster championship if we're not careful.

If Clare win in Cork next week are they in a Munster final?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,444 ✭✭✭Jizique

Will likely be scoring diff, big defeat to LK makes unlikely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Montys return

If Limerick win the next two games, I think Clare will overtake Cork with a 5pt win. Not unthinkable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭C4000

Clare would need a 4 point win, in the event of a three way tie

Ok wouldn't rule that out at all,we just need to take care of our own busness tomorrow and go from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 ✭✭✭lim4ev

Ken hogan must be in the know, i know family of player's that have no idea what's going on in training or anything else for that matter

hos son was on the tipp extended panel i think but i doubt he would have access to that information , anyway i dont think its true , i just think limerick didnt have enough recovery time

people still under estemate dublin now and they are probably the best team in leinster at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 913 ✭✭✭munsterdevil

The thing is though, DOD was back to fitness for the last 2 matches in 2024, but JK didn’t pick him. He seems to be only picked now due to injuries and suspensions. JK no longer fancies to start him if he has other options.

donovan was very good last week , its a hard team to make in fairness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭C4000

Pat Ryan on the indo podcast said that, in his time with Limerick, they would train hard in the week leading up to every match. Intense in house games etc. They wouldnt have varied their approach i would imagine.