Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Your few posts I've seen on here are far more enlightening , informative and knowledgeable than a lot of what is posted here on a daily basis. Its obvious you're a genuine gaa fan. Hope you keep on giving your opinions.

Do you go to many club matches in kilkenny? I'm guessing you're from the south laois hurling area bordering kilkenny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭hogans heroes

Harry Shine in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Ha ha some of them are very thin skinned. A few old codgers im guessing!!

Well done on your u20 win the other night . Was delighted ye won. 4 or 5 there who look nailed on senior players. Sheedy won't have to buy a drink in clare for the rest of the year!! Maybe it'll be a kilkenny clare final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭jamesbond2022

Big call hopefully it goes well for both of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭Willie Power

Thank you.

I go some club games, watch some on clubber when I get a chance. Not enough!

"He might be an eejit, but he's our eejit"
    Willie Power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭Glenomra

Apologies for the lengthy once-off message!

A few thoughts. This is a hurling forum and everybody is free to comment. There is indeed a Clare forum but with few contributions, averaging 2 a day!. The reason is quite simple, the existence of the unconnected Clare Hurlers Forum with 4,000 members, mostly but not all from Clare, and 300 online when I was on the site this morning. Among the most active contributors are 2 from Kilkenny and one from Wexford. They have no reluctance in commenting on aspects of Clare hurling and highlighting our many frailties. Other counties have their forums, premierview etc. I don’t know whether Kilkenny has or not. Clare Hurlers Forum covers every competition, local and national, together with occasional social, political etc matters.

And I know my Kilkenny hurling! During my lifetime, during which Kilkenny dominated hurling, I have seen them, either live or on TV, winning 21 All-Ireland championships. An incredible statistic! When I saw them winning in 2015, I did not expect that title would be their last one for at least a decade. I saw the greats, Pat Henderson, Eddie Keher, Henry, DJ etc etc. I particularly admired their defenders, Jackie Tyrell, Willie and Eddie O’Connor, Noel Hickey etc., plus the greatest manager of all time, Brian Cody. As a hurling fan, fan is probably too weak a word, I am naturally intrigued with the fall-off in Kilkenny performances.

I attribute the decline to the mediocrity of the Leinster championship, the competition more so than the hurling. The Leinster championship has become dull, a huge contrast with how it was in June 2018, at what I think was the start of the round robin series. Kilkenny played Wexford under Davy Fitzgerald, in Nowlan Park on a Saturday night. Clare were playing Cork in Thurles on the following day. Whilst our friends were flying to Lanzarote we went to Hayes Hotel, in Thurles for the weekend!. I attended the Kilkenny versus Wexford game. What an atmosphere, stadium full and animated supporters. Wexford should imo have won but didn’t see the game out. My main memory of the game was a ‘true gentleman’ from Kilkenny getting so angry when he saw Davy encroach on the field, advising him to f*** back to Clare! When I told him that it was not Davy but actually his selector Seoirse Bulfin, same stature, he told me that he would know ‘that ****** a mile off’. Kilkenny city was buzzing that evening, comparable with Thurles that weekend. Since then, Kilkenny qualify for the all-Ireland series every year, almost by default, without generating much excitement on the way. Then when they are competitive in the All-Ireland series most fans believe that Kilkenny remain at the very top tier of the hurling world.

It might be stating the obvious but meanwhile, the Munster championship remains a world apart. Limerick, Clare, Tipperary and Cork spend freely to try and ensure that they have competitive teams. Waterford have great players but less resources and consequently are not making the breakthrough. The games are well attended, the excitement and tension are palpable. The arrival of the team buses, driven through the crowd by garda escorts with sirens blaring, packed pubs with the usual banter, the pre-match music, for instance Sharon Shannon played recently at Cusack park, etc all makes for a good family day out. Hurling is a topic of conversation when people from Munster counties meet. In Limerick this morning, a Treaty fan, a former Munster rugby player who I never saw at a hurling game reminded me how they ‘buried the Banner’. The games are refereed differently because the occasions demand it. The number and severity of the tackling makes it impossible for any referee to keep blowing for easy frees. Limerick in particular set the agenda, start games with huge physicality and try and get the game played on their terms. Worked against Clare this year, though not in previous years, and against Cork previously but not anymore. Clare versus Tipperary tomorrow evening will attract a crowd of about 35,000.

Meanwhile the Leinster Championship stagnates. The Offaly versus Kilkenny attracted a derisory crowd of 5,000. Above all Leinster counties Kilkenny, with their traditional rivalries with Cork and Tipperary would thrive in Munster, but that’s not to be!. Kilkenny hurling needs a vibrant provincial championship. Hopefully the re-emergence of Offaly, and more competitive Dublin, Galway and Wexford teams will re-energise the Leinster competition. Not just Kilkenny, but the long-term health of the hurling championship needs a better Leinster championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Give it to tj

Could see 2 to 3 changes on the team I doubht shine will start so we could see stephen donnelly there and Tj shouldn't start imo,Without him it might help cody and mossy to step up rather than reliance on tj to win the hard balls and it will give him a chance to sort out the knock from the last day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,638 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

There both named to start for the seniors tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Girlcat

I wouldnt worry about a few egits on this site

There are times you have to wonder if its Derek Lyng or Peter Donovan posting as they get very excited when management is critiqued 😉

I do find it amusing when posters claim management give of their own free time that is certainly the case for most club managers particulary under age but county mangers are well looked after

Carry on posting Glenomr and Willie Power I for one enjoy reading what you have to say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Village87

I give up my free time to post here so I should also be immune to criticism

I don't agree that Brian Cody squeezed the last drop out of an aging team in 2022. He was a great man and did great work that year. But the core of the team and those on the subs and extended panel weren't old.

