Fr Ted creator/writer Graham Linehan Arrested over posts on Transgender issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,114 ✭✭✭✭volchitsa

Yes that was the court case that he won, albeit he had to go to appeal to get a clear, 100% judgment in his favour.

This thread is about him being arrested by armed police for a completely different matter, a tweet, when he arrived back in the UK to testify at the first case.

That's the link.

"If a woman cannot stand in a public space and say, without fear of consequences, that men cannot be women, then women have no rights at all." Helen Joyce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 428 ✭✭Mother Shaboobu

Find one thing I've posted that indicates hatred of trans people for being trans.

Just because some choose to pretend that disagreeing with gender over sex = hatred of trans people for being trans, doesn't mean it's correct.

It's just a fact that people who are to the left of the political spectrum (many are gay, socialist, obviously feminist, and are of varying ethnic backgrounds) won't accept the pretence that gender can supercede sex, no matter how many people pretend that this anodyne fact is an unhinged rightwing view.

Some critics of Israel's attacks on Gaza are anti-Semitic, even neo nazi. Obviously this doesn't make the rest of us, who criticise Israel's attacks on Gaza, anti-Semitic or neo nazi, yet that's the logic you're using.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭Arseboxing

You literally just denied trans people are a vulnerable and marginalised group.

The only reason anybody does that is they hate them and want to destroy them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 428 ✭✭Mother Shaboobu

Sheer desperation. When people have to resort to that kind of childish silliness (imagine thanking such a thing) it's evidence that they don't have an argument.

I don't know why it's so difficult to accept that not agreeing gender can replace sex... does not mean hating (or wanting to destroy - hysterical) trans people. It's like people get a kick out of pretending this is the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,114 ✭✭✭✭volchitsa

What about because somebody thinks that their demands to use women's changing rooms are incompatible with women's rights? Would that count as "hatred of trans"?

Consider that a trans identifying doctor got a nurse suspended (and tried to get her fired) because she refused to change in front of the doctor at work - and that expert evidence at the employment tribunal was that the doctor had faked their allegedly contemporaneous notes in order to build a false case against the nurse. Is the doctor really the vulnerable and marginalised one there? What about the working class nurse who had worked for 30 years in that hospital without a single complaint against her before that? Her union refused to defend her because they, like you, have decided that transidentifying men are more vulnerable than any woman. Does that make them right? Seems to me that she was very marginalised, and that it was the doctor who got all the support.

"If a woman cannot stand in a public space and say, without fear of consequences, that men cannot be women, then women have no rights at all." Helen Joyce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,050 ✭✭✭plodder

This is fairly unhinged. Talk like this comparing trans people to Jews in the 1930's does not help them at all. There are 100% rational reasons for the rule changes in sport, and for the retreat from automatic "affirming" medical treatment for trans kids. None of it is to do with international far-right propaganda or hate campaigns.

Linehan may be guilty of the same thing sadly - stoking up the conflict, but in fairness to him, most of this has happened after he was cancelled and his career was destroyed.

“The opposite of 'good' is 'good intentions'”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭SourSessions

I’m a left-voter who supports feminism, strong social welfare systems, labour rights, reproductive freedom, LGBT rights, anti-racism, Palestinian liberation, and economic redistribution. I oppose MAGA politics, nationalism, and Israel’s genocide in Gaza. At the same time, I believe sex-based rights are real, historically hard-won protections for biological female women and that in situations where sex-based rights and gender identity-based rights come into conflict, sex-based protections should take precedence.

Graham Linehan is awful in the rhetoric he's come to spin in the last decade, I don't like him and I don't support him, but just because we agree on some niche issues within a larger niche issue doesn't mean everyone who does is far-right, or even right wing at all.

None of this is about rule changes in sport. It's about a worldwide campaign of demonisation of one of the most marginalised and vulnerable groups in society as a vehicle to advance fascism.

Why do you continually deny that trans people are a vulnerable and marginalised group?

You're denying reality. There's a very obvious reason you're doing that. It's because you want to erase their existence.