Tommy Walsh, Huw Lawlor, Mikey Butler, David Blanchfield, Cian Kenny, Mossy Keoghan, John Donnelly, Adrian Mullen, Eoin Cody, Paddy Deegan, Billy Ryan, Mikey Carey were all early to mid 20s.

Willie Power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Marrooned

Not likely Village, you’re putting your head on the block there 😂😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,584 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Can anyone explain why these matches aren't being put up on YouTube at least? Tg4 put up midweek underage games live on YouTube with just a single camera and single commentator and it works great. Rte will have someone there filming and doing live commentary anyway, because that's what gets put on the highlights on the Sunday game as was the case last week, so why not just broadcast it via YouTube anyway? Or is it just to try and get attendances up for less attractive fixtures? (Which would be understandable if it's a gaa decision)

well realt I don’t think there worried about attendances or patrons for that matter. 5 matches on the other night at the same time ffs.

just forgot **** penalties. Who thought of that one? And young people’s welfare which they are always raving about. Spare a thought for the chaps who missed those scores.

now I’m off l why the rush to finish off these games, is it on someone’s to do list. Absolutely ridiculous we’ LK be twiddling our thumbs for the summer.

I know we’re on a hiding to nothing today, but I feel we need to beat Kildare well and can’t leave them in the game like we did with Offaly last Sunday . I’m delighted to see Harry playing alongside lot of friends are worried about his game time well he will certainly be fresh and I’d say after half a game Mullen will probably come in for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭Nickindublin

Lets be honest and i think the managmenet have got this right today. We need to get minutes into both Shine and Mullen. Couldnt take the risk of starting both. On paper this is the last of the so called easier games. Dublin next and the its one of 3 ways to go. Leinster Final Qualifiers or out. If we can get 40 mins into Shine today and maybe 30 into Mullen and a good win it will be a massive boost.

Best of luck to the team today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭neverbet

My respect and regard for all people in the Gaa Family is absolute no matter the colour of Jersey , club or county they represent. The moral outrage that has ensued from a reply to your tuppence worth leaves me bemused. The premise of your piece was to pass a critical eye over your neighbouring counties record under its current management. I challenged your compendium of same and provided context from my viewpoint. I have written here on numerous occasions Cody '17/'22 and Lyng subsequently have done remarkably well to keep KK in the top two or three in recent years bearing in mind resources. You mention Nicky Brennan, and KK people need no reminders of the shameful way that man was treated when in charge of the county team. What type of supporter would treat one of their own like that? Could it possibly be The same type that would wish their club or county beaten?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭neverbet

Of more immediate concern we enter a pivotal period in the current season. We have the best 15 selected for this evening IMO. Will need to be at our best to get the win. Kildare have been improving with every outing but I would expect us to get the job done. Then two visits to Portlaoise and one to Parnell Park over 7 days for games that could define our season as a whole. All three teams require and deserve our wholehearted support.

@

Another snipe Never bet. You would want to get over this. All this taken out of context. The thing is things won’t change till it gets so bad that action would have to be taken. Anyway most people with a bit of a brain could see where I was coming from with that as seen in the support I got from various posters I didn’t see many supporting your stance.I feel you have a serious personal problem with me on something or other and I can’t figure it out. You can mail me if you want to explain this vendetta or just keep on sniping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 gaafanatic

Oh great another Munster lad to tell us how great their championship is and how bad ours is, we definitely don’t have enough of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭jamesbond2022

For all the hype about Munster again this year a lot of one sided games cork dealt with tipp quite easily the first half of tipp and Waterford was dirt

Clare vs Waterford was entertaining but the standard of defending was awful

Limerick vs Clare was another non event over at half time

Limerick will pummel Waterford tomorrow

Big crowds yes but I’m not sure the standard of hurling has improved at all this year tipp gone backwards Waterford out again Clare all over the shop apart from Limerick and cork and who have performed to a somewhat consistent level the Munster championship has been poor this year

Very true. Games wise we're probably halfway through the championship, overall, and it hasn't really ignited so far. Still a bit of a league feel, the harsh weather doesn't help with that feel either

Willie Power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,007 ✭✭✭kk.man

Tied to GAAGO it seems. Tipp lads were looking for at them to make an exception this evening v Clare as semple stadium is sold out, no go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭Nickindublin

Getting Spicy in Leinster now with that Dublin win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭me89

Just when you think it couldn't get worse. One of the worse coached teams you will ever see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,783 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

What was the red card for? Justified?