I'd call that desperate and I think any reasonable person would too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭nachouser

Screenshot 2026-05-14 170315.png

You'd swear from reading some threads on here that there are hundreds of thousands of Irish lads getting up in the morning and deciding to put on a dress so they can demand access to womens changing rooms and womens sports and so on. It's ridiculous the amount of posting that goes on about transwomen in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,337 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

It is hilarious, isn't it?

When you ask the people who give over a fair portion of their lives fear mongering about trans people have they ever actually met any, you are met with crickets.

Although one lad was served by a trans woman on holidays, he didn't abuse her though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,019 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

Who on this thread is trying to enforce fascism?

We are discussing colossal police and judicial overreach. Five police officers seny to arrest someone over a non-crime hate incident along with a trial for harassment and criminal damage over phone scratches.

The person who reported the tweet was themselves posting similarly odious things online directed at gender critical people, in particular women. The phone scratches were not reported until after the incident and there was no comptemperaneous evidence to show it was caused by Linehan.

“Never argue with an idiot. They will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Get out of here with your reasonable comment. No nuance is allowed.

You'd swear from reading these threads that gender critical people were rounding up transwomen and sending them to the gulag. Instead most are objecting to males being allowed into single sex spaces were women are vulnerable like prisons, changing rooms and refuges, objecting to males being allowed to compete in female sports categories and objecting to language describing female anatomy and female biological functions being changed to remove references to women.

That's not fascism and it's not even right wing. It's just believing that gender identity should not override sex as a protected status.

“Never argue with an idiot. They will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.”

Okay. The Gender Recognition Act is 11 years old.

How many trans people have you personally encountered in

Single Sex Spaces

Playing organised sports

Changing rooms

Refuges?

It doesn't matter how many there are and how many I have or have not encountered.

No woman should have to share those spaces with biological males. And we know they have, which is wrong.

Transpeople should campaign for mixed or gender neutral spaces as an adjunct to single sex spaces. This would allow protection and dignity for transpeople (who could obviously access the single sex space of their own natal biological space also if they wish) and would allow women the safety, dignity and protection of single sex facilities if they wish. Women should not be forced to give up their single sex spaces because of people's gender identity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,513 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

So is none your answer?

If it’s not did you approach the person or complain about them being there?

It doesn't matter how many there are and how many I have or have not encountered.

So that is zero, none, zilch, nada.

We are tilting at windmills here aren't we?

The two thousand or so transpeople in Ireland are just trying to go about their day. Why would they need to campaign about anything? It's just an internet thing that "TRANS" is the worst thing ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,091 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

The most interesting thing about that table - apart from the very low overall numbers - is that it is almost 50:50 of male-to-female and female-to-male transitions.

Reading this thread, you would think that the trans issue is exclusively limited to sexually deviant men wanting to see women in the jacks.

Hopefully this brings a bit of perspective to people who get way too excited about very suspect Facebook posts from fringe groups in America and the UK. Maybe someone could get Graham Linehan to take a look and unclench a bit.

I'm not tilting at windmills. I'm saying that women's same sex protections should not be overriden by gender identity.

Women in a rape trial in Scotland were forced to listen to female pronouns being used in court to describe their biological male rapist.

A female nurse in Scotland nearly lost her job due to objecting to sharing a changing room with a biological male.

Female nurses in Darlington were told to broaden their minds when they objected to having to share a changing room with a biological male.

A woman was constructively dismissed from her job as a rape crisis support worker in ERCC for objecting to the practise that female victims of rape who requested female only support workers could be a assigned biological males if they identified as women.

Female rape victims who didn't want transwomen counsellers following rape were labelled as bigots who should 'relabel their trauma' by the transwoman head of ERCC.

Women in Ireland have been forced to share women's prison facilities with biological men, including Barbie Kardashian, who has a history of violence againts women and was labelled non-genuine in their declated transgender identity by the Tavistock clinic.

Female athletes have lost medals and qualifying places by being in the unfair position of competing againts biological males. In some cases, such as Fallon Fox, this can lead to injury to the female atlete due to the disparity in strength between males and females.

Biological sex matters, and gender identity does not change biological sex. Women should be entitled to same sex spaces. Mocking and labelling women as bigots for not agreeing to their rights being diminished is not being kind, it's just another form of misogyny.

Screenshot 2026-05-14 170315.png

This won't make any difference to the thread. It's baked in already by the usual posters.

MOD NOTE: Thread is about Linehan, there are Trans specific threads already running. I'll have to lock this one if it cannot stay on track.

Linehan might not be doing himself any favours, but what's being done to him is somewhat comparable to what Niemoller wrote about. The feeling seems to be that the ideology can't survive if people feel completely free to say what they want (or believe) about it. To most normal people, it's simply too ludicrous to believe that men who identify as women should be treated exactly the same as women. So, saying this has to be put beyond the limits of allowable discourse.

I remember visiting the Czech republic in the 90's and talking to a guy who was a bit of a dissident in the communist era. I don't remember much of the details, but what stuck in my mind was his description of the visits from the security police, who just appealed to him to stop being a pest, and talking out of line. They didn't want to be there any more than he did, were just doing a job, and they all knew that what he was saying (about the government) was true, but just couldn't be said in public. He refused so they left. He wasn't thrown in jail or executed. But, he was kicked out of his job. They would have said to him (like the half joking reference I made before about the Spanish Inquisition) - You did this to yourself. You could have just kept quiet like everyone else. So, it's really your fault. That's how these people working for the state justified their actions to themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,091 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

For those who claim that Linehan is not allowed to say what he thinks, is being denied free speech and all the rest, he was given time on Newstalk's flagship radio show to talk about his views on the Eurovision boycott.

Predictably, it was absolutely mental and full of the rage and hatred that his defenders here deny exist.

I simply don't see how people here continue to support this guy.

A spirit-sapping encounter between Shane Coleman and Graham Linehan – The Irish Times

Here's an extract:

With RTÉ boycotting the Eurovision Song Contest in protest at Israel’s participation and replacing it with an episode of Father Ted, Coleman speaks to the sitcom’s co-creator – and anti-transgender activist – Graham Linehan, who says the boycott decision is “like a completely ineffectual teenagerish strop ... to give aid to homicidal rapist lunatics”.

The interview continues in this measured fashion, with Linehan stridently expressing his disgust at RTÉ’s move – “The current fad in Ireland for anti-Semitism is a global embarrassment” – while venturing that the atrocities committed by Hamas during the October 7th attacks justify Israel’s subsequent actions in Gaza: “Every single death in Gaza is on Hamas’s head.”

Posters here should be absolutely ashamed to be making this guy out to be some sort of hero, but it is absolutely galling for the same people to say he is not allowed to air his views. He gets massive platforms to spew his bile.

So well done to all the anti-trans posters here, you've backed a real winner lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,445 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

So a horrible bigot being criticised for his own words and actions is akin to innocent people being mass murdered in one of the worst atrocities in human history.

FFS.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

So that is a firm no, then?

Gotcha.

Normally I would go listen to the audio to hear it first hand.

But not a hope if that is even a snippet of Linehans delusions.

Just another hateful crank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,152 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

But Linehan was pretty clearly struggling to get work before he actually went on his crusade. He most likely made it even harder on himself when he publicly attacked friends on social media. That's not to mention stalking users of LGBT friendly dating sites and posting photos of transgender users to ridicule which you guys don't seem to view as a biggy... That doesn't come across as him being the ultimate victim, that just comes across as a bully but since you guys are okay with the target, you've made him into the ultimate victim.

He didn't even have time for his family because he spent his time online rage tweeting, I very much doubt he was spending anytime creatively writing.

He cancelled himself, from his work, his wife and his kids.

There is no one to blame here but himself.

And instead of pulling back, he is tipped the nose down and has gone into a full spiral.

Shane Coleman knew he was on safe enough ground there. He'd know well enough that Linehan has no right to stop RTE broadcasting Fr Ted and that polite public opinion would be on his side. Has he (or anyone else in the media here) interviewed him previously, since he became persona non grata?

Also, Mick Heaney tends to steer pretty clear of controversy in his fairly beige weekly column as well.

I think Niemöller's point was a bit more subtle than that.